Ex-schoolgirls meeting place

Hi Blossom,

Hehe..its tough when one person is scared of the cold, and the other is scared of the heat! I'm also liable to feel cold more than my hubby..but during the past few days, we're both dying fr the heat :p Right now when I take a shower, i just hope the water is cold instead of warm!

Hope u managed to get all ure work done!

blossom

hi alhana,
yah. im very scared of heat. i sweat very easily. but all those aircon is making my skin very dry. sigh....

i finished my reports but my boss went home liao. so i came home as well. my colleagues seem to be very happy that i have relieved their work load.

there was this person who kept insisting that im supposed to do a report. i found out that she's always the one preparing the report. anyway, i was only compiling some info relating to the report and she immediately said that i ought to do the report as well. she gave me the samples for the report and asked me to follow.

i dun really mind since im keen to learn something new too. for these past few days, she kept asking me whether ive done it. i said im bz with other reports and she said i can do it after i finished those. just now, she walked to me table and told me that lucky for me, boss said no need to finish by end-may (she din even told me must finish by end-may in the first place!
) she said i can take my time to do.

i was having a lot of question marks in my mind. i mean... am i really supposed to do or is she going to take my report and told boss that she's the one who did it??!! anyway, i dun think she really mean it that way lah..... actually, i just hope that it is not that case. i will feel really exploited if that's the case.

Hi Blossom,

Hmm...why dun you clarify with ure boss abt this matter? I know its very frustrating to be doing someone else's work..worse if they take credit for it! Altho ure new, u shldn't let yourself get bullied into doing things tt are not ure responsibility. If they can do it once, they'll do it again, esp if you dun spk up. I know its hard when ure new, coz u don't want to step on anyone's toes...but still, it may get worse if you dun nip it in the bud. Spk to ure boss if ure not feeling good abt it...but try to do it in a diplomatic way w/o appearing to be accusing anyone.

Take care yeah?

blossom

hi alhana,
thanks for your advice. apparently, someone has told the boss abt it. boss was asking me abt he report this morning.

what im thinking is, this report will become my baby from now onwards and it's not easy to do leh... very siong.

and the worse thing is i cant possibly tell my boss it's too hard for me rite... so die die must do it loh....

blossom

morning.....

it was a hot nite again. it's so difficult to sleep... maybe im stress over my work also lah... watched the weather forecast, it's going to be a hot day again.

i worked til quite late last nite. at least im the last one outta office. i still cant finish my report... today die die must finish.

Hi Blossom,

They must think you're capable enough to handle the report, hence it has been passed on to you. Take it as a challenge. If ure not sure, don't be afraid to ask ure colleagues or even ure boss. I'm sure they will appreciate ure determination and initiative. This will also give you a chance to prove ureself to them.

Haha..u keep saying die die must do, die die must finish. I prefer the Nike maxim : Just Do It!

Yup, it was really hot. Had to have the aircon on the whole nite..something I have not done in a long time.

blossom

hi alhana,
actually... im not that capable lah.... just that my colleagues were very busy the past weeks and my boss prob want them to rest a bit in case they put on a strike.... i can see them really showing "face colours" to my boss. being the newest, the arrow comes to me naturally loh.

also.... i ganna scolding from boss for making some typo mistakes... she said that luckily she checks.... in other words, usu. she doesn't check... just browse thru... she said she has so many things to do, cant possibly check. told me to be more careful. but hor, im already very careful... thats why im hyper slow.

i have been leaving the aircon on the whole nite for the past week. you usu put on timer is it? but if in the middle of the nite, the aircon went off, isn't it very stuffy??

tonite is the finale of bachelor... though i know the result liao... but i still want to catch the romantic moments... haha...

tomorrow is the finale for american idol!!

Hi Blossom,

Poor u..kena left, right and centre at work. Hope u wun stress ureself out too much!

Yeah, lotsa finales huh! US has also just shown the finale for Bachelor 3 this week. The guy seems q cute. He's fr the Firestone family (the tyre mfg company). Wonder if Mediacorp will show The Bachelorette. Apparently one of the rejects fr that show will be the next Bachelor!

blossom

hi alhana,
i tried all my best to reduce my stress level. afterall, it's just a job.

yah, i read abt the finale of bachelor 3 too. hmm.. yah hor, bachelorette looks interesting too. the gal is the runner-up for bachelor 1. read that she will be getting married soon.

oh, i think u mean bob. hmm.... seriously, i dun think he looks very nice. maybe the photos are deceiving.

blossom

hello.....

the finale for the bachelor 2 is nice and sweet. can see that helene was really happy... sigh... i guess such romance wun last...

tonite is the finale for american idol. really wonder who will be the winner... so exciting...

btw, i have finished all my urgent reports. sent them for review already.... hope they wun make drastic changes to the reports... or else i will fall into another round of mad rush again.

Hi Blossom,

Heh heh..i accidentally read who won American Idol 2!!! OK lah..both are deserving....so I shall say tt the winner is deserving of the top prize (unlike the last Survivor winner...grrrr)

I watched the finale for The Bachelor too. Actually, knowing tt the 2 of them are no longer together kinda made last nite's ep lose its awww shucks feel. Wonder if Aaron and Brooke wld have stayed together. Hmm..

Yay...TAR4 will debut next wk! Its a 90 min episode!

blossom

hi alhana,
you really did.... im resisting the temptation of finding it out on the web...

i agree with u.... the feeling is different since i already knew who aaron will choose. and it also kept me wondering whether brooke and aaron will work out instead. it seems that brooke is very accommodating and selfless in her thinking.

really??!! that is fast... i got another show to look forward to next week.

blossom

alhana,
i also knew abt it liao...... i was browsing thru the threads in the forum and saw the results under the thread for clay aiken..... sigh, i was trying so hard not to know it....

blossom

hi alhana,
heehee.... the show was quite entertaining last nite... seeing the familiar faces, funny videos etc... it's sad that there can be only one winner. both of them are good in different ways, really hard to make a choice.

did you see the video of the unselected candidates? it's kinda funny but they really cant sing well.
anyway, admire their courage to take part and appear on national tv.

it's friday!!! finally... i hope i can get off on time today.

Hi Blossom,

I wasn't v upset abt finding out that Ruben won, coz I wanted him to win :p Anyway if Clay had won, I wldn't be upset too..he's a nice guy w a great voice.

Yes, the part w the crappy singers was so funny! They did appear in the first episode and we were laughing so hard at their really bad singing (if you can even call it singing!!)

POor u...so the surprise of knowing was diminished coz of the post. Yeah, I really get irritated at pple who just blab out results like that w/o thinking whether pple wld wanna know or not. If she had blurted out the Survivor/TAR winners I wld have been really pissed. That's why for such shows, I try hard not to surf net the whole day so tt chances of finding out wld be greatly reduced :p Aiyah..watch one whole season liao..don't want the surprise ending to be spoilt by other pple's actions. Its really anti-climatic u know.

blossom

hi alhana,
yah.... the way they sing is really funny. i wonder if they did it intentionally or not.
but seems that some really think that they can sing....

btw, my reports got thrown back already.... actually, early this morning, my boss's boss told my boss that the report is not good. when she found out that it's done by me, she told my boss that im so new and told her to guide me how to do the report.

i was thinking that i did the report according to boss's wishes but now becos big boss dun like, it became my fault. worse still, my boss also dunno how to amend and i have to crack my brains like crazy..... how i wish my english is more powerful.

the reports supposed to be urgent.... the deadline has past long ago.... i dunno whether i will be the scapegoat for being late.

Hi Blossom,

Hehe..that's what we tot too..maybe some of the bad singers are 'acting' only. Cld be planted by Fox to add spice to the show :p

Hey poor u..kena do over the reports again! At least ure boss's boss has the sense to know tt u need help doing the report as ure so new to the company. I dun think she'll blame u. If there's anyone to blame, its ure immediate boss. Hope u'll be able to re-do it accordingly to her expectations.

Do u work on Saturdays?

blossom

hi alhana,
yah... i think big boss is not angry with me. she was quite angry when she asked who did the report but once she knew it was me, she din scold me at all. guess she knew that scold me also no use.

actually, i gave my boss a copy but i think she din review it. a managers volunteered to review the report for me. she advised me to give big boss a copy since the deadline is over liao.

i showed the report to one of my colleague. she also said she does not know how to amend it either. anyway, we did think of something eventually... phew!

i dun work on saturdays. 5-day week already full of "excitement", i cant imagine working on saturdays.
i suppose you dun work on saturdays rite?
22571.gif

Hi Blossom,

Nope, I don't work on Saturdays either

Ure boss like quite silly hor. How can he/she expect you, a new staff, to do a report that is flawless? Deserves to get scolded, in my opinion

Sigh..the weather has been terrible lately. I now live in air-con for most of the day! Electricity bill sure to be real high this mth.

Hope ure having a good weekend!

blossom

hi alhana,
im quite used to having 5-day week.... some of my frens even list "5-day week" as criteria when looking for jobs.

wrt my boss arrowing me to do the report.... she always tell me that im not a clerk-type of worker so i should be able to do more difficult things. so i suppose the report is sort of a challenge for me. then ppl will not say that she did not give me chance to perform....

what i hate is she never tells me what she wants. she just want me to produce something and let her amend. the point is i dunno what kind of style she likes.... so she always end up giving vague comments like.... need to change sentence structure, format etc....

nowadays, she will give me a sample to follow. but the most recent incident, she actually scolded me for following the report "blindly" .... but hor, she cant think of a better sentence herself!!! enough of her... becos of her, i couldn't sleep every sunday nite, thinking i will see her the next day.

my weekend was ok. the usual ah soh days... doing the hsework...watching tv.

hope you had an enjoyable weekend...

Morning Blossom,

Its Monday yet again. The weekends pass by too quickly!

I think ure boss is just giving excuses. No doubt its alright to give u challenges..but considering tt ure v new to the company, shldn't they give u some guidance too? At least an idea of what they're expecting? Honestly, it doesn't sound like she knows wat she wants. If they want to give u challenges, then they shld be prepared for u making mistake coz no one can do a perfect job on the very first attempt!

I had a good weekend. Went bowling yesterday and then dinner at Cafe Cartel (my fave!) Saturday was a lazier day. Spent it at home watching tv and surfing the net. It was so hot tt I didn't want to leave the comforts of my home!

blossom

alhana,
it will definitely be a depressing monday for me today...

i have this other report which i have prepared since last month and handed to my boss for review. the deadline was last week. my boss sat on it and only passed it to me friday afternoon. she told me to send it to big boss for signature today. just now, the secretary passed it back to me and told me that big boss said that deadline past liao, refused to sign. big boss even wrote the comments big big on the report, as if she's angry that the report is late.

i spent the most time on this report to ensure that none of my silly mistakes surface. knowing the deadline, i also gave my boss long time in advance. i suspect that she think that the deadline is still a long time so she sat on it til now. i put in so much effort and time and now big boss refused to sign.... that kind of hurt and rejection is really immense...

Hi Blossom

I think ure immediate boss is a real screwball! Wldn't she get in trouble coz she's supposed to hand it over to ure big boss? Poor u. Hope she's responsible enough to take the heat for her mistake, rather than try to pass the buck to you.

Have been really busy the last 2 days. Attended so many meetings tt my brain is now so tired fr all tt listening and comprehending. Can't wait for my Sentosa get-away break to start!!!

blossom

hi alhana,
sigh... my boss wasn't around these few days. by the time she comes back, this matter would become history liao.

i really really bu gan xin... i spent weeks doing it.
i even reminded her and she said she knew and i thot she is aware of the deadline. maybe the report is not impt to her... miss deadline also nevermind, but it meant a lot to me. furthermore, i just dun understand why she wants to make me hand the report to big boss and let me face the music.

now my big boss is sitting on the report which she thinks its too tough for me. she made all the managers in my dept review it for me. i amended again and again. some managers even question me on certain points that other managers told me to include.... you know lah, different mgrs have different styles. i prob killed a lot of trees already, printing and shredding reports after each round of amendments.

even after all these reviews, big boss is still not assured that the report is correct. some managers even have to review it for the 2nd/3rd time. im really really very very tired doing this report.
i think i ought to celebrate with champagne when the report is finally cleared.

my colleagues are quite nice. they will ask me whether my report is cleared. they even console me that the report is quite tough so dun feel bad abt all those mistakes.

ok lah, enough of me.... sounds like you had a real busy time at work too. i used to attend a lot of meetings in the past. it can be really tiring and someimes i will just dream off...
in my current job, i never attend meetings.

blossom

alhana,
i know i have been boring you so much with my complaints on my work... but bear with me now, i just cannot bottle this up...

this morning, the secretary of my big boss told me that there are A LOT OF errors in my report again. big boss wants me to look thru it again. but no matter how hard i see, i couldn't see a single one. then, i approach one colleague for help...

in the afternoon, i was summoned in together with another colleague. i was badly scolded by big boss by the errors which is only a few and they are not errors actually, more of a preference in the structure of the report..... i never her tolerance level for errors is so low.

i froze there not knowing what to do next. luckily my colleague defended me becos the structure was fixed thru the years and as a new person, i will never thot of changing it.

but my morale is greatly battered by this. i really hate those vague comments abt my report. what is "no good"?? what is "a lot of errors"??!!!

i really felt like crying but i will not be defeated just like that.

Hi Blossom,

There there. Hope ure feeling a little bit better now. I know what u mean...I can't stand it when pple make sweeping comments w/o really saying what they mean! We're not mind readers..if u don't like it..tell us why! Perhaps she was just in a bad mood and took it out on u. Not that its okay to do so, but it cld explain her unreasonable behaviour.

I'm glad ure colleague defended you. At least they are not the sort to hide in a corner and let you shoulder all the blame.

Well, the weekend is almost upon us. Try to keep your chin up and take it as a learning experience. Hopefully it will not be a long term experience for you.

Take care yeah?

blossom

hi alhana,
thanks so much.... im really looking forward to the weekends becos im going to chalet with my family and ils. i applied for leave next monday. but my boss hasn't approved yet. maybe she wants me to finish the report for big boss but the point is big boss is never satisfied!!!

yes, i will treat all these as a learning experience. i really hope things will get better soon.

Hi Blossom,

At least you have something fun to look fwd to this weekend. Take the chance to de-stress and get work out of your mind! Hope you'll enjoy ureself this weekend and not hafta worry abt ure report.

Hey remember to catch the premiere of TAR4 tonite
Something else for u to look fwd to!

blossom

alhana,
the report is finally out... phew!

im so happy now.
all those hardship seems so insignificant now. im just glad that it's over.... sigh... i think im too easily satisfied... maybe the next round of hardship comes then i grumble again...

little sheep

harlow. is this thread still alive?

I've from St. Nicks too. 1995 batch....

Hi Blossom,

Hey, you deserve a break from all that unhappiness caused by that report. I'm glad ure done with it too
Enjoy ure stay at the chalet yeah?

I'll be going to Bangkok for a biz trip in June! Just found out tdy. My hubby will be coming along w me, hence it'll be business plus pleasure
Will be there for 6D/5N (the meeting will be 3D) I guess I'll be forgoing my Beaufort stay after all coz the trip is the week after my stay. Wld rather save money for shopping!

bow_wow

Heya gals,
I'm from the 1994 Batch!! Sec 4 Truth, hehe.

My wedding will be in June 2004...^^

Anybody got any wedding pics to share?
Please share it with us, thanks!

corie

Hi Bow Wow,

Louisa, how are you? Think you should know who I am. I am your batch, different class. Din know you come to this forum too. Do you still go for facial?

jioupzy

i graduated in 93, been wondering wat happened to the gals frm my class. haven heard abt them in a loooong time...
anyone ard??

jioupzy

hi cc2,
i was fr 4/8 (i think!) sori, too long ago liao.. anyway, which class were u fr?
regards

jioupzy

hi jioupzy,
unfortunately, no one frm my class seemed to be ard. so, u r also into this forum? izzit because of ur wedding or is ur wedding already over?
i found this forum while i was preparing for my wedding last year, was pretty involved then but sort of disappeared for a while after the wedding...

cc2

Hi jioupzy,

How come u say hi to urself?

Maybe u have yet to find them. Maybe we were classmates in Sec 1 or Sec 2.

I started surfing SB when I was preparing for my ROM. My wedding is not over yet, next year. Oh, so u are happily married already?

blossom

hi alhana,
im back from the chalet. it was a really fun time... we went bowling when we reached there.... though i lost, my hubby said it was a close fight and its only my first attempt.

we had bbq and we were so efficient that we are done at 8pm and we ate til 10+ before we head for ktv and sang til 12+.
there were lotsa food left and we continue eating before we slept.

my parents and ils were really happy. im glad everyone enjoyed themselves... i really forgot abt my troubles at work completely.

oh, my boss approved my leave eventually. so i will be off tomorrow. we intend to go shopping at orchard road.

my cousin was asking me whether i want to go on a bangkok shopping trip with her this month. im quite interested. she said the hotel she will be staying is very near to the shopping areas. she will be staying over the weekend to go to the famous weekend market. but hubby not very keen though... see first lah...

jioupzy

hi cc2,
sori,a bit blur in the morn...
so how's ur preparation coming along.. still remember everything was so hectic then, couldn't wait for it to b over..

cc2

Hi jioupzy,

Quite a lot of things to do!
Haven't settle my gowns and banquet yet.

Which bridal shop are u with? I can get some tips from u.

Do u still keep in contact with ur classmates?

pinkapple

jioupzy,

4/8 is the art class rite?

I didn't even remember the year which I graduate. 93.. that's so long ago... I'm getting old..

cc2

Hi Hi Pinkapple,

Me found u lor
+ another gal who is sitting behind me ;)

Me actually signed up with a bridal shop already
but going to change the deposit I paid into another package. Now looking at other bridal shops

Saw ur photos! Nice nice... but quite ex rite? Me no $$$
so must find budget photographer

pinkapple

CC2,

last time I oso back out from a package..

please don't go to those taiwanese style bridal shops...bad experiences with 2 liao.

What's ya budget?

u might wanta consider just getting them to do actual day journalistic. As good as, if not better than, studio/outdoor. =)
it's almost like the fotoshoot. just that there's more life!