Ex-schoolgirls meeting place

pixie

thanks alhana!!
after the wedding, i now look fwd to planning where we can go for holiday!

hey, i juz watched johnny english over the weekend
yah, itz a bit silly but me & hubby couldn't help laughing esp the parts where he's at the cemetary and during the crowning.

we still haven't decide when to watch x-men2...definitely want to try to catch it this weekend
btw, i oso saw the thriller for matrix reloaded - looks interesting (& more complicated!)! the cinemas r already accepting adv tics sales

yup yup, agree with u...TAR4 will be worth the wait if good show ratings ensure it's coming back!

lotsa of movies & show to wait for int he 2nd half of the yr .. me looking forward to the release of harry potter book 5 too

pixie

hi EL,

howz the weekend?? i didn't do much (again!)...except tidying up the place.

real glad that this is a short week again! yeah!

blossom

hi alhana,
i think watch mr bean movie but i also like his skits, very funny and entertaining.
maybe i will get the vcd, hubby doesn’t seem interested in the movie.

yah, there’s really a lot of movies to look forward to… x-men 2, matrix reloaded and oh yeah, the hulk… really want to see how it turned out in lee ang’s hands.
there is also matrix revolution, harry potter (yeah!) and return of the kings… wow, wow, wow… that’s really a lot.

so tar was delayed for the reason… or lah, as long as it’s coming back. but i can only watch it over channel 5, hope they are showing too.

blossom

hello pixie,
ive not been at the cc thread for quite some time already… due to some reasons which i dun wish to say online.
but i guess the gals are getting enough advice from other gals in the thread so my absence doesn’t really matter. but i still follow the thread though. that’s how i know abt your email address problem.

wow, you stay so near to ils. that’s good lah, at least you have an excuse not to cook.
i felt slightly quieter in my new hse compared to my mom’s place. hmm… actually both sides of our families are very quiet ppl, i think i create more noise than my other family members. they prob felt the quietness more.

but, my new flat very empty when i first shifted in... very few neighbours… so other than quiet, the environment is also rather errie. it’s much better now.
you just need some time to get used to it.

haha… my cooking is also horrible. I cant even cook rice??!! but, i slowly learn. now, cooking a simple dinner is no problem… no fanciful dishes lah.

oh, you mean the sia 50% promotion is it? but hor, i think other airlines may still be cheaper leh… anyway, i wun be going on holiday in the short term. just started on a new job, no leave earned yet.

Hiya gals,

Oh, have they started tix sales for the Matrix Reloaded yet? Maybe we'll buy them when we watch X-Men 2 this Thu. Will be watching at Cineleisure.

Pixie,

I agree..the coronation part in Johnny English was hilarious! We felt so sorry for the Archbishop of Canterbury :p Also funny when he destroyed the traffic light camera w the car's missile :p Even tho the jokes were corny, it still made me laugh at times

Sigh..I also wish to take a vacation abroad. This time last yr I was planning my holiday to Europe. Wish I cld turn back the clock
Thought of going to BKK in June, but now w SARs etc, may have to put off plans to travel in the near future until the situation stabilises.

Heehee..I also can't cook for nuts..but I can cook rice! I also make a pretty good lasagne..surprised my hubby by making it on Valentine's Day. First time I cooked in years!!!

blossom

alhana,
haha... i think your hubby must be really touched by your lasagne. i love to eat lasagne... quite some time never eat liao.

Hi Blossom,

Yup, he was very pleasantly surprised coz 1) I never ever cook and 2) he had expected to go out for dinner. I secretly took half day leave to prepare it! Hehehe. Not bad eh? Well, he didn't get food poisoning so I guess it must've been okay. I was half-expecting it to turn black or something..no faith in my own cooking :p But it was alright..quite yummy actually!

I'm pretty good at pasta dishes. Easy to prepare and delicious. But if u ask me to cook chinese dishes...no standard liow. Actually I nvr even tried :p Ironic since my parents are both fantastic cooks

blossom

alhana,
i see.... actually i planned a surprise for my hubby's bday in january too. that time i was still waiting to start work and i still haven't learnt much cooking.... i baked some brownies for him and he loves them.... he refused to share them with my ils....
but frankly speaking, it's not tough to make lah...

now that i cook quite often, my hubby dun praise me that much or thank me liao. i guess soon or later he will take me for granted.

actually, i dun have the patience to follow receipe or the creativity to invent dishes. so usu i just ask ppl how to do or watch my mom. trial and error a few times sure can wan.

Hi Blossom,

Ooh...I love brownies! In fact we baked them as wedding favours which we gave out during our church ceremony
My guests loved them so much they were asking for the recipe! Actually we made them using Betty Crocker brownie mix :p We just put in the walnuts ourselves.

I guess when the element of surprise diminishes, pple will start taking such things for the norm. Its only natural.

So happy tt its a holiday eve! Looking fwd to X2 tmr

blossom

alhana,
i used betty crocker brownie mix too.
i can imagine how many you have to bake for the wedding favours.

yah... so fast holiday eve liao.

blossom

hello gals,
i past by the school (from afar) and saw that the old building seems to be under reno/upgrading. any idea what is that?

Hi Blossom

Haha..guess we both took the shortcut to making yummy brownies. My cousins and I were q surprised tt something fr a mix cld taste so good!

Hmm..i think the last time I past by AHS was yrs ago! Think the old building really needs an upgrading. Mr Moo's no longer the principal there. Heard tt he's heading the new Sports School.

blossom

alhana,
it was my first attempt (not counting the home econs lesson) in baking. i wanted to bake my hubby's fav cheese cake initially but realise that it was too challenging for me so decided to opt for an easier alternative.

oh, so mr moo is no longer there. i still remember his face very clearly.... and his specs of cos.
i think it's his dream to have a sports school in spore.... at least he's getting it fulfilled now.

Hi Blossom,

I watched X2 tdy. It was good! CAught the first show at Cineleisure and the cinema was packed! Rarely see packed cinemas so early in the morning. Thought it was better than the first movie actually. More mutants, more special effects, and a cliff hanger ending. Think there will definitely be an X-Men 3!!

Yah..I think most of us will remember Mr Moo coz of his thick specs! Ure right..sports is his passion. I used to work in the Sports Council and he was the chairman of one of the constituency sports clubs. V active guy.

How was ure May Day holiday?

Wah..baking a cheese cake is definitely more challenging. My cousin's hubby makes a very good cheesecake. Its like those Sara Lee kind..great w strawberries on top!

American Idol tonite! Yay!

blossom

hi alhana,
you are making me excited over x-men.
hubby needs to do some work at home today so din manage to catch it. maybe tomorrow or sat. but he made me watch the first x-men movie... as a recap and warm-up for the second one.

other than watching the vcd, i just laze around, read magazines... nothing much.

yah... remember abt the 2-hour special of american idol.

Morning Blossom

TGIF! I think u guys better get ure tix in advance. Judging by the queues yesterday, this movie is gonna be hot hot hot! I thought the first X-Men movie wasn't v fantastic. It just set the scene for future installments. More like a background of the main characters..introduction to mutants etc. As I read the comics before, it was kinda dull. I wonder if future story arcs will mirror the comics. Some of the comics had great arcs tt cld be terrific as movies.

Gosh..were u shocked by last nite's AI???? I was expecting Trenyce & Joshs' names to be mentioned for bottom 2..and instead Ruben was called, not Josh! Stupid stupid stupid. JOsh sang like crap last nite...I think even he was shocked tt he's still ard. Cld see the disbelief in Simon's face when Ryan called out Ruben's name..he sure wasn't expecting this. Pity tt Trenyce had to go...she sang well last nite. The top 4 ideally shld have been Ruben, Clay, Kim L & Trenyce.

Survivor's on tonite. Can't wait.

pin

Me graduated in 1985. Din even have to chance to donate to the building fund of the sports hall or 'touch' the hall lor. But it's ok :eek:) I enjoyed my 7 years (including 1 year pre-primary) there.

:eek:P

blossom

morning alhana,
yeah, friday liao.
but hor, it felt like monday...
my hubby will be going to get the tickets today. if the seats are not good for today, will get the tomorrow slots.

yes, i was really shocked too. i really thot josh is gonna go this time. even trenynce is better than him. i guess trenynce definitly knew she is the one to leave as compared to ruben. kinda sad. she did well last nite.

the other AI's contestants came back last nite.
it's good to see kim c, julia demato and the rest. i love seeing them singing as a grp.

Hi Blossom,

Yeah, I think most of us expected Josh to go...saw the sms results last nite? Simon's facial expression clearly spoke for most of us.

Ure right..they do sound v good singing as a group. V harmonised.

Hehe...aren't u glad tt u feel like its monday, but its actually Friday??? better than vice versa for sure
Where do u guys plan to watch X2?

blossom

hi alhana,
yah... sad that trenynce has to go instead.... though she prob can just stay for another week....

haha... yah, im glad that its actually fri...

my hubby booked the tickets for tonite already. we are going to watch it at tampines.

Hi Blossom,

Hope u guys enjoy the movie! And have a good weekend yeah? Lemme know how u find the movie after u've watched it

blossom

hi alhana,
im back from the movie.

the movie was impressive... with all the special effects and the introduction of new characters. it seems that it is slowly introducing new mutants to lay the storyline for future movies.

it's kinda surprising to see magneto working together with x-men. the nite crawler is kinda funny... ice-man is cute.

the escape of magneto was really unexpected. i thought mystique was stealing the details of the guard so that she can transform and save magneto.

so sad that pyro din go back with the x-men but hubby said he is a bad guy in the comic actually.

judging from the ending, jean grey prob will come back as pheonix in the next movie.

did you see the thriller for the hulk? looks impressive huh?

shane

miss my pre-primary days.... still remember our nap times and masak masak time.. heheheh...

gim,
which graduating class were u frm?(if you dun mind me asking)

zuki

Never expect to see this thread. Really surprise...me graduating in 1986 (if I am not wrong). I still can remember clearly tat Mr Chen always come very early in the morning give tuition to the primary 8 students.......

Any1 graduating in 1986?

Hi Blossom,

Glad u enjoyed the movie
Yes Magneto's escape was pretty impressive. Mystique is actually v smart..he has a good person working for him.

Ure hubby is right. Pyro is on Magneto's side in the comics. Guess he's too impulsive and can't tolerate the rest's goody goody behaviour :p

Yup, Nightcrawler has always been one of my favourite characters. He looks q ugly in the movie tho..the one in the comics is v cute!

That's what I thought..a Phoenix storyline for the next movie. ITs the only way they can go since Jean is a major character in the comics. Did u see the red aura surrounding her at the end? I dun remember Jean ever emitting such power until she became The Phoenix. So maybe its gonna go along those lines.

Yah..saw the trailer for Hulk quite awhile back. Did u see the trailer for The MAtrix too? Awesome! Hoping to buy the tix next weekend.

blossom

hi alhana,
yes.... mystique is really powerful. i was wondering why they din feature the toad and sabre tooth in this movie. it's kinda weird to see magneto having only one follower. but i suppose mystique is the most loyal one.

they din really focus a lot on lady dare strike.... i think she only has 1-2 lines in the entire movie. her name was not even mention at all.... wonder if she's really dead.

and the jason.... is he really dead? he seems powerful too... but he appear more like crazy to me...

yes, i saw the red aura surrounding jean at the end. but in the comic, the pheonix possess jean rite? i dunno how it will be in the movie. it seems to suggest that she evolve into pheonix.

yup, i saw the thriller for matrix too... breath grasping....
hope i can catch it soon too....

the cinema was full house when during my time slot. never expect so many ppl to be fan of x-men.... dun remember the first movie to be that popular.... maybe there is a lot of advertisement on the tv...

Hi Blossom

Perhaps there were already too many characters, hence they didn't want to incl Toad & Sabretooth. Maybe in the future installments, esp if it concerns Wolverine. Sabretooth is his arch nemesis after all.

Yah, Kelly Hu was really under utilised in this movie. Ure right..I was also wondering why her name 'Deathstryke' was not mentioned at all. Dun think she'll die so easily...comic book characters always have a way of returning fr the dead

Phoenix does possess Jean, turning her into the Dark Phoenix. I can't really remember much of the storyline. Maybe will re-read the comics again.

I think the second movie will appeal to more pple than the first. Its more fast paced and has a more engaging plot.

Hey..the next Harry Potter book will be coming out next month!!!! Have waited more than 3 yrs for it...can't wait!

blossom

hi alhana,
i see... heard that the next x-men movie will be out only in 2005... should be a long wait...

yah.... harry potter book coming out really soon. but i dunno whether i should wait til the paperback comes out.

gim

Hi Shane,

I was from 6G. U?

Zuki,
Yes... I rem Mr Chen giving tuition to Pri 8 students... Not only that, Pri 6 students who din do well for Maths also benefited from the tuition... I was one of them. ;p

Hi Blossom

Wow...out only in 2005? That'll be a long wait. I read tt Halle Berry & Hugh Jackman are not contractually obligated to act beyond the first 2 movies. So if they are to reprise their roles, the studios will have to renegotiate their contracts.

Have bought tix to The Matrix just now. Watching it next next Sunday.

I dun think I can wait till the paperback comes out. That will only happen earliest at the end of this yr. Cannot tahan liow :p

blossom

hi alhana,
really?! i think that halle is really pretty in this movie. there are a lot of closeups on her and her features are really sharp and nice.
the movie will look different with a new cast for storm and wolverine...

jean grey looks quite nice in the new hairstyle. cyclops looked the same... hmm... i think i may not even know if they change the actor for this role. wonder if there will be a chance we see his eyes....

the actress for mystique is another poor thing... cant see her real face at all.... hmm... is the woman at the bar acted by her? she's quite pretty actually.

hope that kelly hu gets revived in the next movie, it's refreshing to see an asian face among the mutants.

my hubby told me that rogue is supposed to have more powers than simply sucking powers of others. hope to see for developement on her in the next movie.

i can see that u are really excited to see the latest harry potter book. 3 years is really a long wait.
i wonder who is going to die in this book....

blossom

alhana,
oh, you got the tickets for matrix already?? that's really fast. where will you be watching?

sigh.... it's monday again tomorrow. im rushing a report for tomorrow.... sian...

Hi Blossom,

I wldn't be too concerned if they change the actress for Storm. I agree..Halle Berry is beautiful..but Storm has never been my favourite character. I'd miss Hugh Jackman as Wolverine more, if he decides not to return for X3.

Yah..Rogue is supposed to be far more powerful. In the comics, she absorbed the powers of Ms Marvel permanently, giving her the added power of flight, super strength and invulnerability. That makes her a pretty powerful mutant! But in the comics, she developed those powers when she was w the baddies (ie Mystique and gang)..so not sure whether the movie will incorporate it since they didn't follow tt storyline.

The lady at the bar is the real actress for Mystique..Rebecca Romijn-Stamos. She was a model I think, then became an actress. Yah lor...read 8 Days and she was complaining abt having the blue paint all over her body for the entire movie. She's really naked underneath the blue paint!

We're watching The Matrix at Cineleisure. So far no one has booked yet :p Love their popcorn!

Yeah work again tmr...*yawn* Can look fwd to next wk's holiday tho

blossom

hi alhana,
though rogue is not powerful in the movie, she does get a lot of scenes in the movie. i guess she will always be an impt character.

oh, so the lady is really mystique. i wonder who thought of the costume for her. i think x-men have very colourful costumes in the comics. you mean that costume is paint??!! ouch.... isn't that harmful for the skin??

wow, since no one has booked yet, you must have got really good seats.
im still not sure when im watching it. so cineleisure has your fav pop corn...

my report is not completed yet... need some data from office... sigh... hope i can finish it in time.

yeah.... tomolo is gonna be a dreadful day... looking forward to the holiday.

Hi Blossom,

Yah, they really painted her body w the blue paint. Apparently it took them 4 hrs to paint her body and stick on those silicone studs. She said it was so painful when they removed the paint!! I can imagine..poor girl :p

We took couple seats ... last row. Yeah, Cineleisure has the best popcorn, imho. GV's is the worst I think ... like eating styrofoam :p

Hope u managed to finish ure report tdy
Have a good day at work alright?

blossom

hi alhana,
really pity her also... is this rebecca a new artise? never see her before...

haha... see that you have done a research on the popcorn in spore. i love popcorns but never notice which cinemas have the best ones.

i finished the report already... got some disruption but luckily still ok... that's what i hate abt working in office... some other work will head towards you just when you need some concentration on certain work.

hope you have a nice day at work too.

Hi Blossom,

No..she's not v new. She also acted in a recent movie called Femme Fatale. But I think prior to X-Men, she was more famous as a model, having modelled for Sports Illustrated & Victoria's Secrets. Think she also had bit parts on several tv shows.

Hehe..I'm q particular abt my popcorn. I hate bad popcorn..u know the kind u chew and they make ure jaw hurt? Eng Wah has good salted popcorn. GV is very erratic..sometimes nice, sometimes really horrible. So if its a popcorn-type movie, I'll usually go to cineleisure coz their sweet & salted are both excellent. I've tried popcorn at Shaw too (Lido)..not bad but I hate that Cinema..so I nvr go there if possible :p

Yeah I know what u mean abt being distracted at work. Phone calls, last min reports etc...hard to get ure work done sometimes. Glad u managed to finish ure report!

blossom

hi alhana,
ok... i dun watch english tv shows very often so i never see her before.

haha...
so other than giving ratings for movies, you also specialise in giving ratings for popcorn.

i was quite free after i managed to get the report out. dunno whether my boss has reviewed it. din wait for the report to come out before i went home.

Hi Blossom,

Actually the shows she acted in? I didn't watch them too. She did appear in an episode of Friends, but I dun recall what that ep was about. The recurring part she had was in this sitcom called Just Shoot Me. I nvr liked that show, so didn't get to see her acting then.

Heh..its my preference lah. Some pple think GV's popcorn is alright..maybe I'm just picky
But if I'm gonna pay $5 for corn..I shld at least enjoy it!

Hmm..spking of reports...i have some due this wk. Sian.

blossom

hi alhana,
i see.... i think there are just too many actors and actresses in the US.

talking abt Friends, i started watching it when it is now showing on mon 10pm. quite funny.
no wonder it was so popular. dunno which season it is now. thinking of watching the past seasons.

smallville is not bad too. i find the actress for lana lane (hope the spelling is correct) quite pretty.
haha... actually, im usually more interesting in looking at the female lead then the male....

another day.... sigh... must get to work....

Hi Blossom,

I think this is the 8th or 9th season of Friends. They've been ard that long!!

I dun watch Smallville, but I know the actress ure talking abt. Her char is Lana Lang, Superman's first love. She's mixed...has asian and european blood. My fave Mon nite show is Alias! I love Jennifer Garner.

blossom

hi alhana,
wah... Friends is such a long standing show.

opps.. ok, she's lana lang. no wonder i think she looks rather asian.

alias.... is jennifer garner the actress for electra in dare devil?

Hi Blossom,

Yeah, Friends has been ard for ages! I think they were already ard during my uni days!! My how time flies huh.

Yes, Jennifer Garner is Elektra. Did u watch Daredevil? I dun think it was as good as X-Men. Ben Affleck just doesn't appeal to me as leading man mat'l.

Sigh, 1.5 wks to The Matrix Reloaded :p

My hubby's June holidays will be here soon. Had planned to go to Bkk for a short holiday but now w SARs etc, we may shelve our travel plans till yr end or next yr. Maybe we'll see if local hotels have any special packages and just support the SG economy :p

blossom

hi alhana,
sorry.... spell wrongly again... i din watch daredevil. my hubby told me that the actress for elektra also acted in alias, so i made a wild guess that she is jennifer garner.

one thing, i cant really remember name of actors and actresses unless they are very famous... even if i watched their movies.

haha...
see that you cant wait to see matrix.

i also want to have holiday... but im so new in the co... so prob will plan one at yr end too. but the sars thing...
i have an anniversary stay at the hotel i held my wedding.... just nice.

hey, saw that you are in the harry potter thread. so nice to see so many fans of hp.
din post becos what i want to say is already said by others....

i tried the sorting hat (posted by hwey) and i got sorted into gryffindor!

blossom

alhana,

some harry potter news....

MAY 7, 2003
Copies of new Potter book found in field
LONDON - Copies of the new Harry Potter novel, whose publication in the summer is eagerly awaited by fans around the world, have been found dumped in a field in southern England, Britain's Sun newspaper reported yesterday.
Two first editions of author J.K. Rowling's fifth instalment in the hugely popular series, not due for general publication until June 21, were discovered in Suffolk by an unnamed 40-year-old father-of-two.
They are now being kept securely at the newspaper's headquarters in east London.
The Sun said it was making arrangements to return the books to publisher Bloomsbury and did not spoil the plot by revealing any details.
The copies of the fifth instalment, Harry Potter And The Order Of The Phoenix, were found near the premises of Clays Ltd, which will print the book.
The Harry Potter series, available in more than 40 languages, recounts the magical exploits of Harry and his wizard-school friends. It has made author Joanne Kathleen Rowling a multi-millionaire.