Ex-schoolgirls meeting place

oldboy

Hi ,

I am from 6A '84.

Things do change quite a lot. Tot East Payoh is no more.

Pretty glad that Pei Chun is a "seed" school.

Pity that i can't send my kids there. Too far for me.

Hi Blossom,

Thanks for the tidbit. Wonder how the books found their way to the field?? Well, its gonna be out next mth..looking fwd to a good read again

I think I tried the Sorting Hat before on my palm. Was also sorted to Gryffindor. Dunno default or what :p

So nice to have an anniversary hotel stay. When will that be anyway?

blossom

hi alhana,
no prob.
my hubby told me that the printing hse was broken into and it seems that the burglar took the books but threw it away at the field when he escaped. dunno true or not....

huh? default one?? hmm... but hwey din get sorted into gryffindor rite?

im thinking of having the stay in september... the month i got married but must see my schedule first.

blossom

some articles in today's LIFE.....

Idol pursuit
American Idol is talon time more than Talentime and gives couch potatoes the chance to root for someone

By Tay Yek Keak

I HEARD it through the grapevine. American Idol 2 was some sort of glorified karaoke contest which I did not follow until some friends asked me who I thought would win.

People were arguing whether it would be Ruben, Clay, Joshua or Kimberley (see sidebar).

The show, a hugely successful talentime contest that grips millions of viewers in the United States, has, after 14 episodes, narrowed its popstar wannabes to just four with three more episodes to go.

I expected it to be cheesier than a French bakery and I was right.

It is as cheesy as a slugfest can be with big, strong voices belting out pop standards, ballads and schmaltzy bathroom-friendly songs.

The show searches for a performer, not a genius. So, nobody commits suicide by doing hip-hop, rap, heavy metal, new age chants, or goes weird by waving her arms as the next Stevie Nicks.

But, boy, is it entertaining.

Because of its pizzazz, because of its bigness, because of its tackiness, I thought it had been born in the USA until somebody told me that it is cloned from a Brit prototype called Pop Idol.

American Idol 2 is so popular that it is in the top five of the US ratings almost weekly.

In Singapore, its viewership has gained an average of 266,000 for viewers aged four and above. It peaked at 316,000 viewers last week.

The first instalment of American Idol was crowned the highest rated TV programme in the US last year, with 22.8 million viewers tuning in for the finals in September.

In this second season, it makes competitors weep more by splitting the shows into two parts on consecutive nights - Tuesday for the song segment and Wednesday for the results portion.

Here in Singapore, the two parts are combined into one show, which is shown a few hours behind the Wednesday episode in the US.

And, man, can those people sing. If they were taking part in a Singapore Talentime, they would be judging, not competing.

FAT MAN, STICK MAN

YOU get goosebumps, I tell you, listening to fat man Ruben Studdard, stick man Clay Aiken, and songbird Kimberley Locke, who handled Billy Joel's New York State Of Mind like a pro.

Now, to understand this pop phenomenon, you have to understand the American state of mind. It is a mentality that celebrates celebrity so much, it is surpassed only by one thing - the opportunity to create one.

If you give Americans a target, chances are they would either shoot it or root for it.

In American Idol 2, the ultimate star-making process of putting somebody out there to root for hits a perfect note.

Viewers vote by phone to push their favourites through every week until only one is left holding a million-dollar recording contract.

This thus confers absolute power in the talent quest to potatoes at home talented mostly in yodelling under their showers.

That number, as revealed in one episode by the show's host, Ryan Seacrest, adds up to about 18 million people.

The fundamental flaw in this awesome display of democracy is, of course, the wrong person could get elected.

Everyone, from the judges to the audience to even a tone-deaf guy like me, was stunned, I am sure, to see what happened in last week's episode.

The singing Marine Joshua Gracin - a contestant best described as a 'nice-looking guy, singing in tune, so what?' - is still in the running when better ones have gone missing in action.

SINGING PATRIOTS

THERE can be only one reason for this: The American patriot beats the American partridge.

Now, with this anomaly, one basic ingredient of entertainment - controversy - is satisfied in this show.

American Idol 2, if you notice, is a series that has it all. It has drama, disputes, humour, humiliation, Oprah-style openness, and most significantly, an opera-class bad guy.

One finalist, Corey Clark, was dropped from the show after it was revealed that he faces trial on charges that he assaulted his sister.

In the US, every nook, every cranny, every person from a granny to a referee, can be milked for all their 15 minutes of fame. Better still, infamy.

So, the show's three judges do not just assess the entertainers; they are also the entertainers.

The fat one, Randy Jackson, a record producer, is described as a guy who has 'produced eight No. 1's'.

Pop star Paula Abdul is introduced as someone who has 'released six No 1's'.

And the man whom everybody loves to hate but longs to hear, caustic Brit record exec Simon Cowell, the ugly coyote feared by the Coyote Ugly aspirants, is a chap who 'just thinks he's No. 1'.

His talon time, in this talentime, of brutally frank but perversely funny comments is a crucial element in shows about real people today.

Viewers, I bet you, tune in just for his jibes. I do.

When Cowell says, 'If I were your mother, I'd tell you to shut up', he is fulfilling a key component of reality shows - the art of the insult to get the result.

Cruelty is a big draw these days and his acerbic I-say-it-as-I-hear-it remarks provide the topic at the water cooler the next day.

From Survivor to The Amazing Race to The Bachelor, viewers expect the confrontation as an exertion of the harsh truth. In other words, it is not real until it gets real mean.

Bad jibes caused by disputes with notorious morbid record executive Simon Cowell had not dampened the show.
To a point, of course. The venom spouted in American Idol 2 does not last.

It is dissipated within seconds by a great voice, a good song, a nice smile, and a happy assertion of fun as a family event.

Last year's winner Kelly Clarkson, for instance, shot to stardom precisely because she has everyone's support. Her first single, A Moment Like This, taken off her debut album Thankful, set records by jumping from No. 52 to No. 1 on the Billboard Hot 100.

There is even a new American Idol movie called From Justin To Kelly, which co-stars Clarkson and the first runner-up Justin Guarini.

To be released on June 13 in the US, it features the two who play themselves and who fall in love in a romantic comedy that mixes real-life adventures with scripted hijinks.

Clearly, the American Idol phenomenon is made for the young but from the way it seeks out the little old women among its studio audience, it engages grandma too.

There is something to be said about a show choreographed to such an overwhelmingly popular extent.

What it comes down to is this: It is basically about one uncontested mainstay of showbiz - Everybody loves a song contest.

American Idol 2 airs on Thursdays on Channel 5 at 8 pm.

blossom

CLAY AIKEN AKA THE VOICE

'Kiss Me' Aiken, 24, is the one with the twinkly eyes, artfully dishevelled hair and freckled cheeks.

Persons he looks/sounds like: Elton John, he himself reckons; Peter Pan, opine others. He also passes off as a Mad Magazine character - it's that occasional mad glint in his eyes.

What the judges like: Not for nothing is he called The Voice and in the words of one fan, has the power to chase away the darkest rain clouds. And Neil Sedaka, last week's guest judge, says The Voice sings 'like Andre Agassi play tennis' - with perfection.

Was dissed for: Er, over-emoting and being more of a Broadway singer than a pop idol.

KIMBERLEY LOCKE AKA THE UNDERDOG

The sole female survivor is 25-year-old Kimberley Locke, administrative assistant, who has improved as the show progresses and looks to be movin' on up.

It's in her locks: Has gained critical acclaim after a makeover: she opted for the rebonded look over her usual curly locks and is choosing more suitable songs now too, fans say.

Not to be confused with: Kimberly Caldwell, the blonde looker who made it to the last seven before she was voted out.

Gripe factor: Some people say that she harps too much about her legal aspirations.

JOSHUA GRACIN AKA THE MARINE

Gracin, the youngest at 22 and popularly known as 'the bland marine', was not served his marching orders despite scathing comments passed by the judges.

You may not be able to tell him apart from: Fellow stocky-white ex-Take That lead singer Gary Barlow. Or the bad guy who harassed the mother of Michael J. Fox's character in Back To The Future II.

Was there anything the judges like? No, but the American audience probably appreciated his patriotic credentials and his family-man status, to make him the unlikely comeback kid of the last episode.

RUBEN STUDDARD AKA THE TEDDYBEAR

Studdard, the 25-year-old former high-school and college American football player packs a mean frame, which belies a voice by turns tender and sweet.

Most likely to be mistaken for: A cuddly teddy bear; Pavarotti?

Why he's the dark horse: He's deemed the next Barry White by some of his fans and will provide hope for all idol wannabes who lack the looks.

The judge he most rues: 'Simon, just because,' goes Ruben's reply on the show's official website. The teddy bear from Alabama seethed in anger after Simon Cowell's barb about his leathery attire ('Now I know why there is a cow shortage in California.')

blossom

Guess winner through SMS

FROM 40 to four. American Idol 2 gives the American audience the power to vote for their favourite contestant.

They do so through phone, selecting two finalists out of the eight performing each week. Four wildcards are chosen from those who failed to make the cut, making the total number of finalists 12.

Audiences then get to vote one out each week until the American idol is crowned.

It may be a contest to choose an American idol, but audiences in Singapore also want to have their say as to who deserves to be the winner.

Especially since they may get to win a trip to Los Angeles for the grand finals if they correctly guess who gets the boot in each week's episode.

Little wonder that the number of SMS messages, which are in the thousands per episode, has gone up by nearly four times since the start of the SMS contest from April 10, according to a MediaCorp spokesman.

Ratings for the talent search programme have peaked with last week's two-hour special, with about 8.2 per cent or 316,000 viewers aged four and above tuned in.

The Channel 5 website also has an online forum on the show, information on the contestants and judges, as well as synopsis of weekly episodes.

Though viewers cannot vote for who wins, they send SMS messages to support their favourite contestants - via the programme's live SMS bulletin board.

Going by the messages, Clay and Ruben are the most popular.

But the live SMS bulletin board gets mixed comments. For civil servant Angeline Kwek, 23, it is a great source of entertainment.

'I found it simply hilarious, though it may not serve the purpose of encouraging participants they like. Some SMS messages are quite entertaining,' she said.

Others found the SMS messages irrelevant, irritating and downright rude sometimes.

Sub-editor M. Michael, 32, said: 'I hate the SMSes. They are nonsensical. The comments are all based on looks.'

It was earlier reported that some viewers had complained about obscene words appearing on the SMS messages.

MediaCorp responded then that it had an official censor on hand to moderate the whole SMS exchange and thus, the language approved for broadcast met its censorship standards. -- Ho Ai Li

shane

East Payoh's no longer there. Pei Chun has taken over the plot of land. In fact, the previous block is no longer in use, now the new school building is facing Lorong 7 instead of Lorong 6....

shane

zuki

Wonder if Mr Allan Cheng(tall , skinny guy with tinted glasses) is still in the school. He was also my P6 form teacher.

blossom

alhana,
i went to the website and tried the sorting hat again.... this time i got into hufflepuff.
i think it's not default wan.

Hi Blossom,

Chey, the sorting hat buay zun one! Hehehe. I wonder if anyone gets sorted into Slytherin!

Thanks for the article on AI. I read it on Life! yesterday. Well, someone else will be going home tonite, and I sure hope its Josh! He has the least talent among the final 4!

blossom

hi alhana,
it's friday!!!

but i have a feeling that i have to stay back today.... sigh!
got deadlines to meet.

josh was voted out last nite.... as expected. but i think he sang quite well last nite but prob not well enough compared to the rest.

Hi Blossom,

I dropped u a post at work but it seems it didn't get posted :p

Anyway I'm glad Josh is out! He doesn't deserve being in the top 3 (in fact I think he shld have gone last wk). It'll be a tough fight for the next 2 rds. I think Ruben n Clay will make top 2, but Clay may have an edge in terms of fan base. Still, I think Ruben, Clay & Kim L still have a chance of landing some record deal. Maybe some other contestants will too! Judging by the last American Idol, u dun need to be the winner to land any entertainment deals. Like Paula said...they're all winners.

Watching Survivor soon..hope u'll have a good weekend

blossom

hi alhana,
really? hmm.... sometimes the forum is kinda weird.... i usu encounter msg that told me i posted twice when i din see my msg at all... hmm...

yah, i agree with you. being voted out may not necessarily mean the end. it's not easy to get into finals and get judged by the whole of america. i admired their courage and talent.

oh, your fav show tonite... heard it's ending soon....

Hi Blossom,

Just finished watching Survivor. Finale's on Monday. Sigh..no more shows to watch on Friday nite
Well, not until TAR4 starts!!

Do u know one of the AI2 contestants Frenchie Davis? She's this really big size african american singer who was kicked out becoz of some morality issue. Anyway she has been offered a part in a popular broadway musical. So even tho she got kicked out before she cld compete in the finals, she still got noticed!

blossom

hi alhana,
yup. i heard abt the finale being on monday. oh, you mean tar would be shown on fridays too?
but not so soon rite?

wow! really? thats not too bad.
but it seems that there are a lot of ppl who hopes to get famous in america. hmm... i guess not only in america lah...

Hi Blossom,

TAR4 will premiere on May 30, which is just 3 wks from now! SO far I have only see the teasers on AXN, not CH5. Not sure if CH5 is showing, and if so, when.

Oh, the new HP book is available for pre-order now. MPH is selling it for $33 if u pre-order. Normal retail px is $41. But not sure if they'll only give the discount if u pre-order.

blossom

hi alhana,
tar4 is coming so fast?? i thot it's in summer? hmm... but really din see any teasers in ch5. sakeli they are not showing it here...

oh, can order hp book. hmm.... i dunno whether to wait for the paperback leh....

Hi Blossom,

I think May 30 is considered start of summer in the US :p Well, that's when their summer holidays start I think. Ure right..I dun see anything on CH5..maybe they're still in the midst of preparing the teasers? But since I've got AXN, I'm not too concerned abt that :p

If ure not so eager to read what happens, then wait for paperback. Save $
But hardback keeps better than paperback. When I have kids next time, will let them read the books

blossom

hi alhana,
haha....
i dun really know when is summer in US. but if cannot watch on ch5, i will be so sad....
21650.gif

i think i can still control the urge to read the latest hp book.... becos the rest of my books all paperbacks, so kinda weird to have a hardcover one. but wait and see first...

blossom

alhana,
having any mother's day celebrations tomorrow? i supposed it would be a crowded say at the restaurants tomorrow.

i was out at orchard today and it seems that the crowds are coming back. i think most ppl are not so afraid of the sars thingy after several days of zero cases.... and of cos government encouragement.... or the temptation of the sales.

i did bought some clothes and shoes when ppl siam the shopping malls.... first time no queue at fitting rooms and can get my size easily...

Hi Blossom,

We may have a dinner tonite to celebrate Mother's Day. My mom is not big on such things, and neither are we. Feel that its such a commercialised thing just to milk more $ out of us!

Ure right, the shopping centres are getting more crowded. I think we're all quite confident that things have gotten under control given the strict measures adopted by the govt. Still, it pays to be more careful now coz u'll nvr really know whether its really controlled or not.

Hehe..i need to buy shoes toO! Wore out some of my work shoes and only have 1 pair left! So cham right? Will probably go shop later tdy. Have a good sunday!

blossom

alhana,
i dun have any mother's day celebration today. will have one this month end at a chalet... it's like a mother-cum-father's day celebration for my parents. in-laws will be going as well.

my mil told us not to waste $ on presents and treats. so my hubby said just do so loh. anyway, she is invited to the celebration this month end and there will be cakes and bbq.

yah, it's true that we must not be complacent. does your co require you to take temperature everyday? my co may be implementing it soon... heard a lot of cos are doing it as well.

haha... nowadays i refrain myself from indulging in buying clothes and shoes liao... though it's hard when i see sales everywhere.

the economy is bad and my co is also badly affected. hope there may be retrenchment if things dun get better. you know lah... im so new in the co and when there's retrenchment, the newest kid is the first to get out.

Hi Blossom,

Just came back fr dinner. We had seafood and the restaurant was packed! We were there at 6.30pm and already 3/4 of the place was packed (not even counting those meant for reservations) It took us 1.5 hrs to finish just 5 dishes, out of which 1/2 hr was spent just waiting
Next yr, we're gonna have take-out instead!

I didn't go shopping after all. We spent the day at home watching tv instead. I think we'll go on Vesak day and the upcoming weekend instead

Ooh...talk of retrenchment is depressing if you've just joined the company. Hope things work out for u. We do have temperature chks too...and they bought us the N95 mask, anti-bacterial wipes etc. Better to be safe than sorry.

Take care alright..and have a good day at work tmr
Its a shorter week!

blossom

alhana,
just realise that there is a typo in my previous message...
<BLOCKQUOTE><HR SIZE=0><!-Quote-!><FONT SIZE=1>Quote:</FONT>

hope there may be retrenchment if things dun get better.<!-/Quote-!><HR SIZE=0></BLOCKQUOTE>

actually i meant.... "heard there may be retrenchment if things dun get better."

that's a long time you took for dinner.... actually, i was really happy when i go shopping or restaurants or take cabs during the time when everyone "hides" at home. really very suang.
really impossible to happen in spore. with the crowds coming back, i kinda miss that period...

my hubby was telling me... "quick show off your home quarantine order" while we were in a queue to get into a restaurant....

haha... my co very giam siap. they "advised" us to get masks and measure temperature.
so your co is quite welfare huh.

Hi Blossom,

Yes, I guess my co is quite pro staff welfare. Definitely can't complain there!

Ure right, I much prefer to shop when there are no crowds. That's why I only go shopping in the mornings (like 10+ am). I hate crowds..really no mood to shop when its crowded. Worse if I hafta queue for anything..i usually dun bother :p

Hehe..ure hubby's so silly! Wait pple panic and call TTSH then u know :p

smoke

I am from the 93 batch.
I knoe kk... hehe
i think kk knoe who am i liao...
anyway, just check out any other from 93 batch...

blossom

hi alhana,
it was a busy day for me....

sigh... wonder if you encounter this... if i go home on time today, i will get lotsa work the next day...

seems like my boss doesn't like to see me knock off on time.
or maybe she's worried that my other colleagues will feel unhappy. sigh...

same here... i also feel sian the moment i see crowds in shopping malls. but im too lazy to shop early in the morning....

haha... my hubby is just trying to be funny lah....

blossom

alhana,
i watched a bit of survivor. a gal called jenna won. seems like she got a lot of votes... must be quite popular huh.
saw some flash back of the past episodes... saw the contestants standing on poles and some even strip naked... my...

is jenna and matt an item? they seem so close.
a lot of intimate actions.

and yes! i saw the teaser for tar4!!!
21750.gif

Hi Blossom,

Yeah, Jenna won. Shit. I wanted Matt to win!!!!!

Still dunno how she managed a landslide victory tho. I thought she wasn't v likeable and it wld be a close fight to the 1 mil $. Guess she played better than I thought...or the jury's really stupid :p

Ehh..dunno if they're an item. That one must go gossip forumboards to chk :p But I dun think so leh..no sparkage during the game itself. Think they were just overwhelmed at being in the final 2 and were just close becoz of that fact.

No leh..my boss is not like that. IN fact she doesn't like seeing pple stay back late! Said if u can't finish ure work during working hrs, ure not working efficiently enough :p We seldom go back late...and no..not much backlog to clear if we go back on time. Hehe..maybe we are efficient!!

blossom

hi alhana,
i see.... but how come matt only got one vote... must be quite unexpected to you. jenna is the youngest winner todate is it? how old is she huh?

my boss is like the weather... change without reason one. she ever told me that she hopes everyone can go home on time becos she believes in a balanced life and we all need time for our families. but now, whenever she sees me going home early, i will get it the next day.

Hi Blossom,

Ure boss's a woman too? Maybe got PMS that's why :p U know women, always changing their minds!!

we're also trying to understand how Matt got only 1 vote!!!! Most of the fans expected it to be a close fight, and many cldn't accept a 6-1 win for Jenna. Jenna's only 21, altho she looks so much older than me :p

blossom

alhana,
actually, most lady bosses are more neow.... but sometimes my boss can be really nice. i dunno whether im being sensitive, but i felt that she treats other staff much better than me. sigh...
maybe im new, so very easy to bully.

yah, i agree jenna looks older than her age.

Hi Blossom,

Dun feel disheartened. Perhaps ure new so ure boss expects more from you? Ure right..most lady bosses can be more strict than male bosses, but that's usually becoz they hafta work harder to get where they are..and they certainly didn't get far by being soft. I guess the new person always has the most to prove. Hope u'll settle into ure new job soon and you wun be so troubled anymore.

My manager is also a lady, and she can work us hard. But she's very nice lah..takes good care of us at the same time. I always appreciate a boss who looks after his/her staff and fights for us. I used to have a former boss who was so quick to agree with other pple and blame his staff for mistakes. Cldn't stand him.

blossom

hi alhana,
thanks for the encouragement. i think you are right. it's tough to be a lady boss so i cant really blame her. i just hope that i will pick up the skills fast and complete the tasks faster.

i also have male bosses in my past jobs as well. yah, some of them are like "yes"-men and the staff will have to slog to deliver things that he promised others...

it's eve of public holiday again.
i hope i dun need to stay late today. going to my mom's place for dinner.

Hi Blossom,

Yeah! Its a holiday eve!!! *hop hop* Very happy
We're thinking of booking a holiday stay next mth and I am considering Beaufort Singapore. Have u stayed there b4? My hubby wants a beach holiday..and since we're not flying anywhere, Sentosa will have to do. Just saw the news last nite, and coincidentally, the Beaufort GM announced some special packages for the June hols.
Hey, I'm sure u'll pick up the skills fast! AHS pple are not to be looked down at :p

So any plans for the holiday? I'm going shoe shopping!

blossom

hi alhana,
i also saw the news on the special packages of beaufort hotel last nite.... sounds really attractive.

thanks for your encouragement. i will buck up.

ive no plans for the holiday.... maybe laze at home....

blossom

hi alhana,
it felt like a monday to me again... but luckily it's friday...

kim locke was voted out last nite... so sad...
she is really good.

Hi Blossom,

Yeap, its nice to know its Friday, not Monday
Sigh..no more public holidays till 9 Aug!!!! Sad.

I did expect Kim L to go last nite. Her fan base cannot beat that of Clay &amp; Ruben. It'll be a tough race next week!!! But yeah, it is sad..she's a great singer. I hope someone takes notice of her and signs her up!!

So how was ure Vesak Day break?? Did u laze at home? I went to Robinsons for their preview sale and bought a pair of Everbest shoes. Wanted to buy more but I think I've spent enough this mth :p Anyway didn't see anything v nice so I wasn't really in a mood to shop more.

blossom

hi alhana,
oh dear... i din notice i have to wait so long for another public holiday!

yah, i agree that kim l is expected to go but she did really well. it's getting very exciting now... who will be the one.... i thought ruben is stronger but after him appearing in one of the bottom two, i kinda felt that things can be really uncertain.

yup, i really laze at home yesterday. do those ah soh stuff loh... clean the hse blah blah blah...

i knew abt the preview sale but cant go... hubby has work to do. besides, i reckon it will be really crowded and i felt sian when i have to squeeze with ppl....

blossom

alhana,
i was watching the bachelor on wednesday nite and i was so eager to know the outcome (instead of waiting for the finale next week) and decided to surf the net. it turned out that the couple are not together anymore.

from those discussion forum in television without pity, it seems to suggest that most ppl went on the show to get fame rather than to get a husband. most of them get some roles in tv shows. some ppl even claim that the whole show is actually acted out. though it might be all fake, but i dunno why im still so interested in watching.... hmm....

Hi Blossom,

I dun watch The Bachelor but I read the results of The Bachelor 2 on an entertainment website mths back. Yeah, Aaron doesn't stay w Helene. He was the one who decided to end the r/s..not sure why tho. I'm not sure if the show is really acted out, but I do think tt some of them are just out for their 5 seconds of fame. I mean c'mon, is that really a way to meet ure future husband/wife????

Oh yeah, i absolutely hate shopping when its crowded. That's why I go early in the morning, just after the stores open
In fact it wasn't v crowded when I was at Robinsons yesterday..maybe the Centerpoint outlet was more crowded..dunno. But the crowd was not really big. I only queued a few min to make payment. And trying out shoes was quite fast.

U guys watching The Matrix Reloaded?

blossom

hi alhana,
yah, i remember you told me that you dun watch that show. i thot it's helene who doesn't want to be with aaron. heard that aaron did something that betrayed helene.... something like "hanging out at the playboy hse"... dun really know what that mean.

i agree that it's rather absurd to look for future husband and wife on the show..... esp when the bachelor is supposed to propose after 6 weeks.
i guess im guess kpo to know who he will choose.... im usually most alert during the rose ceremony.

i cant make myself get up that early to shop leh.... do you stay near town? i need at least an hour to go there so dun usu want to go there.

we will be watching matrix reloaded but prob not so soon. hubby is quite bz these few days. you are watching it tomorrow rite?
22084.gif

Hi Blossom,

I stay in Katong..its just a 15 min bus ride to suntec and maybe 20-25 min to Orchard. I'm usually up at 9 on weekends and will leave for town by 10. Have brunch there

People usually watch shows like The Bachelor coz it seems so ludicrous and they just want to see how low regular pple can stoop to finding their 'perfect mate'. My thinking is that, if the guy is so great, why isn't he attached now? And why does he need a show to find himself a wife? I'm not surprised the last 2 pairings ended.

Hanging out at the Playboy Mansion u mean? U know the Playboy bunnies? The creator Hugh Hefner has a place called the Playboy Mansion where they hold parties and its filled w all these Playboy bunnies, models etc.

Yah, I'm watching the Matrix tmr. Heard many pple saying tt the story is not good, unlike the first Matrix. But the action scenes are supposed to be jaw-dropping. I think story wise, it wun be v strong coz 1) the idea isn't fresh anymore and 2) this is just a prelude to the last movie Revolutions. Well, hope so anyway.

Gosh..its so hot today!

blossom

hi alhana,
wah... that's a convenient place to stay. you really wake up early during the weekends. i can never make it.

oh... playboy mansion. hmm... but what's wrong with hanging out at the mansion?

i guess by now you have watched the matrix. how do you find it? i think what you said could be true. maybe the first matrix movie is too successful.

yah... it's really very hot. i went out at mid-day and nearly melted under the sun....
22118.gif

Hi Blossom,

Just got back from watching The Matrix Reloaded. Its actually not too bad. The action scenes were quite impressive (altho I wasn't as blown away as some critics were) and the storyline was not as confusing as pple said (well, I didn't think it was v confusing :p) Still, v much worth the $17 we paid
If u guys are watching, remember to stay till the end of the credits coz they will show the trailer for The Matrix Revolutions.

GOsh, ure right..its so hot! Dying here. When I was getting ready to go out this morning..already started feeling sticky and sweaty. Urgh. HOrrible.

I think most gals wun like the idea of their men going to the Playboy Mansion. Imagine ure FH or hubby hanging out there w all these playboy centerfold models (from playboy magazine) etc..wld u like it? Most pple go there to flirt and just have a good time w the bunnies. Not a good idea if ure already attached and are going to get married!

blossom

hi alhana,
glad that you like the movie. i think some critics tend to overrate movies. so i dun really think too much abt it.
okie, i will bear that in mind and stay til the end of the credits.

it was really very hot. imagine i still have to wash the toilets in this heat... i was sweating like crazy.

i guess you are rite. it's prob not a nice feeling to have bf going to the mansion. i saw more articles on them. aaron claimed that he was not doing anything wrong at the mansion... just meeting frens. he said helene din trust him at all. hmmm... i guess there are two sides of the story and the media seems to be painting a picture in favour of aaron. anyway.... sad that it ended so fast. helene looks like a very nice lady to me.
22140.gif

Hi Blossom

Yeah, take the reviews w a pinch of salt. One man's meat is another man's poison
Anyway I usually go to www.rottentomatoes.com to read movie reviews coz they compile reviews from many different sources...gives a balanced opinion of the movie. They give a fresh or rotten rating to a movie..the more positive reviews they have..the 'fresher' their rating

We've had trouble sleeping for the past 2 nites. Seems the aircon isn't doing much good! Our walls felt so warm even at nite...and the bed too
Hate this time of the yr.

Helene does look like a sweet gal..saw her photo when I read tt she was chosen by Aaron. Even if Aaron didn't do anything wrong at the Mansion (which I doubt), I wld totally understand Helene's displeasure. I mean, what kind of a place is that to meet frens??? Oh tdy's Life! intros all the teams for TAR4. Take a look if u have the time.

blossom

hi alhana,
it has been a bz day since morning.... sneak in for a while before i dive into another mad rush again...

i had problems sleeping too!!! it was really hot. but i cannot adjust the temperature lower becos my hubby will freeze to death. he's very scared of cold. i thot im the only one having problems.... so at least im not a weird person....

okie... will check out the life section when im free.