Curtains

stress_man

Hi anyone has done their curtains by Art Living located in Furniture Mall, any comments on service & price...I heard they are one of the cheapest in the market..

alsh

Hi Da Man: I also get MGL to do my curtain. I did curtain, both roman & roller blind. Workmanship not bad service also ok, so far so good. I know there are at least 4 including myself in our neigbourhood have their curtain done by MGL. You might want to try it out if you need to do curtains again. Look for Andrew. Quite a nice, friendly and helpful guy.

xfiles_wolvie

oh ya...the shop at serangoon, i passed by tat day....its called Cre-art. smething to that extend.

angel-yeah..def look for them if i ned to do again. andrew? that time mine was May. she quite patient as well.

hapict

i went J&S n they quoted me $2000+ for

1. day curtain (shimmery thin organza material) & string curtains for living rm

2. gd quality roller blinds (fabric fm ??europe country n mechanism fm japan oops forgot but expensive sounding places)for MBR

3. cheaper roller blinds for 2 other bedrooms

but these are way over our budget. is it really worth payin so much for? designs will go out of fashion in a few yrs too right?

plain

I got a quote for my 4 room flat in redhill, not sure ok anot...
Living room – day (organza) & night – full length
MBR – night – full length
Bedrm 2 – roller blind
Bedrm 3 – night – full length
Total = S$1,100
If change to curtain for Bedrm 2, will deduct $100.

is this ok?

happie100

Here's wat i've gotten for mine:
LR 4panel windows Day & Nite curtain (Full Length - Turkish materials) - Durable n non organza materials
MBR 3panel windows Night curtain - (Full Length)
Study 2panel window (Half) - Blackout Rollerblind with spring chain
$970

All using easy maintenance fabric which can be put inside the w/machine. (except for rollerblind -can be wiped)

plain

I've signed up with MGL yesterday... Andrew is really a nice & friendly guy. Service also ok. Now pending for installation two weeks later...

sparc0ry

hi...
1. anyone have lobangs to get ready-made curtains?
2. where is the best place to get ready-made curtains?

on a tight budget so go for ready-made curtains...

sparc0ry

hi plain and happie... my wife and I have engage MGL to quote us. Quite reasonable and their curtains materials very nice.

it's out of our budget currenty cos wedding in 3 mths time... so we go for ready-made.

plain

yes, there is a bus stop right in front of MGL. what is your budget? actually me also on tight budget, cos my wedding is 3mths down the road too.
So i've gone for ready made curtains from Ikea for my guest room first.

Living room - no choice, cos no ready made curtain can fit the size.

Study room - no choice too, cos no roller blind can fit the size.

MBR - hope to have a more romantic feel, so custom made also.

I've done mine for $830.

plain

Hi Ray...

Forgot to mention, $830 is only for the custom made curtains. Andrew very nice, he agreed to help install the curtain rod i've bought for the guest room, also help to amend the length of my ready made curtains.
IKEA is having sales right now to 13 Aug. You can try your luck there... but not too sure if their quality ok anot. Cross my fingers...

Ready made curtain - $35
Metal rod - $8
Rod accessories - $6
Rod holder - $2

Hope this will help your decision...

plain

hapict... u meant the IKEA curtain? Its on sales, that's y... the usual price was $59, running 145m per piece & 300 drop. $35 comes in a packet with 2 piece. i dun really like tab top, henc go for this which is conceal tab...

babystarlet

hi guys,i have an enquiry,i met this curtain company during e exhibit,they mentioned that they wan us to give our budget before they can reco,is that normally the case?

sparc0ry

Wow plain... urs is a good deal from MGL. So in total u spend how much + installations?
I got my curtains from a shop in clementi... custom made cos we discovered the ready made for my whole house is close to ready-made so we go for ready-made.

My deal is day+night curtains for living, dining & master bedroom, night curtains for guest & study rooms. We have double-railings installed too for all rooms. All included for $1.2K. hiaz...

never knows that 3 mths before wedding is "so scary" where alot of things to do.

hapict

babystarlet
which exhibition u went to? got such things meh? or is it cos they try to fit their profit margins within your budget? u tell them a v low price loh...

ray
yours is quite a gd deal also wat... now just 5mths to weddin, me also stressed.. havent buy furniture, move in, do the wedding stuff like bookin BS, takin photo shoot etc. arghh!!!

wenshi

Ray,

I saw 1 curtain shop in clementi interchange there. dunno izz the shop u meant? Look like their curtain not bad ler.

babystarlet

hi hapict,i was at the home deco fair at spore expo last wkend lol.
i mean issit usually e norm that they ask for budget before they can reco?

sparc0ry

hapict
thanks for your compliment. Hope mind is a good deal. My house renovations was completed last year but we bought our furnitures slowly over the past one year so our budget will not be "burst" one shot.
Singaporebrides have a good checklist for going-to-be newly web couple... do check it out.

Hi Wenshi,
The curtain shop beside the coffeeshop & near giodarno, balenos and bossini... the shop owner that served me is Sunny. If u want to contact, let me know.

hapict

babystarlet
argh i missed the fair again. do u know is it on again this weekend?

ray
i m currently on leave, read so much on singaporebrides till info overload. feel nauseous now when i c the pc. ;p but thanks ray. FH say buy the bed oni for an chuan but i ask him where our guests gona sit when they come by during AD...haha.

kenjoc

ray,

can i have the contact for the curtain shop in clementi too? If possible, give me the address.

plain

Hi Ray…
My installation just done up. Service not bad. Had taken some pictures, but dunno how to upload here cos it seems that this website only can upload small size files…. Anyone can teach me how to reduce file size? When is your installation? Done? Can share pictures?
Ya… 3mths before wedding is like so cramp for so many things… headache…

hapict

hi babystarlet
yup did tat. dun have. thanks!

plain
if u have XP, can use microsoft office picture manager to reduce the file size. there's an option there.

sparc0ry

Hi hapict, here is the link: http://www.singaporebrides.com/wedding.htm. Quite useful or alternative you can look for those SG brides magazines have good and detailed checklist. It's just for your reference, you and your partner should work it out yourself.

Hi Cha_alex,
I forgot the name of the shop... the namecard is with my wife. Can I check it out and let u know?

Hi Wenshi,
Glad that u found it! Nice place to get curtains for custom or ready made. I went to Bedok, Joo Chiat and finally Clementi.

sparc0ry

My Curtain shop is:

Clementi Kian Seng Fashion Textile
(Upholstery & Curtain Centre)
Blk 442, Clementi Ave3, #01-113
Singapore 120442
Tel: 6777-0818, 6778-4886
Fax:6778-4886
ATTN: SUNNY

plain

i went for mgl. just installed. service ok. what is this imageshack thingy about? i really IT idiot... paiseh...

kkjc0517

any 1 compare the quote between MGL and jimmy textiles for the curtains of the whole house?which 1 is cheaper?:>

sparc0ry

hi Plain...
imageshack is webbased server to store your pics online and share it with your friends. You can also share it on yahoo too.

Hi Cool,
Double railings is meant for those who wants Day & Night curtains concept. One railing for Day curtain and e other railing for night curtain. My curtains can be machined washed and they're going to fix the railing higher so next time I can get ready-made curtains from anywhere. Hee hee..

kaye

Jux pop by since I m free.

Cool,
U may want to ask the person doing yr curtain if it can be washed.
My hse has curtains, roman blinds & roller blinds.
Both curtains & roman blinds can be machine washed. Roller blind just used a cloth to wipe it.

kkjc0517

hi ray,

u using the aluminium track type?aluminium track type can buy ready made curtains next time?how high they fix the railing then can buy ready made 1s?thanks so much

rosewood

If you people are going for MGL, look for May, the lady owner. Very nice person to deal with, not Andrew. His after sales service sucks...

I am only doing my MBR. Its only a normal 2 panel window. Requirement will only be Night curtain (velcro strapped) on railing, machine washable material.

I was quoted $250+++ for doing the above with installation etc. Find it so ex!!

Can anyone recommend some cheaper source?

pigz_gal

mine is 1 day n nite full length, 2 x roman blind n 3 x roller blind (bedroom 3, study room n balcony).. cost me 1.2k. all blackout expect for balcony one.. izit ex??

hapict

elvi
is it the norm now for velcro strapped curtains?? i think it's a wonderful idea...so convenient but wonder if it will last..do u have any pics??
u no need do your other rms? i tot of doin MBR first but think wont make economical sense if later i do the other bedrooms n living rm? will b more x this way?

pigzgal
i think yr quote is cheap leh. see my postin above on a quote fm J&S.. so x!!