Curtains

k-man

Anyone has any good recommendations for doing up day & night curtains. We have full glass windows for Seng Kang premium flat. Not very sure about the rooms though. Looking at roman blinds for the rooms. Please share your experience

starfruit

Got my curtains from IKEA.. we bought the curtain poles and fix them up ourselves. Its a lot cheaper this way than to engage the cutain ppl to fix the curtain rails for u. U might wanna consider this option

och

hi starfruit,

hv u washed ur curtains yet? my aunt bought her curtains fr ikea, n she complained that the curtains shrunk after the wash. i m contemplating using ikea curtains too, but i'm not too sure now. do u hv the same experience?

dew

Hi all! I'm oso putting up curtains in my new home at Woodlands. I just bought the curtain poles from IKEA and I'm thinking of buying the curtains from IdealHome. Anyone knows if they're any good? Also, I'm thinking of buying those curtains that are buttoned or velcroed so that I dun have to take the entire pole out everytime I want to change them. Anyone knows where I can get these?

oak

hi gals, my new home's almost done and I'm thinking of doing up the curtains too. But I dunno whether to buy ready made ones from Ikea or any other lifestyle homes or get them custom-made. Is it worth paying for the latter?

oak

kp

Melandas just quoted us 3k for day and night curtains and roman blinds for the 3 rooms.

twosix

just to give you more choices... i bought my curtain poles + cloth from spotlight.

the poles are definitely more expensive than ikea, but i find spotlight pole's quality is much better. the price is like $3 (ikea) vs $40 (spotlight). spotlight has poles from 1.5 to 3.5m long.

curtain cloth wise, i find both spotlight and ikea have about the same price. spotlight though, has much much more choices. each piece (tab top) cost about $30 for 110 x 213cm, 100% cotton, to give you an idea.

they also have tailored made curtains.

if you are currently renovating your house, you can get your contractor to put up the poles for free.

i did a calculation for living room + 3 bedrooms. total cost should not exceed $700. this is definitely very much cheaper than buying from curtain shops.

mike888

For my EA flat, I have full length curtains in living and 3 bedrooms, with day curtains (full length also) in my master bed room and living room. The shop also agree to replace all my tracks; x2 tracks in all rooms, with wooden rods in 3 bedrooms.

Cost me $1.3k, with free tussels and tie back for all rooms. And the service comes with a smile as well. So quite satisfied.

oak

mike888, wat's the name of the curtain shop u've engaged for ur (custom-made?) curtains?

oak

mh

I am also staying in Sengkang with those full length windows. I did day curtains and blackout curtains for my entire house. I felt blackout curtains(those which have an additional vinyl backing) are better coz they block out sunlight entirely when let down. They are a bit more expensive than normal night curtains but I feel it's more practical, esp. when you want to sleep in on weekends! I spent $1400 for my 3 bedrooms and living room.

bubble

I bought black out curtains material from Perth when I holiday there and got it sewn in Singapore. It is much much cheaper. Just remember to take the measurements before boarding yr plane

chua

Just bought my curtains.... very zen looking and the material is quite good. Custom made for my 3 bedrooms and the full-length windows for the living room. The shop owner is extremely friendly and the whole custom-made package came up to $660, with tracks included. Very satisfied. Thought that the whole thing is a steal.

kp

was at J&S curtains at plaza sing. based on $30 pfr ,material, I was quoted $2,200. this includes:

3 x roman blinds for rooms
1x day and night curtains

prices come with standard rail. but we want wooden rod. so need to top-up. tie back also not included.

we remembered seeing them at those homemaker exhbt and asked them for that package. sh said can round down the price give free tie-backs and 10% discount on fabric. anyone with comments?

interested

hi chua,

Could u share with me where did u made ur curtains? Thanks.

bell

I've went to J&S Design too!
I actually went to 2 outlets before, one as mentioned in Plaza Singapura and the other at Tanjong Katong Complex. What I must say is the furnishing of the showroom is best. It makes me feel good and cosy and feel like home. Great place to visit! But comparitively, the price are quite high but the materials are exported from Europe which I don't see them elsewhere in Singapore after a month to 2 surveying for my new coming house on furnishing. I really like the stylish day curtain patterns. So many to choose from.
Anyway, I made my order last weekend. Although it is a little ex than others but it's worth it.
The $2,200 is in fact half my curtains order. What fabric you have chose? Any other comments?

kp

hi bell

I can't recall the fabric. i think it was from belgium. about $30pfr.

kp

hi bell

yupe... preparing for the house and wedding together... damn stress....

kp

hi bell
nope still scouting around. went to Furniture Mall behind Plaza Hotel today. the lady just quoted me off-hand $2,100. similar to the confif that i got from J&S. fabric from US. also say they supply to J&S. damn sian of all these pet talk.

just want the best value for $$. hey did u do roman blinds? if you do, do you have trimmings? do u know if they shrink?

chua

Hi Interested,

Sorry for the late reply. The $660 curtains for the whole house is from the following shop:

Starline Curtain Design
Blk 183, Toa Payoh Central
#01-288
Tel: 2551339
Contact person: Mr Low (i think... not too sure, though)

All the best for your reno!

bell

KP

Yeah, i've got a pair of roman blind at my mum's place with n trimmings, some times back beginning of last year. The material I got does shrinks. I heard that it depends on materials. I made another set last Chinese New Year, I've brought it for dry cleaning. It's fine, no problem.

anti-middle

To KP,
My personal advise is... DUN EVER TRY "MIDDLE CUR..." if it's the one you've mentioned in the Furniture Mall.

Reason: Experience says it :p...

U

ugly duckling

hi. i've got roman blinds in my hse & i heard dat some laundry shops do provide the svc of coming to ur hse to undo the blinds & bring them back for dry-cleaning, after which they will bring it back & do up for u...has anyone got such contacts?
cos i tik i dun really noe how to put the blinds back, seems complicating with all the tying of strings & poles.

kp

hi anti, care to elaborate your experience with middle? i dont really like the sales lady (linda) there.

gwnn

will be interested if anyone has experience with Middle Curtain at Furniture Mall. Quite like the fabric designs there, but sounds like someone has had bad experience (anti-middle?). Linda does sound rather "hao-lian", but quite willing to go with it so long as she delivers.

gwnn

anxious

hi all. I'm trying to look for "bamboo shade" for my balcony (water proof). But I've been looking around and couldn't seem able to find any. Wonder if any of you can provide me with some contacts/ recommendations?

jeslyn

A no. of my friend actually got pple from M'sia to do their curtains and they are abl\out 50% of what we pay in S'pore. They have a wide range of material to select and they will come down to your house to take measurements etc. They usually come in a van with the material samples and u don't need even to go to M'sia.

The last time when 1 of them approached me at my new flat, he quote about $1K for roman blinds for my 3 bedrooms and roller binds for my full ht windows in the hall. Price is still negotiable. I'm intending to call them when my house reno is completed!

jeslyn

Hi Milo,

I have not seem their work before leh. But he did mentioned that he has done a few houses in Seletaris... Maybe u can request him to bring u to see them.

Another of my friend got another M'sian to do hers which she has no complains, I can check it out from her, but I probably can only provide u the contacts sometime next week.

catz

I was wondering if anybody had any other curtain shops to recommend. How long does it take to tailor the curtains? I'm looking at one full-height window at my dining room, one full-height at my living room and master bedroom curtains. How much should I spend?

ryn

Hi Catz,

Just got my curtains done. Cost us $2K to have the living (day curtains only)+ 2 bedrooms and an attic (normal curtains)+ master bedroom (day and normal curtains). All full length, with wood railings. Price inclusive for installation. Dunno if it's cheap, but some friends say it is. The shop is at Beauty World. Call Corex (I think). Guy's name is Mr Lui.

If you are interested, I'll get the information for you. He took abt a week, rushing it in time for Christmas. Very nice man, and he gets his guys to clean up after installation.

catz

Hi Ryn,
Yes, I would be interested to get Mr Lui's contact as I'll be moving in first week Feb... a bit last minute to start hunting for curtains hor? Is his workmanship good? Does it include tie-backs?
Thanks so much

ryn

Hi Catz,

You can call Mr Lui at 4680903. Shop details are:
Corex Interior Decoration Company
144 Upper Bukit Timah Road #B1-26 BEAUTY WORLD CENTRE

You can tell him that you were recommended by Mrs Leong's daughter. Our place is along Sixth Ave. The normal curtains include tie backs, but not the day curtains. I just used silver ribbons instead. You can ask for tie backs for your day curtains. I dun think it will be a problem.

He'll make arrangements to come to your place and take the measurements. After that, you can go to his hop in the evenings and select the fabric. He will give you a quote after that. You can try to bargain a bit. He might take $100 to $200 off.

So far no complains abt his workmanship. My cousin and aunt also got their curtains from him.

Dun worry abt starting too late. My FH moved in without curtains!
I dun think it's late at all. You still have abt 3 weeks. Good luck!

cheer

hi Ryn,

its me again

does Mr Lui do roman blinds, roller blinds and timber blinds? i am sourcing for good contractors to do these

please advice...

meimei

hi gals!

I ve custom made my curtains for my new 5 room flat in admiralty! paid $2K for day & nite curtains for living area, roman blinds for 3 bedroom!! The price quoted includes 2 times installation! Dun know cheap or not leh???!!!

First, is to install the track! Cos, this process is very messy & dusty! Got drilling involved!! i purposely asked them to come during my reno period! heehee...so that i dun need to clear the mess!!

After my reno complete...I will wash my house clean clean first!! Then, will ask them to come & install the curtains!!

Yah...u gals got to take note cos curtains got many types of grade! The type i ve got is medium type! If choose cheapest grade, will be very cheap!

My friend paid $1.2K for roller blind for living hall & 3 bedrooms!! very nice!! but, hubby prefer roman type!

Let me know if u gals keen!!

catz

Hi meimei,
I'm exploring all options and your curtains do sound very affordable... I'm on a pretty tight budget as we kinda got over-excited and ordered more stuff than we had originally budgeted for
Please do send me your contact... thanks! How long do they need to tailor the curtains, though?

hwee

Hi Catz,

I engaged a M'sian contractor which Jeslyn recommended and I paid $1,250 for the following, including the track & installation:

1.Roller blinds for full ht windows in the hall ( consist of 2 panels, see thru' material); and

2. 4 panels of Roman Blinds for the bedrooms

I have not seen their workmanship yet cos the installation has not been done yet. They will take about 4 weeks after measurements b4 installation.

If u are interested, u can get the contact nos from Jeslyn's posting above.

meimei

Hi Catz,

I left the name card at home! Pai sei... Currently, only have the sales person name & handphone no.! Maybe u can try calling him up & query!!

The company name is Sunrin (Mr Jack)
Hp no. 9653-9948

I think they will oso take about 4 weeks after confirm of measurement & order!!

catz

Hi Hwee, Hi Meimei,
Thanks for the contact.. hope the workmanship is good!!! But I'm afraid that 4 weeks is a bit too long... can't imagine moving in without curtains!!! Nevermind, I'll give them a call and see what can be done. Did they bring the cloth samples to you or did you view them at the shop?

meimei

Hi Catz,

Ohh...he bring those cloth samples to my new house & let me choose! Then, after i select the kind of fabric i want, he give me the quote on the spot!! Cos, different material different price mah!! kekeke...

I think If you tell them u need it urgently, they might be able to rush for you!! Cos times are bad mah....heehee...just push them lah!!!

Hi Cheer,

So happy to see you here!! I dun ve the address leh! Just have the sales ppl hp no. with me!! U need their address?? I think best is you call him up first! Make an appt with him & arrange to meet at your new house!! kekeke...best way cos got on site measurement!!!

I arranged with them to come my new house to install curtains next sunday (20th Jan) at 12pm. If u gals want to see their work, can come & see lor...my new house at Admiralty!!

hwee

Hi Catz,

For mine, he brought the samples to my place as well. But I doubt they can rush now, cos it's near CNY and they have a lot of orders. I just called him to check on my blinds and he can arrange to do the installation next week, which is abt 5 weeks after he took measurements for my house.

catz

Hi meimei,
cool! yes, that would be nice... so can get a better gauge of their workmanship. hope they can rush. i've asked my own designer for a quote but i think they're quite expensive (melandas) so that's why i'm sourcing separately.
hi hwee, thanks for all your help. i guess you're right... CNY is the peak period! :p looks like i'll be curtainless, unless i engage Ryn's contact who can do it within a week!! decisions... decisions... sigh...

cheer

hi meimei

yapz long time no see
so u have almost completed ur reno liaoz?
did u do roman blinds? are they difficult to maintain n clean? i heard its difficult to take down ... is tt true?
thanks for the contacts!

meimei

u r most welcome cheer...

happie to tell you my reno completing soon! YEAH!!earlier than wat i expected! This friday acid wash liao! So, this weekend i can go my new house clean up oreadi!!! heehee....FINALLY!!!

I do roman blinds for 3 bedrooms cos hubby likes lor!!! Heehee...me lazy lah...prefer roller cos dun need to wash!! heehee....actually, for wat i know, roman is not difficult to maintain leh!

Infact, the curtain guy told me easiler to take out! Dun know how true lah!! Those day & night curtain more troublesome cos got take out hook by hook!! But, i am going to make hubby learn how to take out & put in! Cos, it's his choice!! hahaha....i only incharge of washing only!!! Gan or not??