Crowne Plaza Hotel, Changi Airport

gladz

oh ya, greentwinkle,

sporeans are just so used to being late no matter where the ballroom is, be it at changi or town area.. heh...

my solemnization starts at 6.30pm, but it act st about 645pm.. then dinner is served st after solemnization

sillycow

I went for food tasting last friday..
The food was not bad...especially the crispy skin duck...nice and not too oily...
the yam dessert is yummy too!
by the way, the roast pork and char siew is very nice...can consider it in the appetizer...

blueszeto

hi kimchi, did they tell/show you the themes of the dinner? it is still the same old two themes- the red/black and the champange theme?

mikanmikan

I've signed up for CP early this yr and just went for their wedding show last sunday.(Yes, I did it the other way round ;p) Wondering if it's possible to have them do up the stage a little as I find it a lil bare. (notice there's only a stage and a screen behind the stage. )

blueszeto

Hi kimchi, my AD is on 22Dec. Hmm...glad there have added a new theme...hee hope i get to choose something i fancy when the time comes. Ya...i feel the stage backdrop not very nice too...thinking don't want backdrop if i don't like any of them.

kimchiweding

Hi Blue, thats like coming soon! U must be very excited.

I actually attended my frd's wedding at Crowne once and find that the backdrop is so grassy with red covered arch in the centre... Spoil the whole ambience. Btw have you choose your dish yet? Any idea if i wanna top up for shark fin, how much will it be?

alanlee

glad to have come across this thread - was considering. seems the place is too small, simple and ugly decor (black for a wedding??!! and everythign inside so dark and gloomy), and lousy sound system. seems that the coupel must do all the work to make it work, which is so not the point. checked a few quality guranteed hotels, this one has so many dates available compared to the top ones like shangri-la, mandarin and ritz.

blueszeto

Hi kimchi, i have not gone for the food tasting yet, prob around nov. heard the food is good, just that you have to top up for sharks fins...hee nt sure how much it will cost. But the room itself is kind of "decorated" with the forest theme...haa so no backdrop will look ok too.
When's ur AD?

muji

Hi blue,

Can you give us some feedback after ur food tasting? I went to take a look at the ballroom and thought it was quite dark too, there was some setup for a wedding and everything is in white with no backdrop on the stage..

blueszeto

Hi muji, sure no prob
perhaps the person don't wan backdrop too...hee I prob be getting the red/black theme as it matches my evening gown well...red n black too..

muji

Thanks Blue! We are thinking of the red/black theme too, actually we went for a stay just over the wkend at the hotel and it was really good. We asked to look at the ballroom and thought it was quite decent but we are not sure about the lighting or the sound system, some say the lighting is not good..

blueszeto

my hubby loves the lighting, it was the lighting that actually attracted us..we played around with the different effects and it was really something special. It can change from a "forest" lighting, as though there were branches on top, to a normal lighting..and a few different combi. cool!

kimchiweding

Hi Blue, mine will be on 27 June 2010. Long way to go.

hi Mujiadventure, i asked my coordinator about the lightting and she said the lightings can be adjusted.

Alan, if u have so many negative remarks about Crowne, why bother to consider and even comment in this thread. Anyway now is modern.. black for wedding is not big deal.

jazlynn10

Personally i think crowne plaza is nice!
I am holding my solemnization there because i fall in love with the place and of course, the poolside... besides that, i think Alina, my coordinator is really friendly and helpful.

blueszeto

Jazlynn, yupzz to have the solemnization at the poolside is nice!!good for you
too bad i already done my solemnization!!...hee maybe ask them have the cocktail party at the poolside b4 my dinner?...hee

greentwinkle12

blue> u can take your photoshoot at the hotel + poolside. just let your coordinator know beforehand.

i will be taking pics there on my AD prior the start of banquet.

Going food tasting early next mth

muji

Oh thanks jazlyn and kimchi, glad you gals feedbacked about the lighting, I guess as long as the couple is happy with the whole ambience and our guests have a good time, it is most impt!I love the pool too, it looks really beautiful after dark..Though my AD's 2011, I am already looking to book with the hotel once I get the list of auspicious dates..

Looks like we have some gals holding their wedding at Crowne Plaza, show us pictures?

greentwinkle12

yeps, will share aft my AD. aniwae me just found out that my coordinator left CP liao.. so now waiting for them to arrange another coordinator for me..
i didnt know till i call to enquire about my food tasting session..

because

Hello Kimchi, they are linked with T-dragon - Connie coordinated my cards when I was back in Sg some weeks ago to do the planning (i'm based in Aus, but we're having the wedding in Sg)- she's awesome

because

i chose the DL cards ivory on white inserts - with dark gray offset printing (hotstamping)
very happy with the cards!

blueszeto

I went T-dragon today...so many pple...it seems T-dragon doing cards for many hotels in S'pore!advisable to go on a weekday!! I chose white cover with pink inserts.
Didn't expect printing to be so expensive....

blueszeto

my ad is 22dec. heh t-dragon has quite a wide range of cards which you can choose other than crowne plaza cards..but in the end we still chose crowne plaza cards. i had about 150 cards...$300 for printing of 2 sides. My friend said her hotel provide free printing...hmmm

fishmonger

Hi guyz...
I m goin to sign for my banquet in 2010 with crowne plaza too!
Anyone having any problems with the carpark issues? Juz find tat 10% is atad little...
Thanz!

blueszeto

green, yupz something lidat. add an icon $10 flat. add another "xi" word, $10 flat.hahaa

nope...no place for the map for the card i chose. If you wan to print another page, means $150x3. haha

fishmonger

Hi Kimchi,
we are lookin at abt 28~29 tables..in Nov 2010..
Haha...still dun really know how and what to bargain leh...
Did you get the helper's room and additional nite stay? Tinkin of asking for it...Dunno she will give me not...
Wow..so did you get more coupons too?

sillycow

My wedding is in coming oct..
will share the pics and reviews too

They have new themes and wedding favours coming up which i find its not bad..

They have a new twig like branch arch thingy as a new stage design..
I chose that so....will see how the effect goes..

Food wise is not bad..went for food tasting last month..

The ballroom is definately unique comparing to other hotels but its not every one's cup of tea i guess.(I went to at least 6 hotels before finally confirming on CP).
Personally i find the feel is quite good.

blueszeto

hi julia!congrats, hope ur wedding goes well!
they have new themes?im excited abt tt..haa esp when u said abt the twig like branch tingy...i was hoping they have something lidat!it will match the ballroom well!

kimchiweding

Congrats Julia. Glad to hear they have more new stuff and themes!

Hi pighead,
Have to buy more coupons, no other choice though as parking is quite ex for the guests. I got the min no. of tables, thats why i didnt get additional night for helpers. U can try and bargain with them though. No regrets getting CP for me.

fishmonger

Hey Julia,Congrats to you!! Muz be very busy now with the preparation already yeah!!

Hey Kimchi.
Yeah..the carpark thingy really is a bobian for me also...I will be goin down this weds to discuss further also...hope can get better bargains!

Thanz psyence..the fotos looks great!