Crowne Plaza Hotel, Changi Airport

zel

hi princess,

CONGRATS on ur ROM =)
glad to hear from u and ur exp with CP.

Seeing Aveline's post, shall i say lucky u.. hee!

zel

hi Aveline..

True that they still have lots of room for improvement as i feel that they're still new, they wana try to catch things up.. like the server, i agree with u that it's the wrong approach.

Think for me, i'll tell them abt these few points that u've raised so as for them to avoid making the same mistakes again..

So ur AD will be in 2011?
roughly ard when? hehee.. mine too in 2011

avelinekoh

Zel: ya.. tats why i said everyone shd be open with wat ppl in forum said... hee.. mine in 2010 jan 10... booked raffles hotel in the end..

zel

Aveline..

oh raffles hotel.. good good.. happy for u =)
what's most important is both u n ur hubby must feel comfortable with their everything.

Btw, can disclose how much is it per table?

zel

Hi Avelin,

I understand.. it's also tiring to go about here n there to get the right feel on the ballroom etc.
Glad for u =) So when is ur AD?

melody_fav

hi princess,

CONGRATS on ur ROM =)
the deco of your solenmisation area is the same as the pics shown on their website?
or we can choose the colour theme?

im interested to find out the place lei.. hee..

daleth

So sad... our date are already taken when I return from overseas trip.
Need to go and look for other hotels.

princess_girl

Hi Sherly,

I think you should be able to choose ur preferred colour theme. For mine, my hubby and I chose on our own but provided that the hotel have the colour theme chair cover and table cloth that you preferred.

My Solemnisation was held at the poolside of CP and the buffet at a function room. Bcose CP would not allow to have any food at the poolside.

You can find out more details or view the poolside by making an appointment with the hotel manager. We did go to view the poolside before we sign up.

By the way, have you contact any hotel manager regarding your enquires? My advice to you is if you are looking at CP, make your booking early.

melody_fav

Thanks , princess for your advice..
infact we have no date in mind yet.. jus looking ard first, i like the ballrm lo.. hee..

I will see into it when the time is ripe lol..

gladz

hi everyone!

This thread seems pretty quiet and it's been some time i pop in here too :p

Anyone who has done their wed there recently? Care to share how's the food and everything to all of us here?

greentwinkle12

hi gladz
when is your AD?
mine's 19 Dec. Have asked the CP manager to infomr me if there's any upcoming weddings so that can go down view the setting.. but till nw, no news from them.

greentwinkle12

20 June! congrats! you sure looking forward to your big day! hee =)

will be good if they have a wedding show at the hotel..

see whether next few mths got any updates anot.

sillycow

hey glaz, could you share some pics with me after ur AD?
my AD is in oct this year, anxious to see how the whole ball room will look like...as i have yet to see the whole set up...

zel

Hey gladz!! Nice to see u ard again ^.^

So must be busy preparing again, hehee!!
mind me n my hubs pop by to take a peep?? =p

gladz

Hi Julia,

I also haven't seen the real set up too..heh..yup, will post pics here after everything

Hi zel,

im back..hehe... act not v busy preparing leh...just guestlist giving me headaches..of cuz u n ur hub can pop in..dun need peep lah, can walk ard n see ;)

katexu

don mean to throw a cold blanket here.

bin to a friend's wedding
find the food so-so, friends of the same table felt the same way. but hotel food r usualli like tt, so don take it to heart...
service wasn't tt fantastic too...
perhaps, it's a case by case basis

the ballroom is indeed different to that of other hotels. but No wedding feel, in my opinion.

accompanied my 2 colleagues there last wk to view the setup, as 1 of them was interested in the venue for her wedding.. but apparently, they didn't realli like the place.

aniwae, one person's meat is another poison,
juz giving honest feedback here
hope u don mind

zel

hehee.. Thanks gladz for the permission for us to POP IN to walk ard ;)

20-Jun hor.. will note down! thankie u!!

zel

hi kate,

no worries abt that =)
a forum is for ppl to express freely de..
hmmmm, believe this base on each n own thinkin as well nor.

So where will u b holding urs?

katexu

thankz Zel... 4 ur understanding.
personally, i didn't like Chengal bcoz it doesn't has the Wedding ambience but was juz a ballrm which looked different.
my frenz din like the food though.

my wedding was over long ago..

i did mine in Bali.
was juz a simple solemnization wif closed ones in a villa

because

Hey for those who have attended wedding banquets at Crowne Plaza, would like to find out what the lighting is like - cuz of the photography hire. Wondering if we would need to bring in extra lights to take photos during the dinner... Anyone can share their experience?

greentwinkle12

Hi Gladz,
I have queries on the wedding favours..
Have u chosen yours?
do they allow mix n match? ie. 2 different favours so that we can alternate them on each table.

Any others have chosen? can advice?

thanks! =)

sunnyham

I saw the CP ballroom picture, really love it. Not sure if CP has any availability in 20-dec-2010. Have already check with CP waiting for their response =)

velther

Due to great raves about this Venue, i went to view it last week with a group of colleagues. We worked near Changi Airport.

one of our colleagues is getting married soon, she is looking for venue now, thus we decided to take a look at this place.

All of us didn't like it upon seeing it for the first time, especially my bride-to-be Colleague. One of them felt that it looked eerie.

My BTB colleague didn't like the carpet flooring as the colour look strange and ugly, like stains. She find the ballroom not "cheerful-looking" enough. she wanted a happy feel to her wedding venue.

i, on the other hand, felt that this venue would be suitable for company event, Not Wedding. The ambience is not right.

my male colleague said the interior design is too complicated and Overdo. Other than that, it is just a normal ballroom

personal views above, pls do not mind.

sunnyham

No worries, thanks for sharing, I would like to pop by to take a look at the ballroom as well. My partner and I just love it when we saw the picture at first sight. Since mine is end of next year still got much time to look around =)

kittydia

I like Crowne Plaza too! =) The bridal suite is so nice! The place is new and i think the service there is excellent also. I met up with Jason, one of the banquet sales manager, and i think he is really professional (^o^)

greentwinkle12

Hi shufen

my coordinator is Jason too. Agree he's professional & friendly.

Yeps, Me & HTB like the bridal suite too.
When is your AD?

kittydia

Hi greentwinkle, my AD is dec 2010, but i haven't took up the pkg with Crowne bec i feel that the price is kinda steep =)

Maybe i'll do a wedding lunch instead (*o*) Would you share ur pkg details with me?

When's ur AD? Do update me on how you feel about the overall, food, svc, ambience when your AD is over yar?

greentwinkle12

Hi ShuFen

You still have much time to decide

Initially wanted a lunch one too, but lunch package no sharkk fins.. HTB family say it's a MUST dish.. so have to do dinner.
Mine's in dec 09. Took the premium package.($1098 i tink for saturday evening)

Ofhand, i think the package includes free flow of beer, 10% complimentary packing, 1 nite stay at bridal suite, 1 helpers room with 1 complimentary nite stay, 1 bottle of wine per confirmed table, i think the rest of the items are those std kind. Can refer to earlier thread to retrieve info.

kittydia

Hi green twinkle

haha...my dad says must have sharkfins too!!! I think all the parents generations thinks alike!

Yarlor, i will go rekky around and i've already went to quite a lot of venues, Crowne remains much my first love! =)

I went to the Imperial treasure for dimsum with my mom yest to pre-celebrate mother's day, i think their food is great!

Are you having solemnization at the poolside? If so, would you need to pay extra costs for the solemnization?

greentwinkle12

Nope, not holding my solemnization at the pool side, will be doing it in the ballroom itself.

i suppose there would be additional cost.. as they need to do up the decor and stuffs.

I only know that they can arrange a room for you to do the ROM prior to the dinner.. That one think no additional charge.

sunnyham

Hi Shufen,

Mine is also Dec 2010. Have arrange to meet up with Jesmi from crown plaza next week to take a look. Been to a few venue but so far I still prefer Crown Plaza. I really like the ballroom design.

Hi Green Twinkle,
Can update me also when your AD over =) Share with us your experience

kittydia

Hi Sunnyham

Just drop you a mail, do check and lemme know ba!

U sld go look at the bridal suite, they've 2, one facing the pool, the other, i think the garden...u can also go look at the spa, the gym facilities. Oso, u can look at the helper's room.

By the way, the dim sum at Crowne Plaza Imperial treasure is a good place to bring mums for Mother's day lunch, i brought my mom, my fiance, my bro and myself for dimsum there on sunday, the SOUP is so yummy! We ordered so much until we can tapao home, and paid only $66 for the 4 of us. Got discounts if got Visa Signature by UOB.

Yeah, can't wait for Green Twinkle's update! Yippy!

greentwinkle12

i went for dinner at the hotel's imperial treasure with my family too! Food was good =)

Heh.. sure, will share my experience.

Think from now till dec, should have some updates from the rest.

We will await gladz's update first i think - her AD is in June. hee

starrywedding

Hi, anyone knows if their food can mix and match? meaning that for the 8 course must it be 1 dish from each category or can we have 2 dishes from one category? Also, do you think we can bargain for 2 nites complimentary stay?

benbutton

I was helping out at a good fren's wedding over the weekend over at Crowne Plaza.

It is a beautiful lovely new hotel but maybe wedding banquets are just not their thing.

Before i begin, i have to say that i have been to numerous wedding dinners at hotels and this has been the worst experience.

First thing to note is that the March-in is the shortest i have ever seen. this is due to the layout of the ballroom. this is an issue if the Bride has been planning her march-in all her life.

I just had my wedding dinner at another hotel last year and i know that nothing beats having the hotel taking care of you. My Hotel took care of us and till today we are very grateful to them for making it a wonderful experience.

The banquet manager in-charge for my fren's wedding dinner was the most condesending hospitality person i have ever come across.
He starts off by saying that he's very experience etc etc and i have no idea how he got to this position. He will not be out of place as a kitchen assistant in a Zi Cha restaurantin a coffeeshop in Boon Lay (no offence to the people from the west).

To cut the story short, the March-in music was too soft and the best part is that everything Audio was centrally controlled in a location somewhere else in the hotel, so no immediate volume adjustment can be made. And we all know that the Walk-in music is an integral part of the wedding dinner. That's not the end, there was a delay in the serving of the food after the newlyweds sat down. We were all sitting down for more than 5 mins in silence. According to him, food is cooked just a few mintues before... Come on... it is just the starters lor where got major cooking? Furthermore they gave the go ahead too start the march-in.
And instead of apologising, he just rattered off excuses.... i just didn't want them to spoil my fren's big day.
And also, please note that they will promptly ask you to vacate the ballroom by 11.30pm (and this is a Saturday!!), if not they will start charging overtime ballroom rental. So if your frens wants to stay on and have a celebratory drink with you after the dinner proper, forget it!!!!!!!

At another fren's wedding at another hotel, the hotel continued serving drinks and water and also threw a platter of cheese. This is what i call hospitality.

One last thing which bothered me was the ballroom lighting, it was just too hard and harsh for the eye after a while..

Please note that this is how i personally feel and who knows, you may be luckier. So if you really like this hotel, put your best feet forward and enjoy your wedding experience.

PS... food was okay and the serving staff was fine

greentwinkle12

Thanks Brad pitt for the sharing.

hmm.. think BTB here shld rehearse once or twice with the music etc prior to the dinner bah. I think i will do that.

As for the march in, there are several doors available for march in. depending on which door u enter, i think there is one at the extreme which makes the march in long.. if i rem correctly. cos only see the ballroom once.

Awaiting more feedbacks and experience sharing from brides who have had their banquet at CP or attended dinner there, so that we BTBs can better prepare ourselves.

zel

hi Brad Pitt,
i tried to PM u but unable to.
have some issues to ask u about.. can PM me instead?
thanks =)

kiat

hmm... my WTB and I are intending to take a look at hotel too...

maybe will crash gladz's wedding this coming sat...

ros00

Hi Gladz,

I will like to choose CP too.. But their wedding theme seems quite "plain" to me as there isn't much deco. Anyway, mind me asking what is ur theme? Thanks!

awhimsicaljen

hey all,

I promised Gladz that I would share my experiences at CP so here I am.
I had my ROM by the pool and the wedding dinner at the ballroom on 25th April.

First of all, I would like to reassure all brides who have already signed up with CP as well as those of you who are considering CP that it is not as bad as what some of the people are commenting here.

I do agree however, that CP could do more about their ballroom decoration. But I beg to differ that the 'mood' or the ambience of the wedding dinner is a hundred percent dependable on how the ballroom looks like or whether the ballroom has grand chandeliers ! I like the ballroom because it is unique but I think most importantly, you need to establish a theme for your wedding and leverage on the uniqueness of the hotel location and its ballroom.

To make it a little more memorable for myself and my guests, I set a theme right from the beginning; from e-invites to the actual invites and the set-up of the reception itself. Both the mister and I love to travel and since our wedding dinner is going to be at the airport, we had a 'travel' theme to coincide with our love for travel and the hotel's location.

I used the hotel's invites for the relatives but sourced for an outside printing supplier to print wedding invites so that they will look like actual airline boarding passes! Many had told me that they like it cos it's so different from the usual wedding invites!

For the reception itself, I had friends to help me make ang pow boxes that look like luggages, signages that read "check-in here", "boarding now", "last call" etc, travel boards to showcase our travel photos... These help to generate some excitement among the guests and to align with our 'travel' theme.

I also engaged a wedding band to provide the 'inflight' entertainment for the guests and had them seated on the stage! Before my first march-in, I had my emcees to guide all the guests to fold paper aeroplanes and throw them into the air upon our first march-in. It definitely made the waiting time before our march-in a little more interesting. And this actually took the focus off the short march-in!

The overall effect was great and needless to say, it was a very memorable night for us and I daresay for the guests alike!

So I guess I just want to encourage you gals to not let the exterior of the ballroom deter you from making CP your choice or make you think that CP is a wrong choice! Don't be afraid to be different!

Service wise, I would say CP was pretty decent that night. I didn't have too many complaints from the guests. But you might want to highlight to them which tables are for friends and which ones are for relatives. Depending on whether your friends or relatives are more fussy, let CP know to allocate the more experienced waiters attend to the more fussy group to minimise displeasure!

One very important thing which I didn't do and regretted not doing was to test and see if my laptop was comptaible with their projection screen and system! SOmehow, we just could not use my laptop to play all the videos and CP didn't have a spare one either! Luckily for us, a friend happened to bring his laptop along and saved the day!

Also, remember to test their sound system!! I felt that their microphones were a little too soft! And it got softer as the night progressed. So do take note!

Oh yah and do have a thorough rehearsal with the hotel staff before the dinner to minimize any possible glitches!

Most importantly, CP seems to be in really good hands as in their management team appears to be really sincere in ensuring things do go on smoothly and even if things do go wrong, you can be sure that they will be there to make things right again.

Wish I could share the pics with you all but I have no idea how to post them up here!

Pls feel free to ask me if you have any questions!!

kittydia

Hi Jen

would you send me your pictures to [email protected]

U're super creative i must say! I like CRowne Plaza but I am still considering as it is quite expensive...

Please do let me know if you manage to break even =) hehehe

greentwinkle12

Hi Jen

Thanks for sharing!

did you use alittle dream as your live band? i tink i saw from their webbie featuring a wedding at crowne plaza hotel in April

I like to know if you managed to breakeven too.