Christian Brides

hi all... i'm back.. just had a cell group retreat over the weekend.. and feeling very refreshed now..

gonna start tying the ribbons this week and writing names liao... *shudder*

ashlady

welcome back home~!

Wow a long long long break is good. hope that you have enjoyed that break as well as the long day on your AD.

think the western tradition is the bridesmaids. but in local context could be either.
I'm intending to pay for my hen party.

hi ivy,

generally the bride wld pay for the expenditure.. this is usually done in the western countries. some in SGP org a mani & pedi session in a home, also considered as hen's party

or it cld be organised by bridesmaids too.. no hard & fuss rule

hey, i have to go to a church wedding of a friend, not very close friend but not distant either. how much angpow should I give ah?

<font color="0077aa">hey verie, i usually give 28 for tea and more for lunch.. for close frenz, usually bundled with the banquet ang pows.</font>

hi Ivy!
Yes, i really enjoyed the honeymoon...the AD was fun &amp; enjoyable as well. I enjoyed the worship &amp; the sermon tremenously...though my feet was aching..hehe. It was a happy day &amp; it was warm to see family &amp; friends being happy as well

hi mehmeh,
Me also busying settling down...realised i've become very scattered brain after the wedding! haha...some ppl say it's due to adjustment period. hee..i've lots to learn regarding housekeeping! :P See ya

ladies

i have a piece of great news regarding my veil. Indeed God works in ways we do not know.

Today, my hb, my mum and I were discussing about the tea ceremony. Then halfway through the conversation, I came to realise that the tea ceremony has everything to do with the bridal veil.

So we had to discuss everything from scratch for these 2 issues - venue of tea ceremony and the bridal veil.

after finalising the tea ceremony for my family, we proceeded on to discuss about the bridal veil. I mentioned several examples of friends (Christians), who had changed into teadress (including mehmeh here), and later back into WG + veil for church.

My hb, fearing that I would smoke him, decided to check with friends from his old church. He came to realise that Christianity overwrites every other tradition.

So I do get to change into the teadress for tea ceremony and get to wear the bridal veil for church. Yeah~!!!!

hey Ivy... praise GOd!

u mean James seriously didnt know that most brides do this?

but yes, thank GOd there was breakthru and now he knows that His God is greater than anyother thing and no matter how many traditions u keep to, it is truly only God will can give u the best blessings u can ever want....

hi ashlady,

heheh.. i think it's abt settling in the new place
Also started off blur, a house really needs alot of things &amp; effort to run, we're in it together! Don't forget, u can always turn to ur mummy for help yah? heehee

hi Ivy,

Praise God!! *phew* u didn't have to squabble &amp; thank God tt J was open enough to go find out too.. guess coz we only go thru our wedding once, and sometimes we're just not tt aware of what others have done in their weddings, he just might not know hor? Pray for more blessings tt wld overflow, during this last last leg of preps!

ashlady

practise makes perfect. not that i am good in housekeeping work lar, just better than my hb... but he's real good at cleaning. kekeke the good thing is that in marriage, we all learn together as a couple. That is what marriage is about. We get stretched to the max together, we learn to fight fair together, we learn patience and respect together. Don't you agree? So we learn to do housework together. kekekekeke

Ribbons, Mehmeh

yups, imagine how shocked I was when he chose to follow tradition. I really thank God for this breakthrough.

yo!! juz wanna check wif you gals &amp; guy that ur AD PG have how many photographers??? is there a need to have 2 PGs &amp; wat is the benefit of having 2??

morning gals... am alittle excited..coz im getting my house keys tml... but i have a small little burden in my heart... though not realli appropriate to share here (coz not wedding stuff la.. )but just wanna 'fa fa lao shao' here..hope u gals dun mind.. hehe... listen to a nagging old lady on a mon morning....

wat happened was, sat i went out with my mum to get my dowry set... along the way..she mentioned.. "when u go open ur door... rmb to stamp ur RIGHT feet 3 times b4 opening.. actually not suppose to let u open in evening one..blah blah blah... den bring the leaves n water to sprinkle every corner of ur house.. blah blah blah... for 'bao ping an' one..."

throughout this conversation..all i did was... SMILE at her.... haha... i dun wanna immediately disagree with her coz i know she met well..but all these rituals are not in line with our beliefs and i know..we dun have to do all these.. in my mind was.."Pls lor..i wont do one lor.. n..if i tell Ray(my bf) he sure oso say no to it one lor.. we wont wanna do it just to pls her"

ok.. if we just smile smile.. ignore her.. she wont know we din follow her instructions... so.. no issue rite? WRONG!!!! den she added... on fri den i go buy dunno wat la.. sat i go ur house sprinkle them in ur house!!!!! i almost flip upon hearing this!!

now my issue is.. i dun wanna do all these..n would wanna break this news to her in the most harmonious way.. haha... my bf said, just tell her tt we'll bring our leaders along with us to bless the house etc.. i know she sure will upset still one la..haiz.. i dun wanna upset her... had a few disagreements with her liao over wedding preps.. haiz.. but i've also prayed abt this issue la.. leaving it to our ALmighty God to find a way out for me.. hehe...

hey gals.. thx for lending ur "eyes".. haha...

have a great work wk ahead!!

hehehe kai upon hearing what u say let me tell u what i did when i open my house.

Ok being christian we cannot be so 'me xin', but the house that we select is like left there for almost 4yrs. Being empty for so long...i dont feel good, i feel that there might be sprits in the house. I didnt ask christians what they will do...but i hear many ppl (non christian) say many things on opening the house.

I even thought of asking fong shui master to select a date n time for me to go open the door. In the end we decided to open the door in the day and we roll some oranges plus throw some rice over the house. hehehe not very christian but a simpler way to make me feel that the house is cleanse.

I didnt think so much at that time, all i want is to feel safe with little effort.

Now if i can do it again, think i will just bring a bible into the house n pray.

Kai dont worry ur problem will be solve just like ivy.

hi ivy,

heheh.. now no need to *faint* oredi, kekeke, u can smile ur way to the big day!

hi kai,

hmm.. since ur mum's idea is for u to be blessed, u tell her tt u &amp; ray wld like to be blessed by ur Pastor. Tell her u appreciate her kind thots abt ur welfare, but the means to the ends may be different, but u're already blessed by her love &amp; concern

Pray tt God will give u a way!
just to share...
When we were in the midst of renos, my mum brought up the issue of house 'blessing' over a dinner.. I was a little apprehensive abt this 'blessing', so i might have misheard her. No one else at the table mentioned anything, and like u, i just said 'orh-orh'
Then after dinner, i asked Hb abt what my mum said.. To my pleasant surprise, she meant asking ppl fr church to bless our home. I think the terms such as Pastor or CG cld't be verbally mentioned by my mum, coz she's not familiar &amp; maybe 'shy' to bring it up.. Feel really blessed tt my parents are really supportive abt our decisions!!

hi SummerIce and meh meh...

thx for all these sharing... initially i was just thinking, when i go open the door... just wanna say a prayer with my bf in the house, to ask for God's blessings and covering on our household... as for pastor/ leaders' blessings, can come abit later...at their convenience.. hehe...

i certainly hope tt all these will come to pass... hehe... coz i realli dun wanna throw any water/ rice/ beans in my house..coz me n ray feels tt by doing so, we might stumble others as well...

ivy...
yup..glad to hear tt ur issue has been resolved... =D

now no need to headache le... and u'd be smiling as radiant as those pics in ur photoshoot!! =)

Hey kai

I echo what mehmeh said.

But just for your reference. We went to pray for the house when we got our keys. The first CG meeting we had, the CGL and the CG prayed for blessings over our house.

what we did was..... when we were looking at the show flats for the WIS, we went to pray at the places that we liked. we saw this particular unit (doors locked lah) we liked it very much and some how we prayed longer there, laynig our hands on the gate..... and in the end when we went to HDB, chinese quota in Queenstown only left one and only this unit left.. and by faith, this house that we prayed especially long for is the house that we will be staying in...=)

when we got our keys, fh and i prayed in every room, to dedicate the house to GOd, right from the begining, even before renovations...

my FMIL is intending to do some moving in traditions thingy.. i do not know what she wants to do, but i told my fh and my pastor, that whatever she wants to do, i wanna do a house blessing first.... i wanna honour God first in no matter what happens, and can intercept anything MIl wants to do also..

Just to share, i attended a cell group retreat last week and the word material was about surrendering ourselves to Christ. And this verse kept coming up:

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart; and don't lean on your own understanding. In all things acknowledge him, and he shall direct your way. [Proverbs 3:5, 6]â€

so many issues are surfacing now as wedding preparations intensifies... and sure got clashes... something happened recently and as i was fuming on the bus, suddenly this verse came to me... i found myself saying this verse slowly in my mind.. i dont know why but i realised that I am feeling so angry now becos i am thinking so much of whats happened, what i wanna do, what cna happen etc.. instead of this, i should be trusting in God, dont lean on my own understanding by thinking thru the situation and thinking of what I want to do.. So I am going to just surrender this to GOd and trust in Him to solve this issue.., and once i do, i will not think about it anymore ,becos this would mean i'm taking my surrendered isues BACK from God and stop him from doing his work..

hope all of us will remember that no matter what happens, we're in God's hands and He will never want us to go thru anything we cannot handle... sure somtimes the journey's abit hard to go thru, outcome a bit hard to reach or its different from what we expect.. but His will wouldnt be in a place where His grace cant reach us.. =) so trust in God, no matter what, and He will guide us to the way that we are suppose to go, according to his will..

this retreat came at a right time for me, just before i go full speed ahead into the preparations....

anyways... we're getting my pastor to do a house blessing for us soon.. he'll be doing a simple worship, short word and we will go pray at every room, he will pray, we will pray and he will ask some of friends to pray too, and end off with a prayer for us... inviting my whole zone, cos these are pple close to our hearts and i am sure they wanna bless our house together with us too...

kai: i learnt thru all these.... even though we are to live our testimony as christians and not participate in all these, we are also taught to respect our elders... and so if u've told ur parents about ur feelings, if they still insist, just see what they wanna do lor.. ultimately, they do these cos they are concerned for us, and of course want the best for us... i sometimes would allow my FMIl to do such stuff.... not cos i want to applease the ancestors or whatever gods and ensure good fengshui but cos it appleases the parents and elders who are still around and puts them at peace (and my ears at peace too).. most importantly, ur heart is right before GOd. =)of course i will put my foot down and have certain limits lah.... i have told fh, DO NOT bring any joss sticks and attempt to place ANY idols in the house or nearby the house..)

as what i did, God first in everything... so when u guys first go in, pray over the place, pray for cleansing, and that your home will be filled with joy, laughter and most importantly God's presence..=)

(i havent heard of the stamp/ rub ur fee in the house etc b4....

hi ribbons..

ya.. thx for all the advise.. shall see how it goes.. hehe...

the stamping of feet b4 entry.. haha.. i oso dunno la..coz supposedly she said after 5pm cannot go open door,sunset le... but we collect keys at 4pm...wat time u expect us to reach jurong west, from toa payoh.. hehe... den she ask me, cannot change time meh? blah blah..but coz ray working ma.. his timing not very flexi.. so... no way to change timing to pls her.. so she came back to me and tell me, if gotta open door in the evening..gotta do tt lor.. hehe.. but den.. i wont do la..

kai, take keys on that day does not mean must open the doors on the same day wat...

for our case, i took the keys during 7th mth 3 yrs back. BUT, we only opened the door after 7th mth..

we may not believe what the old folks say.. but then, if we will lose any hair by doing it &amp; make them happy.. i guess no harm also la

Also, it is always better to open the door of a new house during the day where there is bright sunlight... can see/check the interior better also

sometimes, it is better to listen to the older folks. my SIL does not believe that time when my mum told her to avoid going to their new place when it is undergoing renovation (ie when the workers are workign) as she is pregnant . when she was there, she had a pain in the tummy that she quickly ran downstairs. only then, the pain stopped. well, not everyone is as lucky as as her.

hi diamond n all...
not tt we MUST open the door on tt day la..but bf would like to go see see lor... coz he working n no leave...den the coming sat... he got things on after work oso..dunno when den he can get to see ma... so... will just pop by to see see out of excitement.. hehehe..

ribbons...
YAYA!! tt is the only thing i tot of abt the stamping of feet.. hha... to shake of the dust b4 i enter... hehehe....

hi kai,

u're welcome.. just thot of encouraging u!

heheh.. i also can feel ur excitement in wanting to open the door asap, esp when u can get hold of the keys after such a longlong wait!

Pastors &amp; the other lay leaders can also hold on
but must chope them also! it's been so long, diff for CG &amp; even Pastor to come by my place *ooops*

i think its cos kai kan cheong lah... when we got our keys we also straight away rush down to the house.. so excited, i think we didnt even look for defects..... straight away we wanna see what we can do with the place lah, pray lah..... few days later than we inspect the place with my ID.. haha...

actually, it doesnt really matter who prays, God sees the heart of the person praying not the status or portfolio of the person praying... =)

<font color="0077aa">hey ladies, dun forget you are a child of God too.. and have Christ in you.. =) you are of the royal priesthood! so, in your capacity as a priest, you can definitely bless your home yourself too =)</font>

yups.... totally agree with pandalic...

greater is He who is in you than he who is in the world... with God inside,we're already empowered...

Yup, my fiance and I just recently prayed in the hall of our home that God would be sovereign in this place, and use it to His glory.

We intend to invite our pastor to come after reno, but as Christians we can always pray first.

Kai - maybe go with yr fiance on another day and pray first, before anyone else can come and do anything? Tell your mum you're not going to see the house on the first day?

anyone has recommendations for church decor done by florist? I only need simple decor like pew decor, altar centrepiece and maybe 2 flower stands. may or may not need flower stands. Yah. Possible to do it ard 400 bux?

Would be good if u guys can recommend..thanks!

morning gals...

my issue has been resolved once again by the intervention of our Almighty God.. hehe...

my dad came over to view the house with us in the late aftnn, before gg to fetch my mum off work... den he brought her out to dinner... n spoke to her abt this issue (I instructed my dad on this mission b4 he go fetch her.. hehe)

he feedback to me that she grumbled abit la... as he broke the news to her... but thank God.. when she came home.. she did not nag at me.. or utter a word abt y i did not do as she has instructed... hehehe.... i realli thank God for this...

n thank you gals for the listening "ears" here and all ur sharing and advice..

wat ray n i did was, after checking ard the house... we stood in the hall to pray a prayer of blessing n oso pray for protection for our household... =)

hi mag,

i hv a wedding planner who does church decor for bride and we are engaging her too..... can i hv ur email so tat i cn give u her contact.

<font color="0077aa">hihi ladies, just to share a good news with you all.. i am really thankful to our heavenly father..

if you guys remembered, my matrimonial home will not be in time for the wedding.. and due to uncertainties in our work schedule and the high rental, we cannot commit to renting a place.. so we kinda decided to stay with my parents after the wedding.. although its a good solution, i guess nothing beats having a place of your own after the wedding.. and i remember telling my fiance that "how nice it will be if we can stay alone after the wedding" sometime back.. and his reply was "well, let's just leave it to God"

then just yesterday, a fren who will be leaving town to join her hubby elsewhere, offered her brand new fully-furnished apt to us! and she is not collecting any rental from us.. we just need to pay for maintenance, utilities, phone and internet bills and help her keep her mail and apt in good condition and she is keeping a room for herself in case she returns for a visit.. where got so good lobang right??

i really cannot believe it and am so elated.. He is so good right? His promises are YES and AMEN!</font>

hi Kai,

Praise God for how He moves His hand &amp; takes u by such surprise!!

hi lilic,

Praise the Almighty God for His unwavering faithfulness!!

hey pandalic.. tt's a wonderful testimony!! PTL!! =)

when we faithfully believes and trust in Him... He takes care of all our burdens... =)

I hv the same prob wif padalic smtime bk last few weeks. My FH's bro's family will be still staying in the hse that we are going to take after our wedding, his SIL told him tat they wont be shifting out of the hse so soon. Therefore we hv no place to stay even after wedding. We fretted over tis matter and spoke our leaders and by God's grace one of my leader offered his plc to us cos they will moving into his IL's plc bcos of his two kids. Sm of my church cum to know of this they oso offered us a room in their hse.

I agree that once we surrender our burdens and issues to God, He will do the rest. In fact, we feel tat at times, our bros and sis-in-christ are better thn our own blood siblings.