Christian Brides

jklim4642

1 thing to add, just like one does not burn the bridge leading to god.. i dont think anyone here wld want to burn their bridge to their parents or ILs.. kinship is something that no one in the right sense of mind will wan to forgo

cactus_79

Hi ladies, can I get some advice here? I read with interest the recent posts. I'm in a dilemna. My in-laws are likely to have joss stick offering ritual to ancestors. I was told ancestral worship is not permitted - but it's okay to just stand and give a small nod of head and observe whilst husband holds joss sticks for himself and me.

Is it okay for my husband to hold joss sticks for me in proxy?

A marriage binds me to my husband. Is it acceptable that ancestral worship infiltrates into our marriage even if only 1 party practises it?

jklim4642

cactus, my parents are non-christians. So, i told them, my FH will pay his respect to our ancestors BUT, he will just bow. he will not hold joss sticks. my parents said they understand & thus, we will make do with him bowing.

there are always many school of thoughts. a christian friend of mine hold joss sticks to pay respect to his ancestors as his parents are not christians. i asked "u can hold joss sticks meh?". guess what he said? he said "where in the bible teaching it says that i cannot hold joss sticks?". he told me, holding joss sticks may mean something to his parents BUT then, he told me, it does not mean a single thing at all.. it is not even ancestral worship to him..

sandsand

yeah, it depends on the invidual really... not double standards cos everyone's relationship is a different and unique one..

weddinstory

Need advice. Got ang paos from friends and colleagues who cant attend my wedding which will be few weekslater. I feel quite pai say. Thot of buying the wedding cake voucher for those who cant come but gave ang pao. anyone did that? need advice.

hi weddin,

it's alright if they bless u with an AP & u not returning them anything.. but if u wld like, i think the cake voucher is a nice gesture to appreciate them too! otherwise u can request for more wedding favours fr ur banquet manager & can distribute to them

hi coco..

in the weddings i've attended, generally the thanksgiving during the HM is dedicated to family & helpers, and other significant ppl tt have been involved in the lives of the bride & groom

and usually for the banquet, u wld thank the colleagues & frens.. but then again, u cld still thank ur family on points u might have missed out during the HM, heheh, out of nervousness??

hope this helps

small_one

Hi Sisters

I am back.

Breekz & Cactus, I will not add on to what Pandalic and ribbons have mentioned. But do God diligently and He will give to you the wisdom to resolve any issues that arise.

Hi weddin

It's alright to receive without returning (in this case). I did encounter a similar feeling when my Sec school Principal (one of my invited guests) informed that she would be giving me a cheque.

Both my husband and I felt paiseh to receive the cheque, but she still mailed it to us. So hubby and I would be visiting her after our honeymoon with a box of our wedding cake as a token for her.

Hey coco

My hubby only gave a speech during the HM. We skipped the speech part during the dinner, as we were very much in a hurry.

small_one

Dear Sisters

I will like to give God the glory for all the joy, all the love and most of all, all the blessings that He has bestowed to us yesterday, at our wedding.

We thank God for a wonderful team of helpers. We thank God for placing responsible and resourceful people around us. We would not have enjoyed ourselves so much, if not for them and their support.

Despite one of my jiemeis has now been identified as the 'AP girl' (cos she is the one who kept asking for the AP during gate-crashing), I believe they all had fun. But most of all, it was a fusion of backgrounds and ideas.

To me, the greatest joy was to see my friends from different stages of my life (and they do not know each other at all) getting to know each other and becoming friends themselves.

We thank God too for the provisions. My hubby got his ideal bridal car at a much lower rate than quoted.

God also blessed our friends and family through 4D. Many of those who bought our bridal car number yesterday won. In fact the number came up twice. Once at the Starter (8893) and the second time at the Consolation (9883). Everytime someone came up to me and said, 'Hey, your bridal car number came up in 4D.' I just tell them it's the blessing of God.

We thank God too for the fine weather. It did not rain. The driver of the bridal car told us that the weather forecast said that it would rain heavily, but I believed that God withheld the rain for us, so that our guests could all enjoy themselves.

Last but not least, I thank God for His Word. He spoke to us through the witty sermon by our pastor. I can only remember the last point of the sermon - To keep moving on with God. When God is in the picture, He will see to every issue and every detail of our lives and marriages. But the thing is that we need to seek Him and trust Him, and to keep moving on with Him. A cord of 3 strands would not be easily broken.

To many, the issue of whether we made it financially was of utmost importance. But we trusted Him with our finances and are also giving towards our church building funds. And God is faithful. He made sure that we made it. Yes, we broke even and are able to pay for the wedding ceremony at church, the wedding dinner and even the bridal package.

Thank God for every provision, every detail, every individual and every moment of the wedding. It may be one day of my life, but it is certainly the most memorable day. Because God was with us that day and He gave us the desires of our hearts because we entrusted everything into His wonderful hands.

All thanks and glory be unto Jesus.

*Thank you sisters, who have been praying for my wedding. *hugs* *

hi Ivy,

*congratulations*
428117.gif
So glad to hear tt u & ur HB enjoyed urselves a great deal yesterday! Pray tt indeed, you 2 would keep moving with God

Oh yes, enjoy your honeymoon!!

weddinstory

dear sis, thank u forthe advice. guess i'll buy the cake or buy souvenir for them frommy HM trip.

hi anyone knows the address of the seamstress KIM at tampines?

i lost her address.. made an appointment with her liaoif hv please email me [email protected]

lilic

<font color="0077aa">hey ivy, God is faithful and never fails those who choose to believe in Him. i am really happy for you because you have attested to His faithfulness, grace and mercies. now counting down to mine and yes, by faith i believe that it will be another wonderful testimony to those around me.. all glory be to our Abba Father..

chendol

Great to hear that you had a blessed wedding. Our prayers for your health were answered!

Let's always remember to put Him first, in our lives, in our weddings.

Weddinstory, I'll email you Kim's details.

anushka

hi guys, is there anywhere else besides tecman that sells church/solemnisation bulletins? they've run out of the ones i want. cheers!

twinkle2610

Hi Ivy,
thank you for such a wonderful sharing!

i believe many of us here have been strengthened by this testimony and will continue to learn to put our trust and faith in Him, the Lord of our lives...

small_one

Hi Sisters

Please keep my hubby and I in your prayers once again. We heard that there has been bombings in BKK, where we are having our honeymoon now.

Pls pray for protection for us and our properties.

thank you... *hugs*

yuene

Hi Ivy,

The press doesn't say anything about bombings in BKK. But we'll pray for you still. Congrats on your recent wedding!

count

Sorry for being MIA for so long. Was super busy with wedding preps the weeks before the wedding and have yet to shift my things over to hubby's home. Now on honeymoon and managed to log on for a while before heading out. Enjoying our time in Bali lots - private villa with pool, spa, shopping and food. Food is extremely cheap here...

The wedding went well though we had showers of blessing - a thunderstorm in fact - before and during HM. Most of our guests turned up though there were some no-shows... But PTL for ensuring that all went smoothly. Our best man and bridesmaid, as well as other helpers, did an excellent job despite us not having made contingency plans for the rain. Angeli's food received rave reviews although we over-catered and there was tons of surplus food. We catered for 250 pax and only abt 200 turned up (we were afraid that there would be insuff food so we catered for the exact no)

The dinner went smoothly as well, hubby's speech was praised by many of the guests and we had a good time. Although Twinkle, u may want to reiterate ur alcohol policy to Shang... The service staff were a little too liberal with the alcohol - despite only starting to serve the alcohol after the ballroom doors opened, we finished the first barrel of beer by the first course! And our guests complained tt they were too ready to pour alcohol... Thank God the alcohol consumption didn't hit the roof at the end of the dinner...

Update u gals more after i'm back... Hubby wants to use the PC now!

summerice

wow so happy to hear that all of u have a great time.

Anyone going to JB to print invites? Maybe we can all go together, will we get it cheaper?

sandsand

summer|ce... dont think they will give cheaper.. they go by template... so if got a few different templates, they charge accordingly..

sandsand

hee... dont think so summer..

all those there are the employees, dare not give discount one.. and they are quite firm about it... =)

chendol

Hi Count,

so good to hear from you! I'm sure you looked beautiful!! great that your wedding went well and that you're enjoying yourself now... it must be so good to relax after all that stress!

thanks for the note - I'll keep in mind! I recently attended a wedding where the waiters kept refilling even when not asked. ended up with quite a few glasses of wine full.

oh no first barrel of beer so early?! wow - i shall aim to start the first course quickly after the doors open... of course that is not always possible.

Hi Ivy,

I heard that there was a terrorist plot foiled in Germany, which is why there were commandos in red berets and machine guns in some MRT stations at knock-off time on Monday. but nothing major so no worries - enjoy bKK!! i love that place. go to healthland spa and get nail art done at the walkway between MBK and this other Plaza!

hi Count!!

So great to hear from you again! I saw your name in the bulletin &amp; then i 'remembered' it was ur big day!! Enjoy your honeymoon.. heehee

hi Ivy,

Pray tt God will send his angels to surround &amp; protect you!!

I also 2nd good food at MBK.. Jap food, Fuji Restaurant (almost the top floor), Black Canyon.. Papaya Restaurant at one of the Sois at Siam Sq.. Oh yes, and plenty of shopping!

coco_mybibi

thank sisters for your replies.

I went for my first fitting last week and find that it is not easy to walk in the gowns. Is it possible to walk without lifting 1 side slightly? Anyone can advice?

lilic

<font color="0077aa">coco.. i think you got this problem coz the length is not trimmed to the right height.. esp at the front..guess its only the first fitting.. what did your designer say? i asked the same question and this was the reply i got from my designer.. i did not have problem walking during the photoshoot after the designer trimmed the length.. =)</font>

lilic

<font color="0077aa">erm, then i not sure liao.. coz i having a big ballgown but din have to lift to walk.. but i am expecting to have to hold the train during the reception for ease of movements. another fren who got married earlier in oct, din have to lift the skirt when she walked as well.. her designer said the same thing to her too..

i cant imagine having to lift my skirt walking down the aisle.. not very nice leh.. perhaps the other sisters can advise.. =)</font>

sandsand

coco.. i think it also depends on what sort of gown u have lah.. see the cutting of the skirt.. got to see whether can trim also or not.. may affect the design of the skirt..

i think its ok to lift a bit but dont lift until high high and or look like u are having a lot of problem..

i got problem too, not dainty, so when at BS trying, i grab the skirt and walk one.. hee.. so chor lor.. must learn to be demure on AD...

danadele

eh ribbons, yup this is one thing u muz take note lehz.. haha..tat time c u the way u lift up i almost peng san

juz wanna ask whether shud i have my PS early b4 cny or shud i have it done after cny.. haiz

sandsand

strawberries..... eh dont say until like that lah... wait pple think i 'zao geng' leh.. hee.. u got to remind me on the day lor..

i say do it earlier..

coco_mybibi

thanks, I think I got to bring up to my designer again and see how.

strawberries, I also think better to do PS earlier so that you can have ample time to choose the photo

hi coco,

it wld be nicer tt u can walk w/o having to lift the skirt..
1) u can concentrate on walking &amp; smiling looking up, instead of looking down
2) u need not fear of stepping onto your own gown &amp; causing urself to trip slightly..

I do believe it can be trimmed.. for ease of movt &amp; looks better on pix, otherwise the gown wld seem to sweep the ground

danadele

thanx fer the advises
gotta discuss wif my FH re when to tk PS.. most likely he will say i tot u wanna slim down first b4 having any PS haha.. well c how it goes.. but i do agree wif ur.. tk early so tat to allow time for errors or changes

kinda excited fer my 1st gown selection tml.. hope is gonna be fun going

yellowbox

Im new here...anyone could advice me how much to churches charge for wedding at their premise? my church is undergoing a renovation...and now we are at lost. Dunno what to do...anyone could help us to check whether your church allow couples from other church to rent their premise?

Puzzled and lost.

corsage

Hi yellowbox, I think most churches charge for using their premises. Don't be too worried, just make a couple of calls to check details?