Christian Brides

slgerman

im ok with CERTAIN outdoor activities... im a more beach n water sports person... but camping n not bathing is realli realli not my cup of tea... hehehe... has nv liked camping in my entire life to date... hehehe.... but we dun mind farmstays etc...

ya...we had the intention to rent a car... n just drive to visit farms n vineyards etc

THank you for ur recommendations... if u can find the co. tt u liase with etc... will be great~~ ThX!!

mehmeh... ya... go take a peek if u have the chance... coz i think u might like tt one... (Rmb we had similar taste in the area of housing decor... think: Scarlet hotel???)

they have a mirror in a gold frame on the wall... and upon seeing that pic... it inspired me to use an old mirror (currently sitting at my house's storeroom)... repaint the frame in gold..n hang it up in my new house!! hehehe.... =)

kai

think the repainting work sounds good in gold. you might want yo create this 'antique' look with it. so can play around with the decor.

hi Kai,

I think i wld try to peek at it soon.. heehee! I am not done with all the furnishing, so hopefully can gear closer to the Scarlet hotel look

Gold wld go very well!! Unfortunately I can't make use of any old mirrors.. need a big mirror, otherwise it wld look out of place

mehmeh

old mirrors can make statements too, you know? and it may seemed odd to use it with other bold colours, but the contrasting effect is actually very nice. especially if you can create a dated look.

Hi Ivy,

heheh, oh old mirrors wld go well with Kai & my theme.. I was trying to say tt i dun have any, and def dun have tt size.. heehee! So to 'create' the old mirror look, the mirror must be unpolished, doesn't look too new..

hi mehmeh... how big a mirror are u looking at having?? dimensions??? the one i have is mayb abt 1meter by 1meter square mirror....ya.. hopefully can create the look i wan.... gd luck for urs too~~

hi Kai,

I think abt 2 by 1.2/1.5? My wall is quite big.. So to place sthg small wld look out of place. However, i might put framed pix.. Coz mirror can't quite change in time to come, but can change pix

U settled on ur ID?

Hey

need to ask all of you a question.

Is it true that the bridal veil is not to be removed and put on again? Cos there seems to be this thing going on (which my parents and my hb's family) keep insisting on.

They said that there bridal veil once on, should not be removed until all the 'ceremony' is over. Hence, they claimed that my bridal veil must stay on, even when we do the tea ceremony for my parents and relatives (i.e. I cannot change into the Tea Dress).

Their explantion is that:
1. if removed and then placed on again, it means I am marrying twice.
2. if removed, it's 'bad luck' for me. *duh*

Then my hb tries to explain on their behalf that, no, his relatives are not superstitious. I was like ... ... *speechless*

But did anyone change out of their WG into Tea dress for the tea ceremony at their parents' place, then change back to WG again for church?

Hi Ivy

Haven't heard bout this one... but guess there are many traditions that we would not have heard abt until it's our turn to get married...

hi Ivy,

Well, there is such a practice.. So for those who re-marry, in US, they usually dun wear veils. But i guess if u dun believe what it might signify, go ahead with it.. Such a tricky thing

Yupz, i wore WG, tea dress & then back to WG.. No veil in tea dress. But thank God, no one protested during the whole thing.. It's just not possible to wear the veil with the kua/CS yah?

i cannot fight so many ppl, so definitely have to cave in to their demand.

so now I have ample time in church, but cannot change to Teadress, though tea ceremony for my family is at the church premise. *sian*

end up with an additional teadress to say bye to guests after dinner.

Ivy... but many pple put on the veil for the morning tea ceremony, take it off when they change into tea dress then put it back on when they change into WG for church.... how to wear veil with tea dress/ kua? oh man...

how about...... u dont wear the veil for the morning time tea ceremony? Get a different hairstlye if possible. My friend did that.. think also becos of such situation.. she only wore the WG, no veil. then before church she put on the veil... thenn dinner time she didnt wear it too (dinner no need to lah)

hi ivy,

it's also okie to wear the WG to have the tea ceremony yah? heehee.. Then u get to have an additional outfit to send ur guests off.

Or ribbons's idea also quite okie yah.. Provided u dun mind not wearing the veil when ur FH picks u up *winks*

yah lor....

if u and ur hubby dont mind u not wearing it, dont wear lor.... wear ur hairstyle in a different way as u would for ur church service... maybe a elaborate hair style, hair accesories, fresh flowers....

I'm new here, getting married on 7 July 2007.
It's so nice to see so many Christian brides here. Please do share with me your take on photographer & videographer. It's quite a headache.

hi birgie,

haha finally seandra manage to get u in.. hmm.. so u are also looking fer PGs ehz.. so u have anyone in mind liaoz.. im also looking at them now..

hi Strawberries,
so sorry my apologies, haha, ya ribbons managed to show me how to use this forum. It very useful! and I just managed to find one PG. Would u like to give them a call too?

<font color="0077aa">ivy dear, my mum said the same thing too.. cannot lift the veil twice.. finally we compromised.. i will only wear my WG plus veil in church.. then when fh come to fetch me, i will be in my white teadress... i am serving my parents tea in my teadress before i go church.. then after church, change into my kerbaya for tea ceremony for my fh side.. hope this is helpful for you.. relax ok, everyone will have something to say abt the whole thing.. take it in good stride.. pray for wisdom for you to deal with these!</font>

pandalic..... guess u are back in SG already?

yeah.... pray for wisdom and favour in everything we do...

hey anyone tried food from AXA Caterng before?

<font color="0077aa">ribbons, i came back last weekend.. flying on thu-fri again.. =( no time to prepare for my PS and wedding.. =( only good thing is that i can attest to God's faithfulness during this period.. =)</font>

Hi pandalic,

your mom said cannot 'lift' veil twice or cannot 'wear' veil twice? I always thought cannot wear veil twice, so I was thinking of serving tea in my WG. And only using the tea dress for the 'bride's home visit'... 'coz I'm not wearing a kua ('coz of the dragon &amp; pheonix) and will be renting a short tea dress from the bridal studio.

<font color="0077aa">hi angelgal

sorry huh.. i dun understand you leh..

i tot they are the same.. coz usually bride has veil on then the groom will lift up the veil after the gatecrash.. then they proceed to groom's place then change out into teadress to return to bride's place.. then change into WG and veil again when they go to church.. groom will unveil bride then again...

so however you count it, its twice.. =P

when you having your tea ceremony? i tot its a norm to serve tea to your groom's family in WG.. but for bride's family, bride usually will change into tea dress (during the bride's home visit)?</font>

hi pandalic,

i'll be having tea cermony to my groom's family in WG then come back home for tea ceremony at my place, then go to church for holy matrimony. So I thought I wear the WG and veil throughout, so only wear once. But I didn't know that 'once' must also include the lifting of veil. I thought lift as many times as i like also nevermind one... hee hee.

After the holy matrimony, my parents want me to come back home for bride's home visit. 'coz actually, it's supposed to be 3 days after, but i may already be on my honeymoon then.

<font color="0077aa">angelgal, icic.. i tot the norm (based on my married frenz and cousins) is to count the trip back to bride's parents' place for tea ceremony is counted as the home visit after 3 days... anyway traditionally, couple only serve tea to bride's parents during the "home visit" after 3 days.. thats also the reason why we are supposed to change into another dress when we return to our parents' place.. =0</font>

wow i didnt know all about the home visit...hehe i thought it normal on AD to go back to mum's place n serve tea. Didnt know about the 3days later also have to serve tea

hi gers,

yupz, the custom is actually to return to ur parents' after 3 days.. but not very practiced in SGP.. So often we change into sthg diff/out of the WG. Generally couples wld go take pix at some outdoor venue before returning to the bride's parents'

<font color="0077aa">summerlce, your return home to serve tea is representative of the return 3 days later.. mehmeh is right.. traditionally its done after 3 days.. but in sgp, we do it on the day itself.. =)

mehmeh, hows your house reno coming along? having fun yah?</font>

Now i finally understand the reason why we change into tea dress. But one v silly question to ask - won't the bride's MU smudge or run by the time she gets to church? Now doing up AD prog and if we start at 8am, then go to both sides to serve tea and church is at 2.30pm, would the MU still be intact by then? Cos most MUAs would leave after doing the MU in the morning - no touchup before church?

How ah?

Lilic,
Hope the haze clears up on ur PS day... The haze is really bad nowadays. Cannot see the buildings across the river fr my office...

i think what they did in olden days is to serve the females side tea first before she departs to her grooms house which is far far away in another town... serve first cos she will leave to join another family in in those times its too far a distance to come back to serve tea.... then 3 days later return to the girls side to visit them and sorta assure them that shes well..... and i think the 3 days is to allow for travelling time.
so i think a modern way of doing it now is that couples go serve guy's side first then come back and serve to girls side... this trip back to the house signifies the 'hui niang jia" part.. and like what they say, since we dont go back after 3 days, at least change the baju.. I THINK SO only ah...

ivy: since you may not have as many gown changes, follow my suggestion of wearing a WG without the veil when ur hubby comes to fetch u, then change into tea dress when u go back to your home..

i think the wearing veil twice and lifting veil twice is the same thing lah....

count and lilic: thinking of the haze.. on a positive side, the haze may help create a misty romantic effect?

hi count,

dun think the MU shd smudge *cross fingers &amp; toes*, coz usually u wld use ampoules provided for the MU.. Tt is to ensure gloss factor is controlled *winks* But do rem to blot &amp; touch up, and stay in aircon areas as much as u can

hi ribbons,

heheh... U also get a romantic effect ah?

hehe ya can have the sun like an egg yoke in the pic if got haze....but wont have clear blue sky in the pic all will be grey look.

There was a bride that didnt use ampoules on AD and she told me her makeup lasted 12 hrs. she went for outdoor shoot also on AD.

Count i think should not be a problem since u only walk up to the house that part will get in the sun n once inside can have fan or air con already. I think WG is not that hot as compare to the suit.

i think what matters is the skin condition and not the usage of ampoule.... like if the skin condition not too good make up doesnt stay on well? maybe the only way to keep it from smudging is to be really careful while changing?

mehmeh: neh, my PS done in may, no haze YET.... but my sun was a egg yolk lah.. haha.. cloudy.

Hopefully MU won't smudge *fingers crossed*. For PS it lasted abt 5-6 hours i think, fr 4ish to 9ish but scared all the walking around and many relatives would make me perspire! At least tea dress would hopefully be more cooling...

As the AD draws near, starting to panic a little. Prob need to start getting rsvps and set up helpers' briefing...

Still toying with the idea of looking for a rental place early next yr when the wedding preps are over. Really envy those of u like Ribbons with ur own place. Getting the jitters at the tot of staying with ILs, dunno why... Anyone has contacts for housing agent or know what the market rate is for rental in Bishan/Hougang area near MRT?

Mehmeh,
Was it diff finding a flat in ur area? Cos my fren is now hunting and said tt v difficult to find a suitable unit in Bishan/TPY area...

Count dont worry, most of the time u will be out at work...only at night but by then ur hb will also be home.

Count sometimes i think i would rather not have our place. Then i can have more 000 in my bank plus can be lazy dont have to clean the house so clean. hehe If i didnt have a place yet then i think i will stay with my mum since all my sibiling move out.

If you want i can check with my friend see if she is still an agent.

Did u try the new Tampiness flats? Seem like many ppl taking it

count: staying with in laws also got good lah... no needto clean house.. haha..

but yesterday we met up with my pastor, premarital session lah.. and he was sharing about how its better for us to move out.... with regards to leaving families and cleaving to one another and the contact and closeness we will have as a couple staying together will greatly help a relationship...

but hor, getting a house not cheap leh...

count.. you guys are staying at ILs place cos havent source for own house yet right? or it was the intention to stay at IL for long term after marriage?

Hey girls,
Thanks for the concern. Nope, our flat is the Pinnacle at Duxton but it is taking a v long time to build. Had prayed for God to guide whehter to rent or stay in but didn't receive an affirmative answer. We had prayed for Him to give a clear sign such as frens asking us to "house sit" but no such opening came up. And happened tt his parents shifted house to a better location and with huge room with attached toilet so we decided to stay in. But now am feeling a bit apprehensive...

Maybe it's pre-wedding jitters coupled with job stress. Been pretty stressed trying to clear work before gg on leave and the situation seems quite bleak... Hahha

Count must rest well b4 AD if not wont be pretty. hehe he already given u an ans....to stay in. Should not be a problem cos u wont be staying long, try not to mind certain things then its easier to stay together. In fact i like to stay with my mum, then i have dinner everyday i go home. Plus i wont be all alone at home if hb come home late.