Christian Brides

yah... Ivy.. i like the ruffles on the train too.. i'm a sucker for nice trains.. and ur ruffles add a sexy,feminie feel to it..

and.... oh please lah... 3 inches only.. can one lah..besides, 3 inches is nothing lah.. overall, u look great can liao..

hi Ivy,
Thanks for sharing the pics! You look very lovely & graceful in the gown
Dont get "heart attack" okie?! hee..must enjoy the process! I think that's the whole point of MTM gowns..the process is very fulfilling to see the stages of your gown!

hi sweet kar

my matrimony will be held on 18 Nov. but officiating minister not confirmed yet.

which service are you attending? I am with service 2 (sun)

hi Ivy,

The skeleton gown of urs is already screaming elegance.. heheh. So is urs lace or embroidery or what sort of details?? I'm sure if the skeleton gown already created so much suspense, heheh, while waiting for the gown to have its details, the suspense will almost overwhelm u huh?

Makes me think back on my experience when i had to go for fittings.. Such fond memories!

<font color="0000ff">mehmeh</font>

mine will be lace appliques with crystals and beadings... told the designer tt I wanted some *bling bling* effect. My venue very red leh...

yar, think I would be so gripped by anxiety before I see the detailed design... *faints*

Hi Ivy,
My matrimony and AD are on 06 oct, my officiating minister not confirmed too. I'm attending the sat service. hee.

have sent.. really sorry for the delay.. was very occupied with work..

hi mehmeh,
just email my planner on your suggestions.. see how it goes.. hope it will turn out better.. will keep u posted.. now need to find motivation to upload the dinner pics.. very xian.. looks like u got to wait few mths for that..

hi ggjj, thanks for the pic! Your skin is so flawless and delicious looking. Geeesh, i nearly drooled looking at your pre-wedding preparation photos. The B&amp;W wedding photos very pro. Liked the chapel you had it at also. From the shots, can see that your hubby is like so super devoted to you. I am getting all excited now!!!

Is your gown OTR or MTM? I would like something like that also since it covers my fat legs very well with all the air in the fluff.

Oh, btw, there's one pretty girl in your pic with the off shoulder white dress. She looked so much like my colleague 10 years ago! My colleague saw the pic and was shocked as well! Small world...

hihi ivy,

yupz, i also thot u wld be having lace appliques.. Rem to ask for my sequins &amp; beads if u think the bling effect isn't quite there yah? Ideally, take a pix of u in it in various forms of lightings in the studio as u try, so tt u know how the gown wld be like for the various lightings on the AD too

hihi ggjj,

Hmm, the photos thing is done via ur planner &amp; not u tying up directly with Kuang huh??
Oh yes, pls dun kill me with the suspense of ur dinner pix! Esp the gorgeous settings which ur florist did for u!

Ivy dearie
Ur PS is 2 days after mine! Haven't been popping by lately cos i've been down with wisdom tooth infection. Finally dragged myself to the dentist when the pain got unbearable and i couldn't open my mouth much... Boo hoo. Hope to see u soon also

Ggjj
I agree with Mehmeh! Ur flowers by Secret Garden were simply gorgeous! Money well spent. Would love to have a look at ur dinner pics when they're out

hi ronni,
thanks for your compliments.. it is all becos of makeup.. u wont recognise me if u see me on the street cos i never wear makeup and always wear specs..
my gowns all otr.. i love ballgowns.. more formal and grand...
that girl u mention is my best friend.. and 10 yr ago we are still schooling..

hi mehmeh,
yeah.. got my planner to do the arrangements.. me so occupied with work.. let her handle this.. that's what we got a planner for..

really very delighted when i saw the flowers.. all credits to jane from secret garden and renee, my planner..

actually, i am equally pleased with my invites and other wedding stationery.. just no pics to show.. cos too lazy to take them.. haha..

hi count,
actually u are one of the rare ones who say money well spent.. all my friends said i am crazy.. to spend so much just on deco.. and worse on flowers which will wilt.. if u really have the budget.. do spurge a bit.. it feels great looking at the flowers.. in fact i love the arch at the stage.. though this is so common but mine was so full and lush.. u will get to see it later on..

hihi ggjj,

Oh i din know the tie-up with ur WP continues even after the wedding.. Tt's gd! Did u ask for her opinions too?

Yah ah, find time to show us ur invites &amp; stationery, i'm sure the thematic scheme u had wld have added those very lovely touches to ur wedding!

I heard that many hotels provide template of actual day programme and thank you speech for u to insert ur words in.
Mine does not have such a thing. anyone care to email me a copy of such a template?

hi girls, sorry again...more alcohol questions...
I am thinking of buying additional red wine for my dinner fr supermarket.. but dunno what kinda red wine fr supermarket is gd for wedding dinner? any advice?
Do pple also usu bring in additional beer for the wedding dinner? in barrels or???

hi Ericia,

No problem.. Dun have a soft copy for the speech, sorry!

Agree with ashlady, why dun u get ur red wine together? U cld get the housewines fr ur hotel &amp; u can save on corkage
If u need beer, get also fr the hotel, dun spend the effort coordinating these..

ggjj: although i am not one for spending a bomb on flowers.. but I say, if the decor is nice and u love it, its money well spent.. and secret garden's decor is nice....

Erica: why dont u just order the beer from the hotel and get the wines urself or vice versa? Then at least there is consistency in the wine served?
As for places u can get wines from, go carrefour.. i dunno how good it is (dont drink) but i think they have a very good selection and price wise also ok..

ya, cos i do have one barrel fr my banquet place for free but just that i dunno if its enuf. in that case, most prob, if need more, will just buy from them on the day itself.
for wine, they give me 10 bottles also, but also afraid not enuf, and thinking to get extra bottles from supermarket.

I feel like playing my slideshow /montage at the church wedding but dunno what is a suitable time during the wedding to play. this is becos they are many of my guests whom i am not inviting to the wedding dinner (where the slideshow will be shown) and i feel like letting the pple attending my church wedding to be able to view it too....
but another prob is that my church's projector a bit faulty and its suggested that I should rent a projector for the wedding. anyone can help? how does one find lobang to rent the projector?

oh sorry ah girls, one more question.
my hubby was saying that he dislike formal events (weddings) and he is not very much for the idea of wearing his jacket all the time. he was thinking of taking out the jacket when we start going ard the tables for photoshoot during the wedding dinner. he also thinking of doing the same during e church wedding. I must say I am not for this idea, i never see any grooms do this before. any opinions....?

hi Ericia,

wow, 4 posts.. Lotsa thots must be running thru ur mind right now

I dunno if Carrefour wld allow wine tasting to let u decide which to get. But i rem tt's there a contact of wine supplier which allows non-obligatory wine tasting &amp; the prices for reasonable standards of wine are ard $13++ (U might want to do a search in the forum)

For the montage, u cld always show before u deliver ur Thank You speech, have the MC say sthg, play the montage &amp; then give u speech
Otherwise during the time when u sign ur cert is also gd, fills up the void

Rental of projector? (Try searching the forum, otherwise, Yellow Pages) if ur company has a portable one &amp; is kind enough to lend u, seize tt lobang

Erm, abt the groom not wearing the suit.. I wun go for it either. This is the only time he wld ever be a groom &amp; he shd also respect ur preference. The very fact u're holding in a BR wld mean it's a formal event, otherwise it wld have been a beach wedding yah?

If ur FH doesnt wear the suit durign the banquet, he prob wld blend in with ur male guests (Just a thot) I think he shd wear the suit also during the church wedding, just as u wear ur finery (WG), he shdn't look underdressed too (It's once in a lifetime!)

Hi Ericia
Re projector, i think u shd first ask if u or ur FH's company would loan u the projector cos it is much cheaper tt way. But do ensure tt the projector is compatible with the church system cos i helped out with a couple of events and incompatibility can give rise to lots of last min jitters

IMHO, u shd ask FH to keep his jacket on cos it looks smarter. Did FH suggest gg w/o jacket cos it'd be hot? If so then it may be wiser to instead exclude the vest so he doesn't feel as warm

Sorry can't help much with the wine as i'm getting them from my hotel. No waiver of corkage so decided to just buy from hotel to minimise the hassle

Erica: how about negotiating with the hotel, exchange ur wine for more beer, then u buy the wine on ur own? sorry, cannot help with the wine recommendation.. Me dont drink (even champagne toasting has a special glass set out for me... SPRITE!)

projection wise, agree with count.. u've got to test out the compatibility too.. and try to get it early so that u can try it out first?

jacket wise, i would suggest not taking out the jacket. As the other ladies here have said, he shouldnt be under dressed that day. He's the host, must have some qi pai mah.. and if photo taking, he will look like one of the guest!! Same kind of casual dressing!
tell him lah. its once in a lifetime.. U think us ladies like to drag a heavy and cumbersome gown around too? but cos its different from our usual and we should be dressing up for our big day..

mehmeh: that $13+ wines u are talking about are from parker's wine or supermarts?

hihi ashlady,

Truly! Didn't get to meet last Sunday huh? heheh.. I saw ur updates on Multiply, so exciting! Rem to take pix during ur gown fittings yah?

hihi mehmeh,
heh..i replied in ur multiply..too bad din get to go cartel with u guys! Life's never so busy as now! Sometimes i feel like stopping all things &amp; just do wedding preps..but life still goes on ya? haha... yes, will upload the pix soon

How is everything going?

I am still roaming around trying to sell some stuff in the marketplace threads.

For wines: I also used Parker's wines, I went for a taste test and chose the $17/btl Chilean wine. I also tested a french and an australian wine (one was $13 and the other $15, can't remember which was which). I had no corkage, so I did not mind taking the Chilean one.

These wine suppliers will deliver directly to your venue, so you don't have to collect. For Parker's, I only paid 20% of the number I ordered. Then the rest can be settled after the wedding. If you got leftovers, you can return (own transport hor)within the few days after your AD and pay for what you used only.

For projector:
I rented from this guy called brandon. Hp: 92952543 http://www.ble*lab.com (replace * with u). He will bring the projector down to the venue and collect after the event. You pay him on the spot when he comes. He will help to make sure that the thing is set up properly. He's charges were very reasonable , $88 only compared to what the hotel was offering ($300 plus).

Christian drink one meh? sorry no offends..just wondering only . Thought GOD mentioned we shouldn't be drinking ? Or do u believed in drinking in "morderation"? Less guilty eh !

hi Carelinwen,

Wow, tt rate for projector rental is wonderful!! Really save a lot for couples

My fren also took the Chilean wine! heheh.. Seems like it's one of the more popular ones at Parkers

Hi Rain,

Christians can drink, but not get drunk by spirits. In fact Jesus had turned water into wine at a wedding, it was a miracle! Water was uncommon back then, wine can be kept longer in those sort of climate

Hi Ribbons,

Yupz, tt's consignment.. I think Parker's really quite gd, some other wine shops only take back by the cartons, so if u only took 1 bottle fr 1 carton, the other 11 bottles will still be charged to u

Christians can drink lah, its just how we choose to drink it.. in biblical times, they also drink wine what.. communion also drink wine..

mehmeh: parker's wine sounds good.. I'll tell FH to check them out.. I cant help in this area. If i had my choice, i dont even want wine..

just to check, what do u gals bring along with u to ur PS? own props, own make up, friend?

when using the ampoule with make up, does make up really stay on? what if i perspire and it rolls down my face? Need to bring make up or compact during outdoor PS?

what does ur friend do when they go PS with u? other than hold on to ur things...

so drink in 'morderation' lah..as long as u don't get drunk it is ok to drink , or rather nothing wrong to drink. Anyway, drinking red wine for example has been proven to be good for health in some ways??
i cannot remember where i have heard or seen in the bible that we cannot drink.
But whatever it is, i chose not to have any liquor during my wedding. Its a no no as i don't want to be a stumbling block to others. In fact my relatives were surprised when i suggested having wines ..they said " u christains can drink meh ..don't lah..we are ok .." So yah..i had a non alcoholic wedding...cool huh ! :P

hi ribbons,

Parker's def a gd place, coz the wine tasting is FOC.. heheh, i agree, i wanted an alcohol-free wedding, but for my parents i gave in to them

I brought my props, i din even bring blotters or pressed powder to reduce shine! *ooops* But u shd if u do intend to, anyway since there's photo-editing prog to get rid of those, can avoid brining lah

Frens were invited to be involved in the PS rather than helpers, but tt's coz my BS already assigned a helper to us. Check with ur BS if they allow frens to tag along, first..

Hi Rain,

Wow, God has blessed u! Since ur guests/relatives hadn't minded abt the non-alcoholic wedding, u're so blessed! No need to go wine tasting, or end up picking the wrong wine etcetc

I agree, some who aren't sure abt the Bible's stand on wine may misinterpret ur actions, so better not to be a stumbling block

Hi ribbons,
Ya, the wines are on consignment, but the Chilean one was good, I estimated 1.5 btl per table and all were gone! Lucky I ask the banquet manager to save one bottle for me and family to drink at home after the AD.

Hi mehmeh,
Ya the projector rental was quite worth it. We thought of borrowing projectors from office but my wedding was on weekday, the logistics of getting someone to go get it that evening and return the next day plus must also give AP to whomever help us, made us decide to pay the $88 and get it off our minds.

Hi all Christian Brides,

Today I found a place to buy wedding candles. Not sure if all of you will have the lighting of the unity candle. I went to check out the prices and they are really expensive, around $70-$100 for 3 pieces of candles.

I bought mine from Art Friend at Bras Bersah at only less than $15! There is no design on candle though, just plain. But I figured none of the congregation can see the wordings or design since they'll be so far anway.

So if you're keen, can drop by Art Friend, 3rd floor

hi ribbons,
I do not know if ampoule helps but I did sweat during my PS. but cant be seen on pictures lei.
What does the ampoule do I also dunno.

hi ladies, any idea where to get cheap n gd printing? will u be designing your own invitation cards/ programme list for the church wedding?

hi Shann,

Used Axxa for printing my invites &amp; church prog sheet. Gd, affordable &amp; fast! 3 couples in my church had used them and recommended me to use them..

hi gals. thanks for prompt response. wow, you gals are really talented. ive no idea how to design!
axxa is a printing house yah? they dont do designing? can i have their contact? im on pretty tight budget. spent quite a bit on other stuff. :P

Shann: u can either buy the paper yourself and print at home or you can do what i will be doing. our BS is in JB, so we'll have to go JB quite often.. and the printing shops at City Square are pertty ok... its not the designs that are attractive, its the exchange rate that is. =) better if u have your own design..

hi Shann,

Actually Axxa does do designing too.. But u have to pay a fee of $40, if i'm not mistaken. U cld always create ur ideas in MS Word &amp; get a fren to do up in the Freehand or Photoshop format

City Square has a recommended printer too.. Price is gd for those who dun want to spend too much on cards, simple design, but def not dated