Christian Brides

panicmode

May I know which printers do you recommend? I am considering if I want to print the booklets for the wedding.

I finally decided not to use St Andrews, my friends say it is like a wedding factory - chop chop and then go out. So sad, that is my home church, I grew up there since 1979 but now, I am worshiping in another church, so decided to have my wedding there instead.

I brought my HTB to SAC and when I talk to him, as I walked along the pewters, tears came to my eyes. All my childhood memories came back. My navity play, easter sunday, first communion, life story just floats by.

Sighs.. how do you reconcile your childhood memories and the present, which will you choose?

Thanks for listening. :~|

ashlady

hi panicmode,
i also grew up in a church & my parents also got married in the same church...it'd be very nostalgic to hold it there. I left my own church 1 yr ago to settle in my FH's church. Sometimes i really miss my friends whom i grew up with. i still meet them once in a while. But i guess, ultimately, it's the future that counts instead of the past. Especially if the current church is where u & ur FH wants to settle in.

count

mehmeh dear
can i ask a favour of u? do u have a soft copy of the order of service? how do we do up an order of service for church, and do different denominations have diff formats?

panicmode
IMHO SAC is a very pretty place, and if u really like it then u shd go ahead. By "chop chop" do u mean tt SAC doesn't allow u to hold a reception after tt? I think u shd pray abt it, and seek an answer. There's nothing wrong per se with picking either church - SAC will be nostalgic for u, but getting married in ur new church could equally be symbolic cos it would represent a new chapter in ur life and form a part of the memories for ur life in the new church as a married couple

Hope u manage to resolve ur dilemma soon!

kar

Hi panicmode, understand yr dilemma... hmm, maybe jus tell yrself tat e focus is the matrimony, God's prescence and witness for yr ceremony is same in either church.

Wat abt doing yr PS at SAC? at least u can keep it in yr album. hee.

hi Count,

I dun exactly have a soft copy.. But i cld type it out & send u. The order of service is actually advised during the MPC tt PLMC is having for u guys now.. Sometime twd the last 2 sessions of the MPC

I prob think diff denominations have diff formats

Hi Panic,

Hmm, i dun think u shd be too affected by ur frens' comments (trust me, this is just the beginning, there wld be plenty of other comments on MANY other things). Most imptly where do u & FH want to have the wedding, based on personal preference? Sometimes u also need to consider the size of the church which allows/disallows u to choose the venue

Go with your heart and fulfill the desires, coz u dun want to have regrets. A wedding is once in a lifetime..

count

hi mehmeh,
thanks for the advice! i shall wait patiently for plmc to tell us abt the format then. don't wanna trouble u to type it out!

sandsand

Panicmode: i can identify with u on this too.. I left my church about 1 and 1/2 years ago to join my FH.. initially very hard man.. My last service was the the last sunday of the year, and my dance team and i were suppose to perform, immediately at the end of the service, when we finished our dance on staeg, my whole dance ministry came to hug me... and the worship team too! its was so saddening to leave, but yet so happy to see that i'm so loved by them... but hor, they hugged me so tight, so many pple and when they prayed, some laid their hands on me... wah laU! I nearly suffocated!!

but my previous church is where i grew up, where i was dedicated as a baby, my whole family including extended family is there.. but i had to move over lor, and my choice to use which church was obvious.. my idea of my wedding is that i will walk down the aisle down to the altar with stain glass..... my previous church hor, if i wanna walk down the aisle, i have to jump out of the sound room. =) but to make sure that my previous church is still very much a part of my wedding, i am making sure my team of wedding helpers are half half. my entourage is mixed, worship team, ushers, reception all half.

Agree with Sweet Kar, have some PS there... mine.... eh, church not nice lah.. =)

panicmode

Ashlady, Count & Ribbons

Thank you for your comments - I also have been telling myself that when I marry in our current church it means a start of a new chapter.

My friend's father was the vicar there and when she got married, she felt so rushed as she is in the afternoon, so if the morning one kenna delayed, she got sandwiched. So her advise to me is not to use SAC, very rushed.

My current church, that day only me getting married, so I can slowly take my time and use the church grounds.

I have been praying so much, but memories are sooo hard to let go.

Thanks once again for all your comments and also for me to know I am not a bridezilla in making.

small_one

hey ladies

like ribbons, I am trying to have my friends from both my old and new churches to help in the wedding.

However, my wedding coordinator (from new church) objects, saying that it can be very messy.

Now I am also feeling kinda stress cos I can't seem to be able to confirm my Worship Leader.

My tentative Worship Leader and my pianist are from my new church. Whereas the guitarist, vocalists and the drummer are from my old church.

I am also looking for a place where they can practice together. Especially for the drummer and pianist. Tried asking if my old church is ok about me booking a room for them, but they wanted to charge me $50 per hour. I was so shocked!

*sigh* so many things but so little time.

haha, so sorry... I seem to be going everywhere but the place that I will like to be.

My questions are:
1. Can I still have a mixture of helpers from both old and new churches without getting messed up?
2. Anyone knows where I can get my team to practice together? The venue must include drum set and piano/synthesizer.

sandsand

Ivy: I say go ahead and mix your friends no matter what others say lor.. its ur day and u want ur friends to be part of it.. whho knows, maybe even if all the helpers are from the same place, can also be messy lor..
I suggest, since you are having your service in ur present church, hold the practice there... so your musicians can get used to playing together in the same place and also get used to the acoustics there, any sound issue also can settle there.. and u can save on the booking fee. (but wah, they know u member but still chareg ah..) how about i one of ur friends from ur previous church books?

small_one

ribbons

i am not using both churches for my wedding. Old church is too small and new church is too big.

Will ask the staff of Trueway to see if my team can go down and use their instruments for practise, since we are using Trueway for our wedding.

I hope that the use of Trueway Church building will provide some neutrality to the whole thing.

But thank you for your response.

childlike

hi Ivy,
i think i know abt ur dilemma abt missing the jiemei from diff gp. I have this prob and when i communicated to some of the jiemei that there will be this so and so whom she dunno is coming, they seem kinda reluctant to come already. it is true that to be someone's jiemei, one of the deciding factors is whether u will be comfortable there or will the odd one out. i suppose just to try to mix in such a way that u ensure not one single girl will feelleft out cos she dunno the rest.

childlike

hi all, thanks for recommending me to parker's wine. think its very good and cheap. makes me wanna buy more to keep at home and to give to relatives too....
btw i also thinking since its so cheap should i give wine on my church reception too other than at wedding banquet? any opinions? will that be unadvisable becos of the church setting?
for banquets, what is the proportion of red to white wine to buy? i dint want white wine initially but really, parker's is so nice, i really feel tempted to buy more and more...

hi Ivy,

Initially i wanted my worship team to be a mix of ppl i'm close to, NUS crusaders, church frens & some of my HB's ex-church mates.. but our church only allowed members of PLMC to use the instruments, so tt kinda 'helped' in deciding who shd be involved

the other issue u shd pay attention to, is how the team can be in sync if they aren't the most familiar with each other.. Any reason why u want the mix? (no choice but to mix, or picking the best candidates, or u want have frens of both churches to be involved?)

hi Pinkfurry,

heheh, i got married on the last day of the lunar seventh mth.. it's a non-issue if ur parents r not particular abt it yah?

hi ericia,

if i dun recall wrongly, ur church venue is rented rite? u might want to find out if the church is going to mind u serving wine during the recep.. also, tt might drive up the cost, coz the caterers might charge for opening up bottles

red wine is preferred over white, coz of the type of cuisine involved.. Chinese food will have red wine more suited to them

sandsand

Erica: better to check with your church first if they allow wine to be served on the premises or not.. some places are quite strict about that.. Have you tried parker's wine? shar with me your experience when we next meet k?

Pinkfurry: me and FH are christians, his parents arent (mine are) but his mum has given him a deadline to complete the renos by.. b4 7th month... and i heard this year got two 7th months, so if someone important objects to having reno done then, u better work out your timing... dont start just b4, stop during and continue after...

childlike

hmmm.. parker wines is of economical price but taste wise, ...i would say cannot expect too much due to the price you are paying per bottle.

cocoberry

i need help urgently. anyone has the lyrics for IN MOMENTS LIKE THIS...

my church wedding is on 28th may n i yet to do my booklet. now i need the lyrics for the above song. anyone who knows can email me at [email protected] cos i might not have time to log in here often.

thank u in advance

childlike

Hi cocoberry:
In moments like these
I sing out a song
I sing out a love song to Jesus
In moments like these I lift up my hands
I lift up my hands to the Lord

Singing I love You, Lord
Singing I love you, Lord
Singing I love You, Lord
I love you

childlike

hi ribbons,
yes i have booked with parkers. thats one things settled.
dear sisters,can pray for my wedding? I have checked out the prices of putting tentages in the area where i hold reception (it is only partially enclosed) but the prices are far too high. hence we have decided to go by faith that it will not rain on that day. so need to pray on this one. need to pray also that all will go well and smoothly.

count

Ashlady
PMC is ok so far, just that most nights when i reach there, so zonked out! Somehow, weekday nights are bad for me and FH cos of our work. Really try to get there punctually so we rush like mad!

Are ur gowns ready yet?

ashlady

hi Count,
heh..ya loh..i feel extremely exhausted after each PMC. haiz...not going down today though...will make it for the last session next week! hee :p

Yup, my gowns are more or less ready..my trial make-up will be next week! so fast hor...PS will be in 1 mths time. Time is flying past..so scary!

hi Pinkfurry,

Most welcome

hi Ashlady,

wow time certainly flies by quickly.. MPC is coming to an end oredi? Before we know it, its SM & G's wedding oredi.. *faint*

ashlady

hi count,
hee..ok!

hi mehmeh,
Ya lor...I feel i dont have time to prepare for wedding lei... haiz. Times like this i wish i've a wedding planner! Or i wish i have a magic wand! haha.. :p

sandsand

HI ALL!!! I'm back from my PS!!
I am soooo tired!!! We started at 9:30am and ended only about 8pm plus!!! But thank GOd it was ok... Great weather, the stylist was good, and we were quite comfortable with the photographer.. but we were both very tired. FH just finished night duty the day b4, insufficient sleep, and I had stomach upset the night b4, the diarrhoea kept me up during the night too... And i had a huge zit on my face! when we started, it was reddish... after the make up was washed off then i see it was a full blown zit... thank GOd cannot see... It was fun... THank God..

count

Hey Ribbons,
Glad to hear that u had great weather for ur PS! Must rest well this weekend, esp since u and FH were both sick on Thu. Are u better now?

Mehmeh and Ashlady,
Do u know how much tables PLMC can lend us for the reception table or cocktail tables in church? Do they have such equipment or must we loan these fr the caterer?

Yes, MPC will finish next wk. Finally! Very tiring for us cos these few wks have been super busy at work

hihi Ashlady,

*hugs* U rem u got me & Ken as ur coordinators for the church & banquet respectively. While we can't really plan per se, u can ask to find out if u're on track & when to get ur butt moving *winks*

It can be done! The most time consuming part is deciding between the various vendors available, after tt it's just a matter of waiting for things to happen

hihi Ribbons!

Wow, sounds like the night before the PS was very eventful.. heheh, u managed to peek at any pix taken?

Hi Count,

Recep table is the regular long ones u can use for the signing of the cert + guestbook. Dun think there is a limit, u need to check with Poh Chye

Erm, we dun have cocktail tables in church i think..

sandsand

Hi Count.. yeah, better liao... thanks.. And i've recovered from the tiredness already.. =) my darling hasnt though.. Cos the day after he went to work (morning shift)

mehmeh: he let us peek at one... quite nice.. hee... didnt know we can look so good... =)

ggjj

hi mehmeh,
u still remember me? haha..

i got a revised one.. but it is even more disappointing.. dont know how to explain just that it doesnt got the wow factor.. in fact..i receive the revised one weeks back then.. but i no mood to revert to my planner.. no time to come into the forum too..

u let me know if u want to take a look.. i using internet in cabbage and condom in bkk.. so will send u when i got internet access again.. if u are interested that is..

hi Ribbons,

heheh, i think u 2 were simply just having loads of fun, so much so tt u had expressed it on ur expressions! heehee

hi ggjj,

Sure, how cld i forget u!!

A revised tt was even more disappointing? Tt's so queer.. Esp with the specific feedback u've given. U want to consider talking to Kuang instead?

I've heard alot abt Cabbage & condom in BKK, how's the food?? I'm going BKK in June, so thot of trying it out too (din manage to in my earlier trips) Pls send ur pix to me too, wld love to be of help

ashlady

hi count!
I'm getting the recep table & some corktail tables from my caterer.

haiz...i'm in same boat as you. Work has never been busier than now!

hi mehmeh,
hee...i guess we shall be looking at florist & cards soon! keke
Oh, who provides the table deco for the signing of the marriage cert? Is it the florist? i forgot, does that table have any skirting?!...heh.

hi ribbons!
wow...despite both of you not feeling well, God has blessed you guys with a wonderful & fun time. I'm having my PS soon too...hope it'll also be enjoyable & fun

hi Ashlady,

Aiyoh, u shd start sleeping early!!
Table deco is fr florist.. Unless u can get Rasel to provide, and then get the caterer IC to bring down the deco before the start of the tea recep. Request for 1 extra skirting for the guest signing table & church will take care of the marriage cert signing table

sandsand

hey pink, u require halal certified one or not? whats ur budget?

i think harvest is good.... trying to contact the person for Manna Catering (always eating their food when i go for meetings at NCSS), always very good... but i can never contact the pple at Manna one. Send email no reply, call no answer...

sandsand

there are quite a lot actually... u can go onto the MUIS website to check.. just to share the ones that i am more interested in: Harvest Catering, Royal Catering, Q'Zin, Manna Pot Catering.
Only used harvest catering b4.. not bad.. the rest, I dont know about their service persnally, but heard good reviews from a lot of pple about them, good food and good price too..

If u tell your muslim friends that u are catering halal food, i'm sure they will appreciate your effort and come one...

ashlady

hi mehmeh,
hee..yes mdm!
Oh, i've requested Rasel to provide the guest signing table & deco...but come to think of it, will Rasel have to come super early then will the food be too early?

U mean PLMC will provide a nice table (with skirting?) for the marriage cert signing?

By the way, what time did u ask the caterer to reach PLMC during ur AD? hee..sorry ah, so many qns :p

hi pinkfurry,
U can also check out Rasel Food Fusion (which i'm using), Four Seasons catering, Smiling Orchids, CDCS & Stamford Catering as well. Hee...a lot for u to choose from eh!

coco_mybibi

wanna check with all christian brides.

for a christian wedding, does that mean during the wedding banquet, only christian songs can be played throughout the dinner?

hi coco,

Not a must.. Depends on your church. I'm aware of this church who helps to coordiante the banquet for their couples, coz their sanctuary isn't available for the HM, they have the HM prior to the banquet. Tt caused them to only allow Christian pieces

I had jazz too...