Christian Brides

sus_sus

Thanks Pandalic!

We are 'fighting' but not aggressively, we both trying to keep our cool, so its more of tearing our own hairs out to fit each other at this moment.

Ok, so i guess its ok whichever finger? Then i may alter the proposal ring 2 sizes down. Hmmm ... i felt it will look better on ring finger, middle finger fatter leh, not so nice to wear ring.

Ok, GDL still seems a grey area. Sigh ... The hand deliver thingy is the most irritating. The invites are to go to relatives, many of which we dont even know closely. So i thot perhaps our parents could help us give out since they are free and at the same time, the older folks can catch up. We dont have so much time and plus i dont want to be visiting them to give invites but end up stuck at each home spending time, having to be entertained and played host to. I also dont have so much to talk to those relatives about and be scrutinised as a FDIL.

Sigh ... dunno how but i really dont want to visit home by home to give out invites leh ...

wyy

hi sus sus,

Welcome to the thread! I am a on and off in this thread....heehee!!

i am not sure if your parents are very traditional....

mine is a very simple and quick.....we bought those cards from the Bengawan Solo and gave the cards out together with the wedding invites.

My parents actually asked some relative (my aunts and uncles from mum's side) to have tea and then pass them the cards[note: I am not there having tea with them].

For my dad's side, more easy. They gave out the wedding invites with the BS cards during chinese new year......

I dun think GDL involve FIL side leh....i dun have anything to do with them on my side.

ashlady

hi sus sus,
1) i wear my proposal ring on my right ring finger. It's really a personal choice (whether right or left)
But wedding band is on the left ring finger. If u intend to wear both together next time, then resize the ring according to the left ring finger.

2) It is not a must. Usually it depends on whether ur parents want the GDL & what they want. For me, it's going to be as simple as possible coz i dont really fancy those stuff very much & it's only going to create more tension & stress. Ask ur parents what they want & see if ur bf can provide or not loh.

3) I'm only going to hand-deliver the invites if i see the ppl! heh..like church frens, colleagues & those i meet. Otherwise, it's going to be snail mail. There are no hard & fast rules.

All the best & Enjoy the process of wedding/marriage preparation!
kao_babydust.gif

sus_sus

Thanks All!

Hmm... maybe to compromise, we can call the guests then snail mail invites ... hmmm ...

Ya, hope all these prep dont strain us out ... sigh ...

ggjj

hi mona,
sent already.. pls check

hi count,
thanks for your compliments.. i like his shots too.. just a pity my dinner is not done by him.. otherwise it will be perfect.. i naturally fairer than others.. plus i hate sun.. so very fair.. to a certain extent pale.. so i dont like to wear white gown.. will fade into the gown.. got myself that champagne gold gown..

think u mention u going to stay in pinnacle right.. so where u stay after u marry?

onebigday

hi ggjj,

can pm me the link to your pics by Kuang too? how much was your package? like kuang's pics but heard he's very expensive! thanks!

hi sus,

Here's my 2-cents worth

1) I prefer wearing my engagement ring on the ring finger on the lefthand. It looked perfect there & nowhere else! But tt's just my opinion. I'm now wearing the engagement ring together with my band & loving every moment of it

2) GDL is a tradition, nothing to do with pagan gods or sorts. It's a gift exchange, where the groom 'asks for the hand of the bride in marriage', giving gifts to 'prove' sincereity etcetc.. Whether it is a must? If ur parents want it, i think u shd let GDL take place. It's a sign of respecting tt u want their approval for ur marriage too!

3) For the invites, i snail mailed ppl i cldn't afford time to meet. Colleagues, church mates, gd frens, i found time to hand them out personally. Relatives is tricky though.. My parents were super chin chye, so I had it easy, i cld snail mail & not hand deliver.

But my ILs were fussy, but we told them fr the onset, tt we weren't going to be involved. If they want hand delivered invites, they had to DIY.

This again, as per item 2, find out the needs of ur parents. For all u may know, ur parents are very cool abt snail mail too! Coz they may not have transport of their own, which makes it real troublesome...

hi Pinkfurry,

Trueway Presbyterian is next to Queenstown MRT station

hi ggjj,

U had porcelain fair skin & so flawless! I thot the angles of Kuang of ur back & the trailing end of ur pearl choker was divine! Breath taking if i may say!!

Kuang never fails to deliver! He really captured the essence of the bliss in marriage, when he took the shots of u & ur HB showing the tender-loving care in feeding, saying your 1st family prayer & taking the Holy Communion.. Superb!

sandsand

Pandalic: The GDL Cakes that ur paretns requested for, is to be given out to ur relatives with the invites or no need to give to relatives one? HOw much id u ask for? My future MIL ask me if want cake or not.. she not sure about it, my mother also..

ggjj: can pm me the link too?

sussus: i am planning to wear the both rings together, but i am hoping that i can wear the solitaire on the right ring finger, so that both dont ahve to compete for attnetion.. hoping to lose weight from the finger when i lost weight overall.. how about wearing ur engagement ring on ur right ring finger? then u wouldnt have to down size it too much mah..

sus_sus

Hi Gals! Gd morning!

Thanks for your advises!

I had gone back to jeweller and changed for another ring, smaller than my initial one but still loose (the diamond can twirl around to back of finger slightly)when sitted on my right or left ring finger. But i like the ring alot so i die die got it (left 1 piece only) and top up the price also. I thot just wear with extra care loh, and next time after giving birth, maybe will fit nicely. So i m loving every moment looking at it now. Even FH pretend his eyes dazzled blind cos i keep showing him, hehe.

Ok, GDL ... sigh ... gotta see what parents want then. Hmm ... the only thing now is to try to avoid having to hand deliver the invites, especially to his side. As far as i try to be a good FDIL and honour his parents etc ... the thot of having to meet all the other uncles and aunties just put me off. I feel like i am being scrutinised each time i visit. Sian ...

Must give credit to the sales gal at jeweller (SK Jewellery). Despite this is an exchange transaction, she gave me very good service. Indeed she lived up to her Winner of Service Excellence Award!

wyy

csy....

Raymond did not put my pic inside his webpage....

i uploaded some pic and is in my yahoo photo and i dun have your email to send you leh....

I can tell you, i have a great time with Raymond and also the photo he took really capture the happy moments on that day. When i flip the album, it is like i can hear the joy and laughter from every pic.

NICE NICE!!

I have a videographer too. The DVD that they gave me which incld interview with friends and parents are really touching....

hi ribbons,

Hmm, my thots on the cakes.. Usually cakes are to be distributed to the ger's side of the family. My parents made it real easy for us, relatives who had to come over for the tea ceremony picked up the cakes only on the day itself. Relatives also thot quite ma fan to wait at home for us to distribute, just in case we were caught up somewhere, they may have to wait at home too

Generally it's 1 box per family.. Alot wld depend on how much ur mum wants

Hi Sus,

U sure sound blissful!! Congrats.. Do let us know ur other wedding details, then i can help tabulate into the above table

monyetnakal

Hi ggjj, received the link of ur photos already. thanks. havent have time to look at it.

YY, do you mind share your photo with me too? my email: [email protected].
YY, you had your wedding at Wesley rite? can share the church programme with me? Thanks a lot.

Csy, wat is the link of PG raymond teo web? Now still looking around to find good PG with reasonable price, coz limited budget

mehmeh, thanks for adding my details in the table.

sus_sus

Oki, here goes ...

Nick - Sus
AD - 10 Aug
Church - Not doing at church, pastor will come over
Church Deco - Nil
Cateror - Nil
Banquet - Bliss Gdn
BS - Msia Dawn
Photo/Video - Still sourcing
Honeymoon - Yet decided
Lovenest - Hougang
Invites Printer - Taken care of by Bliss

wyy

Mona,

this is raymond webpage, maybe you can see his shooting style

http://www.ge*cities.com/piczturesque/
(replace * with o)

I have also send you the photo as per request....do give comment and pls note whatever you see is onli part of the album.

count

Mehmeh
Wow! Axxa's charges are v reasonable considering tt the cards are in full colour. I shall ask FH if he knows how to design invites hehehee

Ashlady
Were u at PMC last night? We came in quite late and had to seat near the front. But i've no idea how u look like so couldn't say hi to u. I have long hair and was wearing a peach workshirt with black pants yesterday

Sus
Welcome here! U mean u're doing the GDL in the next month or so? Cos u mentioned giving relatives cakes and invites? U're really cute leh, can feel ur excitement over ur newly reset engagement ring!

ashlady

hi count!
heh..i think i know who u r. is it you have short fringe? I was sitting with 2 couples from your cell, i think (coz 1 of them mentioned your name)! You were talking to one of them after PMC? But couldnt say hi too coz i didnt want to interrupt and i left in a rush. heh..so we shall say hi next week!
kao_babydust.gif

count

Ashlady
Oh yes, u're right! I have a short fringe. Hahah. It makes me look childish but well, used to it since my sch days

The other couple is not fr my cell, but are holding their wedding on the same day as us. We've been liaising all along so we knew each other some time ago. U must say hi to me next wk k, cos i don't know who u are!

wishing u all a great weekend and time of rest!

sus_sus

Hi Count! Hi hi All!

Ya, i should be doing the GDL soon.

Exact things we do not know yet. We both wanted a simple wedding but since started planning till now, parents have been springing "surprises" on us, wanting this and that now and then.

Sigh ... i try to accomodate lah but still sian. And FH and i very 'kiam ku' we keep wanting to cut costs. Hehe ... to extent dont want bridal car etc ... my mama so shocked, she say 'then u take taxi ah?'

Ya lor, me happier with my new ring. I been wearing it EVERYDAY ... haha. But its abit loose so must be careful lor. I told FH maybe next time after give birth will fit nicely. He roll his eyes. Hmph!

I tink he scared i lose it. He ever bot me an anklet. I wear until lost also dunno how and when. That was over $100+. Waaa ... felt his heart pain. Sigh ... i am like this lor, very clumsy.

sandsand

Sussus... dont go round blinding more pple ah.. =) I just got my ring re polished/ plated,.... so shiny like new,.. i keep staring at it... haha.. eh, next time when u give birth hor, ur status raised liao leh, cos u produce a son for him... so ask him to buy new ring.. hee.. be very careful with ur ring k, dont knock it on to something.. i did and my heart very very pain ah..

I like your mothers reaction to not having a car... ur mother is hilarious lah!! well, pple who get london cab for wedding car, also considered take taxi for wedding what..

I think hor, the GDL cakes, parents usually give it to immediate family members.. my mum and i plan to do that. give the cakes to my aunts and uncles with the card. its only polite lah.. eh,... if they are like uncle of a cousin, blah blah blah.. i dont bother.

sure kena scrutinize one lah.. ur wedding day they will also scrutinize u one what... even more man..

mehmeh: ur family members very nice and understanding ah.. i dont think i can do that, cos after the tea reception they will go to church liao.. dont think they wanna worry about the cake that is heating up in the car when they are attending the wedding ceremony..

hi Count,

Yupz they are so reasonable & the company, i believed is owned by a fellow believer. I just received a bday greeting card fr PLMC & it is also printed by Axxa

hi ggjj,

Got it!

hi Sus,

Okie, me noted, have updated & will post again

Hmm, u must set a deadline for ur parents to let u know on all the requests. If not it wld be never ending, and also they shd follow customs tt they believe in & not those told be all sorts of sources, otherwise u wld have no end to them

Hi Ribbons,

I certainly am very thankful for my family members! Oh abt the cake heating up in the car.. I think coz my church had a basement CP & the cake was a simple marble cake, so it is more unlikely to spoil

Otherwise get someone IC to distribute during the banquet? I think the whole cake thingy is quite a formality, shdn't be too strict *i hope* on when u distribute it yah?

ggjj

hi lilic,
have sent.. u got any pics to share?

hi csy,
u cant accept pm.. pls leave ur email addy here.. kuang package depends on the size of the album.. typical price is btw 2k to 3k..

hi ribbons,
have pm u

hi yy,
can email me ur pics too.. [email protected]

ggjj

hi mehmeh,
thanks for your help.. that is really a lot of inputs u have in just a few mins.. haven't really ponder thr the file yet.. perhaps i expect too much.. wasn't so wow by it..

anyway really thanks for your help.. going to play tennis now.. not that i know how to play.. most prob going to pick up balls.. there's goes my fair skin

hi ggjj,

No probs! I like pix alot.. Moreover I'm always awed by Kuang's works. U prob right, u're kinda affected by the 2nd half, so u might want more opinions to help u be clearer in ur decision making

Heheh, i think u're the sort tt wld still remain quite fair, prob abit reddish for awhile. But u wun get tanned, i do *sulks* heheh

Have a great weekend!

ggjj

hi mehmeh,
haha.. i won't get tanned but will look very lobsterish.. u going out today? anyway, thanks again.. will let u know the developments after i gone thr it again..

hihi ggjj,

U're def the sort who wun get tanned, u dun have tt sort of melanin in ur skin to retain tan! heehee.. U red oredi? Do keep me posted on the devts

I went out to meet frens & gai-gai..

lilic

hi gigi, i have gotten your email. thanks, will look at them later.. only stole a glance.. i think you are a gorgeous bride.. *envy*

my AD in Dec 06.. dun have pics to share with you now.. =)

sunesis_82

i wonder if i can get some advice here for church wedding. I'm having my banquet on the 1 Jan 07. I wanted to have my church wedding on the same day at noon and den the lunch reception. But some frens tell me its not a good day for wedding cos pp will hang over from countdown. Do ur have any advice for me? Shall i have the both on separate days?

childlike

hmm sheryl, u can have church in afternoon instead of morning then.
i know of couples who have it at 2pm (church) then banquet at night; or you can have church plus dinner reception on 1st jan and then banquet the next day.

childlike

hi girls, its me again.
can I check did anyone play any slideshow or montage for church wedding? how does one squeeze it in? at which part of church wedding?
mehmeh and all,
i think i have asked u girls how much alcohol to order for banquet and i think it depends on how much each guest drinks...but now I am really getting all kinds of diff opinion abt whether my alcohol is enough for dinner. my parents say enuf but my inlaws say not enuf. what is the kinda estimated amt that is to be used per table? ie one bottle of wine and 1 litres of beer for one table enuf or not? can experienced brides here tell me what to do?
another thing is how long will the makeup session on actual day take? one and half hrs enuf? me doing my actual day programme planning now.

lilic

hi ericia, for wine.. one bottle of wine is good for 7 std servings... std serving would mean that the wine glass should only be 1/3 full.. hope this help..

the estimate of consumption will depend on your guests.. and when you start serving wine.. at commencement of dinner or from cocktail onwards.. =)

onebigday

ericia, usually they play the montage during the signing of the marriage cert coz people can then watch while they're going thru the procedures.. sometimes people play it at the beginning of the ceremony too. It's really up to you when u want to show it. just be creative!

hi ericia,

Hmm, i do rem u had asked this question sometime back. My fren advised tt we get 1.5 bottles per table, for wine. I can't advise on beer, coz my beer was free flow.

U need to brief ur banquet coordinator & the captain for tt night, tt u want only 1/3 glass filled up. Optimally, the glass shd only be 1/3 filled to maintain the quality of the wine, coz if too much is poured out, say 3/4 the glass, and the person sips a bit at a time, before long, the wine wldn't be as great. But this is really for those who are particular abt wine..

U shd ask ur MU artiste how long the MU session wld take. Coz u know how u want ur hair & MU done, so the specifics may cause the time taken to be longer/ shorter.

What sort of montage do u intend to have? If you do have montages during the church wedding, then u able to have 2 montages for the banquet before each march-in? As what CSY mentioned, u can have the montage played before the ceremony or during the signing of the marriage cert. It's not essential to have a montage, unless u've got 2 groups of guests, 1 for church & another for the banquet, and the ppl attending the church wedding wun get to go for the dinner thus missing out on the montage.

hi Sheryl,

Hmm, i guess if ur guests wld want to attend ur church wedding, then they wld avoid having the countdown, or still turn up inspite their grogginess. However if they prefer attending the banquet, they might then rest till later & not attend the church wedding.

U might want to ask a sample group of frens/relatives for their opinion.. If they are really close to u, they might just give the countdown a miss.. Afterall, countdown takes place every year yah?

sandsand

hey Ivy.. saw ur pics... ur MTM gown is nice.. wish i had ur kind of figure to look nice in those kind of gowns..
I know what u mean about the suspense man.. mine is OTR.. but not knowing what sort of gowns lie behind the covers is nerve recking lah..
which church are u from? ur pastor looks familiar..

count

Hey Ivy
Just had the time to pop in and view ur pics! I love the ruffly back of ur gown and the low back - very sexy
And u look really different w/o glasses hee

Haven't been logging in recently cos been busy at work and running errands. Just had a 3-hr meeting today after lunch, and busy planning company function for July

When's ur next fitting?

galronni

Hi csy, oops... :p

Hi ggjj & wyy, me hope to see your pics too!

Hi ivy, nice lovely back you have! And also the gown. Very sexy... Seems like gowns in Sgp are much better off than Shanghai's! Where's your BS?

Keep us posted on your progress and pics!

small_one

<font color="0000ff">Ribbons</font>

I need to rid 3 inches off my torso leh... not reflected in the picture... so I think it's a good thing bah... but no license to eat more...

I am from City Harvest. That's Pastor Derek Dunn.

Hahaha, yar, think whether it's MTM or OTR still can be killed by suspense... hahaha

<font color="0000ff">Count</font>

The ruffles are my hubby's fave too. In fact, he's the one who requested for it. I try the fuse SL and DC gowns into one... hahaha

Yar, I look different with and w/o glasses... You must take care leh... Shall arrange appointment with Green Point when you are not so busy.

Next fitting is on 26 June.. Another 2 months before my next heart attack. PS will be on 13 July.

<font color="0000ff">Ronni</font>

Thank you for your kind words. Like I mentioned, I have to rid off 3 inches from my back. But thank God that my back is not proned to mozzie bites, if not got a lot of scars liao...

I am with GHA.

\blue(weddin}

My lovenest is near Boon Lay MRT. In fact, it's diagonally opposite.