Christian Brides

hi ashlady,

no harm going for the workshop.. But i rem at one roadshow, they were very hardsell. And tt roadshow was just a presentation of the set-up & the packages, no food to test out.. And they had the cheek to hardsell

i have tried Purple Sage at a Jan 06 wedding, also saw the caterer doing the set-up. I give them the BIG thumps up! Food was excellent, tempura ebi, laksa & many other yummy stuff, inc dessert. They also put in alot of effort in doing the set-up, saw the ppl strewing rose petals around & had very elaborate deco (but i can't rem if it's silk or fresh floral)

I find Select abit too commercialised.. I attended one of their workshops, FOC too, food & set-ups are so-so.

Thot u had to go for WB's dad's fren?

hi Wong YY,
Oh how many did u order for?

hi mehmeh,
hmmm..actually not really had to la...anyway, also dunno what company & never hear before one lei. keke :P

Purple sage sounds good..is one of my choices too. But think they are quite ex lei..they only have $12 or $15 tea recep...shall find out more.
So far, I like Lavish Dine & Purple Sage's deco very much!

What u mean by commercialised?

pinkflurry, there are quie a lot of halal certified caterers nowadays. do a online search for MUIS certified or Halal caterers, and it will bring u to the muis website, there will be a list of cateres that are certified by them.

I thought butterfly kisses meant flying kisses.. i think so leh.. in any case, the song is more like a song to be dedicated to your dad one...

Tzasted Rasel's food before at a wedding. Decor was good, food was good (but they catered too much food. alot of left over) these are all fine, except.... the staff and the coordinator. elsi* (replace * with e) she gave us a lot of problem.. (me was coordinating for friend). My friend catered for 400 pax, but only got one or two staff, not pro active one. but food was good and set up was good.

ashlady,

i ordered the min. which is 100pax.

and they also have a waiter around to help abt.

BTW, I oso not keen on SELECT. food tasting can just try at any foodcourt. no difference one lah.

Another caterer to recommend is Neo Gardern. Food is good, had that for my wedding cartering at my parents' place. However, i am unsure if they have do church wedding before. Their pricing is $8 onwards.

AshLady...
I'm gg for tea recep also. Taking their $10/pax menu. They've been quite flexi with the menu and they're also providing me with cocktail tables. I'm catering for about 300pax and they're providing 1 staff per 50 pax.

i see, always thought 'butterfly kisses' is a song whereby dads dedicate it to their daughters on their wedding day, instead of the other way round. Love the lyrics alot, cant think of any other songs appropriate for dad to walk me down the aisle, hmm... any reccomendations?

Btw, if you gals thinking of catering, can also try: www.angeli.com.sg

Love their food alot, guess i'll either use them or purple sage for family's lunch on wedding day and my house warming. hee. Purple sage has very nice table deco though.

hi ashlady,

if u've got the budget of $10, u cld propose to Purple Sage to help u customise a menu for tt?

I've tried a few caterers & stated a budget, they did work sthg out. In the end Elsie's Kitchen got my vote

Commercialised ah? Not tt great in describing what it means, but i guess too normal?

hi Pinkfurry,

U might want to check with whichever caterer u're interested if they are Halal. Otherwise there's a website to indicate which are

hi YY,

i 2nd Neo Garden for great food.. My family always engage them for extended family functions & i had used them for lunch on the AD.

But i also dunno if they have gone into wedding catering..

Butterfly kisses
There's two things I know for sure:
She was sent here from heaven and she's
daddy's little girl.
As I drop to my knees by her bed at night
She talks to Jesus and I close my eyes and
I thank god for all the joy in my life
Oh, but most of all
For butterfly kisses after bedtime prayer;
sticking little white flowers all up in her
hair; "Walk beside the pony, Daddy, it's my first ride."
"I know the cake looks funny, Daddy, but I sure tried."
In all that I've done wrong I know I must
have done something right to deserve a hug
every morning and butterfly kisses at night.

Sweet 16 today
She's looking like her mama a little more everyday
One part woman, the other part girl.
To perfume and make-up from ribbons and curls
Trying her wings out in a great big world.

But I remember
Butterfly kisses after bedtime prayer; sticking
little white flowers all up in her hair.
"You know how much I love you, Daddy, But if you
don't mind I'm only gonna kiss you on the cheek this time."
With all that I've done wrong I must have done
something right to deserve her love every morning
and butterfly kisses at night.

All the precious time
Like the wind, the years go by.
Precious butterfly.
Spread your wings and fly.

She'll change her name today.
She'll make a promise and I'll give her away.
Standing in the bride-room just staring at her.
She asked me what I'm thinking and I said "I'm not
sure-I just feel like I'm losing my baby girl."
She leaned over & gave me butterfly kisses with her mama there,
Sticking little white flowers all up in her hair
"Walk my down the aisle, Daddy-it's just about time."
"Does my wedding gown look pretty, Daddy? Daddy, don't cry!"

Oh, with all that I've done wrong I must have
done something right.
To deserve your love every morning and butterfly
kisses-I couldn't ask God for more, man this is what love is.

I know I gotta let her go, but I'll always remember
every hug in the morning and butterfly kisses.

Sounds to me it's more of a song tt Daddy dedicates to their daughters, or his baby rem all the sweet things he has done

hmm..after comparing Rasel & Lavish $10 tea recep,
rasel offers a better deal for that..got more food stuff. For their $12 deals, I like Lavish one better..keke :P Shall do more comparison.

mehmeh: I realised there isnt a caterer that got consistent good reviews! Esp food is so subjective..hmm...that's why it's quite mindbogging. keke

Timminbuzz: Cocktail tables sounds good..love to have those
It's those tall round types right? how many are they providing for you? When's ur AD?

Hi ribbon,

I was coordinating for friend wedding last year and they also took Rasel. As what you say is true their food & decor was good. I remember they have quite a number of service person on tat day but no just 2 of them. I think tat also depend whether which package you take.

Hei don't scare me off, I confirm their service already. My sales person also elsi* she offer like 1 staff for every 100 pax. If the staff are experiene enough, no need so many also.
356552.gif

Ashlady...
La*ish has been quite flexi with us...so tt's y we took em. We could select most of the dishes that we wanted. They were really flexi with the menu. Was interested in Ra*el, but they were quite inflexi. They cldn't provide me with food tasting, even tho I was willing to pay for it. And I agree that food's quite subj, so i wanted to make sure I like it.

Regarding cocktail tables, they're giving me 6. Yup...those tall round ones. FH really wanted em. AD's on 24 June.

sorry about my butterfly kisses posting. i meant to say that its a song from fathers to daughters.. but a bit funny leh, although ur father is walking u down the aisle, but should the bulk of the focus be more on the couple? well, its subjective and up to the couple's preference.. if u like the song and think its meanigful, dont bother about what others think.. its ur day. went one weddng before, played josh groban, you raise me up. thats a song i wanna play for my dad at his funeral but that shouldnt bother the couple what.. and its none of my business what the couple plays. (before anyone ask me, i answer first. Yes, i discuss with my parents about their funeral, i discuss with my fiance about our funerals too. its something that will come along, and by the time it comes, no one is in the right mood to think anymore.. so might as well plan now.. my parents are cool with it.. my mum has a song too. hee..)

Michelle: my friend took the $15 per pax package. quite a substancial amout so we should be expecting better service right.. i mean, Krist*n's $10 per pax also give better service..and, they really only give 2 staff.. who stood by the side for the whole event. But the decor was good lah, all fresh flowers. and the food was really yummy.

i guess there is no such thing as a perfect caterer.. so its give and take lah.. some get perfect catering, some dont..

Hi ribbons,

where to find prefect caterer!!! Hope they don't disappoint me lah!!!

So long as food nice, decor pretty, i don't really bother. At least won't get complain from friends & relative and tat's good enough.

aaahhh!!!!! HELP HELP HELP!!!
i just realised that my solitaire can move when i twist it! The claws are in place, i just happen to put the diamond in between my thumb and index and twist... it twists really easily!!!

Anyone elses solitaire moves like that???? please tell me its what all solitaire diamonds do.!!!

I'm going to keep it in my coin pouch and rushing straight to Soo Kee tmrw man!!!

ahh!!!

*distressed!*

hi mehmeh,
yes..must pray for wisdom!

hi ribbons,
OH GOSH!!!!!!!! Nope, the diamond shouldnt move at all..if it does, then need to send for repair! Relax, k? Just keep the diamond in a safe place first...luckily you realised it now.

hi timminbuzz,
Oh i realised that Lavish & Purple Sage are not halal certified
But Rasel is...

hi michelle seetoh,
Which package did u take from Rasel?

Has anyone heard of Smiling Orchid before?

AAAAHHH!!!
i dont feel like working already.. feeling like dashing off to the nearest soo kee!

i also sim tia, cos i know if i have to replace the whole skeleton of the ring its $200.... (i sent the ring for repair before cos the claw was out of place)...

*breathe... breathe...*

Ashlady & timminbuzz,

Lavish has $10 tea recep menu for weddings? I asked them leh, they told me min. is $15 which they listed as premium wedding cocktails. do u have details of their packages?

csy...
yah..they do. sorry...i dun hv their package with me. But if u go into their website. Under "Menu & Services", click on tea recep A under weddings. That's the $10 one.

need some advice from u gals here. do u think is ok if 50% of my weddin dinner guests are relatives ? do u invite your colleagues to church weddin or dinner?

hi weddin, I'm inviting my colleagues for church weddin & dinner as well coz quite close to them. For me, most of my dinner guests wld be relatives.

hi ashlady thanks. cos if i invite all colleagues to dinner, then i would need 10 tables and my husbandto be would need 8 tables...so after much consideration,we were thinking probably just to invite them to church wedding. without inviting them, we already hv 20 tables of friends and 20 tables of relatives.

hi weddin,

the proportion of guests u intend to invite wld very much be determined by who's paying for the wedding, if parents are going to take back APs & the capacity of ur venue.

hi weddin,
wow..you & your FH have many colleagues! U must be working in a big big company! Heh..for me, my colleagues only abt 1 table & my FH abt 3 tables

Hi Ashlady

I'm thinking getting the $30 or $35 menu, still not sure yet, will confirm after the food sampling. You leh? have you got any menu from them already?

hi michelle,
I havent confirm anything..will be going to their workshop. Will be taking their tea menu..so prob between $10-12 per person.

Hi Ashlady

For church wedding $10-$12 sound reasonable, I'm not having any church wedding or banquet dinner tats y I need to increase the budget abit.

My HB not a christian and his family discourage him from putting a church wedding and if I will to seprate a church wedding and traditional chinese dinner it will cost us alot.

Tats one of my excuss lah, in fact I discourage banquet dinner, so boring! Its always 8-9 courses nothing special.
kao_wedding.gif

hi michelle,
heh..if i can, I would just have a nice wedding high tea or lunch...not dinner also! keke :P So where are u holding your solemnization?

hi ashlady,

I will be holding a short service at ACM, than follow by dinner. I also hope to hold a lunch or tea but my HB family don't allow. Typical chinese custom! No choice!

Will you be going to Rasel Wedding Workshop? So which session you attending?

hi michelle,
ya loh..my BF also wants a dinner for the sake of his parents! :P If not, I'd gladly do without it! haha...

yes, am going...the afternoon one
U?

Hi ashlady,

No choice lah, if you love that person you also have to accept his family. I'm will be staying with them after AD so cannot afford to say "NO" if not my future there will be gone. I don't wish them to give me their "WHITE EYE"

I'm going for session one (12pm-2pm). You leh? Both session also in afternoon leh! So which one? Maybe we can meet there, than you can see my Jiao Aw ILs. Cannot stand them sometime..........

hi ribbon,
mine will be a buffet dinner and it is $13 per pax which I find it very reasonable. I am having yam paste as the dessert, yum yum.

they also have less than $10 menu. they will only decor the buffet lining table.

hi michelle,
haha..i agree! Oh, i'm going for the later one. 3-5 i think...heh. Oh, ur in-laws going too? heh...must try to be a good DIL...to be a testimony for God
My in-laws also not christians.

Hi Ashlady

It's easy to say, hard to be good DIL. Wait till you see them than you know how different they are from other ILs. At least your ILs never stop you from holding a church wedding.

Nevermind lah! God can understand

Aiyo! I so sleepy leh! How hah?
kao_sleep.gif

hi michelle,
heh...ya la..it's always easier to be said than done. Sometimes i'll complain to my FH also..keke :P When u try Rasel's food let me know what u think, K?

Hi Ashlady,

Sure! I already sign up with them last week cos my date has numbers of booking, so for the workshop I'm there to let my ILs select the dishes. I'm pretty confident with them since they did for my friend wedding and there isn't complain from those auntie

So i will share with you what food i selected on that day.

Hi girls, finally back from my trip. Very tired but happy. Didn't buy much though FH bought lots of stuff. I only bought chocolate! ;)

Hey Ribbons, is ur ring ready already? Hope u can get it back soon!

Ivy dearie, is our appt still on? Cos i haven't gotten ur email. Do let me know by dropping me an email at [email protected] k?

Ashlady, michelle and other gals
Agreed abt the wedding dinner. We didn't want a dinner too. But alas, cos i'll be staying in for some time before our flat is ready, must learn to give in. At least my ILs are quite understanding abt other matters such as not having to follow Buddhist customs etc so i'm blessed already. Btw Michelle, welcome to this thread!

Quite excited cos my fitting with Kim is next Sat. Hope can still fit into the CS by then. Cos i ate a lot in US. I had 3X the amt of food as compared with FH at the buffet. FH complained tt i was "unstoppable"! Can't be helped cos there was so much nice food - roast beef, turkey, sashimi, pasta, desserts, crepe, cake... haha