Christian Brides

Hi Ivy,
Glad to know that you got your venue confirmed. I was just passing on info that I have to those who need, just like all the helpful sisters here in the forum.

Hi count,
I got my EG OTR from Asian Women in centrepoint, they do minor alterations free. The EGs there were previously showcase pieces for their fashion shows and after a while will have sale. I was surprised to find that I could fit into some as I am a L size, guess Indian style gowns more expandable and forgiving (but very sexy!). If you need to MTM, then the price will be quite ex.

For florist, I used Aces of Vases. Very pro and good lasting arrangments. My peonies AD bouquet lasted about 3 days without yellowing (I put in water after my wedding). I only threw it away after 5 days!

hi Count..

Agree tt u shdn't give in to her reasonings, which do sound quite silly. Considering it involves this bit of money, it shd have been clearly communicated & at the end of the day, this also concerns their reputation.. Poor post-sales service??

Gd to stick to the principles, but i do hope it's not abt the external MUA thingy tt caused this change.. If not it's so *tsktsk*

U know abt the bouquet, if u're willing to try a DIY bouquet, u shd! U can control the quality of flowers, size of the bouquet and how it is done. Fairly simple, go Far East Floral at Thomson & buy them there. It's going to be so much cheaper than getting a florist to do it. Whether it's a noesgay or round bouquet, all quite simple to be done..

hi Ivy,

Oh u indeed haven't popped by here in a while! Praise God for granting the desires of ur heart
One more thing off the to-do-list

I dun do PM, do u mind leaving ur email add here??

What's ur budget for a florist? Church or bouquet only? Woodsville is quite a gd florist too..

Hey Ivy
Praise God tt u got ur church venue. U and hubby must be very very happy. Haven't seen u in a while here - have u been busy? Kim's no is 96478146 blk 246 tampines st 21 #11-359

Carelinwen and Mehmeh,
thanks for the contacts for EG and florist. Will go take a look. Thinking of DIY bouquet but scared it may not turn out nice. Hee and somemore need time to try out first just in case

Mehmeh share ur florist contacts with me too? My email is [email protected]

Cos besides looking at Aces of Vases, am going to check out Greenpoint, Secret Garden and Shang's florist. Just in case my bridal bouquet doesn't meet expectations i'd have some research as back up...

Now i just hope tt the BS will be ok subsequently and she'll not give me additional problems/top ups. Cos we intend to let this slide but pass on the top up. Would rather spend the $400 making another EG with Kim. Been surfing thru websites and noticing the many nice EGs worn during award shows... So very tempted to make dresses!

Mehmeh, must show ur new dress when u get it from Kim! My mum was impressed with Kim's works when i showed her

Ebell,
Have a blessed wedding! Pray tt the weather will be fine and all will go smoothly and u'll have fun on ur AD!

Just realised ebell's AD was this weekend hee.

To the rest of u girls, enjoy ur weekend dears!

hey count

i still speak to you in Nov 06 btb thread mah... But just started work in new place - Touch Community - great working environment. God has blessed me tremendously this quarter of the year.

Thanks for the contacts... will 'lure' my mum there when I am free. She would love to have a custom-made CS...

carelinwen and mehmeh

thanks indeed for all the recommendations of florist... my email is [email protected]

I have 2 budgets:

Additional PS - SGD50 (if it's possible)
Church - $500 (intend to reuse the flowers and deco for dinner)

hi ivy & count,

u've got mail on the florist..
Count: I think it depends on what flowers u want to use tt wld decide how much the bouquet costs. Of coz size does matter (pardon the pun!!)

hi Count,

Oh yes, tt $400 wld comfortably make a glam and urs to keep EG with Kim!!! heheh, dun start me on the drool-worthy gowns featured during the Academy Awards.. Gets me excited to make even more pieces

U showed ur mum some pix of Kim's work? ggjj's & mine huh? heehee! Me eagerly waiting for 18 Mar to arrive *yipppee*

care to share the total cost u are spending on Photoshoot, Bridal studio, videography and Actual Day photography? just wanna to give myself a self check if i m overspending. my total cost for these 4 going to be about $9500.

may i ask if anyone is wearing 'kua' for tea ceremony? my parents are non believers, our dialet group is cantonese, and they believe in wearing 'kua', however my FH does'nt like the dragons on it, as it symbolises serpants...
usually dragon kuas are common, is there any flower prints instead of dragon?
has anyone been through this? where can i find a nice flower kua? my BS only has dragon kuas...

thanks a million.
God Bless.

I think there are kua's around that are just embroidery and no dragons.. I think so.. should have.. How about renting it from anotehr BS?

I am not wearing the kua. I just dont like it. Way b4, i already told my FH that i am not going to wear kua.. but to make up for it, i got a maroon tea dress.. so maybe can aplease the elders.. red red mah.. =) but i only realised this after i got the tea dress..

Mehmeh,
Thanks for the florist contacts. U must must show me ur new gown with Kim when it's done up! Very eager to see. Yes, i showed my mum both of ur CS by Kim and Ggjj's gowns. My mum loved all of the outfits! Kekekek

Called Elsie's last week and spoke to Daniel. The $5 package seems very reasonable, though i tot of paying slighlty more like $8 to increase the no of dishes/desserts. Could i ask - how come u decided on the $5 package instead of the wedding $10 package? Cos when i weigh out the differences, i also think the $5 is better (altho with topup for dishes). From what i understand, the only diffs btw them are:
1) reception sign in table with flowers
2) wedding cake
3) service staff on site

Was thinking tt these 3 are unnecessary cos 1 is provided by florists, 2 sometimes looks fake, 3 is unnecessary cos most pple would simply dispose of their used disposable utensils and the caterer would ultimately clean up after the entire reception? Can share ur insight?

Hi Pinkfurry
I think it really depends on what type of wedding vendors u are going for. In any case, be prepared for hidden costs if u're worried abt over-spending. Cos my friends did mention tt even if u don't top up for photos, they may charge u for digital touch-ups. And for me, i had some problems with my BS and the top up issue as well. So far if we keep within my budget i think the total cost is abt $11K. But we're not getting a VG and are getting a fren as 2nd AD PG, so this may vary my total cost

Babydoll,
My BS has a very simple kua - think it only has flowers w/o dragons. But some have said it's too plain. And i don't know if they rent it to brides tt do not get their gowns... Btw, besides a red/similar coloured tea dress u may consider making a short CS or sth. Sure to please the elders as well

hi pink furry,

maybe u want to share the breakdown & who ur vendors ah? if it's some well-worth vendors & u can afford the money, then i think u shd go ahead with tt cost. afterall wedding is once in a lifetime

i however din spent so much.. i think for those items, the max was $6.5k...

I did have some top-ups, but i controlled my spending on tt & my BS din require any top-up for materials, extent of embellishments and digital effects to the PS album.

hi precious dolls,

the ladies are right, generally most BSs wld carry the floral Kuas. Do request & state ur reasons

Just to share, my CGL wore the dragon-pheonix kua inspite her Christian faith coz i think it meant alot to her family. To them it's more of a custom tt she was in a Kua rather than what was on the kua. In fact i also read in a small booklet in a Christian bookshop (not Tecman/Life) tt it's alright to wear, afterall we're overcomers!

hi Count,

Glad ur mum liked Kim's works!! Tt shd put her at ease when it's her turn to go make sthg.. Oh do rem to ask Kim when ur mum shd start prep for hers, as usual, must give her advance notice, otherwise u wld be disappointed

With regards to Elsie's.. My fren had booked the same $5 deal for her wedding in May. So i based on her wedding to gauge the standard of things w/o the recep table, wedding cake & service staff.

Signing in table is provided by PLMC, so i din need fr EK. The flowers i got fr my florist instead
But i got EK to lend me their skirting & they obliged so willingly

I dun rem them offering the wedding cake in the $10 package.. heheh! issit just those fruit cakes ah? Or wld it be dummy cake?

Fr my fren's wedding, the whole tea recep went find even w/o the service staff on site.. Guests knew how to help themselves.

Hi Mehmeh
Yes glad my mum likes Kim's work. Intending to bring my mum and sister to meet Kim when i go for my CS fitting. Then can show Kim pics and ask her for ideas

Very tempted to get another dress for myself! Argh... HOpe my PS will turn out well. Cos i think tt i'm not photogenic enough... Boo hoo

Actually i think the cake is a dummy cake, which is not so nice usually (i think). Cos real cake somehow looks better. So i'd rather do w/o a cake. Cool! So the EK package is quite all right in terms of food and service? Cos Daniel did say tt skirting would be provided and they would provide warmers if the food is to be served warm

Babydoll
Want to share ur details with us so the table can be updated? Join us here and chat if u want! U're more than welcome!

hi Count,

Maybe reserve the making of another dress till post-wedding? Then heheh, u can find another excuse to have another
teehee!

I think u can communicate this fear of urs to ur PG & I'm sure he wld be professional enough to help u deal with the issue of being non-photogenic. Not all of us are so comfy in front of the camera, maybe u want to do mood shots instead? Dun worry too much!!

Yupz, skirting wld be provided as well as warmers.. I appointed a church mate to be IC of catering, so twd the end of the service he went down to light the the paraffin wax for the warmers, din want them to burn during the early set-up

Had gd reviews abt EK's food & at tt price, my mum & dad were bowled over!! They feared tt at $5 the food wasn't going to be gd & too humble, considering ppl do give quite a substantial amt in the APs. But i guess with the guests praising the food & seeing them enjoy, the worries were unfounded! Praise God! The only tie-up we had with EK was via emails & no probs & very prompt replies, so i guess via email i had no probs. But i dunno if it can be said the same over phone..

hello gals,
count, thks for yr invitation

CONGRATS TO EVERY BRIDE TO BE...
my AD is next yr 03mar2007, however our parent s haven mt, venue is not fixed, coz me and my FH wannted a church wedding, at 1st we wanted a church wedding in d morn, followed by dinner at night.. but after discussion we intend to 2 in 1, now stil at negotiation stage with Chjimes..
am i too bo chap?? been relaxing and doin the research..

thks for yr advise, i think i shld start moving to source for my wedding stuffs, have been excerising my fingers so far.. resting in the Lord.
my family is cantonese, my mum says frm my grandma s time, it is said tht every bride frm our family muz wear Kua.. tratitions!! i personally dun mind wearing it, perhaps i ve seen my cousins all wore it b4.
Has anyone heard abt the HOE along tanjong pagar rd? gotta go there 1day to chk it out..

hi baby doll,
oh, HOE has very very nice KUA! My bf's cousin wore one & it looked gorgeous on her..i personally think they have much nicer KUAs than most BS..heh.

Mehmeh, glad to hear tt EK did a gd job for u. Will prob go with them as well cos both sets of parents feel tt EK is more well-known among their generation. Unless i manage to persuade them o/w kekeke. Btw, u mean they don't light up the paraffin wax for u? Is it dangerous to light it urself? Must use lighter ah? Me blur blur abt these things. ;)

Welcome Babydoll! Don't think u're bo chup - after all, u've been doing research and narrowed down ur choices for venues. U have abt 12 months to go so no rush. Can take ur time. But would advise u to look for AD PG and VG first if u want to get ur 1st choice

Ashlady,
When's ur PS? Btw, what type of dress are u making with Kim? Are u gg to wear it for PS?

Ivy, this is the link to EK http://elsiekitchen.com.sg/index.asp

Hey girls, any idea when MIL is supposed to buy si4 dian3 jin1 for us? Cos my MIL wants to buy 1 month before AD. I tot better to buy earlier so can wear for PS? Unless we do PS w/o it and wear it on AD? What's the practice?

Hey Ivy
Been gd so far. Just trying to finish up with my work this wk cos going on 2 wk holiday this Sat. Hee. Busy with work but as u can see i've been surfing quite a bit to de-stress. How have u been? Busy with wedding stuff? What else have u settled? We're still looking for wedding bands, caterer, florist, printer etc

hi gals...

was wondering if u gals can share about getting a mattress. Which are good? I'm thinking of either sealy or simmons. Will I get a good deal from Robinsons?

COunt: the solid fuel/ paraffin wax is rather easy to light i think.. as all the guys to do it.. they always play with solid fuel during NS, they will know what to do lah. either that or u can go get one of those kitchen stove lighter (the long kind) or a long candle to light lor..

mehmeh: no waiters around also ah? what if ur food runs out? then who top up? can send me pics of ur AD?

hi pinkfurry,
Not sure how much they charge..i didnt rent any from them. heh..sorry. Perhaps u can check out their no to call & ask.

hi count,
My PS is 3rd wk of June. Will be making a cheong sum from kim...but havent confirm the design...yes, i hope to wear it for the PS if i like the look very much! heh.. How abt u?

hi timminbuzz,
I personally like Sealy..depends on whether u like soft or hard mattress. Sealy ones are softer than simmons i think. Apart from Robinsons, can check out Taka & harvey norman. They carry slightly diff types of sealy mattress.

Timminbuzz
We bought a Sealy San Marino w/o box spring at Robinsons for abt $2.8K. Go talk to the Sealy and Simmons pple who are friendly, and try the mattresses for urself. Cos this is quite a subjective area. Not sure if we got a gd deal but we used the Robinsons card, and a cut out voucher in the papers. Every now and then, Robinsons has some special promo with coupon, discount and rebate under the Robinsons card

Ribbons, i see. Hehehe. So it's quite easy to light the solid fuel...

Ashlady, i'm making a CS too. First fitting in mid-April. Tot of doing it early to see if i like it. Also going to wear it for PS like u. Hee. Going for a classic cut with cap sleeves after Kim's recommendation. When will u cfm ur design? Any ideas in mind? My PS shd be in late July so quite soon after urs. Can share photos then! Exciting!

Hi count,
I'm going shopping with kim first wk of April..heh..mine wld prob be halter. Still thinking abt the rest of the designs..keke :P I havent even taken my measurements! haha... what color is your CS & what material?

hi precious doll,

like Ashlady, i think HOE has great Kuas. But they are rather pricey.. But i guess, once in a lifetime, this small cost shdn't be too huge an issue?

hi ivy,

heheh, glad u found the URL..

hi count,

I din want them to light the paraffin wax, too early & by the time its reception, the food wldn't have retained its warmth. Not dangerous, really easy with either lighter or matchsticks..

For EK, coz i ordered for above 300 pax, they threw in their floral deco. Quite simple, silk orchids, i tink the Vanda Ms Joaquim sort, in a tall clear glass. Each buffet set-up had 1 or 2 of such centre-pieces

hi ribbons,

as per what i told Count, nope no waiters. Food din run out.. They laid out enough for all. Not a problem. I had more buffet lines than usual. Just 1 more..

I haven't sent u the link to view my AD pix? Hmm.. Ok okie.. hhaha, more than half a year ago oredi! Not exciting for u all to view oredi *blush*

hi timminbuzz,

Sealy has been rather popular with several couples whom i know & have recently gotten married.. But within the brand, there are plenty of differences & pricing too.

Taka, Robinsons & Harvey Norman may carry the same model, but name them differently. I think Robinsons has this 0% installment plan for Sealy.

Another good brand i heard is Serta, though not as common or popular.. no idea why though

mehmeh.. i dont even know u married for moe than half a year liao.. hee..

Count: i agree with mehmeh, dont light the warmers up too fast. cos no one can watch it all the time, and ur food might 'dry out'..

ANd i think si dian jin suppose to be given on wedding it self or days before wedding, or during guo da li time.. dont need for photoshoot lah.. besides, a bit dangerous right.. just like how some BSs dont allow u to wer ur AD gown for outdoor PS, why would u wanna risk wearing the si dian jin for ur ps?

mehmeh: so u didnt see any problem with having no waiters ah? i'm thinking about that problem now.. I always scared wait no waiters, then food run out.. cannot expect my guest to become waiters themselves right..

hi ribbons..

Gosh, seriously!! heheh.. okieokie, i send u later k?

Nopes, no problem at all.. I think if the church venues allows, i rather they set-up more lines. Coz it wld mean guests wld get their food faster too.

Food ought not to run out, if u quote for 300 pax. They usually provide portion enough for abt another 30 ppl.. Sthg along tt line. Tt's what all the caterers who i've spoken to told me, they wld buffer food for ard tt no. of pax

hi count,

agree with ribbons, dun get ur si dian jin before the PS.. Kinda lose the significance tt ur MIL wld present her DIL with the gift on the AD. There are plenty of accessories tt i'm sure SIL shd be able to offer u. Si dian jian while simple & elegant, may not stand out in pix. So while u can, doll up with some drama acessories!

<font color="ff0000">gd morning!</font>
354329.gif

hi ribbons,

so sorry for the delay.. was doing my DIY manicure last night! U've got mail

yah lah count.. dont wear ur SDJ for the PS.. give some element of surprise too.. when ur guest see ur SDJ in the photo album then see u wearing it, not much surprise lah..

mehmeh: i didnt get anything leh.. u send again can? [email protected]

hi ribbons,

i was hoping u wld reply here.. i dunno what went wrong, but i think the invites to view might not have gone thru. let me try again k? sorry!!

Ashlady, my CS is champagne with cream and pink/red designs. It's silk with a layer of chiffon beneath. Halter is nice but my EG will prob be a halter so took classic design for more variety. Will be bringing my mum and sister to meet Kim during my next appt with her hee. U have any ideas of what kind of material to use for ur CS so far?

Mehmeh, time flies yah? So fast half yr already. Can't wait for my AD to be over too then can stay tog and enjoy married life kekeke

So can ask for silk floral deco if i order for 300 pax? U liaised with Daniel? 2 lines for food is better u think? Or 3 lines for 300 pax? Does this mean tt EK will simply lay out all the food on the table and there are no top ups? Cos i seem to recall seeing top ups for my fren's wedding when she used another caterer...

Hey girls, get what u mean abt the SDJ. Shall wear it on AD then or on other occasions. Tt means i must find accessories! Argh. And i'm not an accessories kind of person. So must start hunting soon!

Timminbuzz
Btw, if u're looking at Sealy beds, must take note tt box spring costs abt $800 more. Tt's the additional support just below the mattress for the frame. But std bed frame shd suffice if both of u are average build. Cos the salesperson advised tt box spring, while more comfy, is optional for Asians unlike ang mos who are heavier...

hi Count,

Hmm, silk with a layer of chiffon beneath ah? I can't quite picture tt sort of a CS.. Hahah, nvm wait for the end product

Indeed, time flies by yah? Hahhah, to make another dress for the 1st year anniversary?? HB will certainly faint! Married life wld def be enjoyable, esp with all the nitty gritty stuff abt the wedding being all over by then!

Yupz, i liaised with Daniel &amp; requested for silk floral deco. I think u can try for the deco if u're having 250, afterall it's no big deal rite? I think 3 lines wld be better.. Guests get to the food faster too. For PLMC i think can afford 3 lines.. but maybe other churches can't

There wun be top-ups coz there aren't any service staff. U can double-check with Daniel on this again..

Hmm, u mean SIL isn't going to have accessories for u?

Hi mehmeh,
SIL's accessories are not good, at least all those offered to me by the shop sucks. Maybe some of the MUA tied up with Sil may provide accessories but I got my own to prevent disppointment.

Hi count,
When is your PS? Ask her to show you accessories asap and 'chope' them for that date. If not you'll be like me, last minute rush around to buy them for PS.

Mehmeh, so fast! Hard to believe also cos my AD is onlyl abt 8 months away! U shd make another dress! Tell hubby tt u can wear the nice dress out for 1st anni dinner

Carelinwen, lucky u informed me. Cos she didn't show me any accessories so far, just said can borrow. Maybe i shd ask my MUA or look ard now. What type of accessories did u get? My WG is a bustier and EG halter so prob no need for EG. But WG don't know what type will look nice. Want to get a tiara cos i love the princess look! Hee

Choping the accessories may be a problem cos i need to liaise with my MUA and PS PG and BS separately for a date... Sigh. More headache! What accessories did u see there?

Was looking thru a bridal mag yesterday and saw tt Woodsville has very pretty bouquets for $100-150. Thinking tt i may buy those if the flowers provided are not nice... Hmmm... Any of u know what is the "market price" for PS/AD bouquet?

Actually gd thing abt PLMC is tt the fellowship hall is big so can have 3 lines, now tt i think of it. Hee

Ashlady, which caterer are u going to use?

Btw girls, do u feel tt PLMC's sanctuary looks a little dim? WIll this pose a problem in photos? Cos i noticed tt photos taken in the sanctuary seem a little dimmer than at the fellowship hall for e.g...

hi carelinwen,

Ah, SIL doesn't provide pretty accessories ah? Tt's so sad! I mean they are to provide this sort of a thing, coz we dun really get to accessorize tt much for other formal occassions. Gosh!

hi Count,

Oh yes, time flies by yah?? Super fast!

Woodsville has nice bouquets &amp; i wld have to vouch tt their service is gd. Did an email enquiry abt church deco &amp; they were prompt in reverting as well as not being pushy. Def can consider them.. Def have to avoid Steffi's! Very calculative!!! The range for wedding bouquets shd start ard $80 &amp; up.. The more species &amp; the bigger &amp; fuller the bouquet, be prepared to pay more

PLMC's sanctuary may look dim, but i've not encountered any probs with the pix turning out badly. PGs wld have to worry abt this part, u need not worry. I figure they prob have to adjust their exposure &amp; use flash if it's really necessary. Dun fret abt this!!! Really! We've held so many weddings in PLMC &amp; i've never heard tt this is a concern.. *calm down* yah?? heheh

hi count,
wow...u seemed to be on top of things ahead! heh..come to think of it, my AD is only like 6 months away &amp; i havent even look into recep &amp; other stuff! haiz...we prob will contact my FH's father's friend first...see if it fits with us. If not then look elsewhere loh... keke :P How abt u?
Actually I like the "dimness" of the santuary..feels very classy &amp; grand. By the way,u going for this coming end April PMC?

Hey Mehmeh and Ashlady
actually i like PLMC sanctuary. Just tt worried it is slightly dim. Will tell my PG to adjust his camera! Kekekeke. I like Woodsville too! They did the flowers for my friend's wedding and it was very pretty! But must see the cost also. Tt's why i tot of checking out a few others like Greenpoint, Secret Garden and see how

Yep, i'm going for the PMC in April. U going too? Actually just completed the Touch PMC last week (6 sessions) so another 6 sessions at PLMC is going to be very very tiring. The topics seem quite similar so don't know if it'll be useful heh. Ashlady it'll be cool if u're going too! Let me know if u go k?

hihi ribbons,

i think i managed to send the invites for u to view
Enjoy!

hihi Count,

Dun worry abt the lightings, really.. heheh, u shd focus on being the pretty bride! Ur PG wld arrive earlier than guests, prob abt the time u arrive, so he wld def have time to adjust himself to the surroundings &amp; adjust whatever he needs to, to the lightings etcetc

Greenpoint has lovely bouquets too, but i think quite expensive.. But they have one of the best bouquets ard! Secret Garden is also quite gd, but heheh, Greenpoint wins hands-down with its pretty website! heheheh

Usually u can choose ur desired flower types &amp; the contents in the package, but if its slightly above budget, get the florist to suggest what can be done to bring the price down and still retain as much as u desire

hihi Ashlady,

Looks like u're going to have a few couples in the MPC tt u wld know.. So gd! I din have company! *boohoo*

hey count

will you be going to the florists personally? If so, mind if I join you?

I am thinking of checking out Woodsville and Greenpoint as well. If their packages are ok, I will just get them to settle my hand bouquet for my additional PS and the church deco as well.

Hey Ivy, yes definitely! Would love to have u come with me! Cos we haven't met up yet remember? Perhaps us two could go together w/o hubbies? Unless ur hubby is into flowers?

Let's see - weeknight of APril any day except Fri?

Ashlady ah, who else do u know in the MPC? I know another couple getting married in PLMC on the same day as us is going too

Mehmeh, how many couples will usually turn up? Secret Garden is very pretty! Ggjj had her deco from them right? Wonder how Angelala's one from Greenpoint was, cos didn't get to see the pew design. Looks like she doesn't come in here any longer... Hee