Christian Brides

count

Timmin, do share ur floral deco with me too k? Hee. Cos i'm still at the scouting for florists stage and would appreciate any input etc

Btw do u girls know which flowers are best for church weddings and look nice in photos? Roses are the most common and classic right? Are there any other flowers?

Mehmeh, i love carbo too! Whipped potato, pasta, bread and all kinds of biscuits, pastries and cakes are my weakness! Esp if they come with chocolate on top!
I hope $1K is enough. Cos woodsville's $330 must still top up cos i want 2 more topiaries, upgrade 2 floral stands to topiaries, add organza fabric to link up the pews. Just the organza is $320 already! So i think the final figure may be close to $1K leh... Argh! And this is for roses which are cheaper somemore, and the posies are quite small and basic type. Prob just a cluster of 2/3 blooms i think... Btw, how many floral stands did u have? And do u know how many rows of pews does PLMC have? Heh figured i'd ask u since u have an eye for details...

Ashlady, who's doing ur floral deco?

Ribbons, hang in there. Sure ur workload will lighten soon cos signing up is a one-off thing. Think of it this way - once a person signs up, u are done with him and "case closed". So less pple u need to help *smiles*

hihi count,

heheh, maybe ribbons wld give gd advice to all the sisters here
But prob u might want to consider u preferred colour scheme before a species can be recommended? I personally like eustomas, roses & cymbidium orchids (i think the last is the most pricey)..

Oh u know what? I think coz ur metabollic rate is so high, tt's why u have cravings for carbo! I read it off some medical article or sorts.. On the contrary i dun fancy chocolates (all my frens who found out when they asked, were certainly amazed! a woman who doesn't have a sweet tooth! kekeke)

Hmm, $320 for the organza is veryvery exp! Organza's really one of the cheapest stuff in Arab Street!! Where do u intend to place ur 4 topiaries? 2 on the altar & 2 where u & ur FH wld stand during the service itself?

What are ur posies for huh? *scratch head* I only had 2 floral stands + 1 centre piece on altar table.. I believe there are a total of 22 pews? Cld def be wrong! hahah, it's been a while! U count this Sun? I will be at MCC

hi timminbuzz,

Oops! Missed ur msg! *sorry* Pray tt u enjoy your dealings & products with ren*ad*co!!

timminbuzz

count...i just receive my artwork! what's ur e-mail addy. maybe i can share with you there? =)
i don't really know what flowers look good too...so i let her decide. I'm using partial fresh and partial silk flowers. Cos i tink silk flowers do look best...the best bloom and best colour. haha....

count

Hey Mehmeh, u don't like chocolate?! Good cos choc can be so very sinful! Hahaha. I think i'm a pig cos i like desserts and carbo... So must burn off the excess calories by running! So what do u like to eat then since choc is not appealing to u? Hehehe

Yah, i also think $320 for the organza is very very ex leh. Don't know if i can get my own organza and let them tie! U think 2 topiaries are enough? Tot most pple have 4 tt's why i said 4 topiaries. But didn't occur to me where to put them... Posies are the little clusters of flowers along every other pew to hold the organza together... Will count the pews this wkend!

Ashlady, how many floral stands/topiaries are u getting? Cos it seems tt Angelala had more than 2 floral stands fr her photos?

Wah... cymbidium orchids are very very ex! They're lovely cos i wanted to get them in my hand bouquet but just too ex!

Timmin, pls share ur pics with me at [email protected] TIA! Actually a fellow BTB also recommended ren*ad*co but i didn't manage to check them out cos they're located in quite a far off place i think... If it's convenient, can let me know via email how much they're charging and how u find them? Thanks lots dear!

Ivy, u think $320 is too ex for the organza? Cos it practically doubles teh cost of the package ($330). U think can negotiate with them?

timminbuzz

count...
the lady from ren*ad*co is very nice! she actually meets me in central places so it's more convenient for me. so meeting has been a breeze so far. =)

small_one

count...

yah.. it's expensive... considering that it's just fabric... Think we can try to push it down to cap at $200-$250... hopefully that boy can help us out a little...

when are you ready to visit Green Point? Then can start making appointment liao...

I am still trying to contact my banquet mgr... always cant catch him in the office one...

mehmeh

you webby is sooooo well done up... *envy envy* kekeke... how did you add the links to your webby?

ashlady

hi count,
Heh..not sure how many floral stands..but i think 4 wld be nice. 2 against the wall, 1 besides the pulpit and another one maybe by the side (either right or left). Usually i see 4 during the service & the flowers are so lush! i realised that the florist packages are so minimized and need top-ups one
I havent decide on the florist yet.

hi count,

heheh, i like savoury stuff.. Which is just as unhealthy! kekeke.. Tidbits sometimes when i have cravings.. Chix wings! Roti prata! wahahaha

Normal church service u wld see 2 against the wall & 1 next to the pulpit, but tt's becoz Pastor speaks fr tt location, so it looks better

But for the wedding, wld be u & ur FH in the altar, at the centre stage, so to speak. 4 can still be done, 2 on the pedestal itself & 2 by the side of u & FH, as u 2 stand durign the service. So then during the Sunday's service, 1 can still be placed next to the pulpit & the other? heheh, up to the church ppl!

Oooh, then to have the posies, u might want to alternate the pews with them, instead of 1 per pew
A way to cut costs..

Dun remind me abt having cymbidium orchids for the bouquet.. I wanted them for the PS bouquet, but YC being not really a floriset proper, they cld only offer me the normal ones *pouts*

hi Ivy,

heheh, *blush* thanks the compliments.. But my wedding's over, so not much stuff to update there! hahah

Hmm, what links are u referring to? U mean other websites?

hi timminbuzz,

Ur florist sounds so much like how kind my church invites printer was.. heheh, always accommodating to my location

small_one

hey mehmeh

yar... was wondering how you managed to cluster all the links together and display them on your main page under the 'Links' heading? teach me please?

Cos I want to link my other multiply site and 2 blogs to the each other... very problematic hor? but

hi ivy,

Hmm, i think u need to go & edit ur Settings (see LH column) >> Home Pg Content
I think in tt section u can work sthg out to show the links.. *i think* U try k? No guarantees yah.. But u must upload some links first

sandsand

Count: those topiaries are ex leh... how about floral stands? Another way u can save cost is to specify the flowers to be used. Use the more common flowers like roses, gerberas instead of the more expensive flowers like wild flowers..

Agree with mehmeh, do alternate pews. That way, ur aisle would look overcrowded.. less is more.. =)

Mehmeh: U are not alone.. i dont eat chocolates too. i also dont eat pastries, or sweets of any sorts.. I dont have a savoury tooth too.. i'm just blessed to be pleasantly plump.. sigh... hee.. so count and mehmeh... dont ever feel bad about urself when u eat ur fav food k.. at least u are blessed with a good figure..

childlike

hi all, its me again, anyone has the list of the angbaos we need to give to our helpers? ie pastor give $80, driver give $50, emcee give $50...that kinda stuff? I lost the list i compiled!

hi ribbons,

thanks for the compliments on the figure *cross fingers & toes* ttt i can maintian!!

hi davy barks,

Guessed as much! Do get ZB to pop by here shd she need help.. But obviously, u're the 'free-er' of the 2 hor??

count

Timmin, thanks for ur email. Rest assured i won't circulate the designs ard cos i understand what u mean
Very interesting designs tt she came up for u, and the price is very reasonable. Shall give them a call when i can coordinate with the other BTB sharing my deco...

Mehmeh and Ribbons, yep i was planning to alternate the posies like 1 to every 3 pews. But the cost of the organza to be tied is so exp! Looks like have to ask ard with other florists and go visit with Ivy dearie hee

Talking abt food and maintaining wt, i went to Kim's yesterday for first fitting. The CS was too tight ard the tummy and chest area! But i didn't gain any wt at the chest, prob the tummy instead! Argh! And the CS is so fitting so must remain trim so my fats don't show... Mehmeh ah, u never show me ur dress! U were supposed to collect the black and gold dress fr Kim right? Have u worn it yet? Show pics!

Btw, i tot cybidium orchids are very ex?

Hey girls,
Went to visit Angeli on Friday. Their food is pretty nice but their pricing is kinda steep leh. At least $12/pax for high tea, which my family thinks is too much! Their deco and food is gd but do u think it's too ex? But then again, i've some problems cos i need to coordinate with the other BTB so we agreed tt it would be easier to use the same caterer to facilitate the "transition" for both receptions... Argh! Was looking at Lavish and Fost*e and they have $10/pax menu. ANd of course, Elsie's is much cheaper and halal somemore. Cos i have some muslim frens - don't know if they want halal food or are ok with "no pork no lard"

hihi count,

ah, gd to alternate.. Anyway rem YY? she said, heheh, at the end of the day, the deco wasn't the most impt!! kekeke..

Wow, ur fitting's done huh? Show pix?
I did get my gown oredi, but still no occasion to wear.. heheh, must find a gd time when i'm dolled up properly & wearing the gown, then take pix lah.. Dun want to see aunty face & then do dis-service to the gown yah?

Yesyes, they are very exp.. So had to forgo tt first choice *pouts*

Do let us know how things get on with the search for the right caterer..

hi timminbuzz,

me want to peek too!! pls email me at [email protected] k? *thanks*

count

Mehmeh,
Sad to say, no pics to show cos FH only took some candid shots which are too dark. Yesyes, u must show us pics when u doll up and put on the gown, tho i'm sure u look equally gd w/o makeup!

Now deciding btw Angeli, Fost*e and Lavish... Planning to meet up with the other 2 caterers soon, to see what they offer

Ericia,
U busy running ard with last min preps is it? Do remember to rest more!

Hey girls,
Do u have ideas on where to find theme verses? Thinking of finding a verse abt God's grace and bountiful provision, but not sure how to go abt it...

chinchilla

hey ladies, sorry for the interruptions. i was doing a search on christian brides and i came across this subject line. just want to check if there is any threads in sb that allows christians brides to discuss problems and prayers? i dun thk its this thread cos you gals are talking abt joyous things and i dun want to barge in like that.
by the way anyone from church of our saviour?

hi count,

Nah, no worries abt not having the pix.. Likewise, i also dun have any to show u. *ooops* Yikes, nono, me must have some MU on.. Dark eye rings are too *tsktsk*

hi chinchin,

We do share quite a lot of ups & downs, whether it's wedding preps or other matters, in this thread.. The sisters here are all very supportive, which is why u're gathering tt we are very joyful

Do share what you feel comfy enough to share here..

teng2

Hi Chin Chin,

Agree with mehmeh... frankly, many of the sisters really do share both their ups and downs here... if you do have the time the time to visit the archives... you will see how fellow sisters here have shared problems relating to parental pressure (non-believers), to superstitions to relationship problems (with in-laws etc) as well as all the other dilemmas that they faced throughout their wedding preparations.

There are also testimonies of how all of us brought these concerns to the Lord through prayers and on how the Lord helped us through each and every trial in his very own ways.

And of course, there are also wonderful sisters in christ who still remained in this thread like mehmeh and some others who are there to help and give advice to new christian brides-to-be....

Last but not least.... haha... there are sisters in christ who reads and reads (whether married or not)... who are silently being involved in the thread and enjoying in all the joyfulness being shared.... and at the same time, getting comforted that there are actually fellow sisters/brides-to-be in similar situations...

If you do have any questions or problems, do share here yah.... and we certainly hope we can continue to support one another through this wonderful thread here.....

padi

I'm a Christian BTB. So glad to see that this is such a supportive group. I've also been looking around for a thread where believers come together to share their testimonies and difficulties.

Hi Count was just wondering how much you paid for your CS and where to find Kim? Cos I hear a lot about her and want to consider having her do my mum and MIL's CS.
How do you like Kim's service?

small_one

Hey girls

pls pray for me... I really need it a lot now...

My husband decided that my sister and her husband were not to attend the food-tasting that is coming up in May. Instead, my cousin and her husband will replace them. My husband felt that my cousin and her husband can contribute better ideas towards the wedding and the food. To him, it's about making my family look good.

But now, this decision is not sitting well with my family at all. We feel that although my cousin and her husband are related, but they still are not members of the immediate family. To us, the food-tasting is for both families to sit together and get to know each other better. Hence, my father and my husband are now both fuming at each other. In fact, my husband thinks that my family is creating problems for him.

Although my father finally is willing to let my uncle take the place of my cousin, my husband still refuses to let my sister come. I personally feel that he has an issue with her because of certain decisions that she made but her decisions clashed with his values.

Besides, my husband has always been the decision-maker in his family, thus it is not easy for him to see how skewed his viewpoint is.

Now he has made another weird decision. He feels that since I insist that my sister and her husband turn up with my parents, then he will ask his family not to come. He will represent his entire family.

I am really at my wits' end. I feel that he is only concerned about 'face' and have no regards to what others feel. It doesn't matter to him even if he antagonised my parents, which means I will always be stuck in-between my family and him.

I have a friend who asked me if I am willing to sumbit to my husband, even if I do not agree with his decisions (afterall, that is what submission is about, right?). I am still working on my attitude of submission in this case. It is going to be one difficult time for me.

Pls keep me in your prayers.

Thank you all~!

padi

Hi Ivy do take care and I pray that our Lord will give you comfort during times like this.

Do have a good talk with your husband though, cos it seems like he may be taking this issue too personally. Afterall, every individual and family have their own perspectives and culture.

Take care..

count

Now can hardly pop by cos work situation has changed somewhat due to a new boss...

Chin Chin
Do feel free to share in this thread. While i have not been the most active in this thread so far, i have been blessed by the sharing of the various sisters here. They have been most generous in offering advice on how to reconcile our Christian beliefs with our parents/PILs' demands, wedding-related conflicts, or even mundane little things and i am very thankful for the treasure trove of info which they readily share.

Hui
Kim is charging me abt $150 for workmanship of my CS, excluding the cost of my fabric. However, i've only gone for my 1st fitting so no pics to share. I'm happy with the CS so far and am getting my mum and sister to make dresses with her as well. She has been friendly so far, and is very ready to offer opinions and give input on what looks best on u

Ivy dearie
I'm sorry to hear abt what happened in ur family. Will uphold u in prayer, that God will give u, ur hubby and family members a spirit of reconciliation to want to cooperate and handle the wedding affairs together, and make the event a truly joyful one for all involved.

IMHO, i think the main obstacle u have here is to ensure tt both families feel like they have a part to play in the wedding. By excluding his family fr the food tasting, ur hubby runs the risk of making everyone unhappy. Ur family will see it as an insult tt no one fr the other side turns up, while his family will feel excluded and ignored in the planning process. May i suggest tt u sit down with ur hubby to talk abt matters. I think the both of u have to address ur hubby's feelings re ur sister. He may have felt insulted in the past by her decisions, which is why he is acting this way now, and adopt a very antagonistic view of ur family. I truly hope and pray tt u both can work at this problem and resolve it. Cos being stuck in the middle btw both families can be very very agonising now and in the long run. Esp since hurt feelings may fester after the wedding and affect ur r/s with both families...

Do take care and keep us posted on how it goes k? *hugs*

small_one

Hey sisters

This issue hung around for too long. It started on Sunday till now. Every opportunity I have, I would talk to him about this. Just offering him a different view-point. But he refuses to listen and even want to avoid talking about it.

To him, if my family not happy, too bad lor. We all just have to follow his decision and his decision is final.

*sobs* It really hurts me a great deal for him to disregard and disrespect my family this way. And all this time, he wants me to play the 'perfect' DIL.

I ended up making the decision (after scolding him) for him just now.

I decided that the best way around all these issues would be that only 6 pax will turn up for the food-tasting. His parents, mine and the both of us.

<count,>

<hui,>

small_one

Count,

What was missing above is that I appreciate your hug. It meant a lot to me.

Hui,

I was trying to tell you that I saw the difference in our families' values and beliefs, and even the way to the way my husband and I were brought up.

I tried to bridge up the differences by finding a point of balance. To me, a marriage is never just about the couple, but the 2 families. If he can't even respect my family, I find it hard to swallow that I need to respect his.

But still I went all out to make sure that no enemity arose between myself and his parents. When they ask me questions, I respect them by answering them properly. I want them to know that I am not ill-bred and I want to bear a good testimony. (*starting to cry liao)

But because of the way he was brought up (the parents left him to make all his own decisions without really teaching him if he made correct decisions, and now he believes that all must go along with his decisions), I can foresee a tough time ahead, cos I need to 're-teach' him correct values and 'mother' him all through out marriage life together.

hi ivy,

*hugs*
361047.gif
Do hope that after airing it all out here, you do feel somewhat better.

I think you really shd commit this to God in prayer! It's def going to be tough for u &amp; ur HB in this entire process of weddings preps &amp; the future family to come, coz lotsa decision-making has to be done. While on the one hand wives are to submit to her husband, it's also difficult when it does breach her principles &amp; values too

For one, i think you shd highlight to your parents &amp; sis the predicament you're in. Tell them tt u do feel sandwiched, but wld also love their presence (particularly ur sis) &amp; u still are trying to work sthg out.

While ur HB is right tt your cousin &amp; her husband may have the ability to contribute, sometimes 'experienced' ppl may have their biased opinions &amp; not see some issues in a different &amp; refreshing light, ie follow what has been done! Whereas, those who may not have gone thru wedding preps may be able to point out issues which those who are involved, may have overlooked

Do communicate to your HB tt u feel tt marriage isn't just abt u 2, but abt 2 families coming together. He must respect the person who gives u to him too! I wld liken this as the Holy Spirit guiding us &amp; presenting us, pure &amp; Holy to God &amp; Jesus

Hmm, if discussing the issue face-to-face is tough, try doing it over the email.. Gives u &amp; ur HB some space to think thru the issues, instead of you facing immediate rejection both verbally &amp; body-language &amp; him being harsh &amp; unthoughtful

Will keep you in prayer.. You still have sometime to the food tasting, so God can work sthg out for the good for you!!

padi

Hi Ivy:

Yea I totally agree with you and I think you are absolutely right in that marriage is more than about 2 persons. And I believe you are trying your best already.
Though I suppose it's hard for your husband to see the light for now.

I thought your solution is pretty neat - just 6 pax.

Do take care though and share with us often on how things are. It'll take alot of hard work on your part, but God sees your effort and I do think that you will make a good wife.

small_one

hi meh meh

thanks for the hugs too.

I have been praying since Sunday. But the issue came to a closure today. (Finally! We were arguing using Skype)

It was agreed by the both of us that it shall be food-tasting for 6pax only. I do not want him to antagonise my father further, and I do not want my father to dislike him further too.

Both of us are now more 'normal'. To me, this episode is done and over with. But just as Jesus said that we will go through trials and tribulations. I just need the strength to go on through whatever is coming my way.

Through this marriage, God have been fine-tuning my temper. And I think I did better this time. At least I waited until 3 days later then I blew my top. All this time I have been talking very nicely to him, despite all that I am feeling.

For now, it's a hit and run because I refuse to let the issue fester. Otherwise, relations between my father and hubby would become very bad, and I might not be able to visit my parents due to their strained relations.

I had hoped that I can glorify God through this. In fact, I am not so sure if I did.

But I still wanna thank you gals for your prayers~!

hi Ivy,

Though you 2 have decided on the arrangements for the food tasting, do continue to pray for the r/s of ur Hb with ur parents &amp; u also being patient with him tt he slowly becomes more sensitive to yours &amp; ur family's needs

Praise God tt you didn't let anger get the better of u! Pray against tt ultimatum situation u describe! God is def not willing for tt to happen! U have glorified God in honouring your parents &amp; submitting to your HB too!! Press on dear sister!
361106.gif

count

Ivy
Glad to hear that things have gotten better. Yes, Mehmeh has a pt in suggesting tt u all communicate thru email. Sometimes it works better cos u both get to think abt stuff slowly, then respond rather than simply blurting out stuff in a haste and which may hurt the other person

Thank God tt u managed to control ur temper and still speak nicely to ur hubby's parents. Tt is very commendable and a gd testimony of Christ's love for us. Cos for me, i tend to lose my temper easily and get irritated easily. So still struggling with trying to manage my tempers, esp since my ILs are non-Christians and i'll be living with them after marriage...

Perhaps if the opportunity arises, u could try talk to both ur family and hubby separately, to see if there is any way to reconcile any hurts/miscomm tt may have arisen. Continue to pray for better relations btw all parties, and for a chance to build even better ties in the months leading to ur AD dear!

Ashlady
Marriage prep starts next wk! So fast... Can foresee myself being very busy over the next few wks attending PMC and helping FH shift house! Argh... Saw a couple of very pretty CS when i went to Kim's place last week. When will urs be ready? Must remember to bring shoes for the first fitting cos i forgot!

small_one

Count

am interested in joining the july TCS PMC leh... spoke to my colleage who's in-charge of it. But must still clear with ah lao first... hahaha

Mehmeh

thanks for the words of wisdom... indeed, we must continue to pray for those areas that clash all throughout our marriage. but God is indeed good.

ashlady

hi count!
heh...yup! i hope the PMC is interesting..if not will fall asleep..keke :p Mine will be ready only a wk before my PS!
Hopefully there wont be much alteration/changes needed.*crossing fingers!*
oh, my CS is knee length...shld be ok without shoes right?

Any comments about Continental Delights Catering Service (CDCS) or Four Seasons?

padi

Hello everyone!

Can I find out how much do you girls spend for your church wedding deco?

1) Flowers (1 main and 2 small sets at the sides)
2) Pews deco (for abt 30 pews)
3) Reception table deco
4) Any other that I miss out?

corsage

Hi everyone, my question is similar to Hui. Could you share with me how much you spent on flowers for church please? And if you have the full florist package can email me at [email protected]?
Thanks much!

I'm only just starting wedding planning..need to know how much to budget! Thanks so much. I actually want lush floral arrangements - but I think it will cost a bomb

hi Ivy,

Glad to hear you're feeling much better oredi..

hi Ashlady,

I wld prefer Four Seasons to CDCS.. Four Seasons is newer &amp; they have more trendy set-ups &amp; the food i've tried once, is quite gd too

count

Ashlady
Oh, short CS no need shoes i think. Cos mine is a long CS. Sure hope PMC is interesting. Esp since it's on Thu nights. Afraid i may just fall asleep after a long day at work. U're deciding btw CDCS and 4 seasons is it? What is ur budget and what type of menus are u looking at?

Don't know if this is relevant for ur research. Tried Four Seasons during a fren's housewarming, not too bad. But i felt tt their prices are quite high considering tt they served the usual fare. As for CDCS, my office catered only for a breakfast so hard to gauge. But my colleagues complained tt the food was cold and soggy, and tt the desserts were just passable. They preferred CJS' spread... But i think overall package is also quite impt, must see what dishes they offer u and their svc

Ivy
Glad to hear tt u're feeling better now. Shd sign up early cos i think places are limited? Which couple will be conducting the TOUCH PMC in July?

Hui and Sharon
I'm still at the initial stages of looking for a florist so not of much help *shrugs shoulders* Woodsville has a very very basic package of $330 for church with 2 floral stands, 1 centrepiece, 18 posies for the pews and deco for solemnisation table and chairs. Think this only applies to flowers such as roses which are cheaper...

Maybe the other girls can give their input as well?

Hey girls
Any advice on how to go abt doing up the order of service, theme verse and songs and also worship? Where shd we start? Thinking along the lines of God's bountiful provision and grace but can't think of any unifying theme for the whole service

small_one

hi count

when will you be free to visit Greenpoint?

i have found out that my banquet venue ties in with JM Florist... have you heard of this florist before?

hi ashlady,

u saw both set-ups at the BOWs show huh? Must rem, usually at these sorts of shows, vendors wld put in their best! U're still early with this area, so as u attend others weddings or have buffets, rem the food &amp; the caterers. Better to have 1st-hand experience to get the best gauge of reliability

hi Hui &amp; Sharon,

I spent $120 for 1 altar center-piece &amp; 2 pedestal stands &amp; my florist threw in a recep table deco. My pew deco was DIY-ed using paper flowers.. If i'm not mistaken, i spent no more than $200 for tt. Pews weren't tt lush but it's okie to me

Here are some pix of mine..
361534.jpg
361535.jpg

small_one

hey mehmeh

i am still very interested in knowing how you have a 'links' section in your site. can share how you managed to create the 'links' section?

ashlady

hi count,
eh..i'm deciding between a few caterers! CDCS, 4 Seasons, Rasel, Stamford, Smiling Orchid... haha...want to find the best offer mah. Hmm...for 4 seasons they offer Melamine ware, which i prefer, for 2k &amp; above package! Shall check out CJS too
Frankly, i havent really given much thought to it...haiz. Feel very troublesome

ashlady

hi mehmeh,
heh..good idea..i shall open my eyes bigger next time! hmm, think i got at least 2 weddings upcoming in june &amp; july.