Christian Brides

Mehmeh dear,
Thanks for ur prayers! Trust tt we will be able to get PLMC too! Christine called cos she was worried that ur car battery would go flat, as the lights were on. We had CG till 10 or so that night... =)

Rokko, Tambourina, SL and Skye Skye
Last few weeks to go! Exciting! Hope preps are going well ;)

Hi Wong YY

From what we know, Lavish doesn't have any workshop. However, I've read someone's posting here that food tasting can be arranged. Gotta pay an additional sum of money though - why don't you email them to enquire?

For our wedding, we needed the food to be ready by 3pm. Based on our no. of guests (300 pax), they told us they would start setting up around 12 noon. I'm not too sure whether they started on time but when my hb reached the church around 1pm, they were in process of setting up.

Hi Ericia

Their website is www.lavish.com.sg

Hi mehmeh

Wow! Your wedding sounds really unique.
You're very creative indeed - your hubby too! Anyway, good to hear that you had a memorable wedding!

mehmeh...if dun waltz way thru how u think haing waltz for the first dish entry?? I dun think dancing is an open option cos he (my FH) is very troublesome....better not to create prob to make myself angry

Hi Cookie's!

Thanks for the lovely compliments! Gotta make this once in a lifetime occasion really as memorable as possible in both preps & the actual execution. Think my hubby got a little influenced with all the immense involvement in DIY etc..

Harlow YY,

Hey wedding is a joyous occasion k? Dun get too fed up, i was a little annoyed but let it pass easily. Focus on the things u are gd at & make it even more beautiful..

U cld compose a poem for ur FH, recounting fr frens, courtship to wedding preps & even life together.

U dun have have to waltz at the initial part of the dinner. I only did my waltz after the 2nd march-in, waltzing in the WG was not a viable option at all. I even bustled my EG so tt i cld waltz, if not all the practise wld have gone to waste. The + point to having the waltz after the 2nd march-in, is tt by then, the level of excitement amongst guests might have fallen, so this item can help to perk things up again..

Congrats to Mehmeh! Sure looking forward to my wedding at PLMC too! must share with us the photos k? btw, how much did you spend in the flora arrangment for the church? thinking of doing it myself with some frens.
Have been busy preparing my house and the wedding.

Hi count,
How come have to book in november? can you do it now? is it because of the membership class?

Angelala, it seems that PLMC only takes bookings one year in advance and no earlier. Btw, do u or Mehmeh have any idea what time the church service will start? Is PLMC flexible or is there a standard time?

Hi Angelala,
Thanks for the well-wishes!
kao_kiss.gif
Will def share pix when they are ready!
I spent $120 for the altar table arrangement & 2 standing arrangements. The pew deco I DIY with materials I bought fr Bangkok. It's actually quite nice to DIY, coz it's not tt difficult actually.. And it wld bring u wonderful memories of the wedding preps, moreover u wld be so thrilled & satisfied to see the finished products

Hi Count,
Seems like tt there are 2 slots. One ard 10-11 & then the usual at 2pm. The most popular is tt being at 2pm, for the fact tt some guests may work half-day on Sat, so 2pm is more agreeable for them

for PLMC, the dates can only be booked 1 calendar year in advance, to the month. there are 2 slots, the morning slot usually used only when there are 2 couples intending to get married on the same date. 2pm slot is usually having the ceremony at 2.30pm.

as for the flowers deco, it would be good to get a florist or the church florist because the sanctuary is big so the space judgement is a bit difficult. the pew deco can be DIYed. quite fun as mehmeh said.

Thanks for the advice Mehmeh and c1980! Hope everyone has a good Thu and Fri cos the weekend is coming! Hee... Hope to rest a bit more then cos this week has been fairly tiring =)

hi mehmeh,

wanna ask. did you make your own slide show for your banquet? How many photo required to make one slide show for the guest??

Hi c9180,

Oh u're fr PLMC too?
Did u engage an external forist, or the usual church florist?

Hi Count & Angelala,

If u do intend to get an external florist, u can always ask if they have done for PLMC, otherwise make an appt for both of u to recee the Sanctuary, so tt he/she wld have a gd idea of the size needed for the centre piece on the altar table

Hi YY,

Nope, i didn't do up my own slideshow. Mine photo montage was done up by Big Day Studio, as it was offered in the package. I believe they mentioned about 40 pix?? There about I figure..

wow...40....gosh where to find???

thanks mehmeh...I thot of getting someone to do for me...any recommendation?

Hi YY,

Oh, the 40 pix actually came fr my PS pix. I didn't do the usual growing up till present montage. No idea why I wanted to do only the PS montage, but searching for 40 pix for the growing up years is really not easy. But maybe it wun be so difficult if u & FH splits like 20/20?

Oh no recommendations for the doing of this montage, so far my sis's & frens's montage were all done by themselves. Guess in tt sense, more QC? Coz it would be done accordance to ur ideas..

any advise how to do it cos i really dun know how leh...

on second thought again, my AD is 6 month away...so exciting now...

Hi YY,

I think most couples wld use PowerPoint or Flash to do up the montage. If u've got the soft-copy of the pix, then it's real easy to just insert pix into the PPT slides & customise with the various options for animation.
U can start working on scanning of pix, if u intend to trace the childhood to present day pix. Afterwhich just like you've got the soft-copy pix, insert them into the slides..

I suppose if u're not a fan or frequent user of MS PPT, then u might just want to scan the pix, burn into a CD & ask a fren for a favour? Teachers are quite likely to use MS PPT like a piece of cake..
Have u done ur PS? U might want to incorporate some PS pix into the photo montage..

How's the experience with GI coming along? Gd I sure hope!!

GI so far is good..

the ppl there and I "gum" leh....they are understanding and patient with me and my FH. Tis Sunday dnd for the 1st fitting, my parents, FMIL, my sisters will be coming along...so my family members will create a crowd in GI shop at Tan Quee Lan.

Not yet for PS. Scheduled to be on 10Oct...still thinking where to go for PS leh....

hi girls

please pray for me...

wedding approaching and yet there are still many screw ups for the dinner banquet.

i will NEVER recommend my hotel to anyone again. the service is bad and the follow up is terrible. attitude is very very very horrendous as well., many things promised could not be followed through and last minute changes even up to today!!! some things were not communicated properly and I ABSOLUTELY HATE IT WHEN THEY KEEP SAYING ITS NOT IN THE CONTRACT!!!!! but when things are not in their favour they will conveniently tuck the contract away and insist it's company's policy. How double-standard can one get??!?!?!?!?!

and they even had the cheek to say they are giving me free flow of beer!!!! HELLO... the free flow of beer is part of the package i bought lor. EVERY couple gets it lor. it's not as if it was a special arrangement for me!!!

ARGH.

please pray for me and for favour as well. i have been having persistent migraine. i feel like calling off my spa and manicure tmrw coz i really feel so stress. things are just not going well. =(

i just hope that Sunday will come and go soon.

honestly, i will lodge an official complaint against my coordinator after the wedding. i am really very unhappy with his service and the way he handled and communicated things. but when i think about it... by then the wedding is over and it's really not impt anymore.

i really need prayers that things will go on well on that day... simple one minute prayers i'm sure God will hear too... thank you!

Dear SL,

Take heart tt we will pray for u and tt all will go well on ur AD. Stay calm, and commit these all to Him. In any case, I would suggest tt u lodge a complaint (if any) or provide feedback only after ur AD. Ensures tt u don't piss them off such tt they may do things terribly to spite u on ur AD. At least this will motivate them to improve on subsequent occasions. Remember - smile - what matters is tt u'll be marrying the one u love, and get to share ur lives together henceforth... ;)

Rokko, Tambourina and SL dearies
Sleep tight and have a good rest tonight. Trust that u will be radiant and beautiful brides this weekend! Congrats and hugs in advance! ;)

Wah.. busy busy..
But no matter what, must still drop by to wish SL, Tambourina, Rokko all the best in your BIG day!! All's given by the Lord and enjoy whatever that comes along yah :D

Have a blissful marriage too ..

SL,
Shall pray for you... but remember.. no matter what happens.. you have got to enjoy yourself cos it has been for so long :D

Share your thoughts with us when the day's over yah... have a good rest and be at your best/prettiest tomorrow morning!!!

God bless...

hi girls!

hjahaha... i'm in my room waiting for the groom to come and meanwhile... just entertain myself by dropping a line here! hahaha. i can hear my jiemei's outside planning their devious plans. hahaha. so funny. and best part? my front door has no gate!!! i wonder what games the girls have in mind for him??? i hear alot of laughters and wish i was there to join in the fun! =)

btw... thanks for all the well wishes!

i am now leaving everything to GOd. hope i dont forget the lyrics to my special item and of course i dont forget my personalised wedding vow! =)

catch you girls again after my honeymoon!

love!

hi meh meh, glad that u had it going well on ur AD. thanks for all the advice u had provided to me.
SL, wedding coming soon. will pray for u on ur concerns.
girls, i am in e process of planning out what to settle for e church wedding. Will be meeting pastor to ask him questions. what are the things i need to note? i just know i need to check how much i need to pay for church wedding , what items are included in e package for the booking, ....
what other things?
how early in advance of the AD does one need to book the caterer, fkorist etc?
how do u choose ur caterer? which one provides good food, reasonable table decor and...hmm what else to look out for?

Hi Ericia,
Afraid that i cannot help u on the bit abt qns to ask the pastor, as my AD is some time away. But where caterers are concerned, my personal opinion is that the following are good:
1) CJS (delicious food, but presentation may not be as nice)
2) Fost*e (good desserts like mango crepe but expensive) replace * with r

For more details abt the caterers, refer to my previous entries. Hee. Not too sure abt Angeli. Must wait for Rokko's feedback cos she's using them. But heard quite a few good reviews in terms of food and presentation so i may go with Angeli if Rokko gives her thumbs up. Going for the Rasel workshop today. Tell u more soon ;)

Would suggest u go visit the various caterers' website, to have a better idea. I'm planning to take my time and scout ard cos I want a good spread of food with nice layout as the HM is more significant to us

SL, keep us posted after ur AD! Have a safe and blessed honeymoon ;)

hi thanks count. hmmm seems like from what i see, i will consider kriston or CJS or lavish. they seem to have good reviews here.
still headache abt programme on actual day...whether tea ceremony first or church wedding first etc. i have booked church at 11m saturday.

anyone care to share with me, email me their wedding planner...ie what mth do what settle what.

hi mehmeh,
sorry for late reply... so busy lately.
yes, i'm frm plmc too. we engaged the church florist to do the deco. i did it all rather DIY style

hi cookie's gal

i got your mail.. thank you so much.. i had a great time going through it with my FH.. and we also managed to draw the parallels for the chinese customary... great info for my unsaved relatives... thank you and be blessed

Hi SL,

Hope & prayed that went well on ur happiest day. Dun let such matters bother u, enjoy ur married life to the fullest with the man God has blessed you with!

Hi c1980,

Oh tt's so cool... Which service did u attend? I didn't know tt there was a church florist.. But can always highlight to the 3 couples fr my congregation who wld get married in the next 2 years.

Hi mehmeh,

I'm planning songs for my church wedding. I'm wondering, besides processional and recessional, what other items am i supposed to get a song for?
Lighting of unity candle?

Do you have any suggestion? O I forgot, your husband sang you the processional song.

Hi Ashley,

Prob u need one for a 2nd march-in, if u're having tt. We had one, coz after tt we proceeded with a Thanksgiving speech & photo-taking.
If u're going to light the unity candle, it wld be better to have a song too.

If u're also going to do photo-taking in the sanctuary itself, have some light music to be played as background music, if not tt might be an awful silence

yupz, my husband sang the processional song
Did I also mention he composed both lyrics & tune? heehee

hi mehmeh,

something exciting to share wif u. When attending my cousin wedding yesterday I proposed to my FH to do some waltz for the 2nd march in. He did not turn a deaf ear to my suggestion instead he looked quite interested.....

Guess what, we have the same taste of music to be played during the wedding which is Opera....like songs from Andre B & Russel Watson....I am very excited now to discuss the details with him....

Mehmeh, I am really happy.....

Hi SL,
Hope that all went well. I was praying for you too!

Hi count,
I'm looking for caterers for tea recep of about 100 pax in church. I went for the Rasel tasting and found their food so-so only. I am more particular about the food than the deco/ambience. I ate Angeli's lunch buffet before, it's good! But I heard that their tea recep is relatively ex.

Hi mehmeh,
I went for my PS yesterday, but did not managed to do outdoor cos it was overcast and it poured.

Aiyoh so tired!!I cannot posed properly cos I got no patient to stand properly and my face cannot hold the angle and smile long enough for my photographer to snap. Furthermore I got dry and sensitive eyes so with the fake eyelashes and lights, my eyes cannot stop blinking!!! I felt that everytime I turn my eyes to look somewhere, my contact lens like never follow...

Thank God my photographer was very very patient with me and we could do lots of re-take as it was digital. Hee hee, he just shake head and call me blink queen! And it was quite a blessing in disguise to have the rain as I can re-schedule the outdoor cos I was so exhausted. I went home and developed a migraine.

Now, my only worry is when to do the outdoor as the weather forecast for the next 3 days (and prob the few days after too) is THUNDERSTORM!!! I am planning to go to fullerton and the arts house/ACM area, then to changi boardwalk.

Hi Meh Meh,

thanx for your advice. sorry for the late reply. so stress over wedding prep and work. I don think i can DIY cos my craftwork is bad..hahaha

Hi C1980, how much does the church florist cost? i wanted simple design as our church has a beautiful santuary, but was thinking of a flora arch at the door for the walk in effect..hehe.do u know whow much will that be?

Count, i didnt book the churcjh premises one year in advance. i think if u really want to book the date , can ask ur cell leader for help. i booked only in may for my wedding in feb next year.

I was thinking of getting a caterer now but don know whhich one. i thot elsie's kitchen look yummy. Angeli looks good too. but their wedding recept is a little ex.

Hi YY,

Wow! Tt's gd news.. God really answers your prayers rite?? Now u gotta work hard k? My hubby was still trying to disuade me even on the day of the banquet.. hahah, but we managed to pull thru

Harlow Carelinwen,

I think the aircon in studios usually have a very drying effect on top of the sensitive eyes. Anyway in the event the shots taken have sleepy eyes, there's some photo editing programme to create the wide-eyed effect

U're intending to head to Empress Place area? U managed to get prior approval already? If not taking on the outside is just as beautiful.. Just saw a frens pix by Chris Ling tt were taken outside both buildings, very pretty..

HiHi Angelala,

Dun get stressed. It's usually the BTBs rather than the guys who are more uptight, just work things out at ur own pace & everything will fall into place.

If u want tt arch, & dun mind the use of silk flowers, caterers ought to be able to provide. I remembered attending a workshop by Select & in the package, a flower arch is provided. But if u want fresh flowers than be prepared to splurge a little more..

Which Elsie's kitchen menu u looking at? I took the budget tea reception at $5.. Angeli's food is gd & they have been quite willing to work to a prospective client's budget

Hi carelinwen,
I agree with u on Rasel's food. We went for the workshop on Sunday and felt that the food was so-so only although the set-up was beautiful.

Would appreciate input from u girls on this issue - it is ok if we get a normal caterer w/o any fancy set-up right? Cos it seems that for church receptions, the food is simply displayed using the std metal trays and with disposable cutlery. Pple tend to focus more on the quality of the food right? Esp since PLMC's fellowship hall is quite dark and not as grand, it would seem out of place to do it up? Mehmeh, was the fellowship hall too dark during ur reception? Always felt that the lighting seemed a little dim and tt an elaborate flower deco with the food would seem out of place there, as opposed to in a nice venue like Chijmes or Parliament House...

Mehmeh,
Was there enough food for ur guests, cos u mentioned tt pple starting packing the food early? Does a $5 menu mean less dishes and did u ask them to reduce the no of dishes offered?

Wong YY,
Happy to hear fr u tt ur FH is very enthusiastic abt taking on a greater role in the wedding. Shows the wonders of God at work, in moving ur FH to do so =)

Hi Count,

While Rasel would have well done deco for their workshop, gotta keep in mind tt it's a workshop to attract potential clients to sign up. If u take a look at the menu, for a tea recep, the food's somewhat all like frozen & processed stuff rite? Tt's why I gave them a miss esp since it's $8 for snacks

My set-up by Elsie's was really simple. Becoz I catered for over 300 ppl, I negotiated for silk floral deco. Nothing too elaborate, just tall stalks of purple orchids on each serving line. Dun really remember, but def not garish looking ones.

The fellowship hall wasn't too dark. It is dark coz usually between 0800 - 1300, it isn't necessary to turn the lights on rite? But for a wedding, lights were turned on, so def not dim at all

There def was enough food to begin with, but somehow the silly caterers who did the set-up, placed the styrofoam boxes where the plates are. Gosh, ill-mannered guests merrily helped themselves!

I didn't ask for them to reduce no. of dishes for the $5 menu, it's offered at $5 for 9 dishes & 2 drinks. I got coffee/tea & fruit punch. Love the fruit punch, esp having not drunk any water during the ceremony.. heehee

Think about ur preference, whether it is on food or set-up. I gear twd thinking tt most guests wld be interested in the food rather than the set-up, though BTBs who are on the lookout for a caterer may pay more attention to the finer details such as the set-up.

Dear Mehmeh,

Thanks for the info. Just realised tt Angeli and CJS are expensive. Elsie's Kitchen only charges $5 for 9 dishes, when the others charge abt $10 for the same number of dishes! Now i know tt we can negotiate for silk flowers deco... We are definitely more concerned abt the food so giving serious thot to Elsie's Kitchen. Any idea when they will have a food tasting workshop and what dishes were good? Hee

Frankly, i felt that Rasel's food was so-so though better than Kriston. CJS wins hands down. Now to try Angeli and Elsie's Kitchen... ;)

Have u settled into married life well, Mehmeh? Very happy tt there are quite a few PLMC brides here...

Hihi Count,

U're most welcome. Wld love to be of help where I can.. Think I've got a strong Timonty spirit in me.. heehee

I dun rem having heard of Elsie's Kitchen having a workshop. Hmm, if u've still got sometime, maybe pay close attention if frens ard u engaged Elsie's for the wedding or normal tea recep. The $5 menu is not a wedding menu, it's just those normal tea recep menu meant for seminars..

Items well-rated
1) Satay
2) Fried mee siam
3) Mini Fruit Tart
4) Honey-baked chicken winglets
5) Ondeh-ondeh

My personal favourites which I tried at a frens wedding, tt confirmed my engagement of EK.
1) Satay
2) Honey baked chicken winglets
3) Chicken pie
4) Ondeh-ondeh
Dun go for steamed items, coz they tend to harden when not kept warm enough?

Settled quite well into married life, hahah, just not used to staying with ILs. Hmm, quite conscious of my own movements...

Hi mehmeh and count,

I was telling my fiance that I even thought of not telling caterers that we are catering for wedding. just normal tea recep for corporate set-up will do. but food must be good and substantial.

seriously, I've been too 2 church weddings and I have no impression of the deco at the buffet tables at all. think most guest will only focus on the food. In fact i think having no deco is better than having half-past six standard deco or obiang, gaudy fake flowers ones (see stamford catering to see what I mean, no offence to those using them)

mehmeh, I told fiance to go get approval, ACM have gave the OK already, have to ask arts house. it was thanks to you that I knew can go inside ACM for photos.

the wedding went so well!

thanks to your prayers and of course my ever so patient and no nonsense coordinator!

there were so many hiccups i heard! =)

the wedding dinner was so great that ppl called up to say how much they enjoyred themselves!

even my parents friends couldnt stop talking about it! =)

my husband had a band the throughout they kept coming up with surprises to entertain the guests. and by the 7th dish my husband jumped on stage to surprise me and our parents and it was like a mini concert! so fun! =) he asked everyone to lift their hands in the air while he sang Hey Jude and from what i saw, everyone did! it really was like a concert! hahahaha. =)

will be going for honeymoon tonight.

hope Rokko and Tambourina's wedding went perfectly well too! =)

thanks Girls!

let's chat again when i get back! =)

love!

for the church florist, you just tell her your budget. it will be enough. for us, i didnt have a floral arch in the end, it would have been added cost to the buffet package which i felt was unnecessary.

however i used cloth in our theme colours to drape and i think the effect was just as nice.

as for the reception i took Mum's Kitchen's church wedding package at $10 per head. they threw in pretty good menus and set up, so all in all, it was ok.

Hey SL,
*waves* Glad to hear that all went well. Told u tt He would provide, esp when we all prayed for u. Very very happy to hear tt ur wedding went well. Update more when u come back k? Enjoy ur honeymoon!

Mehmeh, c1980 and other girls,
Thanks for being so ever helpful! Feel really glad tt there is a place for us Christian BTBs to share ;)

Hi SL,

Congrats! Praise Him for another blessed wedding.=)

Hi Meh meh,
yah, seriously considerung angeli and elsie kitchen. does the caterer provide some simple deco like cloth covers for teh crporate one.
I have tried Four seasons catering at one of my company function and the food is great too. not too sure about pricing and deco though. their tea recpt starts from $5 as well.

Hi Carelinwen,

Congrats abt being able to use ACM too... It's really lovely & not to forget, there's aircon! hahah

Hi Angelala,

All caterers would provide for the table linen. I think it's already the minimum std.. Shdn't be the plastic ones already rite? *I hope* But EK did provide satin linen for the side skirting & the on-table is probably the usual white linen..

I got 2 extra sets of skirting for the guest signing-in tables too, they were provided FOC.. They actually wanted to provide the table as well, but PLMC's Poh Chye wld provide tt if u state in ur logistic needs

Four seasons is not bad, but comparing the no. of items they offered with what EK did, we decided to go with EK. Moreover since we had 1st hand experience of trying EK's, we at least knew their standards..

Hi Count!

U're def most welcome, once again.. Do ask further if u need any other help or have further queries..

As recommeneded by PST, I went to Rasel workshop. I went to the first session, I found food nice, especially the shepherd's pie and beef carving. oh, I love the ecalires and cream puff 2.I agree with you that they are not so good in the menus below $10.But really impressed with their higher-end catering. I booked their $30 menu cos I'm not having any more banquet. Their session 2 food a bit cold cos I also stay on later... lucky I go earlier. I really love their decor.. somehow give me a romantic feeling.How I wish my wedding is like this.The sales person is so much better than that of kriston.... so much more friendlier.I also go to kriston workshop.... don't like it..really a let down. Quite high-handed. Anyway, i've got my booking done, yeh.. a load off my mind. how about u gals?

hi mehmeh & count

I am really excited abt my FH....just hope that he will not back out due to laziness which he is infamous for....
However, I am quite suprise that he did not reject me straight in the face...heehee.....

I think really have to pray hard for things to be smooth since my AD is 6 mth away....*scary* Now I am attending PMC (3 lesson this coming thurs). It is real good to go thru this session.

Hi Judy,
I have not sign up anything. But intenting to go for lavish. The food menu looks good. Me having a banquet so not intending to go for anything more than $12 cos guests going for my church are oso invited for the banquet.....

to be frank & practical, i believe my guests will only give AB once for my banquet.... meaning the church reception is 100% funded by my FH & me....

Oh gosh, my saving is decreasing as my AD gets closer.....