Christian Brides

yes its true so i think will invite most pple only to church in order to 'force' em to come to church wedding haha.
but i got slight prob at my side. most of my frens are nonchris and may also be against or biased against coming to church and so i a bit scared that my church attendance will turn out low. have to pray abt it.
also, i still headache over inviting colleagues. cos my dept mostly muslims or hindus and dunno how to invite them to church. like what someone adviced me, if invite gotta invite all or dun invite all. so...i kinda stuck here.

hi ericia,

I think you could let your muslim colleagues know that the food catered is not halal and leave the onus on them to decide. If they don't feel comfortable, they will let you know.

Hi Ericia

I invited all my colleagues, thot it's more respectful to invite 1st. Whether they intend to come, they wld inform thru the RSVP. But when I gave out the cards, I did highlight tt the tea recep provided is Halal...
My org also has a high % of Muslims, but if we're really trying to embrace religious harmony, it's a gd opp to expose them to a Christian wedding & the faith itself. But like what Ashley mentioned, the onus is on them..

Hi Ericia,
Ya, I'm also told the same thing by my other friends...it's either you invite all or don't....
still considering this part but confirmed will only invite my closer immediate colleagues to dinner.. the rest to church only.

Hi mehmeh,
thanks thanks.... saw it liao.. your gown's really beautiful, especially the way it flows on the aisle.......

Hi Teng

Phew, u receiveed it.. Gdgd
Thanks for the compliments on my wedding gown. I believe urs wld be beautiful too..

Where are u at with ur preps?

It's my outdoor shoot tomorrow! Pls help me pray that God will keep us one step ahead of any rain. My PS already postponed once liao. Thanks!

oh yeh...thanks meh meh , teng and ashley. i almost forgot abt e halal thing. are the caterers elsie's kitchen, lavish, CJS, angeli halal? these are the ones i consider.
mehmeh, everyone is gushing over ur pics. me wanna see too. can PM me?

Hi Carelinwen,

God bless ur PS tomorrow!! Just enjoy.. Rainy shots can be romantic too!

Hihi Ericia,

I dun use PM. Can u leave ur email add here?
Elsie's def Halal, but not sure abt the rest. Just check if they have the cert, shd be mentioned on their website..

hi ggjj,
thank God.
my discussion with my mum was a peaceful one, i kinda let her decide what she wanted on the card, so it's not so bad. (anyway it took me like so long to approach her abt this..procrastinated for days!).
thank God that thru the stuff i've read and the MPC, i've also understood some things better & learnt to put down some of my expectations and worries.
whell...anyway we may not be printing our parents' names on the church invite, and only my FH's parents & mum's name on the banquet invite (cos my dad won't be there).

hi Teng, Erica,
i'll also be inviting my non-christian friends for the church wedding too (banquet is for relatives & close friends only).
my tuition student initially said that as muslims they can't step into a church, but aft that told me that it's ok, as long as they don't participate in the prayer & stuff, which is ok. the food we catered is halal also.
may our weddings will be a testimony to others of God's love for us.

hi ggjj,
thank God.
my discussion with my mum was a peaceful one, i kinda let her decide what she wanted on the card, so it's not so bad. (anyway it took me like so long to approach her abt this..procrastinated for days!).
thank God that thru the stuff i've read and the MPC, i've also understood some things better & learnt to put down some of my expectations and worries.
whell...anyway we may not be printing our parents' names on the church invite, and only my FH's parents & mum's name on the banquet invite (cos my dad won't be there).

hi Teng, Erica,
i'll also be inviting my non-christian friends for the church wedding too (banquet is for relatives & close friends only).
my tuition student initially said that as muslims they can't step into a church, but aft that told me that it's ok, as long as they don't participate in the prayer & stuff, which is ok. the food we catered is halal also.
may our weddings will be a testimony to others of God's love for us.

hi mehmeh,
my ballroom is not that huge.. so may waste space.. then it looks strange to have a dance floor when no one uses it.. besides my gowns are so long.. don't know how to move around with it.. can't imagine dancing.. still toying with the idea..

hi count,
how much is the mua for mothers.. my mom and future mil never make up one.. dont even know how to do hair.. i am equally hopeless.. so thinking of getting them a pro or free lance.. but got a tight budget.. my bs quoted 150 for one..

hi carelinwen,
dont worry abt the weather.. we were very worried for my ps too.. when we reached the place it was pouring.. but when we settled down.. the rain stop.. and we took some pics.. but after that rain again.. we moved on.. and once we reach the next destination.. it stopped.. then at the beach it rained again.. we took interior.. when done.. the rain stopped.. before that was pouring.. then got clear blue sky to take at the beach.. it was only a window of 1 hour.. then the clear blue sky became dark blue sky.. then pouring non-stop.. but by then we were exhausted.. God really works wonder.. the timing for everything is just amazing.

hi skye,
glad that the issue is resolved.. it is ok for not printing the parents names in the invites.. i saw some like that and find it ok..

my church ceremony is only for 100 pax.. cos the church is a very small chapel.. dinner around 300 pax..

this fri is the meet the parents session.. will be discussing the dowry etc.. cos this is a christian wedding and both our parents know nuts about the traditions.. what are the usual things the bride family ask then.. just tables, dowry?

who ask who first? currently, the talks are not face to face.. my future mil ask my bf to ask me to ask my mom.. my mom ask me to ask my bf to ask his mom to provide the amount.. me really middleman.. very frustrating.. cos we are all so new about this thing..

Hihi ggjj,

I wanted to engage MUA for my bridesmaids but they decided to do their own in the end.. I've got a few contacts which ought to be within ur budget. Shall email u tonight k?

With regards to the parents' meeting, u might want to ask someone in the family who has recently gotten married (ie, elder bro or sis of urs or ur FH). If not a cousin..
If u & FH are intending to foot the whole wedding on ur own, then parents shdn't be asking for any tables. if they intend to, they shd ask u or ur FH directly (ur own parents).
Dowry is sthg given by ur parents, so it also shdn't be brought up. The only ppl who do so are the Indians, it's a culture to know how much their future-DIL "is worth"

U can discuss stuff like the GDL, it's more of a tradition. ie ur FH's family got to know what the dialect tradition is like for urs..

Actually I'm not gd at these traditional stuff, my mum super simplified matters. Have heard of other BTBs having it really elaborate. Best source of info, a sis/bro/relative/fren of the same dialect grp...

My WG was also rather long, but i had the big ballroom to my advantage. Bustling it up wld do the trick actually. But if u used duchess satin, the bustling may not hold very well as compared to the lighter organza/tulle
I did have a slight train for the EG, so bustling for tt was still quite okie, enough for me to do my waltz.. But anyway since space is a constraint, then think abt how to work ard it..

Hi Skye

PTL!! Indeed ur discussion with ur mum is a wonderful testimony to share! Keep praying for the wedding

Hi ggjj,
I know tt Sam Ong charges $120 for day and $150 for night makeup for mum. Don't know if this is within ur budget? This seems to be the market rate for the more expensive MUAs so u may wish to consider others. My cousin who used GHA managed to get the MUA to do her mum's makeup for free!

Carelinwen,
Will pray for good weather for u! =)

hi girls!

how's everyone? didnt really get to read all the posts tho... as usual coz i hardly come in here now that wedding's over... hee.

was reading about MUA for siblings/mums etc. i got one through a friend... paid her 50bucks for each person. she's pretty good. but coz she's not prof or anything thats why that cheap. but she's trained. hee. anyone interested can let me know. =) i can forward the info to you. =) oh she does hair too... she did a pretty good job with my bridesmaid! if i can find a photo maybe i can forward it to you girls too! =)

one more thing... girls... if you havent got a coordinator do try to get one. even if it's not prof but a good friend. it's very impt to enjoy your day and not worry about troubleshooting and coordination (what goes where and when)... =) honestly, anything that can go wrong that day will go wrong. i had problems with the banquet manager as usual (he was super ngeow and annoying even before the wedding!)... but becoz of my ever so efficient and experienced coordinator i didnt even notice it until everything was over and she told me about it. =) there were some hiccups with the caterer apparently too. really thank God for her. so yes.. do get a friend to run the show that day! =)

who's wedding is next? =)

love!

hi mehmeh,
please send the contacts to [email protected]

today was the meet the parents session... both the families agree to do away the customs.. my family just ask for no of tables and pinjin.. nothing else.. so happy.. my mom even say she want to give cake voucher.. no need to buy cakes.. save us a lot of effort..

hi count,
thanks.. i dont have the budget for sam.. sophia also doesnt provide for me..

hi sl,
can i hv the contact and the photos.. [email protected] thanks

hi ggjj, glad that ur meet the parents session went well and smoothly. i havent had mine yet might have prob having mine because my FIL are against our christian religion.
hi sisters,
wanna ask sth: what and when are wrist corsages used for?
i am thinking of replacing my hand bouquet with wrist corsages so as to enable me to free my hand to shift my gown if required during my march-in. is that a good idea?

O no, Ericia, wrist corsages are usually worn by your jiemeis or ah yees to identify them as your helpers, especially when they are not wearing the same dresses.

I've seen one bride wearing wrist corsage for her wedding but it was bcos hers was a garden wedding. It was thus appropriate. However, I don't think it's very appropriate if your wedding is in the church, like your hands look very empty. Kinda strange.

Ericia, I've read some of your posts and I know that your parents-in-law do not really approve of a church wedding. I just want to share with you about my sister's friend's incident:

Her bf and herself are Christians. However, her mother never knew abt it. Cos her mother had once told her children that a fortune-teller told her that she is "doomed" if any one of her children becomes Christian.

She doesn't want to upset her mother. They are planning for a wedding but have decided to do away with a church wedding.

In reality, there are Christian gals who do not have a church wedding. I feel that they are really noble in a way bcos not every Christian gal can do without one. I know every one of us here really want to have a church wedding for many reasons - I for one, strive very hard for one.

I wasn't sure if my parents would allow me to have one, but I went ahead and booked anyway. But they have always know that I'm a Christian since I was young. I "suffered" as a teenager when my father opposed very strongly against it, but I supposed it's bcos he's mellowed now, and he knows this is really what I want.

I'm not sure if it'll help if your bf keep exposing them to the idea of a church wedding. If I were you, it's more impt that my parents are around at the church wedding bcos my father has to take me down the aisle. I'm not too bothered if my PILs will come. In fact, up till now, I don't even know whether they are coming for the church wedding. They seem quite neutral. Just that his grandparents are adamant abt not coming for the church wedding. It doesn't quite matter to me. What's impt to me is the solemnisation.

thanks ashley, for e sharing. actually i am beginning to wonder if its so impt to have church wedding. we have already gone and booked church for the wedding against wishes of his parents and relatives who told us they will not attend and they will 'ignore' us if we have church wedding. we have thot of so many options, ie just have solemnisation somewhr outside church but use pastor. but they say no, anyth involving pastor is no. we thot of have pastor but bluff them say he is someone fr ROM and not a pastor but pastor says its not good to lie. blah blah. in the end, back to the idea of church wedding. but recently his parents and relatives have been nagging and complaining at my poor FH that now he also wonders if we should just forget the church and just go and ROM like what his parents wish. i tired also...anyway lets see how things go... patiently wait for the Lord. i am now looking forward to our baptism which is coming soon, but unfortunately, we have to keep it fr his parents to keep things from going worse.

Hi ggjj,

U've got mail!
314881.gif

Was also considering getting vouchers when I had to do the cakes part, but parents being more traditional preferred giving of the physical cakes. Thankfully, i didn't have to go ard to distribute them, relatives only got them when they came over for tea ceremony.. Phew!

I'm back to work after a long weekend. Had my PS on Fri instead of Thurs cos it poured before the MUA left her place, so my photographer decided that we should postpone.

Haha, I was so worried about rain but in the end I got slight sunburn instead cos we started in the early afternoon on Fri. Thanks for all the prayers. Thank God that my PS is finally over.

Hi Erica,
I agree with your pastor to not lie to your parents. But if you are able to have a HM, don't choose the easy way out and skip it.

Parents tend to use emotional blackmail to get their way if they feel that you are going against their wishes and their 'culture'. Such emotional blackmail includes saying nasty things, threatening to not show up, threatening to be unhappy etc. But if you and FH stand firm and do what is right in the eyes of the Lord, and when your parents realized that you will not back down and they cannot manipulate the both of you in the marriage matters anymore, they will 'give up' finally. Pray that God will make them have a change of heart.

All parents ultimately love their children, continue to explain to them and invite them to share in your joy and participate in your wedding. Tell them that the both of you respect and love them even though you want a church wedding, and that is what they have to accept.

Hi SL,
i'm also looking for a MUA for my mum & MIL, could you email me the pics that yr MUA did for your bridesmaids? and her contacts too? thanks!

i'm counting down another 53 days to my wedding...now that the text part is settled, i'm sending my invites (church & banquet) to print this wed, hope they can be printed before end of next week!

Wow! So fast and it'll be Skye's AD! Excited for u hee hee. This thread is quite quiet now tt the Sept BTBs have graduated...

Hi mehmeh,

Saw your pics liao. I like your long train and red EG.

Joanna,
your church should be able to give you some contacts if tents are always required there during occasions.

got a contact from my church but think it's too expensive. $2500 for a plain straight tentage with fans and for a day's usage.trying to get better deals....

hi joanna,
u may want to ask the caterers. i think i saw some mention of the charges for tentage when i went for the kriston workshop =)

hi joanna
u may want to check with caterers. i think i saw something abt tentage rental when i went for the kriston workshop =)

Hi Ericia,

Sending u the invites soon...

Hi Carelinwen,

Thanks so much for the compliments! What's the colour of ur EG? U got urself a WG with a long train? I rem my Pastor whispering to me tt my train is really long.. hahah

Hi Ericia,

Hmm, i think all my soft copies aren't with my new PC.. I dun have an MC speech actually.. Used the one given by Orch Hotel to guide my emcees

Church programme was given by Pastor, so u can ask urs too..
I do have an AD programme/schedule.. Remind me to send u k?

hi ericia,
my parents are also against christianity initially.. now they relent quite a fair bit... just continue to press on and pray.. i am sure they will open up.. at least will not reject violently.. now my dad is at least willingly to walk down the aisle with me.. but they did not go for my water baptism.. one step at a time.. get your bf to talk to his parents gradually..

hi mehmeh.. thanks for your email.. been busy these days.. will call and check them out.. my cakes and those custom all leave to my mom.. i just ensure she has enough cash.. anything else.. she will arrange.. i very lazy bride one.. haha

can also email ur church prog, mc speeches, ad prog/schedule etc.. btw, how many mc u have.. think of getting only 1.. got hard time getting the second one.. and my first choice cannot speak chinese one..

hi ggjj,

suresure, u're welcome on the MUA..

hmm, as per my post to Ericia, I've got no church programme. I followed what my Pastor gave me. Better to follow what's needed or expected of ur church.

No emcee speeches in church too. Nothing much to say for emcee & in our church, the worship leader doubles up as an emcee, so being a worship leader shd give them enough confidence & experience to do impromptu speeches on the stage. I had only 1, no Mandarin translation for church emcee..

Will send u & Ericia the AD schedule this weekend

hi Count,

Check ur mail k? Sent u an email with a map of PLMC..
Thanks for ur compliments. Gotta praise my fren & printer for doing up my invites so beautifully.. heheheh

Will fwd u the AD schedule this weekend..

mehmeh,

My WG train quite OK, long enough for church wedding. My EG is blue but not designed and made well so not a good fit. I dont want to talk much about it. Show you the photos when they're out.. dunno when can see...

ERica,

I got a suggestion. Book an outdoor area for ur solemization if u wan something special. Wher u having ur dinner? Some hotels have then u get a JP who is a christian leader,c if they can marry u, as a civil ceremony and then bless u at the end. So ur folks shld b ok cos the blessing part is just like 2 mins of short prayer.

I feel for u sister but God wants us to honour our parents so c if u can compromise. My folks wan a bigger wedding that wat I wanted, at first i was soo sad, years of dreams down the drain, mths of planning for nothing but somehow alot of things that I planned fell out of place, e.g. my weddin in March and I jus loss my venue
, but trusting God that as we honour our folks and most imptly HIm, he will bless us w a wedding in line w his will.

Hang in there...

God bless
Bel

Dear all sisters in christ!!

I would like to testify to the goodness of God on my wedding yesterday!!
God have given us a truly blessed wedding n the provision of God was evident everywhere!!

We had an outdoor wedding @ botanical gardens yest n God gave us a beautiful weather!! it was hot & sunny but no rain was present n we had a great time fulfilling our dream wedding..

one day b4 the wedding, it was raining n my hubby was fearful of the weather the next day. But God spoke to him saying that we have planned the whole year but tomorrow He will put the final touch to the wedding. And the touch is the weather. You know all things r just not possible if the weather didn't work out!! Praise God for his mercy n goodness in our lives!!

We r truly blessed. Therefore, if anyone of you r feeling the stress or just the fear during tis wedding preps. Remember the Lord is there. we can do mountains of things, but only the Lord can complete the picture. For it says:

"Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving present your request to God. And the peace of God which transcends all understanding will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus" phil 4:6-7

Be Blessed!

hi girls

so sorry about the 'disappearance' after promising to pass the MUA contact for my bridesmaid and photos of her...

went on 2nd honeymoon to phuket that's why... and i realised i dont have photos of her... only one during the dinner which is not very clear. will upload it here. iguess when i finally visit my photography i will prolly have better and clearer photos of her! =)

if still interested in her MUA's number please email me at [email protected]

one thing good about her is that the is not too "tu" and "wayang" with her make up skills. very natural.

btw i'm back to work today... the past one month has been so surreal! =) god bless all of you girls through the wedding preps!! =)

317000.jpg

btw... about the HM... on a personal note... i do feel that you should go ahead with it... it's a once in a life time thing. to marry in a church setting. it's something you cant re-live... it's true that God's blessings will still be with you nonetheless even if you solemnise your wedding elsewhere... =)

on a spiritual note... God did say to put Him first everything. and in Matt 6:33 He said to seek His kingdom first and evertying else will be added unto you.

it's easy said than done. "opposing" parents is never easy. family harmony is what we all hope. but let's not give up so easily. persevere til you see God works! =) when you look back, you will relish in how God has been faithful and of course on how you both worked together to make your wedding happen. =)

my church wedding was simply beautiful. like what mehmeh's wedding significance says... when i think about it.. i had so many ppl witnessing my union with my husband. it made me not take it flippantly... and when we both exchange vows we wrote specially for each other... having everyone there to share in our joy... it was really unbelieveable. it's something you have to go through it to experience it. =)

and when i matched in... i felt God's presence.. and everyone's eyes and glow... it was simply awesome...

ericia.. i can only say... dont give up.. =) PUSH... pray until something happens! =)

love!