Christian Brides

other details?

my coordinator may not be able to help me coz she may be going for her honeymoon. other than that there doesnt seem to be any other things to look out for coz i havent booked the caterer or florist yet.i havent looked into AD programme yet either.

is there anything else i missed?

how's your prep coming along?

oic... tot you might have found your printers for the invitations...

*sigh*

my prep's stuck at a stage which i call it "my-hubby's-still-considering-my-proposal' stage. it's as far as i can go...

although he's spoken to my parents about the wedding, he hasn't mentioned anything to his parents. now that my parents have indicated that they are ok with reception after church wedding, w/o banquet, he's fretting about whether his parents are ok w/o banquet. so much for telling me that he can make decisions on behalf of his parents.

yups... hm, dunno what's he tinking?

if he's unsure of what his parents want, den why not let our parents meet and let them thrash things out...?

actually that's a very good idea. after all, the 2 families are going to be relatives. they should get to know each other! =)

have your parents met before?
i think it will help to have the parents get acquainted first before going down to business.

my FH's family came over during 2nd day of CNY when we had open house for all our relatives. in the end, his parents hung around to chit chat and his mom actually helped my mom wash up the kitchen!! and the 2 dads spent the time watching football on cable! =)

i really appreciated that coz it will make the dowry discussion etc easier now that both parents have very good impression of each other. =) PTL!

Hi SL

Sorry, my poor memory has failed me. When's ur AD? Really shd PTL that CNY was a gd opportunity for parents of the both of you to meet and get to know each other.

I'm wondering right now what event/ opportunity I can make use of for my in-laws to meet my parents.

hi mehmeh

initially it was supposed to be 25 and 30 jun. now it's 10 and 11 sept. i still couldnt get a sat slot coz the hotel is fully booked til end of the year. =)

how about food tasting session? my FH and i have planned that the next time the parents meet will be food tasting. =) of course subject to other opportunities that arise. ;P

hi SL

my FH kept insisting that he can make decisions on his parents' behalf, so my parents don't need to meet his. but I believe tt besides discussing how many tables my parents want from the banquet (but now no need to discuss about banquet liao), they are supposed to discuss other issues like who's to buy what, right?

but he just keep refusing to let our parents meet. *sigh*

hi ivy

your hubby sounds like a hard nut to crack. =)

how come he is so adamant about the parents not meeting? it's gonna be a lifelong relationship between the 2 families. somehow somewhere someone has to initiate meetings. =)

now that my AD is gonna be in sept i feel so relaxed. hahaha...

Hi SL

indeed, he's beyond description... haha...

good to have things settled before the AD... so if emergency arises, can concentrate solely on the problems.

Hi SL,

Thanks for informing me but I have already booked my Church venue. So i will pass then
Haha... now u can attend my wedding. I am just doing my "to do" list and there seems to be quite a lot to be done... too bad cannot postpone my wedding liao... hehe.

Ivy, parents should meet before the wedding what... else on the AD, then meet, might be awkward leh... in case they mistake someone else for your FH's parents.

Hi Ivy

Seems like it might be easier if you have couple of AD dates in mind and then propose to both your parents. I chose mine based on the day we started dating, and definitely w/o consulting the almanac for auspicious dates. Thankfully my parents are free-thinkers and left it to us, w/o any objections. His parents are Christians, so another Phew!

Can consider when u guys had ur 1st kiss etc.. More memorable and significant!

Hey SL

U mean ur AD's now 10 Sept and looking for banquet for 10 or 11 Sept rite? Sept is an extremely popular mth. My AD's 3 Sept and I've visited the Sept 05 brides thread.. So many brides there all on the various Sat & Sun of Sept. So sounds like it might be real hard.. Unless u dun mind a wkday dinner. Say a Friday, or one on the eve of a Public Holiday

i got the banquet date on 11sept... so tea ceremony and church will be on 10sept.

Meritus M. has a tentative booking on 3 sept which i was quite "gian". but they are so slow in jio jio-ing the other party (which happens to be the netball association... hee). and anyway, it's the last day of the ghost festival so i thot might as well do it a week later. i'm afraid my dad's friends may not turn up. i found out a couple of days ago, sept rates for dinner at MM will be jacked up.
=( so i cant afford no-show esp on my dad's side. haha. think uncles and aunties and normally quite generous one right?

mehmeh, where's your banquet? and why is sept so hot anyway?

I'm new here. My bf just proposed to me and we are planning to have our AD next year. Just wondering if anyone of you will be using unity candles and how will the order of ceremony be? No couple in our church had ever uses unity candles before. Thus, we had no idea on when should we light up the candles. We really like the meaning behind it. With unity candles, do couples still take holy communion? Thank you for clearing my doubts. God bless.

hi marilyn!

welcome and congrats! =)

unity candles... hmmm... my church doesnt have such a practice. but i did attend a friend's wedding where they lit the candles and also took holy communion. it was communion first then unity candles for them... hope that helps!

hi mehmeh

actually our tentative date is very close to our ROM date. our ROM date's 08/05/2004, so we are actually eyeing on 12/08/2007, which is a Sat. Think our parents are pretty easy on the date, since we decide on our ROM dates ourselves. (besides, our parents are all Christians, so no tong shu are consulted)

But if that AD date is very hot, then I'll probably bring forward by a week.

Actually it all boils down to whether my PILs will be okay without banquet. Cos my FH now worries that my FIL may want to hold a banquet, so that he can invite his friends. BUT my FH is doing nothing to get confirmation from his parents' side. (which is really making my blood boil...)

Hi Marilyn

Hey welcome and congrats!!!

My church does use unity candle. However, so far I've only attended one wedding, but that's a few years back (City Harvest very big, but I still do not know a lot of people, that's why only can attend one wedding).

If you need the info urgently, it's probably best if you consult your own pastors. Cause they may be the ones officating your wedding.

From what I can remember, the wedding couple lit the unity candle after the exchange of vows and H.C..

In short, the order of the ceremony is :

Bride enters - P&W - Exchange of vows (with rings) - H.C. - Unity Candle (something like that lar) But can help you ask the couple, if you want.

If you need to buy unity candle, you can get from Tecman at Bras Brasah. But it's quite ex. However, it's also the only place that I know is selling unity candle...

Hi Marilyn

Congratulations! Hmm, about the Unity candle, it really does depend on the church you're intending to get married at. My church does not allow burning of candles, if I'm not wrong. But there are many weddings I've attended that do have the lighting of Unity Candles. Do check with the Pastor of the church venue, tt's where u wld know best.

The order of ceremony aslo varies fr church to church:
Bride Enters > Praise & Worship > Exortation > Exchange of vows & rings > Signing of register > !st prayer + Lighting Unity Candle + 1st Communion > Declaration by Pastor > Recession > Going back > Thank you speech > Photo-taking

Goes sthg like tt. Again, this is from what my church does.

Hi SL

My banquet's at Orchard hotel.. Prob think coz Sept is the 8th lunar mth, sounds like 'prosperity'. So how, you managed to get 11 Sept at MM?

Hey Ivy

hmm, don't get too stressed out. Usually you wld have to bk ur banquet venue a year in advance. Coz the tong shu wld only be out end of the year? So if you're looking at 12 Aug 07, you're definitely a very early bird.. Don't fret k?

Just make sure u get ur FH to be more 'hardworking' in the wedding preps. Usually it's us brides who are more gan jiong, than the grooms. It's pretty normal, coz they aren't really as meticulous as us. Cheer up k?

hi mehmeh...

oops, in my hurry to reply, i accidentally input wrong date... we're looking at 12/05/2007... and anyway, we're in the Christian brides column, so by right, we do not believe in consulting the 'tong shu', right?

hm, actually quite ok. just had an encounter with God last night, which left me still very hungry for more of Him...

Hi Ivy

Of coz we do not consult the tong shu, i forgot to add, that many others do, you see. So since we don't have to wait for it.. U definitely have an advantage over the other brides.

As far as I know, my seamstress who makes clothes for many brides has mentioned tt April & May usually aren't popular mths to get married. And since u've more than 2 yrs, just take your time.. But no less than 1 year k?

Continue to walk with God even during the wedding preps...

hi ivy

dont fret. =) 2007 is still a very long way ahead. maybe that's why your FH does not see any urgency in it. =) after all, most of us take 1 yr to plan our wedding. me? much less than that! so it's really ok to just bounce lotsa ideas off each other now than to be fixed on just one idea. =)

Mehmeh,

yea, i got the 11 sept confirmed for MM. =) YAY!

Hi SL, Ivy, mehmeh,

Thanks for all your help. From what I see, so unity candles must be accompanied by holy Communion lor? Since no one had ever done that in my church before, we would like to do more research before approaching our pastor. A friend of mine had agreed to look up for the biblical meaning. Thank God for her.I myself had attended quite a couple of wedding but none had unity candles leh. That's why I blur blur. My church uses candles during Xmas period, thus candles shouldn't be a problem. From what I know, some Catholics bookshops are also selling unity candles. I feel that Tecman is quite ex too. My FH working in a Christian Chinese Books agent company. So I will ask him to settle that part and get the best lobang. Heehee. Thanks again.

hi marilyn

if i am not wrong, the symbol in the use of the unity candles is from Gen 2:24 -

"For this reason a man will leave his father and mother and be united to his wife, and they will become one flesh." (N.I.V.)

hi happylady

welcome!

you will need 3 candles. of which only the candles at both ends will be lighted up for the ceremony. both your FH and yourself will use the lighted candles to lit up the remaining unlit candle (between the lighted candles).

hope this helps you.

haha. Seem like the efficient Ivy had already answer the question.

Hi happylady, see attached. the center candle is bigger than the other candles at both ends.

251382.jpg

hi ivy!

you sound like me! =P bored, that is.

btw, the unity candles i have seen at weddings are of the same size (long and thin) and are on a metal candle holder. so i suppose there are varieties too?

Thanks marilyn and ivy for the information! Shall discuss with my FH if he wants to have the candles. I find it quite romantic and rather meaningful since it means 2 become 1. You ladies using the candles?

one more question: Wat is Benediction? pardon me for being so ignorant... i am new to the religion and in fact, i only baptised on 2 Jan this year.

hi there..

Am a christian BTB.. acutal date on Aug 13 2005.. so how is everyone's preparation...? i am also looking for unity candles.. anyone care to share where to buy them from .. or have a good deal?

hi happylady

another way to explain benediction is that benediction is (1)when a pastor blesses the congregation with a prayer, at the end of the service, before the people leave the venue. (2)The congregation may sing a hymn or a song a their benediction.

I used to grgow up in a Methodist church, so at the end of the main service for adults, the pastor would bless us with a prayer. On the other hand, when I attend the Youth service, they would select a particular song to sing at the end of Youth Service, as a way to bless the closing of the service.

HI WGC

welcome!

we've mentioned in earlier posts that so far, we are only aware that only Tecman is selling unity candles, however, it is way too expensive.

pls pray for me..i'm a march 06 bride, but my MIL to be doesn't like me cos of a physical disability and she has made me n FH very stressed. She refuses to even see me and say i traumatise her after merely 1 meeting..I need lots of prayer God Bless

Hi godloved

here's a promise from God in Jas 1:12

"Blessed is the man who perseveres under trial, because when he has stood the test, he will receive the crown of life that God has promised to those who love Him."

Indeed, this is a trying time. But you must keep on trusting God to turn, whatever is bad, into good.

God said that HIs thoughts are higher than our thoughts, and His ways are higher than our ways. Choose not to see your circumstances, but turn your eyes upon Jesus, k?

hi Godloved Sunflower,

Don't be discouraged. I worked in a special school teaching handicapped youth. Your MIL, is just not aware that having a disability does not make you disable. You too can lead a normal life, just like everybody else. I think she is just concern for her son.

We can only pray and time will tell. In the meanwhile, just like what Ivy said, turn your eyes upon Jesus. Use this period to build bond with your FH too. Pray and seek God together. I pray that in the days to come, your MIL will come to realise that what a blessing you are to your FH as well as to the whole family.

God bless. God is in-charge.

dear sis in Christ,

i am planning for feb 06 wedding. thou of having the H.M and the dinner in the same hotel venue. Any suggestion any hotel with nice pool/garden for the HM and nice ballroom for dinner? i have abt 300 guests and quite loss at how to start the preparation.

For those looking for unity candles, I just found this at yahoo auctions. You may want to take a look.

http://page.auctions.shopping.yahoo.com/sg/auction/85227389?aucview=0x13
"Need a beautiful wedding candle for that precious moment when two unites as one? Look no further. I have been through the stage of looking and been through the dissapointment of having a "not so nice" candle for a steep price. Let me know what your requirements are and your wedding colours and I will have them custom made just for you! Prices starts from $15 onwards depending on requirements. Email me at [email protected] Payment terms is negotiable. Meet ups and deliveries available. Thanks for looking and congrats on your forthcoming wedding!"

Havent visited this site for a long time...
How are you all in your preparations?

Hi Teng,
realised you not taking the PMC in your / husband's churches?? How come? The venue confirmed liao?

Hi Sunflower,
Dun worry...do pray that God will open her eyes to see your inner beauty rather than the external

Hi AL,
maybe can share the budget with us so we can recommend venues for you?

Hi Sunflower

I believe that there problems with in-laws are somewhat inevitable. due to our different upbringing and all, so as daughter-in-laws, we just have to pray for patience and love. also pray for ur MIL to love you too. God will work for the good of those who love Him.

Hi Aimee

How're ur preps? I'm still taking my time. Next on the list is taking pix, tt wld be 18 Mar. looking fwd to the trial MU and final gown fitting.

Hi AL

I think Carlton looked it has a nice swimming pool and ballroom. Saw fr the magazines. I think like what Aimee posted, your budget wld help you narrow down choices better.