Christian Brides

kysha

hi jolene,

really? not many people would choose a weekday for their AD. as for me, boh pian bcos hotel was not available on 21 or 22nd. i also had to respect my MIL's wishes for an auspicious date!

hey syt,

so u r the one hvg ur wedding this sat! I met Lavish yesterday and they mention ur wedding! must be a grand affair! Congrats!

hi SL,

i was originally considering CDCS but heard a lot of not so good comments abt food and service so decided to give them a miss. but i must say that their package is a good deal.

hi js

I'm also reading a book "The Power of A Positive Wife"....trying hard to get started on it with so many things to do! :p

xocross

kysha... really? hmmm... yea it is a good deal... tight budget... guess must compromise somewhere... =(

btw, when should i start sending out invites? my dad is really weird (in a nice way). he says it is a lost of face for him to ask his friends to rsvp. so i'm really praying hard that with the invites sent out they will either zi dong rsvp or at least have the decency to turn up!

daddy also grumbled alot about weekday... but unless zonkkie gives up her slot (hahaha.. kidding...) we'll have to settle for weekday. =)

zonkkie

SL, with the price of wedding banquet these days, no choice but need people to rsvp.

Well, actually, some people are even more practical these days. Call up the guest first and confirm if they are coming before sending out the invite. Else like my friend, a lot of people could not attend the banquet after invites sent out. The reprint cost quite a lot, plus need to top up for the cards since exceed the 60/70% of guests that hotels give.

nicatan

hi mehmeh,

its lavish.com.sg....

hi SL,

wich church r u attending? sorri didnt source for CDCS so kant help u...

hi kysha,

mine's a simple tea reception... they cld be referin to sumone else??

xocross

hi syt
i'm with Faith Comm. Baptist Church. =) 2 more days to your big day! wow!

zonkkie, banquet is quite headache. =( let's just hope that with divine intervention through desperate prayers things will fall into place somehow. =P

honestly, i havent got alot of things done and prepared yet. like gown fitting, caterer, photographer, invites, guests list, programme schedule etc etc all not done. 5 months... argh...

nicatan

hi SL

im also with FCBC... wen was yr xmas gatherin? cos i attended one too.. yah boy!! wen r u gettin married? hve u completed the pmc?

gentlegiant

I'm new on this thread. My AD is on 8/10/2005. Will be having solemnisation in church and dinner at Grand Copthorne. The rest...I am still sourcing.

Hi syt,
Do give us feedback about your caterer after your BIG DAY. Is Lavish catering,rite? I am thinking of using them too.

Hi Kysha,
Mind sharing how your experience with Lavish Catering. Are they helpful?

xocross

syt... 20dec... ps angela's. =) i remember meeting someone who is getting married on 15 jan there. =) is it you???

i'm getting married on 25 and 30 jun. i'm not doing PMC with FCBC coz my FH is from another church. and my PMC will commence in Mar 05. =)

Hi tinkilily

Do you need some help with ur preps? I've a timeline for wedding preps tt might be of use. Might be useful to put things into perspective.. If you need leave ur email here

applet08

Hi kysha, ya...takes me a while to start on the book but it is a gd travelling companion for me during all my flight time..

adyline

Hi all Christian brides-to-be,
I'm getting married on 11th June. Am also looking for catering service any recommendation?

kysha

syt

i think u're the one bcos they said they r only doing 2 functions that day. One is a wedding and the other is a corporate function. The corporate function is a big one so they do not want to spread their resources thin by taking in too many jobs. Tot that was quite professional of them to maintain their service standards.

hi gentlegiant

yes, lavish is helpful and they respond quite fast to my queries. I should be going for them for my lunch reception.

hihi ivy

yes, me from CHC svc 4!
u getting married in May too?

kysha

jolene

ya, i chose 23 also bcos it was a PH.

SL

maybe you should check out the CDCS thread to find out more. actually, i've also heard a couple of good comments from 2 friends who have tried them b4. But, that was about 2 years back.

js

u travel alot? i can't read when I'm travelling, will get motion sickness! hahahaha!

small_one

hi kysha

no, my wedding will be in 2007. but yours is this year May? congrats!

so, you are with the snday morning svc? sunday's my cg day now, previously was from the 'old' svc 5... maybe i pm you better? then can consult you on wedding planning etc...?

applet08

Hi kysha,

yupz i travel alot...mainly for work lah..
No problem for me to read while travelling...
just tat get sleepy mostly n end up sleeping more than reading..haha =)

nicatan

hi mehmeh,
i chose that bcos of the reviews ive read in the lavish thread...
didnt go for food tasting but the church wer im goin to hold my ceremony also had gd reviews on their food..

hi kysha,
oic.. yah.. thats very nice of them so not to compromise service standards...

hi SL,

i tink its me...attended that meetin too...
wat a small world... so wich church will u be holdin the ceremony?

small_one

hi adyline

dont really know what kind of buffet you are looking into, but will like to recommend Neo Garden to you. i first tasted their food (9 dishes - beehoon, etc) at my cousin's guo da li. They do provide high-tea buffet, etc.

URL : www.neogarden.com.sg (should be correct)

Otherwise, you can consider Kriston (but steeper price).

hope this has been useful to you.

xocross

mehmeh, that would be so good! thanks! [email protected]

in a way, i really havent done much prep. no caterer, no rings, no actual day schedule, dunno who to do exhortation, havent contacted helpers, no renovation yet, no honeymoon plans yet, havent even paid deposit for hotel yet too! we just settled on a photographer 3 days ago! haha... *headache*

syt... so how was your wedding? tell us all about it! my church ceremony will be at Grace Methodist Church coz FH is from there and it is really a very lovely church. =)

zonkkie

haha... SL, i was calling up churches a few days ago and called Grace Methodist as well. They said that their member has already booked on 25th June... i guess its you then.

anyway, don't need to worry. Everything will fall in place.

xocross

haha... this is so funny. =) yea it has to be me then. but i havent paid the deposit coz the forms are so lengthy my FH and i just chucked them aside! hee!

i really hope everything will fall into place somehow! =P

small_one

hi SL

I just went to check out the interior of Grace Methodist. Very nice interior indeed. Mind if i check with you how much is the rental of Grace Methodist Church's santuary? and is it a fixed rate?

Kindly PM me. Thank you very much.

Hi tinkilily

Have just sent you

Hope it's of help to you..
My FH is holding onto the soft copy of my gd fren's AD schedule & job description of the various helpers. Have looked thru it myself and find the whole set pretty useful. But I wld only be able to send you this wkend, coz my FH is at reservist.

Hi sisters-in-christ,
Do you think that it would be nice if I get my Rev to say blesings for us during the AD dinner? Maybe after we first march-in? Do we have to give ang-pow? How much is advisable? Pls email me at [email protected]

xocross

hi girls

does anyone have any suggestions for a bubbly and chirpy match out song? the part where the couple is declared Mr and Mrs something and they walk out of church while their guests throw confetti?

helen, i have no idea how much ang pao to give yet. =P sorry...

huiling

hallo everyone! thanks Teng and tintin for compiling the list Here's mine:

Date: 10th Dec 2005
BS: The Wedding Present
Ceremony venue: Singapore Art Museum
Dinner: 88 Restaurant/ Regent Hotel
Photographer: Hurricadia
Lovenest: Buangkok
Honeymoon: TBC

teng2

Hi Tin Tin,
Still sourcing for the marriage prep course...

Hi Helen,
Erm, have been to a few Christian's weddings.. it's quite a normal practice to get the Rev to give his blessings before dinner starts. Not too sure about how much for the angpow though :p

Hi Ivy/SL,
I went to view Grace Methodist Church before too. Heard they don't allow bookings for the months of Nov and Dec 2005 (which was my AD) and also because the reception area only caters for much lesser pple (abt 100plus) than the the sanctuary (max 400) but must admit the walk in will be very nice and sweet with the curtains and sloping aisle...

teng2

Hi Tin Tin,

Any idea if SB has got a restriction on the number of rows in a table?
I can't seem to upload the table leh....
can advise? thanks yah :D

small_one

Hi SL

I've received your PM liao. Thanks v much. But i couldn't PM you (think you did not switch it on), so i emailed you through your emailed, directly linked from your PM to me.

Hi Teng

when's your AD? mine's in 2007, but starting to recce places and stuff. i've settled my BS - Golden Horse Award (Tamp), so no worries for me in that area.

xocross

hi ivy!
sorry. hee. i didnt know i must turn it on. thanks for the tip! now i can be PM'd! =P

i have replied you already and sent along with it a very pretty photo of the cross in GMC when it is illuminated by the sun. it was taken by my hp so pic is not very sharp. =)

teng2

Hi Ivy,
Mine is 17th and 18th Dec 2005

Settled my banquet venue and bridal shop...
now confirming on my church for Holy Matrimony cos may not be using our own church. The rest just bits here and there...

Now thinking of caterers too.. deciding on

-Mum's kitchen (free invitation cards provided for my intended number of guests)
-Lavish Dine for their set-up,
-Continental for their themed set-ups (but will be quite costly.. above $20 per head)

haiz, headache ah!! Anyone has comments on the above?

small_one

hi SL

thanks for replying. saw the pic as well. Infact, i took one at the door, it's a direct view of the cross, but didn't have time to upload into my pc yet...

can i ask will you be doing the chinese banquet? if not, what will you be doing in its place?

small_one

Hi Teng

Do you mean Continental = CDCS? if so, my FH recommends it, cos he used to work there. Yup, prc tends to be steeper...

xocross

hi ivy!
your FH used to work in CDCS? i'm thinking of that coz their price is really a good deal! so he recommends that? =) yay! i'm happy!

i'll be doing banquet. =) my friend who is not is inviting close friends to a pub to chill out. another had lunch buffet after church ceremony while others normally just end with the usual tea reception after church ceremony. hope that helped!

btw Teng, thanks for compiling the list. =) just in case you might upload it again another time, my BS is Emmanuel B. Couture while photographer is Robin Photography. Honeymoon Korea/Taiwan. Lovenest, Bukit Timah.

small_one

i'm still brainstorming for new things to do, instead of the traditional chinese sit-down banquet... anyone with any brilliant ideas?

xocross

hi ivy

banquets need not be boring.

Meritus Mandarin extended the ballroom til 1am for us (and ours is weekday dinner) and they will also put together a dance floor so that we can bring in our own live band to jam! it's gonna be a blast (hopefully)! some of my friends are already going to take leave the next day. i'm really touched by that. =)

i'm thinking of playing games too at my church wedding. but then 300 plus guests can get pretty chaotic. haha... it's just a thot.

hope you'll come up with real cool ideas to make your wedding not only memorable to you but also to your guests!

zonkkie

Hi SL,

The live band sounds cool! Where are you getting the band from and what kinda music? I may also be getting a band in but considering the costs and logistics of getting the equipment in. Other than the piano (which may not be in tune), any idea what other equipment Meritus Mandarin can provide?

xocross

hee... i really dunno yet. i reckon the band will have their own instruments coz the band my FH is putting together is his jamming buddies whom he claims are the "four or more heavenly kings". so they are supposed to be really good... and they better be! hahahahahaha... i've so much confidence in my FH sometimes it amazes me...

nicatan

hello ladies,

lavish dine is great... the setup was fantastic, staff were friendly and the food was great too according to my guests...too bad i didnt get to taste the food though..

hi SL,

my wedding was great though it was a small one. everytin went smoothly..loved the gown, the church deco etc...
Praise God for His grace and mercy!!
though the actual turnout of guests was much lesser than expected....we managed to recover everytin that we spent!! its a miracle n its only due to Him that we r able to enjoy!!

i think u shd get a bridal shop 1st cos it takes 2-3 mths for everytin to be completed.. do chk with me if u need any help k...

xocross

hi syt!

congrats! =) glad that your wedding went really well. you managed to recover everything you spent?!? as in for gown, photography and all? wow! that's really really amazing! i've been praying a similar prayer too. hope God answers my prayer! =P

kysha

hi syt

Praise the Lord for your wonderful testimony!

Happy for you that your wedding was a successful one!

Glad to hear that LD is great. I'm more or less confirmed with getting them too! Could you share your menu with me please?

applet08

hi syt,

praise God for your great wedding!

hmm...wonder if you have any pics to share on the decor they did for you?
Mind sharing the lavish quotation with me?

ccteott

Hi SL,

It depends on who your BS is...

Some will call you... some you have to call... so to be kiasu... you better call them and check

Cheers !