Christian Brides

small_one

my FH and I have ROMed, so do we still need to go for PMC? cos my FH kinda feel that since we have ROMed, we are considered married.

mayelene

hi ivy. i think pmc is still necessary even though u and your fh alr romed, since it serves to let both of u understand each other better. the exploration of each other's character and God's part in the marriage doesnt stop at rom.... when the counselor knows u r already ROMed, probably he'll stir the discussion towards how to live tgt in marriage life, and not whether your partner is suitable for you or not. this is what my pastor, aka my counsellor, is doing for us

small_one

hi mayelene

thanks very much for replying...
greatly appreciated.

teng2

Hi Aimee,

I'm having my holy matrimony at Telok Ayer Methodist TA2(New building in Telok Blangah). My FH's church do not have the capacity we are looking at while St Andrew requires the couple to be both Anglicans. This is also the church where I grew up in before I backslided in my polytechnic days and began attending the service in St Andrew due to timing problems.

As for PMC, we wanted to have it earlier and currently, both our churches do not have it so we attended the one organised by Fei Yue. I believe we will also attend the ones by our own churches should they have it down the months.

Hi Sunflower,
Leave all things with the Lord... he will open the way for you in his own time/way.

Hi Mehmeh,
If I'm not wrong.. think Aimee is already married with a new-born baby.. so believe she's enjoying a great family life now..... :p

Hi Ivy,
Agree with Mayelene, PMC is really essential for a couple, whether or not you are ROMed.. for the course I attended, we also have couples who have been ROMed but attended so that they can be better prepared for real marriage life such as handling finances together, dealing with in-laws, family planning (kids) etc etc. It's definitely helpful......

Need help.. anyone has the standard order of service for the church?
Anyone has designed your own church invites? Don't know where to start still

marthastewart

hi guys, im not having church wedding just a solemnisation service at the hotel premises. Does anyone know the procedure? I know nuts and I still have to do a programme sheet right?

Pls help , thankiee!!!

ccteott

Martha,

Book your JP first and see what time he is availble to marry you. Then work your schedule around his!

xocross

Hi Teng

City Harvest Church has a very very comprehensive wedding preparation guide on their website. It is detailed all the way down to timeline, what to prepare, what to bring, actual day timing and procedure, appreciation gifts, wedding dinner etc etc. of course, every church and everyone's expectations are different but this guide is a very good place to start. it gives very practical advice too. you might want to check it out.

i got a friend to design my church invites. told her the colours i want (2-3 to save money on printing) and also info to include. and God has been good. she actually offered to print them for me and send them to me all the way from UK, free of charge!! =)

Martha, my friend did his wedding in the garden of a hotel and it followed that of a church wedding (only diff was the venue). but then again, weddings in my church are pretty simple without lighting of unity candles and taking of holy communion. so his wedding was simple with the usual worship, solemnisation, appreciation etc. =)

teng2

Hi SL,

Ya, chanced upon one of the threads recommending CHC's website... they have very useful information there...... Still appreciate the help yah :D

Wow... your friend is certainly great! Glad you have got the invites settled :p

aimee

Hi mehmeh,
Yah, Teng is right! i'm already married (in 2002), and my baby boy is now coming 7months old liao! ;p

Used to pop in this thread before i gave birth cos last time no such thread for me
so have to 'brave' through all the preparations alone without any *ideas* from fellow brides

Hi Ivy,
i think some churches dun let you go through the HM if you are already ROMed. maybe got to check with your Pastor? Like what mayelene said, PMC is more of helping the 2 of u to enter into marriage, knowing each other better.

Hi Teng,
Hm..what a waste. i think your husband's church will look nice for a HM. Been there once and i like the setting of the sanctuary!

Here is a sample of the Order of Service that i used the other time
Hope it helps.

Prelude
Processional
The call to celebration
Hymn of praise
Opening prayer
Scripture reading
The address
The promise
Affirmation of the families
The prayer
The vows
The exchange of rings
The pronouncement
The hymn of love
Prayer of consecration
Holy communion
The hymn of dedication
Benediction
Recessional
Postlude

As for invites, i started off with a postcard size as an insert to the wedding dinner invitation card. Then from there i used the same front cover for the church invites, inside the card will add std wordings indicating the details of the HM

Front cover can be a pic or to make it plain and simple, words or verses. We self print the invites the other time, so decided not to use our PS photo on the cover (to save ink ;) So i used a precious moment pic that we like very much with a verse. Look ok loh ;p

Start with the inside, much easier. Then slowly refine your card as you 2 brainstorm for ideas

Hi Martha,
If you are a Christian, the solemnisation should be conducted by the pastor instead of the JP. Talk to your pastor abt it, cos i also know of some churches whose pastor dun do solemnisation out of church

Like what SL says, worship, vows and all will be the same, just that no candles / communion. A very simple and short affair.

small_one

hi aimee

me from City Harvest. so far the one and only wedding I've attended, happens to be my CHC friends. They ROMed, and just got a CHC pastor to conduct the HM for them.

Thanks for all the input about PMC. Will psycho my FH to go together with me, when the next class starts.

xocross

hi aimee!

wow, that's a very long programme =) i always thot it was just match-in, worship, exhortation, solemnisation, parents appreciation, special items (if any), prayer, match-out, photo-taking, food! =P

guess i didnt know there are so many things to look out for! sigh. =) come april i'll start my prep again. hee.

oh yes, my colleague also printed her own cards. what she did was she went to source for some nice clip-art pictures online and used them on the front cover. the other side was the details of her church wedding, time and place etc.

i noticed most couples nowadays dont print programme sheets anymore too. so can save headache and money. i dont intend to print programme sheets too. =)

mayelene

hi SL. we are going to print our own invites and church programs. i feel that it's quite meaningful to have a detailed church prog, like including our vows and song lyrics and liturgy, so that the guests can follow the prog and can keep them (if they want to).....

teng2

Hi Aimee,

I thought so too... and I love the long aisle..
but the one I got is great as well... cos it's a new church building and they have a very nice chapel too....... this holds about 750-800 pax while my FH's holds about 450-500...

Really thanks for taking the effort to write down the long long order of service.. really appreciate the help... but don't understand some terms though.. what do the following entail?

The promise
Affirmation of the families
The pronouncement - by the pastor you mean?

Thanks in advance :p

xocross

telok ayer church can hold so many ppl? it doesnt look that huge from the outside. =) i'm holding my HM at grace methodist church next door! =P but it can only hold 320ppl i think.

may i know how much does it cost to book telok ayer church for non members?

Hi Aimee

I'm such a booboo.. Thanks for sharing your order of service. I think u're a really thrifty person, indeed a lot of cost is saved by doing the invites yourself. Trying to cut cost also, but absolutely no time to do invites by myself...

aimee

Hi Ivy,
dun worry...get to know more brides here, and if they got wedding we *song4 shang4 men2* ;p

Oh i c...then i think should be ok bah. My friend attending presbertarian *spelling* dun allow HM after they ROMed. So end up they have no church wedding

Hi SL,
The program may seem long, but actually the items very short one. read below for explaination. i'm attending a methodist church, so this is the "recommended" order from the church office...i just leave out some items like the unity candle (else will be longer!)

i printed a simple 1-sided program sheet for the actual day. Guess it's nice to have cos the guests will know what's next, but i din include the lyrics cos i want them to focus on the lyrics projected in front

Hi Teng,
wow, then good that you've found somwhere you like

Wah, so many guests...so i guess you're not having a wedding dinner?

i din type...i pasted from the softcopy i have

Details on some of the program:
The promise => i think it's something read by the Pastor / Rev from the scripture / a std paragraph used in HM? If you want to know what he say i go back search seach my vcd ;p

Affirmation of the families => Something like asking who brings the bride to be married to the groom...

The pronouncement => the part whereby he says "i declare you husband and wife, you may now unveil the bride.." ;p

Hi mehmeh,
It's ok lah ;p me coming here is quite misleading liao ;)

Thrifty? No lah, actually we did source for those ready cards and engaged someone to print for us almost 2mths before our wedding, but he keep delaying and said the shipment of the cards no arrive.

So end up we printed our own cards almost 1mth before my wedding, cos still got to send out mah
That's why my card design very simple one.

cookies_gal

Hi Aimee,
Remember me? Congrats to you! Any pics to share of your baby? Hehe, just to let you know, I've found the CD with the song I wanted already! So happy!

Hi Ladies!
FH & I are meeting our church pastor this Sat to discuss more about the HM ceremony. Was wondering what questions we should ask him. So far this is what I have,
1) The order of service, including advise on hymns for the service
2) Flower arrangements for the church hall
3) Sound system
4) Arranging for an organist for the service
5) Rehearsal date
6) Booking of the tea reception venues

Wonder if I missed out anything? Hmm...

teng2

Hi all..

sorry.. recently busy with the shifting in my office... packing and unpacking really takes up lots of time...... so chance to come in here :p

Hi Aimee..

Thanks for the explanation..
ya, still having dinner... for relatives, family members and very close friends. (that's about 55-60 tables) Erm.. We do have bigger families but now still trying hard to cut down on the numbers.... Church-wise, looking at about 650-700 pax.... the huge number is partly because my FH is from Breakthrough, if you still remember :p

Really thanks for the order of service.. definitely helps a lot.. now looking into the chinese translation hehe :p

Actually hor, i wanted to see how i can start designing the invites but click here and there... don't know how to begin :p so many things in my mind now... but thought of delaying that first and source around for caterers and quotes.. any recommendations, ladies?

Hi Cookie's gal,
think your list is quite comprehensive liao...
[perhaps just ask whether there's another holy matrimony going on before/after yours cos the other group may need to set up some things in the chapel.

deepbluesky

Long time didn't come in. Too headache with the preparation loh. Now even bigger issue, True Way was taken by their member liao (even we have make the booking beforehand). Headache now. Don't know where to book.

Any suggestion ladies?

Hi Aimee

Hahah, thanks for pardoning my silly mistake! But I think it's nice tt all the Mrs's come here & share too!

Hi Sky

I 2nd Trinity Theological College. Very nice natural lighting fr the full length windows & stained glass. Just tt the chapel, is abit small, so your guest numbers shd not be too huge!

I've also got a fren who booked CHIJMES. But it is costly and you've got to use the caterer they tie up with.

Alternatively, I heard someone is able to rent St Theresa's.

timminbuzz

I'm also thinking of holding my ceremony in TTC's chapel. The pews can hold up to 250, but they allow another 50 chairs. Altogether, 300. And Jenise frm TTC is really nice and friendly.

Hi Teng

Yupz, Elsie's kitchen is gd and very reasonable. I wld also recommend Neo Garden, food is very gd, and price is pretty close to what Elsie's kitchen offers.

small_one

hi Teng

you get my second vote on Neo Garden. Food's great. But because i've not tried Elsie's Kitchen, so cant really tell you much abt it.

marthastewart

hi guys, im wondering if I should do a church wedding because it's so much more meaningful...but from aimee's list, it sounds like a whole lot of processes and i don't know anything! I'm also worrying about hiring of organist and the sound system...i don't have a lot of friends in church (im a newbie) so it's kinda difficult....

I was wondering also about extra charges for makeup artist, photography, car decor etc...*sigh* maybe I should just pray and ask for answers...i have only 6 months left and i am changing my mind NOW?!?!?!

think fiance not very happy with me.

btw, whats HM?

mayelene

hi martha...
HM = Holy Matrimony
you still have 6 months, which should be quite sufficient to plan (your new plans). my actual planning only started 5 mths b4 the wedding. =p
The things you may want to consider are
1) Is your fiance a Christian? If he's a Christian, he will understand the significance of the HM, both to him and to you. If he's not a Christian, you may want to check with your church whether the wedding can be held in your church.
2) Wedding planning is a great event to bond with your brothers and sisters in Christ. I was pleasantly surprised at the amt of help offered to me by my churchmates. They volunteered their svcs, since they have conducted and planned other weddings b4. Just approach them for help and they probably will go all out to help u! =D
3) Have u booked the hotel yet? If no, then probably decorating the church will cost less than the rental of the ballroom. However if you have booked the hotel, you can still have your HM there. One of my churchmates have done that, and it's meaningful too. My wedding will not be held at my home church as well, due to space constraint.
4) Extra charges for Makeup artist (MUA) - be prepared to pay up ard $200 per session, and $45 for fake eyelashes.

marthastewart

hi mayelene, thanks for the info. what's the big deal about fake eyelashes that the makeup artists always have to push to you and make you pay the dumb 45 bux! I have a makeup artist with my bridal package but it doesn't say that the day and night makeup have to be on the same day leh.

my fiance's a christian but quite new. To him, he doesn't like hassle and paying more $$! Men just see the figures only!

initially wanted to have the wedding solemnisation/service/signing done in the hotel...is that what you are doing? And yeah, I booked the hotel liao, and it's on a Sunday because of the minimum no. of tables required. I couldn't go for Sat as they required 45 tables or 50 tables and above. So if my wedding were on Sunday, i can't use the church on Sunday! So gotta use on Sat, which increases costs! arghhh...so shitty.

I think I will wait for the answers to be presented to me. Or, If i procrastinate, then it will be too late to arrange anyway! hahah!

mayelene

hi martha... i'm having solemnization at trinity theological college, and a reception thereafter. not at a hotel.
think having your HM at the hotel will be very nice..... u can decorate the ballroom with lotsa flowers. ask your pastor to conduct the HM... it'll be very meaningful....

Hi Martha

If u do have ur HM at the hotel, i think it does help save lotsa costs! Coz since the banquet location wld oredi be decorated, you can save on deco costs if you were to haf a separate one in church. Also you can ask your guests to arrive at 6pm, so it prevents the dinner fr starting late? Coz your guests wld oredi be present for the HM.

I think the only concern abt this, is for the banquet's deco & set-up to be ready for the HM & banquet by 6pm.

It wld be of coz much more meaningful to have the HM in church, but if cost is a great issue, just have the HM and banquet at one location. Know of someone who had both HM & dinner at Orchid Country Club. Very nicely done up, esp with the lawn service!

As for the fake-eye lashes, they wld only insist for the PS. I just had mine, and I think they really helped to make the eyes look much bigger & brighter, esp towards the end of the day when you're all tired. But for AD, I personally wouldn't do tt, abit fake?

timminbuzz

Hi mayelene...=)

I'm also thinking of TTC's chapel. Was wondering what you think of it? And what's the cost of the reception?

mayelene

hi timminbuzz....
i think ttc chapel is beautiful. the prayer garden outside is oso beautiful. =D
reception should be normal cost, maybe cheaper than what u can cater outside. i haven finalise the menu for reception so cant fill u up on that. sorry

aimee

hi dear sis,
hope you all are doing fine and making progress on your preparations?

cookies_gal,
of cos remember you

Recently tried Neo Garden's buffet @ friend's full month...not bad, nice!

hi martha,
like what mayelene said, i think HM in church is very meaningful...and of cos other than the physical support from the bro/sis in church, here you see the support from us!

dun worry abt the HM order. i was like you all, dunno anything...it's the pastor who briefed us

And of cos attending more weddings = gaining more experience!

hi mayelene,
wah, how come the makeup artist got charge per session one? Fake eyelash also got $$??

i can only remember paying for the ampoule...

Anyway, just found out recently that some pastors dun do solemnisation outside of their churches....

hi mehmeh,
my colleague din hv the fake eyelash...but i did hv...she also did double eyelid for me too!

Really makes the eyes look round and big!

hi timminbuzz,
reception is dependent on your guests and the menu / caterer you are getting...

relorta

i m new to this thread.jus chance upon it...

think i can actually learn a lot from here just by reading the past posts...

Hi dears

Hmm, next on my To-Do-List, wld be finding card printers. Anyone has Printer contacts that are able to do postcard invites at $0.30 or there about?

demure

mehmeh

chk out hi-tech (forgot full name. they are based in AMK).....they are doing my hotel inserts for only $90 for 300 pcs....

worry

hi marilyn,

i also thought it's a form of respect. but i have a christian fren who has been a jie mei a number of times for a christian bride, says that she never see a christian bride kneel down in front of the elders to offer tea. Maybe will ask my counsellor abt this.

xocross

hi S

really? i did leh. =)

traditionally, to kneel before a person is to elevate the person to a higher level of social status. that's why we kneel before the Lord to sing worship and praise unto Him as a mark of our reverance for His awesome status.

if mere kneeling is a form of worship then we cant sing along to commercials coz singing is a form of worship to the Lord too. and we cant raise our hands to flag for a cab coz raising of hands is an act of worship too isnt it? in essence, kneeling is not worship just because i kneel before the Lord as an act of worship to Him anymore than when i say i dance to the music it doesnt mean dancing = music.

besides, the bible teaches that what you eat cant make you unclean, it's what's in your heart isnt it?

however, if you feel you will stumble your family members then dont do it. if it's non essential i dont see why not? =)

Rom 14:20 - Rom 14:21 (NIV) says
"20Do not destroy the work of God for the sake of food. All food is clean, but it is wrong for a man to eat anything that causes someone else to stumble. 21It is better not to eat meat or drink wine or to do anything else that will cause your brother to fall."

but yea, do check with your pastor. =))))))

hi christine! welcome to this thread!

havent been in here for some time. how's everyone's prep coming along?

does anyone have any advice when is a good time to book caterer? my wedding is in sept. am thinking of mid april. is it too early?

marilyntay

Hi SL,

You may want to go for the outdoor wedding fair at fort canning during 24-26 Apr. Free admission. You may be able to get some discount from the caterers over there too. Sept is consider as a 'peak' period and most caterers will be very busy. So it's better for you to book earlier and apr is a good time.

xocross

oh yes! thanks for the reminder marilyn... heard that sept is pretty hot month for wedding. yeeks! =) i'm looking at CDCS. will call them up next week! =)

love!

small_one

Hi Christine

Welcome to this thread. We're all learning from each other, so dun be surprised if some of us pick up some planning tips for you.

Hi SL

I do agree with you. Just to add a little. God looks at our hearts, not our works. Although certain acts do stem from our hearts, but if our hearts are right before God, and we do know that we kneel before our elders, not to worship them, but to give them their due respect. Personally, I think it's ok. But all these 'can-or-cannot-dos' are just personal convictions. What matters afterall is your conviction.

One example: In the bible, Samson (one of the judges) was set apart for the work of God. The angel, who relied God's message to his parents, said that Samson was not to drink and cut his hair. But does that mean that Samson truly cannot drink alcohol? No. In those days, water is laced with alcohol to purify and kill bacteria. Even water has alcohol, so if Samson was so religious, he would have died a long time before he could be a man, due to dehydration. Tha message given to Samson's parents was not against Samson drinking alcohol, but rather, it was a message agst drunkedness.