Christian Brides

Most welcome SL...

We only get married once in a lifetime... guess we should put in our 100% in the preps eh?

hi SL,

tink u better call them to arrange at least u knw yr avail. dates....

yes the $$ covers everytin...
i dun hve banquet though but i tink usually pple do get enuf to cover the dinner too unless its held at 6* hotels...

dun worri... the Lord will surely bless u jus like He did for us...

hi kysha and js,

so sorrie i didnt kip the order from Lavish... the setup was very nice with nice floral deco.. i asked for lilies with white and green color theme and they did it accordingly...
definitely no regrets...

Hi SL

Thanks for the idea... hm, will keep working on my 'psycho' techniques on my FH... afterall we've got more than 2 yrs to plan the wedding... more than enough time to work my ideas into him... haha... :D

Hi syt

PTL for your tesimony... however, what's lavish dine (caterer or restaurant)? btw, what did you do for your wedding day? haha... need to collect ideas... :P

hi ivy,

lavish dine is a caterer.... hmm... didnt do any tin special on my wedding day leh... wat kind of areas r u looking at? can help u tink though...

Hi syt
Congrates for ur BIG DAY! May i know how much did u spend for the entire catering? how many ppl did u cater for? thanks!

Hi all (used to be 'Lynette', now 'Netty'),

have not been here for quite sometime, so here are my updates:

Date: 7 May 05
BS: Zann and Denn
Ceremony venue: Newton Life Church
Dinner: Si Chuan Dou Hua Restaurant
Photographer: Jon Keng
Lovenest: Serangoon
Honeymoon: TBC

hi Candy!

Yes! it was a tiring search and long waiting time before we finally confirmed our church booking.

How's yr prep coming along? abt 3-4 months to go!

hi netty,

it's 6 mths lah! heheh...
i'm done with my PS and have selected e photos. Now, looking into the design of my invitation cards, caterer, etc.
how abt u?

Hi, i'm getting married in Jan 2006. Looking for a church with garden setting - hoping to do my wedding service in a garden setting, within a church compond (followed by a luncheon).

I have checked out Changi Prison Chapel, nice. But hopes to have more options to explore. Can anyone advise please.

hi syt

sorry for late reply.

i'm still in the midst of psycho-ing my FH to do away the sit-down banquet. but we have no arguements about the day session...

our rough idea is : fetch bride (me) - church (holy matrimony) - reception - tea ceremony

better still if can do like Evelyn Tan and Darryl Lim's wedding... do holy matrimony in the evening...

Ivy

then maybe you can consider rasa sentosa. my friend who is getting married in july is holding her HM by the pool/lawn and then dinner after that. you can replace dinner with tea reception. =) just an idea.

zonkie

MM is not going to throw in an extra room for us. =( very disappointed. i guess everyone's package varies?

Hi maeazuka,

Can check out Armenian Church at Hill street. They have a nice garden.

SL,

I guess. Maybe becos ours is a weekend package, easier for them to throw in the extra room since the rate is higher.

Hey gals, wondering if you could give some advice.

I am supposed to go for one of my good friend's wedding in Melbourne less than one month before our AD. It is not a concern for us but apparently, it is a major no-no according to chinese superstitions to attend another's wedding one month before and after the actual day.

Since both our parents are non Christians, they are very strongly against us going for the Melbourne wedding and do not want my friend from Melbourne to attend our wedding as well.

I will really like to attend the wedding since we have been good friends since Secondary school. Any ideas how to handle the situation?

hi zonkkie
this is just my opinion... just stand firm in your faith and conviction. by succumbing to pressure your parents may think their superstition has more say. and they may continue to impose more. so where do we draw the line?

just like the almanac. i was in despair because i absolutely do not want my parents to check the almanac. whether my marriage works out or not is through the fear of the Lord and our commitment to each other. i tried talking my mom out of it a few times but it didnt work and i didnt want to offend my parents. so i prayed that God will help her change her mind about the almanac. and guess what? the next day she actually commented that it was too troublesome! and because of that, she is also not checking the auspicious timings for groom to fetch the bride etc etc etc! Praise the Lord!

i really thank God for the favour coz i know on the actual day there will only be evidences of God's blessings and not the influence of other religions. so if my marriage works out (and it will by God's grace), all glory will be attributed to Him and not the almanac! =)

i have many other testimonies to share about how God helped me through my wedding preps but hee. i'll just stop at one!

hope this helped! there is power in prayer. and of course, our parents love us and are generally understanding. =)

provs 16:3 "Commit to the LORD whatever you do, and your plans will succeed."

all the best!

Hi SL

Just to share a little...

My FH spoke to my mum about the banquet 'gritty stuff' last yesterday... infact, my mother prefers to have a simple wedding for both of us, so that she can invite all her friends, without having to do the lousy taks of allocating seats for the banquet (PTL!!!)

So, the problem lies with my FH now..., that is, if he still pushes for a banquet at night...

My only headache now is to choose between doing my holy mat in a church or at Rasa... Attended my friend's wedding at Rasa in the evening... it looks great with the sunset, but no evening breeze...
was perspiring a lot...)

hi ivy

why is your FH so insistent? perhaps it is his parents' idea?

both my FH and I initially just wanted a church wedding too but our mothers were evidently disappointed. being the first to get married on both sides, i suppose it is their desire to involve their relatives and friends. =)

we didnt want to disappoint them so we agreed.

i agree about the perspiring bit... haha. think singapore is not suited for outdoor weddings.

my sis childhood friend did it at jurong bird park. heard it went very well. not sure about the sun tho. =)

guess wedding is once in a lifetime and we all hope it will be done the way we dream it to be. =) but after this short 2 months, i realised that it is a community affair. i've "kan kai" already. hahahaha...

btw, ivy, i think your FH is very brave. hahah.. my FH leaves it to me to talk to my parents and i leave it to him to talk to his parents! =P

hi SL

well, so far, it's all been his own ideas...

wanted to arrange for our parents to meet for discussion (besides discussing about the banquet)... then my FH proudly declares (to me) that my parents can direct all their questions and demands to him...

in the end, he took the initiative to ask my mum last night, while she was browsing through some books. after discussing briefly, i realised that my FH was the real fussy one, who wants the banquet. Maybe cos he's the eldest and the only son... and besides, he's Teochew, so more hao lian...

hi ivy

=) your thread made me smile... you sounded so pouty. =)

dont fret... when my parents and i have differing opinions, i will retreat and re-strategize... i have a BIG problem (wrt tea ceremony) i havent resolved yet... and i'm using time to placate my parents for the moment coz i've thot of a solution already (another miracle!). =) and guess what?! my wedding's in 5 months! time is running out!

yours is in 2007 right? dont have to make and commit any decisions now. things can always change. =) just take this time to discuss and find out what each other's dream wedding is like and agree on common ground. remember that it's his wedding as much as it is yours. =)

when i have conflicts (normally with parents' expectations), i remind myself that wedding is a one day affair but relationship is a lifelong one. much as i want it my way (very much in fact), i dont want the relationship of both families to sour even before it begins. through this i inevitably become more respectful, tactful and careful with what i say to all involved (FH, in-laws, parents, siblings even!). i learnt this through the hard way (long story). =(

if you wanna chat, PM or email me! =)

love!

hi SL,

haha... not pouty lah... just really know what he wants... cos he claims that he's doing the H.M. for me, but he's pretty insistent on wanting it his way...
(._.")

so, now can only pray hard hard that he'll leave the entire wedding into my hands... (muahahaha!!!)

hahaha... =)

ivy, you're so cute. =) all the best then! =) btw what does him doing the H.M for you mean?

zonkkie, you're welcome! it's funny how our parents can be so modern, nice and understanding but when it comes to wedding all of a sudden they start imposing superstitions, traditions, culture and whatnots! @_@

i have one wedding to attend a month before mine and 3 1-2 months after. my mom hasnt said a word and i hope she never does! hahaha...

SL,

ya... they can be very touchy also. Sometimes just one to explore options and ask them whether can we Do ABCD then they start to jump already.

I think doing the H.M for Ivy means that initially he dont want HM but Ivy insisted... er... something like that la.

hi zonkkie

haha... sorry but you are half right... i didn't insist on having the Holy Mat (H.M.). He wanted it also, but he claimed he's doing it for my sake. (duh?!?!?!)

zonkkie

sometimes i dream of eloping then come back with marriage cert and all! hee.

Ivy

i thot HM is like the most impt of all christian marriages? =) dinner, party etc can forgo but not HM?

Hi SL

yup HM is the most impt of a Christian couple's wedding. I wanted it. But my hubby's initial attitude twds it was: if it's possible not to have HM, then do away with it. but my cg, my mother and myself felt strongly against it. so now it's I want, and he also want. hahaha... :P

hi does anyone know where i can buy the teapot for tea ceremony? anyone will do izzit? or there is special teapot for tea ceremony?

Hi SL,
I've seen it in ChinaTown before... can't remember where though... maybe you can try shopping around for it?

Hi SL

As for teapot, if you don't mind the distance, I saw a shop at Holiday Plaza (JB) selling all AD related items, including teapots and traditional dowry. Maybe you want to check it out? If I remember correctly, it should be on the ground floor, where there's a lot of promotional items going on sale in the atrium.

But the shop is not in the atrium. It's got its owm brick and mortar shop... when you look in, it looks abit like those shops selling joss sticks and stuff, cos it very red in the interior and the shopfront. Dun be mistaken. The redness comes from all the red stuff needed for the traditional wedding.

You can identify it, as it displays all the teapots, sewing kits, etc at the shopfront in red trays.

Anyone doing AD without banquet here?

I need ideas to plan for my AD, as my parents decided to forgo the banquet on AD. I am currently torn between having a church wedding, followed by buffet reception (which is what I did for my ROM)and my second option is to have a beach or garden wedding.

ivy, i must say you are very resourceful! =) thanks for the tip!

oh. no wonder your FH initially didnt want HM coz you already ROM in church. =) how come didnt do banquet/tea ceremony then but wait til 2007? hope i'm not being too inquisitive.

how about a poolside/lawn party? but that will be a small scale or private one. or how about a dinner/lunch buffet with live jazz band/perfomances/games? it will be interactive and you can get your friends to share about you and FH. that will be very romantic. provided they dont sabo you by spilling your deepest darkest secrets! =P and you and your FH can share the first dance... it will be very classy too!

you can hold it at the huge pavillions along pelawan beach at sentosa. i saw a caucasian wedding held there once. it was very laid back and classy with the sun setting in the back drop and guests were mingling. some were holding champange glasses along the beach too. you can have a hawaiian or gypsy theme and provide leis or garlands of flowers for yours guests to wear! very un-singaporean and unconventional. =)

dang... my parents prefer banquets. haha. =P maybe my anniversary i will do that to make up for my inability to do it my way now. hee.

hi SL

I happened to be shopping with my family at JB over the weekend. In fact, my mother was the one who found the shop and brought me there to see. It's a lot cheaper than those selling in our Chinatown.

As for my AD, I did think about renting those gazebo tents and do my holy mat away from Rasa. But my husband said that it's too costly (he was doing the comparison of prices with the tentage cost that his camp incurred)

As to why, we didn't do our holy mat then, was because we wanted to get the house first, and we also wanted to lengthen our wedding. So the celebrations don't end in just one day.

Hi Ivy

My cousin had his 'dinner' reception at Burkhill hall in Botanical Gdn. It combined garden wedding; abit of alfresco; buffet; dancing.. Simply romantic!

Basically coz my parents weren't too pleased tt it was too Western, if not it wld have been amongst my opptions. The building is actually an old colonial hse, so its architecture lends itself to the ambience. U can also save on deco, as it is set in Botanic Gdn, so there are orchids as ur backdrop. There's a small aisle in the midst of the Gdn, tt you can do the HM.

Alternatively, there's a Gazebo in the middle of Botanic Gdn.. Very dreamy. But then ur reception wld either be held in tents, which might be costly too...

http://www.sbg.org.sg/

Here's the URL to Botanic Gdn, the main pg shows u the Gazebo

http://www.sbg.org.sg/visitorinfo_venueforrent.asp

Here's the URL to Burkhill hall. The pix also shows the small aisle..

Hope this helps..

Hi mehmeh

Thanks for the info. I've been to the website to view the aisle and other info. However, the rental fees is beyond what my husband and I budgetted for.

Originally, we considered having our AD at CHIJMES, with the old cathedral church as a backdrop and all the lush green lawns, but had to scrap the idea as the rental was $1800/2hrs. Hence, we had our attention turned to other churches with traditional architecture, so far top on our list is St. Theresa Church at my old neighbourhood. Its rental fees is also outrageously low - flat rate of S$100.

I'm kinda greedy - I would like to combine my church-wedding with an outdoor setting... *sigh* if only i can have the best of both worlds... In fact, a lady posted what I really wanted for my wedding in another thread.

hi ccteott

thanks for the info... is it hard to find? cos most of my parents' relatives and friends are living in the west, and some in the east. Hence we wanted to find a central-located church (or beach/garden)

Hi Ivy

I know of a bride who is going to solemnize at the S'pore Art Museum, near Chijmes. U still get to walk down the aisle, and get to have the whole courtyard on the 1st floor to mingle with ur guests & have a reception. The downside, is tt I don't think u can invite too many guests, as the solemnization hall, can accommodate at most 200 ppl.

Where's St Theresa's church?

Hi mehmeh

Yup, was aware that many of the very nice places have a limited capacity for guests... but considering the fact that SAM can hold 200 ppl, it's still quite big... will check out the rental.
Thanks for the info.

Did / Are you use(ing) SAM for your AD? When is/was your AD?

Btw, St. Theresa's Church is the one that Zoe Tay used for her own wedding. It's located near the Tanjong Pagar PSA, at Bukit Purmei.

I went there to recce. It's got a long aisle for the march-in. However, being a Catholic church, it woud mean Jesus on the cross, right? But to our surprise, the church did not have the crucifix in the front of the church interior.

There was this super-huge Jesus standing, clothed, with a horizontal bar behind him. So, it's definitely a plus-point for St. Theresa's Church.

hi gals. i'm new to this thread. i'm oso a Christian btb this june 05. as my home church is small, we have chosen the chapen at trinity theological college @ bukit timah to conduct our HM. it's beautiful, so we can save some $ from decor. =D

Hi Ivy..

My AD is only this coming 03 sept

Having my wedding @ my church... Just found out tt SAM has a very cosy soleminzation venue coupled with outdoor reception area, thru a BTB.

Here's SAM's facilities.. I think if you hold in the evening, it wld be so romantic! Check out thru the photogallery
http://www.museum.org.sg/SAM/profile/facilities.htm

The charges are also available on the website..
Have fun searching for your perfect venue

hi mehmeh

Thanks for all the help that you have rendered.

All the best for your wedding and may God bless you and your HB abundantly in your marriage.

hi zonkkie

just thot i will let you know that i will be postponing my wedding to sept... =)

so if you still wanna use Grace Methodist Church you can give them a buzz over the weekend (coz i havent cancelled my booking yet).

nope dont mind. =)

our parents preferred it over the weekend so they got their way. =) anyway, it's good too coz my FH's fav cousin cant join us if it is in june. and i guess my helpers dont have to take leave to help out.

everyone is happy so i cant complain! =P

oic...

but having your AD postponed, will that have any negative effects in your planning? however, it does give you more time to confirm your choices.

hee i just called my photographer, pastor, bridal studio etc to confirm if they are available at a later date. thank God they are! =) phew... esp the photographer... =)