Christian Brides

ewwgetoffme

oh ya sisters!
anyone used tulips on their wedding day? how long can they last? would it be a good idea if when i'm not using them, i put it into any available fridge? or will they be too cold until they wilt and die?

yuene

A great love song from Phantom of the Opera is 'All I Ask Of You'. Nice song, but not advisable if you want to sing it because it really hits some high notes.

Ooh I love tulips! I'd have liked to use them for mine, but I heard that they tend to wilt fast, especially in our weather. I suppose the best thing is to use them for decor instead, if your venue is air-conditioned, as it'll mimic the actual natural surroundings better, thus prolonging the lifespan of the flowers.

hislove

Hi Sharon,
So does that mean tulips would not make gd wedding bouquets?
My wedding in Oct, so that would be autumn.
What flowers would thus be considered seasonal and cheaper?

wedding_girl

yep, agree that frank sinatra, ella fitzgerald, nat king cole, and all the others from that era are really nice. for something more modern, can try michael buble, norah jones, diana krall, lisa ono, harry connick jr. essentially these are the jazzy kinda music. most CD shops would have such CDs.

tulips are really nice! but i've heard too that they're not lasting. even if you were to use them for decor, doing decor the night before would be slightly tricky. i'm sure they'd still be alive, just that they might not look so vibrant.
jess, most seasonal flowers aren't cheap. cheaper flowers would be the usual roses etc...

ewwgetoffme

hey sisters, thanks for replying my question.

my wedding would be in november, but i was told by a florist that tulips are available all year round. just have to inform the florist when i need it and they'll order form overseas (at a cost). i would really like to use them for my hand bouquet but aiyaaaa why do the wilt fast?? i don't like roses and lilies for weddings, so i wouldn't carry those. was really hoping to carry tulips. my favourite flower is edelweiss, but it's not very available, so my favourite 'singaporean flower' is baby's breath. i did read that even though it's quite a 'supporting role' kind of flower, it can be used as a main piece but only for decorative purposes. carrying a handbouquet full of baby's breath seems like a nono. however, i really don't mind carrying a bouquet of baby's breath if tulips are that impossible. can spice it up with some other flowers right? any pictures or suggestions? :D

thanks, sisters~

ps - look at this webbie! http://www.homestead.com/topcats/Flowers.html found it quite cute ^_^ awww baby's breath means 'pure of heart', makes me wanna use it even more. seen some photos of purely baby's breath bouquets, seem so bland. but the purplish-pink variety (gypsy rose??) seems so sweet when combined with the white one. hee.

happielee

Hi Lydia, Sharon & Wedding Girl..

Thank you for all the advice! Hee hee the bare truth is I knw nuts abt music...*hint hint* only knw how to listen on radio n then say wah..nice..

If anyone of you have a CD collection & would like to be very nice n kind
to a music clueless person like me,please come to my rescue!

Gd thing flowers are mentioned..am also lookin for a florist to do bouquets and wat not..Hi Lydia,i was given a contact that was supposedly quite nice n affordable,if u wan PM me ok? I intend to check them out soon..

yuene

Jess, I'm not too sure about whether they'll make bad bouquets, but going by our weather, it'll be more difficult to work around them...to be truthful, I'd have loved to use lily of the valley and daffodils, but they're so rare in sg (daffodils can last pretty long, though! I bought one before, and it lasted 4 days before it finally wilted) and my other choice, iris, doesn't wilt; it MELTS! So yeah. Best is to ask your florist for their opinion, they know their flowers better than we do, so they'll be in a better position to give advice.

bigfish

tulips looks good when the petals are closed up... but as far as i know, in hot weather, the petals wld open up and and hence not nice looking anymore.. so i personally think i wldnt go for a tulips hand bouquet.. and if it is for deco for dinner or church, the place got to be fully aircon overnite... cos there was once, i did a tulips deco piece for a friend, i left it in my room overnite and the next morning i couldnt give it to my friend anymore cos the petals opened up and it looks bad...

ewwgetoffme

hey slgerman:
thanks for the offer! my mom's already confirmed my florist, an auntie who is like 'freelancing' florist haha... she used to be a florist lah, but she switched jobs already. she's from my mom's church. she said that i only need to pay for the flowers, she will help me out of love. thank God! :D have to remember to give a gift to her :3

my handbouquet will be done by my BS, the AD bouquet i just need to show them a sample of how i want it to be like and the flowers used and they'll do it for me. siiiighhh now that that i know tulips won't work i really want baby's breath lei, but who carry baby's breath bouquet for AD one?! aaahhh
i don't know why i have a major aversion to lilies and roses for hand bouquet >_<

chendol

yah u can carry baby's breath... I'm sure the BS will be happy to oblige. which BS did u sign up with? u can try surfing amazon.com for flower books then borrow from library.

i dun like lilies too. think they are too big.

lovely_samsoon

dear sisters,

this song has been in my head for the past few days. let's meditate on the lyrics as we remb how our Lord Jesus Christ died for our sins this easter. enjoy the long weekend

Oh The Wondrous Cross

When I survey the wondrous cross
On which the Prince of Glory died
My richest gain I count but loss
And pour contempt on all my pride

CHORUS:
Oh the wondrous cross (Oh the wondrous cross)
Source of life to me
Jesus paid the cost (Jesus paid the cost)
To set this sinner free !

Forbid it Lord that I should boast
Save in the cross of Christ, my God
All the vain things that charm me most
I sacrifice them to His blood (chorus)

See from His head, His hands, His feet
Sorrow and love flow mingled down !
Did e'er such love and sorrow meet ?
Or thorns compose so rich a crown?
(chorus 2x)

Were the whole realm of nature mine
That were a tribute far too small
Love so amazing, so divine
Demands my soul, my life, my all (chorus 2x)

hislove

Dear sisters,
thanks for ur advice on flowers.
I do like roses oso.. esp those pale pink ones..
well.. gonna take up sharon's advice to ask my florist.. hehe..
i only got cut-outs of the flowers I like, just don't noe their name.. haha.. so.. gonna simply just show the pictures.

Yup! like lovely_samsoon reminded us of Christ love for us thru the cross, let's never forget to give thanks, yah?
God bless u all..

hi lydia,

oh u are on a topic i rather like! kekeke.. i like peonies, eustomas &amp; cymbidium orchids for bouquets.. very pretty flowers!
471072.jpg

Peonies
471073.jpg

This is a combi of roses, eustomas &amp; tulips
471074.jpg

Cymbidium orchids
471075.jpg

Eustomas (in a no. of colours), yam roses &amp; *i think* hydrangeas

Hope these help.. or simply, give your eyes a feast *heheh*

wedding_girl

oooh.... so pretty! i like flowers in general, but have always wanted roses for my bouquet and decor. but looking at these, i think i will have a mixture of flowers. i suppose since i'm having a june wedding, more flowers will be available.

lydia, maybe you can have baby's breath and some other flower to make it look more outstanding?

hi weddin girl..

here're a few more bouquets with roses &amp; other species

471100.jpg

Black Beauty Roses, Peonies &amp; Red calla lilies
471101.jpg

Calla Lilies, Roses ,Red Hypericum Berries

hi sharon &amp; bbqueen

hope they brighten ur day &amp; the weekend of the celebration of God's love!

ewwgetoffme

wedding_girl:
dunno how to say leh, just feel like getting baby's breath as a main flower. if add other flowers the baby's breath won't be the lead actress already :p

to all:
may we remember how Christ suffered for us on this special day and not party too much even though it's public holiday. hee.

bb_queen

May I ask if I want to incorporate cake cutting, signing of cert and group photo taking in my holy matrimony? When would all these take place? The sequence of events? Does any of the brides have all these 3?

yuene

I don't have a cake cutting ceremony, but I will be having my cert signing and group photos. According to the order of service that the church gave me, the signing of the register is after the benediction and just before any special items or the recessional (this is for a church wedding). But I think that it'd make a little more sense being just right after the solemnization of the marriage, after you said your vows, exchanged rings and the kiss, and before the scripture reading and exhortation.

Group photos can be taken during after the recessional, what we normally do is to have the newlyweds come back in after the recessional (a bit funny though, so what my friends did instead was to screen a photo montage of them growing up and then the emcee reintroduced them--it was very smooth, no awkwardness at all).

If you're hoping to do the cake cutting at the holy matrimony (the church service), if you have a tea reception, then you can do it then, I think. Hard to cut the cake inside the sanctuary.

blessed_1

Hey Beloved sistas.. Thank God for Jesus on the cross 2000 years ago. He died an orphan so we might be His children. How awesome is the Father's love that He has FREELY lavished upon us, at the cost of His Son's blood. I stand completely in awe of the gr8 love of our Lord and Savior. Will like to share a few lines from a fav song of mine:
" Before the throne of God above
I have a strong and perfect plea.
A great High Priest Whose Name is Love
Who ever lives and pleads for me...

One with Himself I cannot die,
My sinful soul is counted free
For God in Him is satisfied
To look on Him and pardon me... to look on Him and pardon me."

When i first heard this song by Sonic Flood, i jus cried. Even now as I type, my heart is overwhelmed by joy unspeakable and gratitude.

Beloved, as we plan our wedding details, may our eyes never fail to look upon the reason for our union. amen. *hugs to all ma sistas online*

Shalom shalom, precious ones..

ewwgetoffme

BB Queen:
you doing your wedding outdoors, is it? in that case i think you can do it like that-
1. Processional
2. Solemnization
3. Exchange of rings
4. Scripture reading and exhortation
5. Signing of marriage cert
6. Special items
7. Speech by couple, if any
8. Cutting of cake
9. Recessional
10. Photo-taking

above order is quite standard for my church (except the cutting of cake, i just added it in for you hehe). i'm not sure where the benediction comes in, but i remember it's somewhere around #6 and #7
most of the weddings i've attended go like that lah.

ewwgetoffme

hi celeste:
so sorry, my deco is not really DIY (getting my mom's friend to help me) so I can't really help you on this. but remember to check where exactly you're allowed to decorate. (don't think my church allows deco in the sanctuary.) do google martha stewart and visit her wedding website, she has some fabulous ideas.

to mehmeh:
waaaah. now i look carefully at the flowers i feel that my baby's breath bouquet would be very inadequate!!! gyaaaa. haha... my mom would love the bouquet with the yam roses. thanks so much for psoting!

to all sisters:
another breakthrough in my wedding plans! initially i was thinking of going to JB to have my cards printed, but yesterday while i was doing the cards for mother's day, i realised that i totally love the design of the cards i was making! (copied the design off a website hehe.) then i asked my bf, "why not we do this for our wedding invites?" it was so easy and rather cost effective too :D it's just a simple satin ribbon tied across a bi-fold card. the colour co-ordination is very important though! according to my calculations, i'll be spending about $200 on 650 invites, as long as i choose my materials carefully. SO EXCITED. hahaha. suddenly i love making stuff. i'm not very good at it but as long as it's simple enough, i'd love to try! my next project would be angpao box. wheeee~ okay, i'm off to fellowship :D

bb_queen

Sharon and Lydia

Thanks - I find it quite weird to invite the couple back for the photo taking but I also want to have everyone's image captured so that I can see who was present.

angrybride

hi lydia,
thks for the tip, most probably i will use florist(~350). btw, I made my own guest book. those small items like guest book, ang pao box will be easier to DIY..can show me your invitation card? pls email me at [email protected], thks.

angrybride

hi lydia,
thks for the tip, most probably i will use florist(~350). btw, I made my own guest book. those small items like guest book, ang pao box will be easier to DIY..can show me your invitation card? pls email me at [email protected], thks.

wedding_girl

hey meh meh, thanks for the pictures of the beautiful flowers. at least now i know roses don't have to be so boring!

lydia, yeah, think you might need to have some other flowers beside baby's breath to make the bouquet stand out.

hey i agree about the couple walking back in being really weird, but that's what most weddings have done. and i suppose that's the only way to get group shots. unless your reception area has a big space to pose for photos. not sure what i'll be doing yet though.

yuene

Hey girls, making a call for any updates! Will be updating the list at the end of this week =)

I've got some nice photos of wedding bouquets, let's see if I can get them up... how on earth do you get the picture to show instead??

hi wedding girl,

no probs.. just some pix i saved while doing research for mine &amp; my frens

hi sharon,

u can show the pix by clicking on the icon >> upload attachment (at bottom of pg) then u just upload fr wherever the source is
just make sure tt the dimensions are 300x300 &amp; no more than tt. may have to use some editing programme to reduce size of the pix

yuene

Thanks mehmeh! I'll go do some resizing later.

Celeste, ifi you want a cheap florist, you can try Far East Flora, ask for Shellen. I don't have her contact, but she did my friend's wedding and I've heard good things about her. And as what Lydia said, do check out the church guidelines on decor. For eg, the venue I'm using doesn't allow things to be stuck on the pews or candles to be used in the decor. You'll have to convey this to your florist.

If you're thinking of DIY, my suggestion is to either go really simple and classy or try to minimise your use of flowers, unless you have plenty of help. Gerberas and roses are very versatile, hardy and most importantly, cheap; and coupled with nice fillers like baby's breath and even small orchids (like the dancing lady orchid), they can actually look quite nice. Alternatives include hydrangeas and peonies. Hope this helps. I'll see what else I can find.

hislove

Hi Sharon,
what do u mean by cheap florist? Do you know roughly what's the rate? possible for church decor to be less than $300?

Btw.. I think I'm going for pink roses! hehe.. slept on this idea for a few nights, somehow.. just love this classic flower. hehe.

472182.jpg
472183.jpg

chendol

ooh I like the first bunch!

Kinda antique peach. My colour scheme was dusky/vintage pink and brown. pink flowers with brown twigs, brown ribbons and brown pews.

ewwgetoffme

hi celeste:
i can't send you the pictures now because they're still in my camera. haha XD i'll send them to you by this week ya!

wedding_girl:
i'm quite adamant about only using baby's breath :p haha! i feel that my reason is because i like the flower language of baby's breath, and it signifies a kind of resilience and understated beauty. most importantly, it's my favourite flower. i think it's a good flower to represent my FH and i as a couple too! that's why i guess i'll use a baby's breath only bouquet. hoho. however for decor, i'm quite 'bochup' about it because the auntie who's doing my decor has a lot of experience. i'll let her make the decisions because she's the more creative person in the flower aspect :pPP i wonder if i can get the pink baby's breath locally though, they'll add a nice mix of colour instead of a white bouquet. don't know if i'm taking the right approach lei, i seem to think that i don't care whether it's weird/ugly/abnormal, just as long as it suits my personality and taste, i'll use the thing at my wedding! (be it flowers, special items etc.) ahahaha! sounds so slipshod.

jess:
i think the first bouquet is FANTASTIC for a wedding. the baby pink shades in the second picture say 'it's a date!' more than 'it's a wedding!'. but the first bouquet is so... i don't know, alluring? hahaha XD very nice choice.

hislove

Hi twinkle &amp; lydia,
yah! I oso absolutely fall in love with the 1st bouquet! i love wat twinkle says.. vintage pink roses, somehow it jus look classy!
the 2nd bouquet is jus funky.. haha.. the base is actually huge leaves, not the usual wrapping paper or ribbon.

Lydia,
I've never seen baby breath alone as a bounquet, but thot these few might spark some ideas.
U can consider white roses or flowers, or add jewels to ur bouquet of baby breath to bring out the sweetness of this flower!

472241.jpg
472242.jpg

472243.jpg

chendol

i've read in this designer flower book that was featured on amazon.com weddings which i got from the library that an entire bouquet of baby's breath has been done before!

just need to get the right size, so that the effect works out well. can imagine a little halo of little white-pink dots floating in the bouquet, cute!

yuene

Jess, less than $300? Not easy. It's not impossible, but I'm not sure what can be done on that amount. Honestly speaking, $500 is more realistic if you're doing pews, 2 stands and a centrepiece. Try contacting Shellen, she'll provide a better picture of what you can do within your budget. Alternatively, what you can do is not tell the florist it's for a wedding, and just get the centrepiece and do the pew decor yourself...

Anyway ladies, jewelled bouquets are still in fashion! So yes, jewels are a nice way to pretty up your bouquet. I haven't been home for the past night (and probably tonight too =( ) thanks to the flu--can't afford to pass it to my mum--so I'll only be able to upload the photos on Thursday night...

hislove

Hi Sharon,
thanks for ur tips! okie.. I'll contact Shellen and see how. I got another florist in mind. I happened to walk thru Roxy building to Parkway Parade and saw this shop, Heaven's Touch. They have done my wedding venue before, so should be ok. But I've yet to ask the prices.

yuene

Hey, Jess, a couple of ladies over at the Catholic brides thread used Red Box, apparently they can do it for $350. You might want to pop over to ask them for the contact. Cheers.

ewwgetoffme

twinkle:
wow that was a timely piece of information about the books from amazon.com! i'll probably google 'floristry' and try to find it at the library. do you happen to still have the title of the book? thanks so much, your post was such an assurance to me. hehe.

jess:
i really like the jewelled bouquet. so pretty! :D thanks for sharing the photos :D

can't post much tonight. too tired.
good night all!

chendol

I was trying to search for book title also, but couldn't find...

it was quite a while ago since I borrowed my copy from Orchard library - it was a white hard cover, squarish and quite bulky. think it was published in 2004 or later. The main florist featured is this bald guy.

lovely_samsoon

thanks for sharing the pics of the lovely flowers
i am still torn on whether i want to get a florist or a fren's mum to decorate the church. since the church im getting married in is not my home church, i shld ask them where can be decorated as well. in case i cater too much flowers.

p.s: i have been experiencing problems posting on forum for the past few days
any of u got the same problem?

hislove

Hi Sharon,
I just checked out the Red Box website. Apparently, they have a pacakge of $600 for 1 altar table decor, 1 recep table, 2 standing floral arrangement &amp; 20 pews decor.
Still quite steep..
I think I may DIY. While I have time now, I tink I'll learn how to do some decor and try try.. haha.. Seriously, gonna try 1st at least.

Hi lovely_samsoon,
I never face any prob posting. Could it be ur internet connection? Sometimes, could be firewall oso.

hislove

Hi Shalomzoe,
I think there's 2 more shops at Bras Basah that sells unity candles &amp; other church wedding items. There's one at the ground level, just next to Tecman, and another I think on 2nd level.

As for hand bouquets, u don't need to use roses if it's not ur cup of tea. Alot depends on ur own preference. Does the specific flower holds any meaning for u? Importantly, does the flower &amp; the shape of the bouquet go wif ur gown &amp; build. If u're petite, u should not carry too huge cascading bouquet as it'll overwhelm ur look. Then consider the theme &amp; venue of ur wedding. Is it a garden party, a pool wedding or a church one. All these will factor into the choice of the perfect bouquet for u : )

Even Chrysanthemum can make beautiful bridal bouquet (if u can get round to convincing ur church. haha.. as they're often used for chinese traditional temple offering)

472691.jpg

Classic lilies?
472692.jpg

chendol

<font color="aa00aa">wow - mona, that's really pretty!

yah agree with Jess - petite brides should definitely choose a small posy. less is more, with bridal bouquets... you don't want it to overwhelm your gown too!

hislove

Hi Mona,
ur unity candle is so pretty!

Btw.. anyone can tell me what's the purpose of unity candle &amp; how does it feature into the ceremony program?
I heard mostly Catholic couples light the unity candle. (their parents will pass the fire from one candle to the couple)
I abit mountain tortoise ah.. haha..