Christian Brides

yuene

wedding_girl, I haven't quite decided yet, I'm still more inclined to do the Bintan thing, because it's got spas, but I'm a bit put off by the idea of travelling to Bintan and spending a horseload of money...yes yes, I'm a cheapo hahahhaha

hislove

Hi wedding girl,
Ya. one of the diamonds dropped out.. haha.. it's those small kind lor.. they are embedded so seemed quite dangerous. hehe..
Engagement ring kind should be fine as the setting (the claws) holds the single solitaire diamond in. Bigger diamonds usually have at least 4 claws to hold it in. So should not be a problem.

Sorry ah.. scare u a bit.. I tink this situation is unqiue to me..

coco_mybibi

any sisters here want to get block candle and candle holders for unity candles? I will not be having this anymore in my matrimony and so would like to sell them off

ewwgetoffme

hey sharon!
you're still schooling huh? uni? will pray for you ^_^ i hope then when i get back to school for my final year i can concentrate also. haha. school is so stressful T_T panadol menstrual doesn't work for me and neither does ponstan. very serious one my cramps
i have to take synflex or anaflex. but i realised that if i exercise regularly i tend to be able to avoid cramps. last time in sec school every week have PE so no problem. my cramps only started in poly :S have to start exercising otherwise next time i start working every month have to take one day off very troublesome.

jess:
!!!!! how much did you spend on the ring? i'm glad you noticed it. otherwise very sayang! i always thought goldheart is very reputable one :S yest i was browsing through a bridal mag (can't remember it's her world or style) that buy cheap ring better because if lost at least not so heartpain. it doesn't have to be expensive, as long as the meaning is understood by both parties that's why our rings are less than $20. haha. my friends were so upset but my mom said i did the right thing XD

hislove

Lydia,
My ring cost abt $800++. Wedding bands so my FH want to spend a bit, but not overboard. Ya. Goldheart has one of the best range of wedding bands. Aiyoh.. but sian.. must happen to me. At least they took it back & redo & check properly 4 me. I'm going to paint nail polish top coat over the sides to prevent another possible "mishap" haha.. It worked for keeping diamante & crystals intact. So gonna try..

Aiyoh.. ur cramps sound very bad leh.. Will keep u in prayer. Me & the ladies in my family oso got bad cramps, doc said it's hereditary. If I'm not wrong, I take anaflex oso, Precription from my GP.

U & Sharon still schooling???? Where are u studying??? Wow.. I grad from NUS like a few years back alr.. I feel so "old" haha..
My mum feels I wed late.. haha.. 27 yrs old considered late.. Can't believe it

yuene

Lydia and Jess: ya, I'm still schooling, in NUS, doing my MA. Got assignment due yesterday and I'm still not done! T_T haiz~~ I'm just eating food and more food to comfort myself. This is my second lunch liaoz!

But wah, Lydia, your cramps are so super powerful can? Even ponstan doesn't work?? Goodness.

hislove

Hi Sharon,
wow.. u so clever.. doing MA? hehe.. What's ur major? Can see u really quite stress man.. eating comfort food.. haha..
Take care yah?

yuene

Me, clever??? No way man! I just dunno what to do after graduation so go relief teach for a while then come back to do something while I finally make up my mind with what to do with my life lor... kekeke... I'm doing Geography, with an interest in gender issues and social issues. And ya, I must cut down on the comfort food man. Otherwise I'll be unable to squeeze into my gown!

ewwgetoffme

sharon and jess:
YA i know super powerful right. the first few times it was so bad that i had to cab home from school. i will go pale and want to vomit, then break out in cold sweat. it hurts all the way to the hips and the thighs. i will pray that i fall asleep because once i fall asleep unconscious already, not aware of the pain. my friend's one is worse, actually. mine is not the worst. haha. my mom also had this, so i think it's hereditary. ya jess, mine is also precription but recently, they have stopped working and i can't get them to stop my cramps. jialat. FH says i'm over-reliant already. drug abuse. haha. thanks for praying, jess. appreciate it lots.

sharon you're doing MA huh... waaahhh... XD i don't think i can tahan studying that long. i'm only doing my degree after i get married. but i have to do an additional diploma T_T however it's only one year so not so bad. if anyone wants to hear about my career route can request for it. hahaha. otherwise i will go into another boring long post again :p but one thing lah, EVERYONE (except FH and my parents) that i have told my decision to has said the EXACT same thing. it gets kinda tiring. as if i'm not sure like that. come on, if i can decide to get married at 20, i'm super sure about my life can? plus i didn't blindly decide, God really provides mah.

have to go now, check back with you guys tomorrow. night my sisters

hislove

Hi Sharon,
that's cool.. Geog with interest in gender issues.. u should take sociology! hehe.. that's my major back in uni.. studying is always more fun than working..

Lydia,
sometimes we made certain life decisions which other people ard us won't understand, even people closest to us. But as long as you have the peace of God in your heart and you noe that it's the right thing, then go for it! (without harming humans or animals lah.. haha..)
God bless..

skipperoo

Hey all,

I'm a Christian BTB as well and I'm really thankful that I chanced upon this thread! =) woke up with this compulsion to google some wedding stuff and i guess God led me here! I was really moved by the way you supported each other, as well as the testimonies shared. truly edifying for me!

Wedding is in October and I'm really behind time in my prep work - fell sick soon after being housebound for 1 month+ after surgery. I have yet to confirm my bridal boutique! yikes! yeah you guessed it, i'm a terrible planner. (p.s. lydia, your planning astounds me)

Nevertheless, reading through your posts has helped clarify lots of stuff for me (church prog, invites, catering, etc etc). i was actually taking notes! hee. at least i have a better idea of what needs to be done (and soon too!)

SO, just wanted to say a big THANK YOU cos this has certainly helped to soothe my nerves and give me some direction!

gotta go ready myself for church. have a blessed sunday folks!

violac

hi girls, can i join in this thread as well?
my wedding's in Sep 2007, i realised we have a lot more planning and logistical details to look into... my CG leader just asked if i have spoken to the church about preferred pastor... i didn't even know i have a choice!!

hey sharon, would be great if you could include me in your listing in your next update:

AD: 22 Sep 2007
Church: PLMC (but not having holy matrimony in church premise, will be having garden ceremony before the banquet)
Banquet: The Sentosa Resort & Spa (Beaufort)
BS: Divine Couture
Photo/Video: Avenue 8 / -
Honeymoon: Undecided
Lovenest: Punggol
Invites Printer: Undecided

thanks so much ya!

ewwgetoffme

yay, got new people. (waves to Skipperoo and Stickymouse!)

one thing about this thread is it's so quiet during the weekend. THAT'S THE WAY! XD bet all of you are serving at church. good good.

jess:
thanks for the encouragement!
i think as time goes by, the people who understand get more and more, so it isn't too bad. by the way, what's happening is that i'm doing media and communication in S'pore Poly, but right after i graduate i'm going to switch to teaching autistic kids. (church friends naturally understand more, so actually most of them even though they exclaim at first they are quicker to understand and accept.) usually people are extremely surprised and always say, "then you study mass comm for what?" ya, repeat and repeat lor. can get tiring. but thanks!

skipperoo:
hi there! my FH is freaked out by my planning because i'm faster than him. he say he can't keep up. haha XD hope that you have recovered from surgery!!! don't worry about not finding boutique, it isn't too late yet. 'photoshoot season' is not at it's peak, hehe. (because now it's still a little rainy.) i think i love to plan my wedding that's why i'm so enthusiastic about it. ask me to plan corporate events i get very sian. hahaha. if my planning astounds you right, you should see my mom's. she has already choped for me my musicians and trying to 'force' me to chope the wedding car. i haven't even chope anything myself, planning stage only. haha! my AD is Nov 2008 somemore. but thank God both my parents are excited lah, didn't really expect it because i'm the only daughter and i'm getting married so early. hehe. oh ya, but if you wanna MTM your gown, must quickly find a place to do it okay!

hey stickymouse!
welcome~ i'm the talkative talkative one here and i can't resist saying hello to you. hahaha. all the best with planning ya! ^_^

sharon~ i finally decided that i will ask you to add me to the list too. kept putting it off because it's in 2008 and i wanted to go pre-marital counselling first, but don't think there's any harm lah.

AD: 1 Nov 2008
Church: Calvary Pandan Bible-Presbyterian
Venue: too early to confirm but should be church haha
BS: My Bridal Room
Honeymoon: Tokyo

that's all i have now, next time then update you. hehe. going off now, see you sisters tomorrow~~~

ps - really love sharing here. dunno why. like fellowship, but online. hee.

wedding_girl

lydia, i didn't realise your AD was only in Nov 08! i thought i was the most kiasu bride (my AD is Jun 08) around. you beat me to the title! haha. my FH always calls me kanchiong spider... anyway, regarding your career choice and all, most people don't use what they study anyway! study for what right... hee

welcome Skiperoo! yeah, you gotta start looking around for your BS once you're well. in fact, you can already start reading the numerous threads in the forum. easily take you a month! haha.

Stickymouse, *wave* hi! fellow divine bride!

ewwgetoffme

hello wedding_girl!
i didn't realise you were gonna get married in 08 too. YAY! got kaki. haha. thanks for the insight on the career choice. makes my day man XD

violac

alright!!! i'm going to tag this thread to My Favourites now hehee

hi hi lydia q., i am very talkative too! i love sharing!!!

wedding_girl, so you did sign up for DC afterall!! the thread there a bit quiet ya, after a while all that we talk about is gowns... a bit lose interest already hehe

echoemotion

Hi all, I'm also a Christian BTB. Just want to thank all the contributors for their wonderful feedback.

My wedding is in Nov. Most of the things are in place just that I've not gotten my list of helpers yet.

I guess what I have learn so far is to know what you want at the end of the day and stick firmly to the decision. But of course, to also remember to seek God for approval.

But its easier said than done. I'm still deciding whether I want to engage an expensive good photographer for my AD. Gonna cost me at least 2K for everything.

Turns out that wedding planning is like a financial planning in disguise o_O

hislove

Hello everyone... (easier considerin so many people have responded since my last posting. hehe..)
Welcome welcome Michelle, Stickymouse & skipperoo!
Do share abt ur experiences thus far... I agree with Lydia abt tis place like a place of fellowship tho' it's a virtual one.
The ladies here have made me very very comfortable in sharing coz of their encouragement!

Summerice,
Welcome home! Hope ur hm has been fun! actually sure wan lah! hehe..

Michelle,
Ya. Wedding planning is like financial planning in disguise.. but i thank God for my FH who's brilliant at budget control.. haha..
I'm the creative one in our relationship! hehe..

Btw.. just want to share wif u ladies that I'm so blessed to have booked a value for $ hm package at NATAs over the weekend.
It's a Bali private villa wif own pool. hehe.. We paid less than $2000 for all inclusive pacakage. (SQ airfare + villa upgrade + spa + hm perks). Realy thank God coz we only managed to secure it after spending like 4 hrs walking in & out of the fair. hehe..

wedding_girl

ya lydia, we are the 2 kiasu brides!

stickymouse, yup i did! signed up during the show. yeah, a bit quiet, and i can't participate much since i haven't started trying on gowns etc.

welcome michelle!

jess, your HM deal sounds quite good!

oh yes, congrats and welcome back summerice! hope you had a lovely time on your HM.

chendol

<font color="aa00aa">Greetings my dearly beloved sisters!
Thanks for all the sweet wishes. We had a lovely lovely wedding.
kao_kiss2.gif

Wedding girl,
Another similiarity!! I'm brethren too! Or rather have been for 13 yrs, since I've now moved over to hubby's presbytarian church. Heh was from B(Frankel Estate)C. I think i might know a few ppl you know. PM me.

Back here to testify of God's goodness and to encourage you all in this short term journey to the wedding and the longer term journey of marriage!

Our guests told us that they Really Loved our church wedding, that the sermon was theologically sound and succinct whilst being appropriately funny and personal, our speeches were touching and the march-in live singing ethereal... praise God. Especially pleased that even my non-Christian relatives and friends said they really enjoyed the ceremony and found it meaningful. This morning one of my non-christian colleagues asked for my pre-church ceremony music CD, which was wholly christian. So praying that the songs will witness to him too!

We tried to keep the dinner banquet simple, but guess the pomp was part of us fulfilling our filial duties to parents who worked so hard to bring us up. There was a slightly mad rush to finish taking photos with all the tables and the usual hiccups with the complexities of seating arrangements at chinese dinners, but my photographer said at 11pm that hey, you guys are still beaming megawatts at the end of the long day, so you're doing OK!

Overall, i felt that our wedding was a celebration not just of our love, but also the love shown to us by all our friends and family, some who traversed long distances to witness our exchange of vows. Even the cards and gifts sent from those who could not come touched our hearts. Even as I went back to work, emails from friends and family saying how happy they are that we got married affirms our decision to embark on this sometimes blissful, sometimes arduous journey.

Although the compliments on make-up, gowns, singing etc does wonders to one's ego, guess it's impt to keep focus on the significant parts of the wedding, not just the pretty peripherals, happifying though those are! Amidst the beautiful simple flora and brown church pews, the flickering tealights at dinner, the roses in full bloom, the most impt part of our wedding memories remain our promises made before God and man. We love, because He first loved us. And we trust that that thought will carry us, and all you lovely brides, through. </font>

hi summerice,

Welcome back!! How was the honeymoon?

hi twinkle,

Praise God for His hands in the wedding.. Agree, a wedding is also a celebration of love of friends &amp; family

Pray tt God would continue walk alongside this journey with you 2

lovely_samsoon

hi twinkle,

great to hear that ur wedding went well
praise God

can i have the title of the CD for the pre-ceremony songs u mentioned? its great how music ministers to pple

lovely_samsoon

i wanna share about my sunday sermon to u gals. the passage was on Nehemiah ch 4. the part of the message that spoke immensely to me was to ask for God's presence in the midst of trouble and difficulty.

Pastor shared a story of how another pastor who was organising a large scale 3-day evangelical outreach programme that was held outdoors. so he prayed real hard to God for good weather so that the event would be successful. also, cox the equipment, stage set up and all were expensive. Day 1 - it drizzled and the pastor was disappointed and prayed some more. Day 2 - drizzle turned to rain heavy downpour. undefeated, the pastor prayed some more for good weather. Day 3 - thunder storm.

Morale of the story - perhaps the pastor should have prayed for God's presence rather than the absence of rain. for the best evange event without God, is nothing. in the midst of trouble, we should pray even harder for God's presence to be there. it is not so much the event itself but the lessons to be learnt and the faith journey.

that spoke to me a lot coz in the crazy midst of wedding prep, renov etc... it is easy to lose sight of God's hand upon the marriage. i agree with twinkle that althought pple's comments on pretty make up and gowns etc.. are all good. but it is impt that all guests should be able to see God's love, the union in Christ. that is more impt that other things. i'm veri encouraged to re-focus my wedding prep and rededicate to God. you see... coz i'm a perfectionist by nature so would have high standards for everything to run smoothly and everything to be a-ok, tip top condition. but i guess all that is not so impt now. no wonder pple always advise me to ENJOY the prep process and the day itself. forget abt all other details. i am truly trying hard.

chendol

Hi lovely samsoon,

Actually my hubby and I compiled the pre-wedding music ourselves... a mixture of songs from Steven Curtis Chapman, Corrinne May, and this wedding CD a friend lent to us with songs like "God causes all things to grow" and "How Beautiful" etc... It's most meaningful when you take the songs that both of you like and enjoy listening to... more personal.

ewwgetoffme

hey twinkle:
thank God that everything went well. His plan is flawless, eh? ^_^

stickymouse:
eh, if you didn't say you were going to add this thread to your favourites i would have totally forgotten that i can do that. i'm going to add it into my favourites too. (it's so strange, everyday i add wedding infomation to my favourites but i just didn't realise i can do the same to this thread. ahah!)

jess:
waah. four hours. but good deal leh! think my parents also went to bali for honeymoon. sponsored by their church friends. so nice right. mom asked me to go to the travel fair too, but i don't want to get any flight and accomodation packages. i don't mind getting a cheap ticket lah (so maybe going to next year's fair to look) but i don't want to think that 'oh so sayang i can actually stay in this hotel because it's under my package but i'm staying in a budget inn'. want to be adventurous during honeymoon. FH and i are that kind of people. hehe.

michelle:
i know what you mean ;) how much are you intending to spend in total? :-O you can PM me if you don't wanna disclose it here~ ^_~

echoemotion

Lydia Q: mine's a DIY package. So far here's my expenditure:
- $700 on both gown and makeup
- $88 on shoes: got this at a steal! it was $129

- $499 on rings from Tianpo
- $500 all floral deco (church n car), hand bouquet, corsages
- arnd $2300 on actual day photography. I'm quite willing to splurg on photos cos they will be the only visible memory I have of the wedding... just that its so much more!

lovely_samsom: that's a nice piece of sermon. many times we just obmit God from the picture because it gives us a fake illusion of having control over the situation.

twinkle: agree with you. I am really touch to see how my friends volunteered their services. One of them even took on the role as my wedding planner and florist. She has helped me cut costs on floral arrangement - one more thing off my worry list! Friends are great gifts from God.

wedding_girl

twinkle,
congrats! glad that everything went well for you. and God's blessings as you and hubby begin this new life togther.
finally! another brethren, haha. i've been in PPH since i was born. my parents were the first few members in the church.
how was shang? how many tables did you have? am worried too that i won't have time to finish the photo taking. currently i have 60 tables already, with the potential to increase. i was joking to FH before that i really wanna eat the food, can we do without the photo taking? haha.

michelle,
how are you managing to spend $500 on flowers? past weddings i've helped out at only had a budget of $200 for church deco, and i told my mum quite proudly that i was willing to spend $500 for church floral deco and she laughed, she said too little. can you share how you saved on that?

it's really quiet here today...

happielee

You guys are so animatic and funny...I really enjoyed reading all of it...

Some of you may have a slight recollection that my wedding is on 3 June..actually just a day after Clueless if i did not remember wrongly.

I would like to thank God for the fantastic premarital course we went to (by TOUCH),we prayed tat the instructors will be funny and interestin n guess wat? They were fantastic!They shared alot of personal experiences and we learnt alot,we also did a personality course which reveal certain aspect of each other we need to take note of.

So sistas,if you have not attended one,go for it!

As for wedding preps, guess wat? My wedding gown is still in design stage..hahaha...it is a long story.Everything really fall into place,hmm..must be THE one up there again. Thank you huh. Meanwhile, will go take a look at my completed evening gown tonite...cannot wait!!!

Hi wedding girl,
I have some contacts for florist,if you wan, PM me oki?

violac

lovely_samsoon,
i felt so touched and encouraged when i read your posting. i agree with you. sometimes i ask myself what would happen if God is not present at our wedding. i believe the wedding CAN still carry on, but my heart is going to be so empty and sad, as if we're marrying without our Father's approval. i definitely want His presence to be there.

twinkle, fellow DC bride! *wave wave*
great to hear that your wedding went on so well!

slgerman, we signed up for marriage prep course too! i can't wait for it to start, really looking forward to taking the next step and the relationship to a deeper level with my fiance.

by the way, if anyone has "Be Thou My Vision" mp3, can you pls let me know? i have various versions but have found none suitable as a march-in song.

bigfish

hi...

it's interesting to read how we, christian brides are handling all the preparations... though as much as we want our weddings to be as beautiful as we dream of it, we all also recognise that God's blessing is ultimately the main thing of the wedding.. am encouraged by the postings.. thanks...

my wedding wld be in jan 2008.. i've settled the banquet, church and bridal studio.. still got more details to sort out and settle.. but loving every min of the preparations, cos it is jus so exciting !!!

hislove

Hi twinkle,
I appreciate very much your sharing.
Praise God that His hand is upon the both of you on your wedding day &amp; definitely He will continue to watch over His beloved children as they embark on marriage journey together.

A marraige is a healthy 3 persons relationship! hehe.. U, ur hubby &amp; God!

Hi lovely_samsoon,
Ya. I oso very much a perfectionist. So the struggle is often abt relinquishing control &amp; allow God to take control!
I'm in the midst of a job transition on top of the wedding prep &amp; it's has been a tremendously humbling experience to let God be God in the midst of all the changes.
But yes! Like how Moses begged God that he will not proceed where God's presence will not be.. my prayer is that we will not proceed where God's presence will not be.. to desire Himself &amp; none of His goods..

God bless you all, dear sisters in Christ as we learn to submit to Him for all things!

hislove

Hi stickymouse,
I've a musical piece of "Be Thou My Vision". ie. nobody singing kind..
Give me ur email add, I'll send to you.

hislove

Hi stickymouse,
I jus emailed u..
It's a rather short piece tho.. hehe.. but should be enough for jus u walking down the aisle

yuene

Sigh~~ long day today! I woke up really early to finish up my essay (can you imagine??? 1.5K words in 3 1/2 hours lah! I nearly died, can??) AND on top of that a half an hour solo presentation in front of my classmates (and if that isn't stressful enough, there's only 2 of them and my lecturer! AHHHHH) But thank God my lecturer didn't have anything sreiously bad to say about my presentation other than with regards to the essay, and all I need is to make some minor changes! =) Yay! Today has been a really nerve-wrecking day for me... But now I'm going to just sit back and relax for the rest of today (and get some well-deserved beauty sleep!)

wedding_girl

sorry just to sidetrack. how do i activate my PM? i remember receiving them before but it seems people aren't able to send them to me now. really weird.

wedding_girl

sharon,
ah, i think i remember my uni days, sleeping at 4 or 5am to finish up projects then going for the presentation for an 8.30 class.
those were the days... haha.

blessed_1

praise God! so nice to hear such testimonies of God's goodness n His glory in the lives of our new brides in here. congrats to all my sistas here who are getting married this year. My pastor prophecised that this is a yr of new beginings.. how apt for 2007 brides, amen~

btw, are there any wedding songs that u gals can recommend for 1st n 2nd march in? i hate the sappy love songs which have been overplayed at countless weddings. i want something that brings forth the beauty of our God! =)
do recommend ya?
name is Debbie by the way =)

echoemotion

wedding girl: ooh, that's cos my friend is doing the flowers for me. She buys flowers directly from the suppliers. Maybe that's why its cheaper.

This thread is so active! so many messages within such a short period.

Ya, any recommendations for march in songs?

wedding_girl

Michelle,
yup i agree that would be cheaper. i'm getting one of my mum's friends to help out with the deco since she's pretty good with floral arrangements. so i thought $500 would be enough. oh well...

slgerman,
thanks for the offer. since i'm getting church people to help, i think the florists would be much more expensive.

for march in songs, is it always a must to use christian songs? can't think of any christian songs that i wanna use for march in. i actually thought of using classical music, which my friend can help me select. wonder if that's allowed in my church; i think i should go find out.

violac

checking in....

jess, thanks very much for your mp3!!! the musical mood is quite apt except that i can't find a proper timing to start marching in. but i'll still keep that mp3 in mind and i'll see what i can do with it...

wedding girl, it's not a must to use christian songs... just about any song that is meaningful would do (i think). i haven't heard of any church that place restrictions on genre of march-in song. but while your gown is not yet in the oven, perhaps you should check with your church whether they do place restrictions on type of gowns though.

durga, you from NCC??
actually what i bought before is an album of classical compositions (your Air in G, Canon in D etc) mixed with traditional hymns. just that i didn't find any piece that moved me to want to use it for my own march-in.

the last thing i want to play is "From This Moment" by shania twain!!!

violac

anyway, just wanna share with u girls why i chose "Be Thou My Vision". it's the thought of asking God to be our vision in our marriage and future family life. the first stanza goes:

Be thou my vision, O Lord of my heart;
Naught be all else to me, save that Thou art;
Thou my best thought, by day or by night;
Waking or sleeping, Thy presence my light

ewwgetoffme

HELLO SISTERS!

wedding_girl:
you so cute. haha. today was quite busy, that's why didn't come in. now holidays so volunteering at Singapore Autism School to garner some experience (think will join them as a teacher upon graduation), so 9 am to 1 pm burnt. Went down to my BS in bugis to chat with them (build rapport, since i'm quite free anyway, haha) then down to jurong east to go to church for prayer meeting till 9.15 pm. whole day burnt, hehe.

as for march-in songs, it should be fine to use classical music but bear in mind that some classical music may be inappropriate for Christian weddings even though it's wedding music. for example, Bridal Chorus by Wagner (you know, 'here comes the bride', that one) was from a play called Lohengrin, which has some pagan connotations. (according to the background of the play, the chorus was played when the bride was sent to her bridal chamber - her marriage to her groom was an immediate failure.) in a sense, this is classical music that is inappropriate for being played in a church. i have heard Pachebel's Canon in D played during church weddings before. toying with the idea of Air on G (Bach) or Water Music (Handel) right now for my processional. hee.

michelle:
wow you're so power XD i can't decide on whether i wanna have nice AD photography or just a very simple one. i think i don't have preferences regarding AD photography XD i came across this site budgetshots.com the packages look very attractive and i like the style, but then... i don't know lah, i can have AD photography from my BS for only $600. i will pray for God to provide. hee.

can't reply everyone individually, so i'm just gonna yak okay? haha~

my mom's church friends are helping me do the deco and ceremony music. for deco, think my church doesn't allow decoration in the sanctuary, so can cut costs. thank God for talented brothers- and sisters-in-Christ. my budget is around $300 for decoration... a lot of DIY is gonna happen man! i purposely went online and found out how to tie pew bows just in case i need to tie for my wedding. haha XD cut costs cut costs.

march-in songs initially wanted to use 'And can it be that I should gain' for my processional but was advised by the musicians (also friends of my mom's) that it's not very appropriate for wedding. i wanted it initially because of how i feel about the whole affair, but i guess it's not very joyous haha so i probably will switch to 'Like a river glorious' or 'Saviour like a shepherd lead us'. don't know yet, gotta do some research. but as i said, i'm also entertaining the idea of playing classical music. my shortlisted choices are all from the Baroque period. i must read up on the background before i decide T_T

muahahaha. talk so much. i have to go already. tomorrow another loooong day. night, sisters~

ewwgetoffme

oh yes. i wanna add that it's my personal view about the here comes the bride music lah. i just feel that if i know this was the background of the song, i wouldn't choose it. ya lor.

stickymouse:
thanks for the sharing. there is just such a huge array of hymns to choose from. for that we should be thankful, eh?

blessed_1

hey, beloveds!

Hehe..me returned home an hour ago from Care Group session near my place. was so blessed by the sharing! want to share what Visions the Lord put in my heart while we were worshiping earlier.

I saw me walking down the aisle- my bro will give me away as i have no dad.. he is alive bt divorced from mum and mum not keen to invite him since he left when i was still a baby.. long story.

anyways, guess what? i saw Abba Father holding me on the other side of my arm and walking me to the pastor, my fiance, and Jesus! Cos the bible does say we are the Bride of Jesus rite? So i think wat i saw was very apt!

And these words burst forth in my heart- "My glory shall flood through." And that has always been my prayer, even when i was a single- that my wedding will be so glorious, those who have never known Jesus will be touched and those who do, will experience a deeper sense of His love n goodness.

Today, I felt like asking Him to also renew the marriages of married couples at my wedding so that they too are blessed! =) God is good, amen! Felt so loved by Him during care group.. so nice... like a Daddy hugging His girl.

And then it came to my mind- i dun have to do MTM 2 get a dream gown. God Himself will inspire someone there at my BS to make the gown of my dreams. Literally sawing Him stiching smthg. And i was thinking is there any biblical reference to Him doing that? Yes. God made the 1st garment for Adam and Eve in the garden (sheep skin- blood shed by a lamb to stone for sin of disobdience!) deep huh? So while seeing this vision, i also asked God to be my budget manager, my wisdom in decision making, my wedding planner etc.. hehe.. yup, i m one of those kinds who sees Him as my very own Daddy.

You know sistas, i muz testify! God has been opening doors of opportunites n blessing Jessen n me by His grace, thru much favor on me and my fiance.

We were blessed to get a AD PG/VG for literally a fraction of our budget, with some extras thrown in..And best part was- it was NOT from teh works of my hands( i recky this forum and collected like 70 contacts!!)but thru God-incidence! Jessen 'happens' to know this man, who came to the shop near his. They 'happened' to be at teh same coffeeshop at the same time. They 'happened' to talk abt wedding and this man, who my fiance has never exchanged contacts with,whips out his namecard that reveals his profession! AD VG!! And he has a partner he works with and he's a AD PG!! PrAISE Jesus!!! =)

Called a particular florist that was recommended by one of the sistas here. Turns out that place they cannot handle big orders and wedding deco BUT! she referred me to another florist who charged us a special price( favour!), even tho we neva mentioned our budget! Praise God! We later found out she is very reputable and has even covered corporate funtions before!!!
again, it was LOWER THAN what we targetted.

The place i work gave me $50 for getting bronze in some Healthy Lifestyle walk(2006) this month.
This, coupled with the $300 given by one CG member as a 'love blessing', TOTALLY paid for my custom-designed EG at STY*EM*RT, which sells excellent saris (cos i indian, ma, so thot infuse that into my wedding EG, lor. this way, i get a bit more photos since I neva take my BS EG.hehehe)

Oh! and the bridal place i engaged, they have been very easy to neg with! In fact, weneva i said, "maybe i dun need this.. then how?" She AUTOMATICALLY said, "Ok, so for this one, i give u 2-4 more photos, can?" And i neva once had to ask for photos to be given- she freely blessed me!

And even b4 me and fiance went to thsi place, my best frens and i went BS shopping and one of us prayed for favor, that we will b treated well, as we R God's princesses and truly, we got alot of things thrown in for a very good price! =) So all me and fiance had to do was pay deposit n con'd to chill out together for the day. Payment also they v. flexible. Praise Jesus! =)

All these reminds me of the passage He reminded me of when I was pondering over $$$ issues- He said, "Sit still at my feet, just like Ruth at the feet of Boaz(kinsmen redeemer), for I am not jus exceedingly rich, but able by way of relation and also WILLING to provide. Just sit and be still." Sigh.. how not to fall deeper in love with such an amazing God!

So sistas! Dun not limit God! Ask and receive. Seek His kingdom and His righteousness and all THESE things( things that we desire) shall be added unto u! amen! our Daddy God WANTS to bless us- afterall, marriage was His idea and as a Father, He will want NOTHING BUT THE BEST FOR EACH OF US, HIS PRECIOUS DAUGHTERS! amen! =)

gonna sleep now, precious beloveds... shalom!

PS: Stickymouse: yups! me attending New Creation Church.. how abt u, dear? =)

blessed_1

btw, salah spelling a bit here and there cos very zzzZZZZzzz aready.

major typo error:
(sheep skin- blood shed by a lamb to stone for sin of disobdience!)

stone = atone
disobdience = disobedience

hehehe....and of cos all the this was like thsi and the was like teh..

and the last verse: seek ye FIRST(missed this word) His kingdom and His righteousness(which is a noun = Jesus) and all these things (in contect, was refering to material possessions- both wants and needs) shall be added unto u.
hehehe... amen and nite nite

hislove

Hi debbie,
u very cute leh!
Thanks for ur sharing!
Indeed, Praise God! For HE is Good All the Time!
I'm encouraged by how much you desire people who come to your weding to be blessed.
That's the desire of my heart too &amp; my prayer is that God's presence will fill the place!

Stickymouse,
I can suggest you put in the classical piece of Clarke's Trumpet Voluntary before Be Thou My Vision... it'll create a very grand entrance.
Just a suggestion..

Hi wedding_gal,
It's not a must to choose christian songs. But it's good to check with ur pastor abt it. Some churches may insist on either classical or hymns. Gd to find out.
I agree with Lydia, that it'll be wise oso to check out the background of the music piece.

Personally, a gd recessionary piece would be How Great Thou Art. I just love it.. I like tis hmyn alot. It's grand, proclaim the Greatness of God! What a way to walk out as husband and wife proclaiming that God is Good!

I oso still in the midst of searching for music pieces.. quite a tough thing.. but one sister told me.. choose something u like, even if it's played all the time at weddings (e.g. canon in D), coz at the end of the day, nobody will remember but u &amp; ur hubby will, coz it's ur song!

hislove

Lifted the following from a website.
Can consider for ur processional march

Traditional/Classic

1. "Air" (from Water Music Suite), (George F. Handel)
2. "Bridal Chorus" (from Lohengrin), (Richard Wagner)
3. "Canon in D" (Johann Pachelbel)
4. "Procession of Joy" (Hal Hopson)
5. "Rigaudon" (Andre Campra)
6. "Spring" (from The Four Seasons), (Antonio Vivaldi)
7. "Te Deum" (Marc-Antoine Charpentier)
8. "The Prince of Denmark's March" (Jeremiah Clarke)
9. "Trumpet Tune" (Henry Purcell)
10. "Trumpet Voluntary" (Jeremiah Clarke)
11. "Trumpet Voluntary" (John Stanley)
12. "Wedding March" (from The Marriage of Figaro), (Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart)

Traditional Alternatives

13. "Canzon V" (Giovanni Gabrieli)
14. "Coronation March for Czar Alexander III" (Peter I. Tchaikovsky)
15. "Overture" (from Royal Fireworks Music), (George Frederic Handel)
16. "Promenade" (from Pictures at an Exhibition), (Modest Mussorgsky)
17. "Romeo and Juliet Love Theme" (Tchaikovsky)
18. "Sinfonia" (from Cantata No. 156), (Johann S. Bach)
19. "Toccata" (from L'Orfeo), (Claudio Monteverdi)
20. "Trumpet Tune in A-Major" (David N. Johnson)
21. "Sonatas for Organ, Op. 65, No. 3 (con moto maestoso)," (Felix Mendelssohn)
22. "Winter," Largo, (from The Four Seasons), (Antonio Vivaldi)

Contemporary

23. "Appalachia Waltz" (Yo-Yo Ma, Edgar Meyer, Mark O'Connor)
24. "Sunrise, Sunset" (from Fiddler on the Roof), (Sheldon Harnick &amp; Jerry Bock)
25. "The Look of Love" (Dionne Warwick/Burt Bacharach)
26. "The Vow" (Jeremy Lubbock)
27. "To A Wild Rose" (Edward MacDowell)
28. "Flatbush Waltz" (Andy Statman)
29. "Wedding Processional" (from The Sound of Music), (Richard Rodgers &amp; Oscar Hammerstein)

Religious/Sacred

30. "All People That On Earth Do Dwell" ("Old 100th" hymn)
31. "Dona Nobis Pacem" (16th century hymn)
32. "Hanava Babanot" (A Love Song), (Neeman)
33. "St. Anthony's Chorale" (Franz Joseph Haydn)
34. "Hymn Fanfare from The Triumphant" (Francois Couperin)
35. "Scalero de Oro" (traditional Sephardic)