Christian Brides

bigfish

the church that i am holding my ceremony does not allow confetti !!!

think i would DIY the floral arrangements in the church.. do something simple lor.. to keep costs low...

shalomzoe

Hi Mona : Thanks.. It's really pretty...what about the candle stand? Where did u get them from?

Hi Jess : Thanks..i don't mind calla lilies or tulips...yes, i'm kinda petite. Do u by any chance have pics of tulips / lilies? My dinner banquet will be Grand Hyatt. I need some pics to show my BS.

Thanks again gals...

monyetnakal

Shalomzoe, the candle stand was provided by the church.

The deco for my church was provided by the church people, we need to pay $200 for it. The use fresh flowers for the arrangement in the altar table, recep and stand. For the pew they use artificial flowers. The deco was very simple, but nice enough for me. Here are some the photos...

472797.jpg
472798.jpg
472799.jpg

chendol

<font color="ff6000">actually unless you DIY, think $400 is quite the floor for church florals already. The average is $500-600 for the basic package by most florists.

And personally, don't recommend for the bride to DIY unless you have a lot of ppl helping u, or if you're quite experienced in doing it. cos the day before the wedding you really don't want to be stressing over deco.

which BS are you using Shalomzoe? Here are a few pix.

The first is a table arrangement, but just in case you want pics of how tulips can look in an arrangement.
472819.jpg

Second is an autumnal flavoured calla lilly arrangement. </font><center><table border=1><tr><td>
attachment_icon.gif

\HQFS02\PPD\POD\podlk\My Pictures\calla1.bmp (20.1 k)</td></tr></table></center>

ewwgetoffme

hey all!

read somewhere (bought too many mags recently, not sure which one) that if you are a plus-sized bride, you shouldn't carry a big bouquet too.

i am going to get some baby's breath from the market tomorrow, bunch it up with some ribbon, take a picture and show it to my BS. then i would probably say, "please improve it without putting in other flowers." hehe.

my boyfriend says that to change the colour of the flowers, you put it into food dye!!! for example, if you want it to be blue, you put in in blue food dye. IS THIS TRUE?! i refused to believe him at first but he was SO SERIOUS about it. tempted to try tomorrow with some of the flowers. HAHAHA.

mona, your pew flowers look SO REAL. if you didn't tell me i wouldn't have known it was artificial. i'm so impressed :D

twinkle~ thanks for the tip, i'll try to make a trip down to the library and check it out :D even if i don't see the exact same book probably other books would talk about it, ya? :D

shalomzoe

Hi Mona, hmm...wesley church aye..hehehe...i will be having my solemnisation at the hotel..so not sure whether they will provide...any idea?

hislove

Hi twinkle,
I think u're right abt not DIY if nobody helping u, or not experienced.
But I want to try &amp; practise 1st. hehe.. Thank God got a few sisters helping me. So see how it goes. I oso keeping a look out for reasonbly priced florists &amp; getting like my FH mum to ask her church frens etc.. spread the net wide! I learned one thing... cannot be pai seh to say u need help. haha..

Dear Mona,
Your church decor is so beautiful. So ur church got people who can decorate lah hor? Not bad leh.. even fake roses look pretty in pictures.

Hi Shalomzoe,
Tulips!
472858.jpg
472859.jpg

calla lily
472860.jpg

I think these sizes should look pretty on you

shalomzoe

Hi twinkle and jess, thank u for taking the trouble to forward me these pictures...greatly appreciated. Do u reckon calla lilies and tulips will last?

hislove

Hi shalomzoe,
some of the ladies here discussed abt tulips in the archived msgs. Maybe u can have a look?
Heard from them that tulips generally won't last that long in our weather. But that would mostly concern venue decor, so for bridal bouquets should be alright...
But best to check with ur florist regarding the lifespan of calla lily &amp; tulips coz I'm no expert. hehe :)

yuene

I'm finally home, from my self-imposed 'exile'.. So here are some pics! Some church decor...
473227.jpg
473228.jpg

And bouquets!
473229.jpg

grasping champagne roses, ranunculus, sweet pea and denbrodium orchids

473230.jpg

pearls, ivory roses and stephanotis

473231.jpg

tulips and lilac

473232.jpg

Tulips!!!!!

chendol

I think tulips will be quite risky... cos the bouquet will have to last from when yr fiance leaves his house, to the end of bride-fetching, till the church wedding.

unless you're not doing the morning stuff and the tulips make their first appearance at the church. I used cymbidiums, which were hardy, so that was one thing less to worry about!

wedding_girl

hey ladies, all the flowers are so pretty! sharon, really like the ivory roses with pearls too!

tried uploading a photo earlier but couldn't. will try again later.

coco_mybibi

want to ask the brides here, anyone has their frame photo displayed during the church wedding? church usually don't have that kind of stand for wedding frame pic rite?

hapimint

When my sister got married, I remember that she had her PS book outside on a stand for all to view but I dun recall any frame photo....

hislove

Hi Racherly,
welcome welcome!!!
I think in the archives, some of the ladies discussed abt church venues.
Usually, most churches are available for members' use only, but some are available for rental, at higher price i thnk.
Chijmes is nice.
I remember PraiseHaven, Salvation army at Bkt Timah got rental for their sanctury/ audi. I like that place, very pretty. Got like big window behind the stage. U can check out if interested.

angel_gal

Just to share, my church strongly discourages showing the wedding photos before the matrimony as the couple has not been united in marriage before God yet. However, we can show the wedding photos after the matrimony, during the reception.

Of course, this is very subjective and personal. Just for your information only.

wedding_girl

coco, yep, i think most people display the wedding album either on a stand or on a separate table. maybe if you want a frame, you can use a slightly smaller one that can stand, rather than the big ones for mounting on a wall? just a suggestion...

shalomzoe

Hi Jess, Thanks, will check with the florist if can last for 3/4 days. Meanwhile i have complied some of the flowers which i like and can't decide on which one to pick. ; )
474596.jpg
474597.jpg

monyetnakal

I like the pink calla lilies also. My PG said that its better to choose darker color for flower (insteas of white, light pink) coz it will look nicer and outstanding in the photos, but again its up to individual like. I chose shoking pink rose for my flower, turned out quite nice in the photos

hislove

Hi BB_queen,
PraiseHaven is next to Trinity Theological College along bukit timah, diary farm road that area.
Another church Bkt Panjang Methodist is in the same area. Railway Mall oso there.

Hi shalomzoe,
I oso love the pink caila lilies.
the 1st pict.
But all look nice oso.. hehe..

hislove

BB_queen,
Oh yah.. I forgot to add.
PraiseHaven belongs to Salvation Army.
hmm.. got church services there, as well as hostel facilities for missionaries.

bb_queen

Jess

Thanks. I am looking for a non-church venue to have my HM. Had decided on one but realised that my guest list is expanding so I am looking for alternative that can sit at least 200 pax. I think I will check out this PraiseHaven. Totally lost now...

hislove

Hi bb_queen,
Wat's HM?
U can call to enquire abt their auditorium rental, 6555 0252.
The audi can sit 550 pax, and social hall 200.
Actually Praisehaven can't be considered secular venue, in case u wondering, coz salvation army still a christian organisation.
If u not holdidng ur wedding in church, then why not at ur dinner venue? like hotel?

violac

HM = holy matrimony

i'm also not holding in church... am having garden solemnization in the resort. although my churchmates tell me it's a pity 'cos my church does have beautiful stained glass.... oh well

hapimint

Hi stickymouse, I am also looking for a location to hold my solemnisation and I am not looking for a church too...
Instead, I am looking for a nice hotel or club to hold it... firstly, my church do not have a church building of its own and secondly, I have tonnes of relatives and my SO's family who are not christains...therefore, we decide to make everybody comfortable...
I feel that as long as we have the blessings... it doesn't really matter where we hold it... It is HIM that counts...

violac

hi mindy,

ya that's kinda what we thought too. my pastor had asked for our reasons why we won't hold it in church. i mainly quoted logistics and the fact that God is OMNIPRESENT hehe...

we really don't want a bunch of relatives running around singapore as they make up the bulk of the guests at the banquet that same evening.

tryphena

hi all, it has been a long time since i came into this thread...

looks like the active ones all those preparing for the wedding....

yes God is OMNIPRESENT as wat stickymouse mentioned.... holding in church has its special meaning too cos if bth of u r attending the same church is good to hold there and allowing ur non-christians relatives to go to ur church and also a chance to see our church looks like too.

hapimint

Stickymouse, cos I won't be having the banquet till about a year later, thats y the relatives dun have to run around for my case....
Those who attend is really purely for the church ceremony, except that it is not in a church...
I have high hopes in the pastors of my church... I am sure that he can minister to them even though we are not in a church... haha...
The only thing that matters to me is that we have God blessing in this marriage... haha...

wedding_girl

hi jazol, long time no see. how's married life?

actually i agree with jazol - my FH and i both attend the same church, so it's more meaningful for us to get married in our own church even though we had considered holding it in other churches. plus, some of his relatives have never, and will probably never step into a church, so our wedding ceremony would be a good chance for them to. but i guess it's the couple's preference at the end of the day.

hislove

dear ladies,
I must agree with both wedding girl &amp; jazol of marrying in a church.
Precisely becoz my relatives are non-believers, it's gd to let them have alook at how a church wedding is like.
Some of my relatives are looking forward to my wedding coz they have never or seldom attend a church wedding. So gd lor hor?
hehe.. but interestingly, the church we're holding our wedding in, not our place of worship but my FH's dad. Cool oso coz God fulfill a dream of mine. (yah.. I actually dreamt abt having my wedding there even before I met my FH. hehe..)

However, Mindy &amp; stickymouse,
having ur HM somewhere else can be as meaningful.. afterall it's ur wedding!
I especially like Stickymouse idea of garden wedding. Where is the place? must be beautiful..

hapimint

erm... wedding_girl.... hehe.. my church don't have church building lar... so if i want a church environment, I need to go book another church building from another church...
Kindof defeat the purpose also lar... haha...

violac

hehe yah, there are two schools of thoughts here. i don't deny it would be meaningful and purposeful to show our relatives and friends our places of worship.

ultimately, it's about God's presence and the marriage covenant that will take place between us and God that day that matters most to me... ;)

Jess, the wedding's at The Sentosa(ex-Beaufort). i like it 'cos it has a very quiet, intimate setting, the idea of solemnization during sunset in the lush garden totally sells to me hehe, i ask that it'd be more beautiful because God will be there too

wedding_girl

having said that i think it's more meaningful to me to get married in church, ultimately, it's the couple's preference, and also logistics sometimes.

i think a garden wedding is really romantic too! but it wouldn't be possible for me to fit 400 guests in a garden! haha. that's how many guests i'm expecting...

bb_queen

It doesn't matter where the HM is held so long as it's a decent place (not in temple, pubs etc) but my cell members keep asking why I don't want to have it in a church. Frankly speaking, that frustrates me sometimes because I don't like to keep explaining why I want it at a non-church venue.

Anyway, now searching for a bigger place and I want to have it indoors and yet not in a hotel. Jess, thanks for the contact, I will check it out. I can't have it at the banquet place because I am inviting 2 different groups of pple to the HM and the banquet.

hapimint

Fort canning? I heard that it is quite pretty now? and i think it is indoors...
Seriously, if NCC has a church building, I seriously dun mind holding the HM there... haha..
Then my SO says that if dun have, we go hotels or clubs... no outdoors wedding... super hot... haha.... I am okay... cos if it is not my home church building, I don't think I will feel comfortable too...

hislove

Hi stickymouse,
Oh.. it's the ex-Beaufort.. beautiful.
I like that place too. Yah. the garden &amp; sunset will be the perfect backdrop!
But not being a dampener.. do u have wet weather program? As in a tentage and all that will be set up rite?
Coz I was at sentosa some weeks back, saw a beautiful tentage set up for a wedding in the evening at tanjung beach. Thot it's super romantic.
But coming to evening time, it started pouring cats &amp; dogs while the guests came in.
Don't noe how it turned out tho'

Hi BBqueen,
hopefully u will find praisehaven suitable.
I agree that art museum is nice too.
U can try ACM oso.
I heard Nat museum (the newly renovated one) can be used too.