Christian Brides

echoemotion

Jess: What a comprehensive list you have there!! I intend to use Canon in D - both me n FH love that song but we're still open to options.

durga: So nice to hear about your testimony. Our God is indeed a great God.

Lydia Q.: saw budgetshots.com. Their portfolio looks promising! All the best

hislove

I just got everything from the website called www.theknot.com
I go to overseas website to get info abt ceremony traditions etc.. quite fascinating
Use Canon in D, it's beautiful piece. Maybe you can get some violinist to play as you enter.. would be nice

yuene

Hey gals. I've got a CD compiled by Her World Brides for sale, it's got most of the classic wedding songs such as Air on G String and Canon in D, as well as The Flower Duet from Lakme. Anyone wants?

ewwgetoffme

hey sisters!

i am so tempted to get my organist to play Jesu Joy of Man's Desiring (also from Baroque period, by Bach) for my processional, but don't know if it's appropriate or not. have to discuss with them >_< but it's such a pretty song!

oh yes. i have no idea how to use the PM function. anyone can help? T_T there doesn't seem to be a inbox or anything to access PMs here... i got a feeling my received PM messages ended up in the Bulk folder of my yahoo mail and i deleted it without looking (cos i always delete stuff in my Bulk folder without looking)...

hislove

Hi Lydia,
why is the song not appropriate?

As for PM function, click on Profile at the top of this page> Log in > look under Preferences > Uncheck the box "Do not send me private messages from other board users
The messages if sent by other users should go direct to ur email inbox, unless u set up spam control.

ewwgetoffme

hey jess:
cos it's not the usual mood i think, for processional. usually it's quite slow right? but jesu joy of man's desiring is quite fast!

i unchecked the spam when i registered. but thanks for telling me it goes into my email cos i didn't know that! hehe.

gotta go, good night ladies.

snowysun

Actually honeymoon need not go far...we intially wanted to go Japan but during early Feb, there was no confirmed trip to Central Japan.We din wana go Hokkaido as its cold, &amp; we dun really like skiing. Den we oso tot of gtg Europe but the hotel, tours &amp; airfares by Insight/Traffagar would cost ard 6-8k for both of us. After adding in other expenditure like food, shopping &amp; transport, would cost ard 15k for a 10-14 day trip. In the end, we decided to go on 2 short honeymoons instead. The day after our wedding, we went on a 4D3N cruise to Penang &amp; Phuket. As it was my bdae, Star Cruise surprised me with a cake in our cabin. It was so sweet of them. But I had pestered my hubby to get me one at Harbourbfront, as we din koe that I would get one. So I ended up wif two small bdae cakes. I was beaming from eye to eye. Thank God for His provision. After we returned from the cruise, we went on a 5D4N trip to Taiwan. It was a F &amp; E tour, although we had a day of guided tour. The tour guide was really helpful and gave us many pointers. On the first day of our honeymoon, the tour guide told us that we should be careful of our belongings esp in places like Ximenting where it is crowded, there are many pickpockets. That nite when we went out, I put a tissue pouch(looks alike a wallet)in my jeans pocket. After walking for less den 10 mins, I realised that it was missing. I was sure that I had tuck it in properly, which means that it was pickpocketed. But gd ting my money was put in the front pocket of my jeans.

My period was supposed to come 1 day before our AD, but thank God that it only came after we reached our matrimonial home in the nite at 9pm. I was so worried that I would be having my period, and would have problems gtg to the toilet.

So sisters in Christ, dun have to worry, commit everything to the Lord who would bless you with the best. Happy preps!

snowysun

lovely_samsoon, I had Ray as my caterer. I din get to taste the food at all, was busy chatting wif my guests....I heard Neo Garden is good too, have you considered it? We needed a Halal caterer so choices were limited.

wedding girl, we oso tot that we mite not have enuf monies for the wedding but thank God, we managed to get some funds before the wedding which helped alot. Also we planned in such a way, watever expenses such as wedding gown, honeymoon, church caterer etc that can charge to credit card or pay by cheque, we would fund the account after wedding using the angpaos rec'd. Pay watever credit card bills &amp; those tt have to use cash, the rest delay till after the wedding. We quickly banked in the funds into the bank's cash deposit machine the morn after our wedding. B'coz we went for honeymoon the day after our wedding. Our wedding was on Sat, we went for our honeymoon on Sun. Din wan put the monies at home, so we banked into the CDM.

Hi Lydia, we got married in Calvary Bible BP too. We had flower deco on the pews, just the middle pews. And the ceremony table, we had a long row of flowers. Our church pastor &amp; his wife sponsored the flowers as a love gift to us. Beri sweet of them. But in case u r wondering, we are not fr Calvary. We are fr Berean.

Jess, I know how it feels to change job juz before ur wedding. I changed dept 3 mths before my wedding too. Commit your cares unto the Lord, and He would provide a way fr you, His dear child.

wedding_girl

haha lydia, hope you didn't take offence; it's really nice to read your posts, which are always so full of life.

wow so many posts - been so busy i didn't have time to come in here today.

yep i suppose i better check if my church has any guidelines on the march in songs. but i'd most definitely be using either hymns or classical music, especially since i have access to many many classical CDs. i really like Bach's Air in G and Vivaldi's Four Seasons. Canon in D is nice too, but it's just so overused! oh, someone mentioned How Great Thou Art? i think it's a really beautiful song too, but it brings many sad memories, cos it was sang at my granny's funeral.

anyway, came across this website where you can listen to sound clips. http://www.masqokc.com/REPERTOIRE%20&amp;%20SAMPLES.htm
actually there are many others like that. just do a google.

jess, that website you gave us looks quite cool, i'll have to bookmark it too and look at it slowly.

jandew, thanks for that reminder to commit everything to the Lord. i think we as brides tend to plan plan plan, and forget that God should be in the center of everything.

bb_queen

I have been away for a while and this post has been so active with so many new joiners...

It's so heart-warming to read of how God has blessed so many of you in your wedding preparation. It's indeed easier said than done to trust that God will provide for everything. I also have to constantly remind myself that the wedding ceremony is to honor and glorify His name. If with the right attitude, there is no reason why God wouldn't bless and prepare everything so that His own name will be magnified.

Stickymouse and weddding girl - met both of you in the Divine thread!!! Wedding girl, thanks for the sound clips website. Very helpful indeed.

wedding_girl

jandew, thanks for the sharing. i always have to remind myself not to worry so much, that God will provide for us financially.

hi bbqueen! forgot whether you signed up for divine?

oh ya, just remembered something i wanted to share with you girls. passed by robinsons in raffles city the other day and i saw some pretty heels very suitable for WG and EG - mostly had diamante, cost around $100, but you can wear them even after your wedding day. for those who are looking for shoes... too bad it's way too early for me to be buying wedding shoes...

bb_queen

Wedding girl, yes, I have signed up with Divine. When you see something nice, buy it!!! It's always like this - when you don't want, u see it everywhere, when you need it, you can't find something you like.

summerice

Jess &amp; mehmeh hm is fine...saw many animals which we dont get to see locally.

Wedding girl i had my church deco for only 450. Not all pews have flowers. Initially i thought i will only give 300-350 for church deco...but not possible unless DIY.

ewwgetoffme

wedding_girl:
no lah, where got take offence! XD don't worry. i'm very easygoing one :p and ya i know the feeling of you see it then you think, "this pair of shoes/earrings very suitable for wedding..." then a moment later - "don't buy now lah, wedding in 2008 you know." haha... but won't go and think too much cos i don't even have my WG yet.

jandew:
ohh so you were that couple from berean! really thank the Lord for providing for you and you husband in every little aspect from the wedding day to the honeymoon
i didn't take a good look at you but your pastor and his wife happen to be my relatives on my paternal side. haha. i was chatting to them that day. i haven't told them that i'm getting married! XD actually i don't really know when to tell my relatives. don't really want them to know so soon, maybe next year. when did you guys start telling your relatives? so far all the relatives who know are on my maternal side, they were informed by my grandma and my mom, but they also don't wanna tell too many people too early. if relatives/close friends ask me i will say 'next november' lah, but if people i'm just normal friends with i'll probably say 'oh, soon, soon.' haha :p

just to share something that's bugging me with you sisters... actually i'm quite afraid of what people will say because i'm getting married so young.
of course when i started entering into this relationship three years ago i already had a lot of people talking around the church, it really affected me a lot but i prayed and prayed and just put my heart and soul into serving the Lord, trying not to pay attention to all the comments. FH did the same. we couldn't have contact in church and we couldn't meet outside church (didn't want anybody to see us together and cause them to gossip) so it was truly a very tough period for us. plus, i'm the emotional kind (my FH is the total opposite that's why after our relationship was more accepted by people around us, it turned out that we had problems to solve between us because i always got very upset about how insensitive he can be).

now, three years later, i'm really thankful to God to how He has led us through the various problems in the beginning of our relationship, to the problems between us, to now. really praying that people around us will understand this decision to get married isn't something we just rushed into... thank God at least the people closest to me are very supportive. have to pray that no matter what, i won't be too affected by the comments.

you know, i'm not pressurized by people who ask my FH and me, "when are you getting married?" i'm glad they ask this question because it shows that they see us as a couple who are ready, who can start to plan to wed. i'm very heartened by that. hee.

didn't expect to post such a long entry today. haha. nice sharing with you all.

chendol

<font color="aa00aa">hi Lydia,

thanks for sharing... think you mentioned this in your earlier posts too... how much older is your FH? I know your age so you don't have to reveal his directly haha.

I guess there are always pros and cons to getting married early (or late, conversely)... you might have to stay with parents or start with a very simple home if you get married just out of school... since income wise you wouldn't have had the benefit of both ppl earning and saving for sometime.

Otherwise, if you are sure, and you've prayed about it, and the counsel of godly people in your life affirm your decision, then go for it! There are so many pros. If and when you decide to have kids, you'll prob still be young and can enjoy being a young mum. And you would have had time (few years at least) of adjusting to life as a married couple first. And age is not a measure of maturity. It's been said before, and it's really true. there are many childish 35-year olds who are in no state to get married. and there are mature young people which you and your FH might be, who are ready to step into this next God-ordained state called marriage.

Keep on praying!

ewwgetoffme

hi twinkle! thanks for your encouragement. really, really appreciate your insights. to be frank, i condensed the above post a lot, haha XD things were actually a bit more detailed than that but the main point is there. if i had to type out the whole story it'll be another long long post. my FH is seven years older. i agree with you, there are many pros to getting married early
i've read some books lately that encourage Christian couples to get married soon and not drag courtship for too long a time.

my mom doesn't want us to stay with her! haha initially she said okay and was even sweet enough to suggest letting us have her master bedroom while my dad and her move to my room but we violently objected... however after thinking for awhile she told me that i'd better find my own place because she knows me too well - newlyweds got a lot of adjustments to make, and if she's just in the next room when i argue with my husband, i will just go crying to her and complain. she said very seriously, "you have to solve your own problems you know?" so, she's helping me look for a place and asking her church friends to look out for me. hehe.

chendol

<font color="aa00aa">you're welcome!
I like hanging around the forum... even after getting married! well, come to think of it, I know quite a few other christian couples who were in similiar situations as you.

One was a couple where the gal was 7 yrs younger than the guy, but they got married when the gal was 25.

Another is a couple where the guy is 29 this year, and the girl is still in Uni (think 3rd yr or 2nd yr). They've been together quite a few years but parents want the girl to finish studying before getting married.

Another is a couple who's getting married in 2 months time! The guy is 30 this year, and the girl has just finished uni (i think). he proposed quite early but (again, and understandably) her parents didn't allow them to get married until after her uni.

so you're not alone! And these are mature christians so I've got faith that they are not rushing into this without being prepared for what marriage entails.

Of course, some people say that if you decide early, you are effectively closing off other options... but if you know you're not gonna change your mind and he's the one you can submit to and look to for spiritual leadership, then no harm! Another thing is that people change life goals/ viewpoints of what they want in a spouse when they start working and are exposed to more varieties of people. But then again, there are lots of working ppl who can't quite find their soulmates.

Basically, once you've decided, you just have to be very sure with yourself that it's till death do us part. and there can be no more looking.

hislove

Hi Jandew,
Thanks for ur encouragement. It's been a trying time coz I'm actually still awaiting a response from a prospective employer. But I thank God that He allowed me time to rest &amp; most importantly seek Him for the things to come. What's amazing oso is that coz I got time, I can actually plan my wedding. haha.. Indeed tis time of transition is a blessing. A reminder I must constantly think of &amp; give thanks for &amp; not sink into self-pity.

Lydia,
Oh.. I understand abt the Jesu the Joy of Man's desiring being a bit too fast for processional.. hehe.. but it can be played at ur prelude or even recessional

Btw.. thanks for ur honest sharing.
I agree with *twinkle* abt visible age does not equate to maturity.
My FH &amp; I also went thru quite a difficult time in courtship. Gossips we faced up to etc.. but like u, both of us can look back now &amp; give thanks to how God brought us thru the good &amp; not so good times. I think those times set a sound foundation for us, coz it brought us closer &amp; trusting God more despite the circumstances.
More will come after marriage, so it really requires prayer. What God has brought together, let not man put apart.

yuene

Hey Lydia,
I think that for me, I had a pretty easy time compared to you! I also got engaged very young, I was only 20 (going on 21) while he'd just turned 23 the month before he proposed, and we were both schooling at that point in time, and it was some time before we'd even graduate (and start working!), and a few people in my church questioned the wisdom of our decision (since we'd only been a couple for 7 months then) and one of them actually tried to discourage me from getting married so young by telling me that I was too young to be clear-headed and that I'd meet other people--I think it took all of my love for that person, since she was my old Children's Service teacher and she'd watched me grow up, after all, to not react negatively. We really can't stop people from talking. But what we can do is to show them through our lives and actions that we can, through Jesus and God, handle our lives together in a mature way, and I also think that through this, we mature further as well.

I'll freely say that at the start, I wasn't very mature about the relationship and I caused my FH a lot of grief in the first 1 and 1/2 years, but I think I'm getting better now. At least I hope I am. He says I am. I think he's just being PC. ;p

But you know, now that the wedding is so near, I can't help but look back on the engagement period and everything and just thank God that He has brought us through everything, and the anticipation and joy that I have for the life ahead is almost unbearable! I do pray for you that you will feel this sense of joy as you near the finishing line of this part of the race.

And if you ever need a place but haven't the money to buy your own flat, I do have an extra room in my new place if you need to rent a room. I live in Clementi.

ewwgetoffme

hey sisters, thanks for the encouragement. love you all
really.

sharon, no lah, no one has easier time, i think all of us are the same but better yet, that's how we can understand each other
YOU ARE SO SWEET CAN. haha we have money to buy flat no money for renovation! XDD mom said pray for a flat that need minimal renovation.

but i truly understand how it feels to think how can someone so close to you say something so truthful that it hurts. haha. since i start to share i might as well continue to share the details lah. all of you share so detailed already... hehe.

my FH and i are very close to our pastor's wife, so after we were together for about a month, we decided to break the news to her.

the thing is, my FH is a sunday school teacher. sunday school teachers normally are married or attached in our church, so one of the pre-requisites for a single SS teacher is he/she cannot fall in love with his/her student. (it had happened before.) FH wasn't my teacher per se, but i was in SS when it happened. so when pastor's wife heard that we were together she was practically grieving for us. she was so frustrated why we couldn't wait until i graduated from SS (which was in a month), why my FH who is usually very rational did such a silly thing... (but the whole process was still very encouraging even though there were a lot of tears.) my FH is SUPER forgetful so he like totally didn't realise he made a promise to the SS. haaa. but i've never blamed him, only in the beginning he was very very sorry about it, feeling that he let me, The Emotionally-dependent and More Fragile One, down. (but that phase is over, thank God.)

then, a few days after we told our pastor's wife (she said that now that she knows we're together, she has to tell pastor because my FH promised that he wouldn't fall in love with a student) each of us were separately called to see pastor and elder about their decision on this matter.

the verdict was like this... FH had to stop teaching SS for half a year, and it was the same duration where we had to stay apart. we were encouraged to stay out of people's view lah, of course if we die die wanna be together they can't stop it. but we submitted. and i was told that since i am president of the junior fellowship, my title can be removed, but since i was about to graduate from junior fellowship into youth fellowship in a month, they would not take away my presidency.

but through it all we managed to see the love and care that pastor, pastor's wife, elder and elder's wife gave to us. never once did they discourage us from this relationship, they keep telling us there's nothing wrong with falling in love, you're a good girl he's a good boy, just that you have to be a good testimony for the Lord... i think God is very, very gracious because without understanding what these elders represent in the church, we wouldn't have submitted. but thank God we understood that they are God's servants and are acting in the position of how God will discipline us. i dunno how we submitted, seriously, especially me, but it's such a WONDER that i could accept it. ha!

lovely_samsoon

hi lydia,

i agree with jandew tt age doesnt equate to maturity. for myself, i'm rather mature for my age coz even though im the youngest in the family of 5 children, my siblings are veri much older than me. ranging from 6-10 years older than me. so in a certain way u can say tt i matured early.

so when i was looking for a boyfriend that is husband material :p i've always wanted someone older than me (at least 2 years bah). but God has already got a plan for me. i fell for someone same age (in fact 2 mths) younger than me. but my HTB is veri mature coz he had a trying childhood and had to be more mature than his peers when growing up.

the different timing we entered workforce also served to strengthened our r/s rather than hinder. when i transitioned from uni to work, he was still studying. but he was always available and offered a listening year to my work problems. visiting him in the uni hostel also gave me time to reminiscience. when he transitioned to work two years later, i was able to use my experience to advise and encourage him

God's timing is perfect

lovely_samsoon

hi sharon,

i intend to use canon in D as my march in song
even though it has been used to death, this song never fails to give me the hair-on-my-back-tingling effect
can i buy the CD from you? how muchy?

yuene

Sure, I'm selling it for $4 (inclusive of postage). Just PM me with your address and I'll send you the details for payment yeah? I think there's quite a few other nice songs on it, so hopefully you'll get some inspiration from there too! =)

Lydia: me, sweet???!?!?!? I think everyone who knows me including my FH will burst out laughing when they hear that... I'm the most coarse and 'chor lor' person they all know! But ya la, get a house that needs very little reno, like the liveable condition kind, or at least one that doesn't require you to hack up the floor tiles and redo toilets kind (I had to dig up my common loo because it was the SQUATTING kind--totally old-school can?? My FH refused to use it) since those are the major cost-eaters... But I think you must also be prepared to go and 1) wait for the market to start going right back down (which will probably happen within the next 3 years) and 2) live in a ulu but newer neighbourhood as their fixtures will tend to be newer, plus they aren't established popular places.

As for furniture and stuff, get from people or go to the selling forum here and get--it always amazes me how people use a piece of furniture for a couple of years and then change the look of the house (so all the 'old' furniture must go) or are moving then don't want to carry so many things...that's how I got my dream papasan chair from Barang Barang at more than less than half the price in the stores *flashes V-sign* Anyway now IKEA has pretty nice and classy-looking stuff so you can go look there too.. all ways to save money bah..

snowysun

Hmmm...Lydia, u attended our wedding? Do I know who r u? Can drop some hints, did u come by our church before? *Curious*

My parents mentioned abt our wedding to our relatives maybe ard 1 year before our wedding. They had loads of comments like why get married in Jan, not Dec or Jun that sort of tings. I told my mum why shld I get married in Jun or Dec, b'coz its school hols? Neither myself or my hubby are teachers, we need not "squeeze" with everybody for our honeymoon and other stuff... Den I had an aunt who is a Christian said "You need not hold your church wedding in a church, can hold elsewhere like hotel room, community centre etc". NO way, we wanted a church wedding, and there is no compromise on that. Its our wedding, not theirs. Din quite bother abt what all the relatives have to say. I truly experienced wat pple said abt relatives being "san gu".

I personally feel that staying by yourselves in beta den staying with parents. The Bible mentioned that we should be apart from our parents ie not dependent on them anymore after marriage. Therefore staying apart is bibical. If its for short term, it might be ok. But for long term, do think twice. Afterall staying with in-laws is never easy. Well again, this is just my personal view.

We bot our flat in Jan 06, our wedding was 1 yr later. God had been gracious to us, though we ploughed all our life savings into the reno &amp; furnishings for our flat, and thinking that we probably mite need to take some loan or credit line for our wedding. We din have to resort to that. Gd ting we onli had a simple church wedding cum soleminisation, both sets of parents din demand for a wedding dinner. That actually helped alot. I mean I dun tink we got 30k to fork out for a 40 table wedding dinner.

There are pros and cons of marrying young. Both myself &amp; hubby are 29 tis year, fast approaching the big 3 nez yr. We were together since we were 17 for 6yrs+, den broke off for 2.5 yrs. After that God miraclously brought us together again. Our love was strengthened and both of us were more mature and knew that God had planned all this to make us realise that we are meant to be one. All in all, we had a lengthy courtship of 9 yrs....a marathon race.

wedding_girl

it's really encouraging to see so many people sharing here.

lydia, frankly, if i know nothing else about you but your age, then i would also say that you're quite young to get married. but from all you've shared, it seems like you and your FH have already prayed through all this, and you do know what you want, then why not? as twinkle said, as long as you won't change your mind (eg when you start work), then just make the commitment and stick to it. but i'm encouraged by how you and your FH worked through the many problems you faced.

i think quite a few of us here might be considered 'young' to be getting married. just share a little about myself too... by the time i get married, i'll be 26. FH and i met when i was 17, he was 18 - similar to jandew. by the time we get married, we'd have dated 9 long years too. we've had our fair share of problems. i think i was also pretty immature early on in the r/s, plus, both of us are really stubborn. but we both just worked at the r/s, to become better for each other, and of course by God's grace, we've decided to take our r/s to the next step and get married next year. while people haven't objected in any way, ILs did ask my FH why get married so early, and insist we won't be able to afford a house. it isn't easy, but we're quite determined to do it. because it's true, it is biblical that a couple should form their own family after marriage, which means living separate from their parents.

apologies if that was a bit all over the place - been a long day and really tired. have a great weekend everyone!

ewwgetoffme

lovely_samsoon:
ahhh yes i understand. when i was younger i told my friends and family, "i won't get married till i'm 28. won't have boyfriend till i'm 21." then God 'sabo' me. Haha... Kidding lah. I totally agree with you on God has perfect timing!

jandew:
no i didn't attend your wedding! haha i met my relatives in church then i was like "eh why are you all here?" then they said, "orh, church member getting married," then i was like ohhhh. then very happy cos get to see my cousins haha. that's why i remember your wedding.

jess:
ehhhh you know hor, the more i listen to Jesu Joy of Man's Desiring the more i wanna SING it. my goodness. i went on Youtube and just got hooked. XD haha! but it's such a nice song. SUCH a nice song. XD but maybe will march in to 'Love Divine, all Loves Excelling' instead. know that hymn?

sharon:
i wanna live near my mom and dad because i'm their only daughter and ya, just can't bear to stay too far away. i agree with what jandew said, married couples should live apart from their parents. even though we did plan to live with my parents for awhile after marriage because we are not sure financially how we are positioned, but now we will just pray for the Lord to provide. The Lord is very faithful lah. He definitely will show us what to do
thanks so much for the advice and the kind, kind offer. say you kind can or not? hahaha XD

wedding_girl:
thanks for the encouragement
i'm sure you and your FH are also praying that more and more people will understand ya? :D eh, your weekend start on Thursday? SO GOOD! haha kidding kidding. actually i'm always very happy on thursdays just cos i know tomorrow is a friday. muaha.

night, everyone!

happielee

Anyone has a CDs with all the mushy songs (hahaha) for the whole wedding? I m hopeless with songs..only hear..heh nice hor..but no idea who sang n wat title...
So if anyone has one,can share share?

Hi Lydia,
The most impt is that you prayed abt ur marriage n ask God to grant u peace...&amp; go attend a premarital preparation course..we loved it!Learnt alot...As for the hse,u may wanna consider renting or buy a flat tat comes furnished.If you need another contacts,let me knw,i can pass u some oki?

ewwgetoffme

slgerman:
hi! thanks so much~ ^_^ so nice of you, heehee. we are hoping to rent, but who knows maybe God will bless us with a suitable place that we can buy.

we already asked pastor to give us pre-marital counselling (prerequisite for marriage in our church) but we are on waiting list! haha. can only start in april, earliest. but i think FH can only make it in june during school holidays (he's a teacher).

what kind of 'mushy songs' are you talking about? Christian songs? or love songs like "Love, Me" all that?

wedding_girl

slgerman,
most music shops have compilation CDs for wedding songs. you can try that. or, you can do a google of wedding songs music clips (something like that) and listen to the clips online so you get a rough idea of what you like before going out to buy countless CDs.

lydia,
well, most people are quite excited that we're getting married, cos we've been together for so long, people even started asking when we're getting married when my FH was still studying! and now it's like, "finally!". it's just the ILs who gave my FH a bit of a headache with their questions, but they've more or less accepted it and are ok now.
haha, nope, my weekend doesn't start on thursdays; it's just that on thursday i know Friday is coming, and that's almost the weekend. hee...

ewwgetoffme

wedding_girl:
that's nice to hear! now people who know me and find out that i'm getting married the first question is, "how old are you ah?" alamaaak. haha. the younger couples in church (like those who have very young children) are very open about it, ever since last year or the year before they already started asking when are we getting married. (so they make me very happy. HAHA) and YES TODAY IS FRIDAY!!!! tomorrow is my fellowship's anniversary, have to get up early tomorrow to edit the video clips.

oh ya, i remember jess asking me about where i'm studying - sorry i didn't reply earlier! i'm studying in singapore poly, doing media and communication. (thank God for letting me be in this course because i have a lot of gifted friends that can help me with my wedding. haha. with my knowledge i'm also doing the pre-dinner slideshow and a video to play during the banquet, some gameshow/interview thing FH and i thought up. so excited~!!)

okay tomorrow have to wake up eaaaarly. night ladies, see you on monday! (because i know saturday and sunday most of you all in church. hee.)

hislove

Hi dear ladies,
wow.. i'm so amazed to see all the sharing going around.
Very encouraging indeed altho I got a bit lost.. haha..

Hi lydia,
'Love Divine, all Loves Excelling' souns familiar... i go dig out my hymn cd then let u noe wat i think.. hehe..
U're in SP? My younger bro oso. 2nd yr studying Biz Ad. Cool!!!

Hi Sharon,
I think u're very generous in willing to open ur house to those in need. May the Lord bless U &amp; ur hubby abundantly for the good hearts u both have.

Anyways, on the topic on buying house &amp; reno.
I heard many stories of the faithfulness of God to His children. I've heard testimonies of how couples who're in church ministry (some paid quite little but serving God faithfully) and how God faithfully provided the "perfect" house to all the funrishings inside etc..

So.. sisters, trust God! He will provide! in His special way &amp; His special time.
To those who already have their deam house .. give Thanks yah? U never know how u can bless others like how Sharon intends to.
Praise the Lord!

ewwgetoffme

hey jess!
there's a midi playing on this website http://www.cyberhymnal.org/htm/l/d/ldalexcl.htm, it's the tune that i'm familiar with for 'Love Divine, all Loves Excelling'. there are other alternate tunes which i have never heard of before, hehe. your brother is in the same school as me! (sch of business.) it's kinda weird for my course to be under sch of biz instead of sch of media and info-tech hor.

i suddenly feel like making angpao box. haha~! in a crafty mood today.

Good Friday's this week. hope that all the sisters here (and the occasional brother :p) will humble ourselves to remember how Christ died and lives for us in this special week.

hislove

Hi lydia,
Not bad leh "love Divine, all love Excelling". I think u should use it if u like

I'm in a super tired mood coz just had a long day at work. hehe..

ewwgetoffme

jess:
ya it's not bad right
but must see what my musicians say. they very experienced mah, maybe they have better choices. only meeting up with them next year though.

today is really a tired day. i'm very tired even (though i'm on holiday) cos i had to wake up really early to register my electives and two of my classmates' electives (all different timeslots). urgh. then after that had to give tuition, got chased around the house by two bees, hid in my room and called my dad to whine (my mom is overseas on mission trip so she's not at home to save me).. aiyah, to cut things short, it was a long day. i tried to watch my favourite sitcoms but fell asleep on the sofa. ha.

wedding_girl

seems like everyone's having tiring days... me too! it's been really hectic at work lately, haven't been coming in here much.

but lydia's account of being chased by 2 bees really made me laugh. haha. sorry... but i do understand what it's like, cos i've got a terrible phobia of things that fly, slither and crawl (besides babies).
next time how ah? i'm absolutely terrified of cockroaches and lizards... when FH and I are married, he's travelling and i'm the only one in the house... i think i will run back to mum's place to hide. haha.

yuene

Hahaha! wedding_girl, better than my FH lor! He's more scared of cockroaches than me, and I'm scared enough at it is, can? Every time we walk along the road, if I see a cockroach in his path, I have to yell "STOP!", point at the offending insect and get him to walk around it! Then at home, when a cockroach appears, he can spray the animal, but when it comes to clearing the carcass, guess who has to do the dirty work?? *HAISS* no wonder I'm slowly losing my fear of roaches.

ewwgetoffme

hey sisters

haha... i'm okay with cockroaches lah, but i won't spray. really stinks up the whole house. the last time i tried to electrocute a cockroach it didn't work, so i spent half an hour calling my bf what to do and in the end i decided to dump a dictionary on it and jump on the dictionary. no one was home to save me! of course it died. i usually kill insects with that electrocuting thing, you know the thing that looks like a tennis racket? it doesn't work on roaches. heard from my god-brother that roaches got two brains so very hard for them to die. you gotta damage both. ha.

i didn't dare to kachiow the bees after the whole bee attack thing in the past few months... that's why i chose to hide instead. aiyoh.

i'm most afraid of pigeons and moths. thank God pigeons don't anyhow come into people's house, but moths... :S very scary >_< dad say moth no need to run, just fill up a basin of water and put under the light then they will automatically fly into the water and drown. (quite cool, he showed me before. haha!)

chendol

I don't mind cockroaches. cut up one before in school. plus they are not slimy. but i hate lizards. i hate clearing up dead lizards. killing cockroaches and clearing them up is fine.
my preferred method of killing them is using a slipper. or a heavy book (like above!). the heavier the better then they really got no chance.

i dun like pigeons cos they're so dumb, waddling here and there. and so unhygienic cos they poo whilst flying! moths are ok lah... unless they choose to die on the floor, then they go into the category of slimy lizards i.e. dun like to clear them up.

echoemotion

haha... that's some interesting sharing on roaches. I'm afraid of them too! I think they can sense our fear. I remembered how one cornered me in my own bedroom. It seems to follow me around. I tried so hard to move out of the way! In the end, I had to scream for mummy to rescue me.

wedding_girl

sharon, my FH is scared of roaches too! if there's one in his room, he calls his mum... how ah?? haha... i joked that if there's a roach next time, we just check into a hotel to stay...

moths are not so bad, even though i don't like them. the lizards and roaches are the WORST. and yes, dead lizards are disgusting. i recently encountered one in my room. even after it was dead i had to get my mum to clean it up. eewww.

haha. well this is certainly interesting; helps me wake up cos am falling asleep at work... zzz...

ewwgetoffme

when i was in thailand on mission trip the moths covered the whole fluorescent light and it looked like a whole colony was there. everywhere you go that there was fluorescent light right, it would be COVERED in moths. i happened to suay suay go during mating season somemore, because after they mate they fall down (still conjoined) and die. a pair dropped into my glass of water. i escaped into my room and one flew up the back of my shirt, in my desperation i rolled onto my back and squashed it.

that's the end of my story, on why i'm afraid of moths :D as for pigeons, i feel that they're evil with their beady red eyes and inability to walk with their head still. ha.

hislove

aiyoh... i think i'm probably the bravest here! hehe..
i'm usually the one to kill the roaches, ants etc in my home... but i do get the occasion fright from those roaches that fly..
The small animal that really scares me is rats! When my HDB area still developing &amp; my family moved in, small rats would crawl in from underneath my main door.
They're small, black &amp; oh my goodness.. just disgusting!
hehe.. just thot of sharing oso... haha..

violac

geez... and i thought God created all living things as praise unto Him...

hahaha... all serve a purpose... purpose-driven life... to make us squirm

wedding_girl

haha nice one stickymouse... i always ask my parents why God made roaches and lizards. after all, roaches don't do much in the life cycle do they? and couldn't something else besides lizards catch the mozzies? haha...

happielee

It was hilarious reading all ur posts...

As for me,i dun like cockroaches but will not go hysterical when i see them.Will get the spray (if any) and spray n spray til see them die..then my heart beat will return to normal.If no spray,then just grab the nearest newspaper n smack it!

There was once i was in my dorm room sleeping when i feel somthing crawlin on my chest..i did a little peep n saw it was a COCKRAOCH!I went berserk n strip in like 3secs flat! I hate the fact tat it just crawled on some crap n was on my newly showered body.Never knw i can strip so fast!And spent the next 30mins naked in my room on a cold winter nite,searching for the cockroach to kill it!Then i found it next to a cricket..realise the cockroaches are always next to crickets when they hide...wonder why...

Hi Lydia,
Actually lookin for mushy love songs..no need to be Christian ones..

chendol

Hi slgerman,
that's exactly how i feel about houseflies. Like they could be on some poo and the next second on your face!! When i was at a mission trip in China, what really got to me was the flies in the outdoor loos. esp when u have no choice but to expose the parts u need to expose when u go to the loo.

ok ok this is getting gross. :p

On mushy love songs, how about the michael buble "It's Time" CD? got a lot. Some of my random favourites:
Quando, quando, quando.
Save the last dance for me
Let there be Love
A nightingale sang in berkley square
The nearness of you
Till there was you

ewwgetoffme

HAHA! apparently all of us have something to share when it comes to icky critters. now, gross things aside...

slgerman:
have you tried getting one of those 1920s to 1950s (not over 1960s, they don't sound as nice after the 60s) CDs? featuring people like rosemary clooney, buddy clark, frank sinatra, dinah shore, doris day, ella fitzgerald, fred astaire... i'm a big fan of 40s and 50s music, haha XD if you go to Daiso's CD section you'll be able to find some decent selections of albums which contain songs from that period. the songs are very conversational and talk about love ^_^ another good place to go to to find nice lovey-mushy oldies is That CD Shop. i bought my george gershwin 2-in-1 compilation from there. (gershwin is a composer, not a singer, so there were many many singers inside the album all singing about different things ^_^)

can get some inspiration from musicals too. i bet phantom of the opera has some love songs :p