CHINESE SOUP RECIPES

Lina... ok lor.... wat sleeping? me working lah... kekeke...

KA.... me on time off lah.. too tired to work liao.... end up go home also neber sleep... by the time i go hm oredi close to 3 liao.. then help my ah bu to pray the 7th mth ending .. after that dinner liao... shag out!

totally exhausted week man!

hey skylar, juz a suggestion, y dun u visit ur FIL alternate days on weekends, then Sat & Sun. liddat at least u can catch up on some rest. u carry on wif wat u r doing nw, i'm afraid tt u'll fall sick soon ah, my fren.

joniel: i cook brown rice in e rice cooker as how i cook white rice. whn its done, i add in e white rice n cook a 2nd round.

lina: can i hv e receipe for ur sweet n sour pork? tks!

sch: wa! ur hubby so health conscious huh? tht's quite rare for guys.

skylar: dun worry too much abt ur op tmrw. shld b a simple procedure. think abt how u'll b free/discomfort free whn its all over

pink: ur sweet n sour chkn receipe seems quite nice n achievable. will try. btw, can dun add rice wine or not? chilli prawns receipe too pls?

ant: u fly so much...do u miss cooking? :p

levynn: u shld b v bz now w CA2?

KA: u r so blessed w a hubby who likes to shop
u gals can really shop huh! i came bck fr bkk w only a pair o shoes, a bag fr ctc n titbits to give away.

gals! i found tis...

sweet n sour chicken (deep fried version):

Makes 3 - 4 servings of sweet and sour chicken, or 4 - 6 as part of a meal

Ingredients:

1 pound boneless, skinless chicken breasts
3/4 cup baby carrots
1 cucumber
1/2 red bell pepper
1 garlic clove

Marinade:
2 tsp Chinese rice wine or dry sherry
1 tsp cornstarch
Batter:
1 - 2 eggs, lightly beaten
3 TB potato starch*

Sauce**:
4 1/2 TB rice vinegar
1 1/2 TB black rice vinegar
3/4 cup water
3 TB tomato paste
4 1/2 TB brown sugar
3/8 tsp chile sauce, or to taste
1 1/2 tsp cornstarch mixed with 6 teaspoons water

3 1/4 cups oil for deep-frying and stir-frying

Directions:

Cut the chicken into 1/2-inch cubes. Marinate in the rice wine or sherry and cornstarch for 30 minutes.

While the chicken is marinating, prepare the vegetables: mince the garlic clove, peel and cut the cucumber into thin slices, and cut the red pepper into cubes. Chop the baby carrots. Bring a large pot of water to boil and blanch the carrots briefly in the boiling water. Drain thoroughly.

In a small saucepan, add the ingredients for the sweet and sour sauce and bring to a boil. Turn the heat to low and keep warm.

To deep-fry the chicken: Preheat 3 cups of oil to 350 - 375 degrees Fahrenheit. While waiting for the oil to heat, brush the chicken cubes with the beaten egg and dip in the potato starch to cover. Deep-fry the dredged chicken pieces in batches, being careful not to overcrowd the wok. Deep-fry for 3 - 4 minutes until the chicken turns golden brown. Drain on paper towels.

To deep-fry the chicken a second time if desired: bring the oil temperature up to 400 degrees Fahrenheit. Deep-fry the chicken in batches, very briefly for less than a minute, until the chicken turns brown. Drain on paper towels.
Drain all but 2 tablespoons oil from the wok. When oil is hot, add the garlic and stir-fry briefly until aromatic. Add the carrots. Stir-fry for about 1 minute, then add the red peppers. Add the cucumber or save to use as a garnish. Bring the sauce back up to a boil and add to the wok, mixing with the vegetables. Add the chicken. Heat through and serve over rice. Garnish with the cucumber if desired.

*Cornstarch can be substituted for the potato starch

**This recipe is designed to make extra sauce for mixing in with the rice. It can easily be adjusted either up or down depending on how much sauce you want - just be sure to keep the proportions constant. For 3/4 lb of chicken, reduce quantities by 1/3 - ie. use 3 TB rice vinegar, 1 TB black rice vinegar, 1/2 cup water, 2 TB tomato paste, etc.

On Ginger:

When purchasing ginger, look for a firm, smooth body and a nice tan color, without any darkening or wrinkled skin. At home, wrap the ginger in a paper towel and store it in a plastic bag in the vegetable crisper section of the refrigerator. If a portion becomes discolored, simply slice that part off. It should keep for several weeks. A more long-term storage method is to peel, slice, and then store the ginger in a sealed glass jar filled with rice wine or dry sherry in the refrigerator. It will last for up to a year.

KA... same as me leh. i also wan to cook after work. but everyday go home very xian, then still need to wash up after cooking. but outside food also eat until sick liao... how hor...

tea tree... me not really busy. coz i dun teach main subjects. i'm only in charge of computer lessons.

levynn: hm...din noe cn dun teach core subjs! thts gd!

must train ur hubby to wash up aft u cook...like ant n bunny...treat e whole session s bonding time, thn it wont seem s a chore

Levynn - yah lor...somemore need to clean up leh....

Tea tree - shopping really depends on individual coz i belong to those " mak pai" wan...see nice will buy.

KA: ya, i shop like a man actually...only e necessities. nowadys worse, i shop like an auntie...only groceries n kitchenware appeal to me...n of course e all time favs - shampoo n bathg foam! BUT...i can take hrs chkg out e various brands...i'm one of those with absolutely no brand loyalty watsoevr! haha! only once in a v blue moon do i hv e shopping bug for things like clothes...thn i'l buy like no tmrw! haha!

wah. my course finish early. i even got certificate haha. yay graduate liao!!! keke

lina - 9.50pm then i posted the pic la. not 9.50pm had my dinner...

about hubbies washing up - mine will but i must nag a bit usually. he tries to help in the cooking/preparationg process but it's usually yue bang yue mang you know? so i'll tell him go play his computer game la.

my sweet and sour chicken recipe: yeah, simple isn't it? don't add rice wine can ba, i guess, but will taste diff lor.

skylar - no worries about your op la. it will be over before you know it
just don't make sexy eyes to the doc too much. wait he cannot concentrate keke

huh pink? but i c from the post ur png still got big big bowl leh *scratch head*
u go 4 simi course, y hv 2 go 4 so many course wan, got use or not?

levynn, the MJ tiles cute is sibeh cute lah, but really play tt time, i think cannot read the tiles very well ah =)

tea tree, sweet & sour pork recipe from the book "easy cooking at home":

Ingredients:
300g pork
75g green pepper
38g red pepper
3 slices pineapple
1 clove shallot (diced)
1 clove garlic (grated)
cornflour

Marinade:
1 tsp light soy sauce
0.25 tsp salt
1 tsp cornflour
1.5 tbsps whisked egg

Sauce (mixed well):
5 tbsps water
1 tbsp white vinegar
1.5 tbsps sugar
1.5 tbsps ketchup
0.5 tsp cornflour

1. wash pork & wipe dry. cut into bite-sized cubes/pieces. mix wif marinade & leave for 15 min. coat with cornflour. deep fry until done. leave 4 a while & deep fry once again (liddat it'll b crispier);

2. wash green & red pepper. seed & cut into wedges. cut pineapple into pieces. blanch in warm oil or stir fry together wif green & red pepper until done.

3. heat wok & add 2 tbsps of oil. stir fry shallot & garlic until fragrant. thicken wif sauce. bring 2 the boil. put in pork, green & red pepper & pineapple. stir fry & serve.

eh lina - i took the picture earlier (before eating) but i only posted it at 9.50pm la.

wah levynn if i play mj with those tiles i confirm will keep laughing one. then must train fingers to mo pai again

alamak, paiseh joniel n lev.. i read til blurz..

joniel, i first add alot of water with brown rice in rice cooker and cook. then after 20 mins, i will check and see if still got alot of water and is the rice soften. if yes, i will add white rice into the same pot. if left very little water, i will add abit more for it to cook. alot of agar agar estimation one.. i tried by trial and error...

taipei was raining yest.. but overall weather is still better than HK or Shanghai. i liked taipei alot.. the food at those night markets are very good.. it is different from wat u can get in rest in taipei too.. i have tried alot of unique taiwanese rest food yest n tdy..

tea tree oil, me miss cooking? not really.. too tired to miss tat.. but the taiwanese food here makes me miss my dad's cooking.. coz me hokkien and food taste similar n got some identical dishes..

here's the rest i went for lunch yest. it serves very authentic taiwanese food. feel very tourist but is for locals.

399657.jpg

hey tks lina! tis looks doable too! ok, i gonna try for sure!

btw, pink POSTED e pic at 9-ish la, not took it thn...blur sotong queen u!! kekeke...

ah pink... haha... ya lor. but those doing biz really very creative leh... like that also can.

ant... how come the place look more like a place u go to visit n walk walk, rather than a place to makan.

lev, yup, tat place is very tourist feel but serves very authentic taiwanese food. and the serving portion is very huge. we ordered mostly in small sizes and yet, we were unable to finish most of the food. there were 7 of us n 4 r men lor.. imagine how big the portion is!! n we even got a book on tat place for free. i will scan some pics n upload for u all to see when i got the time..

tdy, we had lunch at this place called dian shui lou. very like din tai feng but has more variety.

hey ant, do u reckon u can sneak out 4 a couple of hrs 2 go pao wen quan?? ya, do post some pix, the place looks interesting. dunno y it reminds me of some cave, hehe. r there many of such places in taipei?

amidst the busyness, i'm also looking for airfares to canada.... ah lao and i thinking of going back in dec for christmas to visit his family. wah biang eh. $1555 just for tickets sia. gulp.

"Yam Cake recipe

200g yam, diced
125g rice flour
1/4 teaspoon salt
300ml water
1 tablespoon oil
4 shallots, sliced
2 tablespoon dried prawns, washed n pounded
1/2 teaspoon light soya sauce

garnish
chopped spring onion
roasted sesame seeds
sliced chilli

1. prepare the steamer
2. sift the flour n salt into a bowl. make a well in the centre. gradually stir in the water
3. heat the oil. fry the shallots until light brown
4. add the dried prawns and fry until fragrant
5. add the yam, light soya sauce n pepper. fry for a minute. remove from heat
6. add the flour mixture n mix well
7. pour into a greased sandwich tin. steam for 20min or until firm n cooked.
8. garnish, cut n serve with chilli sauce."

Hi l'm a fan of this thread and i take note of most of the recipes here... just to check this steam yam cake... what size tin should i buy. Its my first time trying so i wanna check. Perhaps the person who post this can tell me its for how many people... so i can agar agar also... Thanks!

Babesssssss.........

me back!! was on half day leave yesterday.. went back to my MIL hse for prayers...

Lina.. ur rite man.. me really mentally drained out liao.. just 1 week nia me liddat liao.. can u imagine??

dun wanna end up like liang poh poh man!! kekek..

Levynn..
the Hello Kitty maciam MJ set soo cute!!! kekee.. really got sell one ah?

tmr is my day for cyst removal liao.. pray for me!! kekeke..

Dear God, Bo pi Sky op tomoro will go soon soon!!!!!

Sky - dun worry too much ya! *Muack* Maybe after the op, next week take a few days leave to rest at home lah.

levynn - i dunno how to play MJ, buy liao also no point. But its cute thou. If they have it in Eeyore, than I might consider buying it. kekekeke

KA...

kekeke... I cannot afford to take leave ah.. coz the other M'sia sec nabz gu niang take 1 week leave lor.. sob sob... so my boss sure need me one... haiz.. limpeh maciam nanny man!!

skylar my fren, seriously i dun think the doc will give u any mc for the cyst removal. dun worry too much ok, the op will cum & go v fast.
u beta think abt my suggestion and go on alternate days lah, nabz, if not u becum so haggard the next time we c u, dun recognize u liao =)

Lina...

CCBCBCCB... haggard is the last thing man!! kekeke.. ya lor.. I also got tell my ah lao liao.. dun say me ah.. he also drained out liao.. so we are trying to work out a solution lor.. no worries ya!!

as for the cyst removal, i know sure no MC one.. anyways.. next week, my boss would need me to be ard also lor.. me still gotta organize the Vietnam meeting for Sep leh.. how to take leave?? kaoz....

KA!!
nabz.. lah.. got milk then say lor.. u think me is cow si bor? whahahaha...

Hi anyone... i had vegetarian noodles plus beehoon this morning. This stall is very pro one... alot of tasty ingredients from this stall at clementi market. Anyone knows how to make the sauce they put inside the noodles?

My HKG colleague is coming to Sin to help me with the arrangment of our Vietnam opening next mth... keke... so nice of her!!

she is asking if there is anything in particular to get from HKG ... wat is nice there ah?

good friday afternoon, babes!!!

skylar... dunno got sell the hello kitty mj set or not la. my sis sent me the pic thru email only. anyway, dun worry abt the op. i'm sure everything will b ok! or u can act pitiful a bit then make ur ah lao do more housework next week lor... keke...

KA!!
wahh.. kaoz.. abit kuo fen rite? keekekek...

Levynn...
kekek.. gam xia gam xia!! so sweet... hmm.. btw very long nv see ur evil twin liao hor.. whahaha...

good FRIDAY morning babes!!!!!!!!!!!!!

KA - i sibeh miss your blinking babes leh. so how's your first week of work? still surviving bo? :D

yay today my boss FINALLY talk to me about my increment. ok la. it ain't fantastic but cannot complain cos we get other kinds of incentives also

skylar - don't worry ok? all will be a-ok. maybe you ask the doc if can put in a bottle for you then you can bai swee in your living room? keke

sorry irene can't help you there

Pink!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

miss you!!!! kekekkee.. better say first.. kekeke...

bai swee?!?!? too much leh u.. dun make me tor lor..

skylarrrrr, who is levynn's evil twin?
hmmm, roast goose from HKG, shiok!!!

pink, bai swee? u sibeh gross leh
got increment? TREAT TREAT TREAT *chant*

hey irene,
kao_welcome.gif

ur qn very cheem, me also dunno. eh, the yam cake recipe was from tis thread?? doesn't ring a bell at all ...

Afternoon time joke!

A married couple in their early 60s was out celebrating their 35th
>> wedding
>> anniversary in a quiet, romantic little restaurant.
>>
>> Suddenly, a tiny yet beautiful fairy appeared on their table and
said,
>> "For being such an exemplary married couple and for being faithful
to

>> each other
>> for all this time, I will grant you each a wish.
>>
>> "Oh, I want to travel around the world with my darling husband"
said
>> the wife. The fairy waved her magic wand and poof! - two tickets
for
the
>> Queen Mary II luxury liner appeared in her hands.
>>
>> Then it was the husband's turn. He thought for a moment and said:
>> "Well, this is all very romantic, but an opportunity like this will
never
>> come again. I'm sorry my love, but my wish is to have a wife 30
years
>> younger than me".
>>
>> Both the wife and the fairy were deeply disappointed, but a wish
is
a
>> wish... So the fairy waved her magic wand and - poof! - the husband
>> became 92
>> years old.
>>
>> The moral of the story:
>>
>> Men who are ungrateful bastards should remember that fairies are
>> female.
>

*treat treat treat...*

... continue fr lina.... keke...

skylar... evil twin go early weekend celebration liaoz. left the angel here... haha...

PB... treat my backside wat?? usually stuff dun go into backside, only come out, so cannot treat my backside... must treat the frontside... wahahahahah...

Afternoon time joke 2.

A drunk walks out of a bar and sees a nun standing at a bus stop. He walks up to her and punches her in the face. When she falls to the ground, he begins kicking her and screaming, "You are not so tough tonight, are you, Batman!"â€

LEVYNN!!!!

Treat the frontside??
*letting my imagination run wild.. Wa Ai Tor Liao.......*

wahahaha..

Pink..
where u go shopping???

Treat treat treat.... cont'd from Lina & Levynn...