CHINESE SOUP RECIPES

KA...

Wahahaha... ya man!!! I feel like telling her lah.. lap top? Lan jiao lah.. fark her off big time man.. just now only she is telling me that she didn't know that using fone cable can charge hp also... so DUM rite? then I purposely say until loud loud.. wahh.. u spend so much $$ on this fone & u dun even know how to use it??

I want my boss to hear where all her $$ go to man! then she quickly cover her ass say " I know!! but dunno liddat lor.." so i shud her off again.. u know but dunno? so its know or duno? whahaha.. buay tahan her lor..

Lina..
if me toothless then u must buy food processor grind food for me to eat leh ok? kekeke...

forgot to upload dinner pixs last week..
400822.jpg

tom yan soup + bok cai w/ gao ki + fried fish bone(still got some meat one lah) & fried prawn.

400823.jpg

chilli heh bi hiam + dark soya sauce chicken + kiam chye ark (salted duck soup)

Close up of the heh bi hiam which is way too good. my ah lao eat with loti for supper! keke..
400824.jpg

Sky - you go tell her...a simple hp like tat also dunno how to use...still dare to ask for laptop...she know how to use anot 1st!!!! SAI man!

Sky - I love Kiam Chye Ark!!!!!! Ask you ah, normally when than you add in the gao ki when cooking? And b4 that, need to soak in water 1st rite?
Think only left you & me in the thread nia

KA..
yes.. the gao ki hor.. just use boiling water to soak it for like a few mins can liao.. dun over cooked it.. kekeke...

ya ya.. i like kiam chye ark too!! rushing home see wat my ah bu cook tonite liao.. opps.. i forgot to take the mee siam pkt hor.. ltr tonite i go take ah.. kekek.. paiseh

wah biang. everybody yakking away! eh i also heard wisdom tooth now the stitches dont need to take out. so lucky. i remember mine had to take out. WAH cotton wool also can dissolve one ah? steady la like that!

errr we're not exactly trying day and night to conceive but it would be nice to have a baby soon

btw KA, wat pantang about telling about pregnancy? i dont know about that.

I LOVE GIAM CHYE ARK!!!!!!! please ask ah bu for recipe, gam xia. i can tell that sengkang's veg stall is up to standard liao. cos skylar's dishes are back to being ang ang, means skylar bu back to buying chilli padi liao

good morning babes!!!

skylar... since office review... then review her until she "SI" la! this kind of pple... how come stil can stay in the office for so long?

i got an auntie here also like that. always disappear during working hours. if not, will bring her own personal digial cam n tried to upload photos in the common computer room. so whenever we see her coming in, we always run away. she even had the cheek to bring her son in to play computer games when the computers r actually for the teachers' use!

good morning babes! sooooooooooo tired
today another long day, tomorrow another long day, thursday i'm OFF!!!!! and friday maybe i'll surprise ah lao at his school for teachers day

ohaiyooooooooooo

seems like all of our offices are filled with weird ppl...

skylar, your dinner looks damn good.. make my mouth water!

skylar can review irritating recep? li gor tan si mi? mai tu liao! show kindness to such ppl is a waste of time n effort only..

Good Morning!!!!

Sky - yah lor...you still owe me the pic of your mee siam hor!!!!! Lucky you remember! Hng!

Pink - your hubby a Teacher ah? You also very sweet to him hor? kekekeke....
Btw, the pangtang thing is like 1st 3 mths of your pregnancy...dun go & tell everybody coz its so called like a unstable period. Thats wat the old folks said wan lah...but better to be safe than be sorry rite?

Levynn - wat is SI? Hey, your that aunty also very steady lor. Still can bring son to play pc. *POWER*

wah, pink... so sweet ah! can send him flowers also?? keke...

wondering if i should send to my mum in her school... hmmm...

good morning babes
skylar, ur ah bu's dishes always so happening...
yes yes, giam chye ark very shiok. think my MIL dunno hw 2 cook =(
heh bi hiam as a dish by itself? wah lau, u all quite can man ...

hmmm, quite a few teachers here (inc ah laos)
LAO SHI ZAO ANNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN

basket, bo lang answer my qn:
hey, any of u gals being to Ho Chi Minh City/Hanoi? me thinking of gg during x'mas or ang mo new year wif my mummy, good time 2 visit bo?? if not, then it'll probably b labour day next yr liao ...

PINK!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Any good news bor? keeke.e.e.
*grinning away man*

ya ya... ur rite.. these days my mom grinder working OT ah.. keke.. coz she keep grinding chilli liao lor.. whaha.. so my dishes all ang ang again.. kekek..

KA,
won't forget one but i forgot again last nite.. okok..tonite i go take ya... kekeke..

Levynn,
ur ah bu also teacher ah? wah.. ur that colleage also abit too much lah.. bring son go play computer games? kaoz..

Ant.. ya lor.. coz if review my boss will sure ask me how i feel abt her one coz she is also supposed to assist me one leh.. but till now yi ki pi dou mei you lor..

lina - ho chi minh is good!!! the food there is very the shiok siah...must buy their fish sauce back

bunny - no news yet ah?

sky - i wan recipe for giam chye arh! looks beri shiok

how many lao shi here ? only lev, lev's ah bu and bunny's ah lao right?

anyone been to manila before? going there next week but totally don't know where to go for dining and shopping.

lina, i have not been to vietnam, so not sure.

ant - manila is famous for jewel..their semi precious stones and PEARLS!!! very worth buyin there!!!!!!! *I WAN TO GO MANILA*

ant - u fly from city to city got come back spore first or no? then ur hubby don see u for mths?

Ant...
u gg flying again ah... heng u not man ah.. or else wait ur sperm count die due to too much flying ah... kekekee..(heard from my boss one)

Sch..
izzit? Manila alot of jewels ah.. whahah.. Ant.. u can go there sweep again lor...

Joke!!
400979.jpg

jewels???? me not so rich lor.. did anyone hear about levi jeans cheaper there? i only know managoes are cheap there!

actually, me tml flying off to sydney then melbourne. back on sat nite. then fly off again on next wed to manila.

yup, will come back to sg to rest for a few days and change clothes in luggage before flying off to another ctry.

me will fly for every week til late oct. face damn terok now with all the pimples due to change of climate.

Wah Ant, damn siong lor like tat fly! Than you kenna time of the mth mah more sian? I guess your ah lau muzt be very used to your flying liao rite?

Wahh.. Ant.. u liddat fly also bu shi ban fa man!! must invest in mask whilst ur travelling ah.. at least can just slap on ur face while ur sleeping lor..

KA..
ya lor.. think her ah lao also used to it liao lah... kekeke...

actually, my hubby used to my flying. it is my parents n PIL and some kapoh aunts can't adjust. they keep nag n nag at my flying.

usually, i dun sleep on airplanes leh... i too busy watching shows on inflight entertainment and also to make myself tired so that can sleep well at night in hotel. but i did invest in jurlique's rose water, very good for airflights.

Ant..
wahaha.. so long as ur ah lao can understand ok liao lor... heck care wat others say lah.. rite?
u no go lunch ah...

yes, i remember giam chye ark recipe got some lady posted b4:

Giam Chye Ark Soup
Ingredients :
Half a duck or an entire duck depending on serving size desired
Salted vegetable (giam chye)
2 preserved plums (bottled ones, not the ones preggie ladies suck on)
1 slice of ginger (to reduce flatulence)
Some wolfberries
Tofu (optional)

Put everything in to boil. Remember to scoop out the oil before serving.

* you can brown the duck to get rid of the smell. browning the duck means put a little oil, fry the ginger for abt 5-10 sec til fragrant, then put in the duck n fry for abt 2 min til it is light brown

skylar, pls fill in on anything that i've missed out

the duck can be eaten ah? will it be v tuff?

ant - u always fly SQ? u stay in a room alone or need to share room? any recommendation for luggage? thinkin of buyin a lightweight sturdy one then maybe i can avoid payin for overweight luggage liao

ka, rosewater is a freshener which provides alot of moisture for face. Especially good for cold and dry climate. my face quite sensitive towards different climates, so if too dry, will have red 'tiny' spots which mean it is very dry. jurlique is quite exp in SG but is quite cheap in australia coz it is aussie brand. taiwanese stars big S and small S swears by this too! saw them talking about it on a taiwanese program.

sch, yup, i fly by SQ if i depart from SG. if i go to ctry A den ctry b before coming back to sg, from ctry a to ctry b will not be sq. usually will be tat ctry airline coz cheaper.

as for luggage, samsonite is good. don't go for hard cover type coz those are generally more heavy. n go for those 4 wheels instead of 2 wheels coz easier to maneuver around. n always pack a big duffel bag or backpack. coz if ur luggage too heavy, you can hand carry some on airplane. but tat is not applicable if u go to europe or USA now coz they don't allow hand luggage nowadays.

Lina..
guess wat?? ur dear frd just called me earlier to have lunch.. keke.. surprise man!

ur recipe ok.. just that i dun advise to brown the duck lor.. coz will be very oily leh..
as for the giam chype need to soak in water first.. or else ur soup will be super duper salty ah!!

Sch.. the duck won't be tough lor.. it will be very soft leh.. that is how I feel when i eat mine.. keke.. my ah bu bot half a duck from Cold Storage one.. ard $6

Ant..
ya hor.. hard cover very heavy but more durable rite? dunno leh. .. that is how i feel lor.. whahah..

skylar, next time i go ur place, u cook giam chye ark soup 4 me 2 drink ok, plssssssssssssss

ya sch, boil longer then the duck won't be tough liao

ladies, regardles whether hard or soft cover, if u go 2 countries where there r alot of shopping & u can't resist buying, ur luggage wld b overweight lah, =) hor sch??

lina - muahahhaha suaning me ah...i v jia lat..2 out of my 3 trips always overweight..think i need to travel in a group so tt other pple can share some luggage allowance with me ;(

ant - but i think haRD COVER safer leh..if not my barang may get damaged more easily..think i will check out samsonite..think they got lightweight hard cover luggage..any one got lobang or not?

hey hey anyone subscribe to chinesefooddiy.com? this new recipe is not bad:

Braised Chicken with Chestnuts

Ingredients:
1 lb. (500g) chicken pieces
2 cloves star anise
1 1/2 tsp. scallions , chopped
5 tbsp vegetable oil
5 oz (150 g) chestnuts
4 tbsp sugar
1 1/2 tsp. fresh ginger, chopped
8 tsp. soy sauce
1 tsp. rice wine
1/2 tsp. MSG (optional)

Directions:

1. Wash the chicken and place in a heat-proof bowl. Add 1 tsp. scallion, 1 tsp. ginger, rice wine , and star anise. Put the bowl in a steamer and steam for 30 minutes.
Remove the chicken, drain, let cool, and chop into 1 1/2 inch (4cm) pieces. Reserve and liquid in the bowl.

2. While the chicken steams, make a cross in the shell of each chestnut and place in a saucepan with water to cover. Bring to a boil for 3 to 5 minutes. Remove from the heat and let cool in the water. Shell and peel, but leave whole.

3. Heat the oil in a wok over high heat until the surface ripples. Add the chestnuts and stir-fry for 10 minutes. Drain and set aside.

4. Add the sugar to the wok and stir until melted. Add 1/2 tsp. scallions. 1/2 tsp. ginger, and chicken, and stir-fry until the chicken skin browns. Then add the soy sauce. Continue to stir-fry for about 1 minute and add the chestnuts. Pour in the chicken liquid, bring to a boil, and simmer over medium heat for 20 minutes. Remove and serve.

hard cover spoil more easily actually. coz airport staff will see that it is hard cover, so will handle with less care n throw very hard on the floor. there r cases whereby it was thrown so hard tat the hard case crack open! n if u r stuffing alot of stuff, u can't squeeze n expand hard cover versus soft cover lor.

another solution, sch, fly by business class or first class. u get additional baggage allowance. 10kg for biz class. not sure about first class. shld be much more!

thanks Ant! Heard from some frens that this rose water quite good. I didnt know SG is more ex. Wats the price diff? I saw it in HK but didnt get it lor. Hiaz........

Sch - really ah! I wanted to get it long time ago but afraid its not good. How much is it in SG? Think must wait for Ant to reply liao.

i don know the price of tt..but i know for the rose hand cream..it is AUD$45..which comes up to abt S$53. tangs sell it at $69 i think..but if u get it during the 12% rebate days then the prie is pretty competitive..or buy it from DFS using diners card u can get 15% off

ka, the small bottle which is abt 15ml (i think) cost about $36+ in changi airport dfs. i bought the 30ml in sydney which is A$29 which is similar price to SGD36+. if u want, i can help u buy in sydney provided i have the time to go shopping. i got more time in melbourne but i'm not sure if the shopping malls are near my hotel in melbourne.

sch, biz class esp SQ is damn shiok k.. even the food is so so much nicer! biz class is more of like traveling in comfort lor.

actually, when shopping overseas n if bought alot, can go for those air freight to ship your stuff back lah.. maybe cheaper???

Oh ant! I forgotten that you going Aust. Ok ok...if you happen to have time or chance to go shopping than you help me buy can? No obligation wan. Thanks in advance!

wah i check tickets to rome.it is twice the price of economy class leh...fainted ah..the extra monie i can use to buy an LV luggage liao

ka, u wan the small bottle or big bottle of rosewater?

skylar, try google search bah.. 1 yr forecast quite tough i think.

sch, usually i ask for cup noodles on planes or i will buy something in airport to eat on the plane. biz class is much more exp i think. i don't know the price coz paid by company.

Ant - big bottle is the 30ml wan rite? Than can you get for me the big wan...coz face also very big.....kekekekeke.....thanks!

skylar, is this one of ur boss' crazy ideas again? kaoz, one whole year! even if can find also dun think it'll b accurate.

if airfare is paid by the coy & u're entitled to biz class, then of course take biz class.

if u hv 2 pay 4 ur own airfare, then take econ class enuf lah. the savings r very substantial. might as well keep the $$ 2 stay in a beta hotel or use it 4 shopping, or makan.

Sky - true mah....you saw me b4 rite? Of course need big bottle mah.....hahahaha
Your boss so cute wan ah....weather especially...its so unpredictable wan.

Actually hor...I want to try taking First or Business Class one day in my life.