CHINESE SOUP RECIPES

Good morning...
whahaha... Pink.. saw ur 1 dish liao..kekeke.. kns u sms me last nite i forgot but reply u .. whaha.. tell u all a joke ah..

ask u all to sms me the code word hor.. guess wat Lina text me? ORH PI SAI!! make me chua tio man! whahahaa...

ya.. Sch,
ask my ah bu wat is orh tiap hoon, then she show me the can, i see liao wanna laft man! but she swear by this brand..
392375.jpg

Sch - thanks for the recipe, will try to do it one of these days...but tonite i tot of cooking plain porridge coz still have chicken in the freezer.

Sky - why is it called Orh tiap hoon hah? wat does it stands for?

Sch..
dunno leh.. but she tell me corn flour got many kind but this one very good! so maybe texture different kwah.. not sure.. kekee..

ya lor.. Lina very er xin hor.. that day u all eat her sweet & sour pork got spot any pi sai bor? whahaha....

orh pi sai??????? eeeeeeeeee.. so er leh lina!!!

i always thot dau ji hoon is cornflour leh...

ka, how about kong bao chicken??? the sauce goes well wif porridge.. or u cook chicken porridge lor!

KA - ya, cook chicken porridge la! shiok
scald chicken first. then boil water and then throw chicken in. for about 1 hour. then you use that water to cook your porridge, and the chicken, take out and shread the meat when it's cooled down. you can also fry shallots as garnish. and can add tong chai also. and spring onion

ant - transferred $3 to you, ref code is 7899

skylar - transferred $7 to you, ref code is 7898. so orh tiap hoon maybe it's the brand of the hoon ba? i always buy packet packet one.

levynn - eh how much i owe you for the flour!

sch - cool, i like fish porridge. will try soon. as for crab, buy from carrefour lor. then ask the uncles to chop up for you!

basket nobody say anything about lao niang's mui fan.

can someone tell me dried scallops where to buy ah? supermarket or provision shop kind? is it packet packet kind? anyone can post photo?

thanks gals for the suggestions....

Pink - dried scallops can buy from those chinese medical hall...its like those fresh scallops but dried wan and is brown in colour.

Pink,
looking thru the net... saw this.. for u ah!!!
Bunny Cookie!
392388.jpg

Ingredients:

1 - (18-oz.) package Refrigerated Sugar Cookie Bar Dough
Directions:
PREHEAT oven to 325. Grease large baking sheet.

SHAPE dough into 8-inch-bunny-head shape on prepared baking sheet.

BAKE 16 to 18 minutes or until light golden brown. Cool on baking sheet for 2 minutes; carefully loosen cookie with spatula. Cool on baking sheet completely.

DECORATE as desired with decorator candies and icing (optional) and melted chocolate (optional)

Ka, I have the answer for your question. If you look at the tin of 'Orh tiap hoon' posted by sky, you will notice there's a butterfly on the tin. And 'orh tiap' means butterfly.

My mum also calls corn flour 'orh tiap hoon'as most of them use this brand.

ant: u cooked miso soup before rite? what's e name of e paste u used? i bought saikyo shiro miso (white soy bean paste) ydy but dunno y it tasted kinda weird....v beany....n creamy...

skylar, manage to cook the chicken leg yest?? where's the pic???

pink, i cooked mui fan b4 leh n also got post pic n recipe lor!!!

tat bunny cookie looks quite scary, like some huge bunny haunting you!

so sleepy... now weather is nice to zzzzzzz coz gg to rain soon.

tea tree oil, long time no see!! wat's the color of the miso paste? white color? must get those brown brown color. mine has no english words coz bought in tokyo.. i go home den snap pix of it for you to see bah..

Ant..
kekeke.. neber cook last nite.. kekeke.. see ltr tonite how.. ya ya. i remember ur mui fan is the dark color gravy one.. keke.. my side rained over liao lor..

Teatree..
wahhh.. so long no see.. thot u MIA after our last outing.. ekeke...

KA..
u wanna go supermkt buy wat ah? chicken leg ah?

Sky - yah lor...need to buy food for tonite

Wah Seh...Teatree! Long time no see man! Really tot you MIA man!

ant: tks. shall await ur pic. e one i bght was cream in colour...aft trying so hard to communicate wif tis jap woman. fr e supermarkt at scotts isetan.

skylar: hm...ya lor u all no gd la...got big big makan no call me ...hmph!

ant: juz went to chk again...its more like dao khee colour

KA: wah ur hubby v blessed hor...everdy u crack head over wat to cook for him for din

KA..
then i also go ur hse eat... wat u cooking today?

Teatree..
not we dun wanna invite u but u totally MIA until wu yin wu zhong then how to invite rite? u gotta be more active to see if there are any flying invitations to come lor.. kekekke....

tea, u snap a pic and post it here to show me the miso paste lah.. easier..

now me bursting with fire! damn TL at work!! told u gers about my biz trips right? now boss wana combine 1 more pdt category for a few ctries with mine lor. den drag me into a mtg juz to plan schedule. n he nv get the other person in. nvm, i help them plan lor.. den i made amendments to schedule and help them book air tickets. den boss told the other ppl who has to join in the trip. so i sent them my template and told them to include mtg agenda in my template lor. den some idiot say he will inform those countries but want me to followup on the coordination! wau kao, u tink i'm your PA argh! help u book tic n plan schedule alr very good lor!! nabez.. i got tl n scolded tat person tat it shld be them to followup lor. initially, they keep telling me verbally their agenda n expect me to type it out for them.. they got no hand or pc is it? tink i so free do all these nonsense.. KNS..

skylar: haha...dun so see-rye-yers la...i juz joking only...anyway c u all cook big cook small i orso scared...like damn pro like dat...i prob like lina, buy jiam tao loh di haha

gd to hear u gals hd a great time! too bad missed out on fen hong xiao jie's crabs tho. nvm, next time she cook, i wack double portion...wahahaha

sorry ah, i'm anti crab now. kill and cut until scared liao. i'm concerned about my karma also you know!

sigh this weekend back to work again. saturday AND sunday. sibeh jialat

skylar - no la the heh bee hiam eng chai and tao hu and duck sitting nicely in my ba tor now

btw, what's the diff between heh bee and heh bee hiam ah? how to make heh bee hiam? and what else can we cook with it besides eng chai? i don't want to neng ka!

Pink,
Anti-crab! whahaha.a. tat is a good one!! OD liao si bor?

pls lor.. heh bee is just the normal heh bee lah.. heh bee hiam is fried with chilli lah.. aiyoh.. whahaa.. u can add abit in vegg dish also lah.. not necessarily eng chai leh. whaha... or else next time i see u rolling on the flr instead of walking ah.. neng ka hong man! kekeke..

Ant..
orhhh... u beta dun let Lina hear u lor.. she GOT COOK leh.. dun play play.. she cook sweet & sour pork ah..
me serious?? neber lor.. whahaha..

Ant..
whah.. cool it cool it.. why they liddat one.. then u heck care them lah.. they think they liddat tell u then wat? expect u to type out a swee swee itinerary for them si bor? whaaha...

pink now anti crab argh.. now i giam for more crabs actually! ahahah.. i'm hoping to go shanghai in oct (if i managed to propose succesfully) for their famous hairy crabs..

heh bee hiam very ma fan to do i tink.. i heard my dad say abt the ingredients b4.. tink is heh bee, bueh ka lat, belachan n lots of frying on the wok til jhiu sieng..

ant, not me who say lina only buy loti lor!! is tea lah!! i dun wana get killed by lina for no reason lor!

i got sickening colleagues right? ta ma de.. tink i good to bully.. throw the work back to them to do k...

Paiseh paiseh..
Ant.. u see i miss u too much liao... whahaha..

I mean teatree!!
orhhh... u beta dun let Lina hear u lor.. she GOT COOK leh.. dun play play.. she cook sweet & sour pork ah..

Ant.. then u tabao the hairy crabs back for us lor.. kekeke..

hey pple,
i just came back from IKEA, basket..the carpark jam then i took 30mins to get out of the carpark. managed to get some cooking utensils and some container so tt i got something decent to cook this sat. my kitchen tis sat kai zhang think i will try Ant's roast chicken thigh so can kai zhang my oven and i no need to mop up the whole oily kitchen keke..

ant - ur company pple very bui zi dong ah, don get too angry *breathe deeply*

for the miso paste, is it add water can already? no need to cook dashi first hor?

skylar, if can tabao the crabs, then i don't need to fly there n eat alr lor.. ask my china colleagues to DHL liao lor!!!

sch, u no need to work argh, can go ikea shopping!

simi is dashi? stock is it? wat i did was to cook some stock (i used ikan bilis) or use knorr chicken stock. den when boiling, cook some small jap mushrooms. n when the mushrooms looks done, add miso paste. u agar agar lah.. if taste bland or not thick, den u add more lor. add some salt to season it as well. den add some cut tofu and it is done!

ant - feel very sian at work so took 1hr time off from work and went ikea during lunch for retail therapy.

ur is fusion miso soup ah? still got ikan billis one..keke ok i go n try

Sch..
u work near Ikea ah... so shiok ah! kekeke.. if for me ah... think i soak in Ikea for the whole day ah.. 1 hr not enuf for me lor.. whahaha....

so u tis sat kai zhang ur kitchen ah! kekeke.. good good!! take pixs & post here ah.. ur chicken leg.. whaha..

Ant..
can lah.. most to most by the time u ta bao over become Cold Hairy crabs lor.. whahahaha....

Hi hi...me juz came back from my supermarketing!

the moment I step into the supermkt..ah lau called me & said dun wan to eat porridge..wan to eat mee tai mak instead....
So tonite is "mee tai mak yong tau foo soup". Lagi better...easier job for me...kekekeeke

Pink - hae bee hiam wrap with loti also best!!! Stir in with plain porridge also best!!!

Wahahaha.... KA..
cute leh ur ah lao.. at least make ur cooking much easier lor.. whahahaha..

actually i also love to eat heh bee hiam with bread leh.. superb man! but a bit oily lah.. whahaha..

sch, wat fusion miso soup? is jap miso soup k.. ahah.. ikan bilis is thrown away after the stock is ready lor!!

1 hr in ikea enuf meh??? tok abt ikea reminds me of their lovely chicken wings.. damn nice.. u got eat tat when u r there?

must take pic of ur kitchen b4 and after cooking! ahahah..

sky, cold hairy crabs not nice lor.. the part of eating hairy crabs is the roe!! dun even noe can go or not lor coz may have to go tokyo.. tight schedule siahz..

oh since we on topic of miso. i don't remember if i've shared this recipe before. it's called 'chan chan maki'. many years ago when went to hokkaido with family then we had this - very shiok cos hot hot eat in the winter. but only in recent years then managed to learn how to cook it.

mix
5 tablespoons of miso paste
10 tablespoons of mirin sauce
1/2 cup water
1 tablespoon of sugar

you will need:
salmon (cut into small pieces)
wong bok veg (also cut into small pieces)

melt 1/2 tablespoon of butter in wok (or the frying part of steamboat if you have)
fry salmon pieces till half cooked
then add in mixture
then veg
then cover till cooked

if steamboat style, then can just eat at the table with rice. very shiok.

very easy to do, very easy to keep. skylar - you can cook for hubby!

wah KA i wanted to cook YTF tonight also leh! but ah lao said 'yesterday was our anniversary you know.... but you sick so tonight we celebrate la'. so i get free dinner
or maybe we eat by candlelight or what la. lomantik a bit.

I love hanging out at IKEA too....ah lau can never understand why i can spent so many hours in there.....hahahaha

i also like cold crab too...the taste is more original...

Sky - true also lor...you can actually see the oil spreading on the bread rite...1 thing very important is the hae bee hiam must be nice than can goes well with bread. I like sardine with bread too!!! Hmmm...maybe can prepare as breakfast for ah lua to tabao tomoro morning....kekekeke

Pink - so lomantic ah....at the same time see got mood to make humans anot lah...wahahahaha.....
Btw hor...your this dish is fried (as in dry dish) lah, not soup rite?

ooh.. i oso love heh bee hiam.. but i always eat it with rice...

hubby dun let me go ikea anymore.. coz everytime i go, sure end up buying alot of stuff for the house!!! ahahah..

pink, simi is wong bok veg???????

pink so lomantic argh.. lomantic mood easier to create 2nd generation k.. heheh..

good afternoon babes
wah, i juz woke up. my turn 2b sick liao. KO the whole morning after taking med, nabz, the headache is killing me, & the whole room like spinning.
kao_dizzy.gif

eh, who say me er xin huh? last nite i text skylar the code word at ard 7.30 pm, then kns, she complained i text her 2 early & told me 2 text her again at a later time, so i did lor. anyway, did not matter wat i text her rt, so long as she remember 2 take pix 2 show us wat is orh tiap hoon can already =)

oh, look who's here, hi tea tree. & hor, like what the gals said, i cooked sweet & sour pork 4 the gathering lor, not only bought loti. basket, i put in so much effort muz give me some credit ok. hng. so what hv u been bz wif, MIA 4 so long??