CHINESE SOUP RECIPES

MORNING AUNTIES!!

lina - wah i read ur post can really feel ur BOILING ah..mai qi, drink more liang teh!

ant - the roast chicken looks quite good leh..havent taken breakfast yet..now i droolin liao!!!! still got pickles ah!

everybody, KA suggest picnic is quite good for us lah coz the open space can absorb our noise..skalli we wear nice nice go restaurant, once open mouth simi color all chu liao..dunno the restaurant will collapse from our noise or not. keke. got anything like LADIES BUFFET?

yawn good morning babes. today i reach office at 7.50am. my eyes surprisingly are fully open liao. cos today got 3 meetings la. so if i want to finish my work without staying till midnight, no choice got to come early lor.

ant - can post recipe for winter melon soup? i want!

did i tell you girls near my office got one chap chye png stall sell wintermelon fried with tanghoon? very nice.

levynn - wah the photo doesn't do our hard work justice leh! ha cheong gai look like deep fried soon hock! and lina's sweet sour pork looks like ma po dou fu

aiyah you never tell me i'm in the photo. then i can suck in my stomach mah

the treasurer speaks again

pink: 37
lina: 7
levynn: 10
skylar: 21
ant: 17 (round up for you la)
sch: 4

so total is $96. i don't include KA in the contribution ok, but i included my ah lao. so that's total of 7 people. each person should pay $13.70. can i make it easier and round it to $14?

can i suggest the following girls transfer to me, then i will use that money to pay those that need to be paid. like so:

pink: i will claim back $37 - ($14x2) = $9
lina: please transfer $14-$7 = $7 to me
levynn: please transfer $14-$10 = $4 to me
skylar: i will transfer $21-$14 = $7 to you
ant: i will transfer $17-$14 = $3 to you
sch: please transfer $14-$4 = $10 to me

phew.

ohaiyoooooooo...

wau, u gers make my day leh.. drooling on my dinner n levyn say my chicken leg looks like buy from outside.. hehe.. i cooked one k, including the brown brown sauce in the white bowl.. n the yellow thing is my failed attempt of rosti..

sch.. simi aunties!!! we are young tai tais k! n what pickles? my dinner got no pickles lah.. it is jap cucumber..

pink, i realised i type wrongly, it is old cucumber soup, not wintermelon soup. but still can post recipe lah, coz just substitute with wintermelon can liao. wanted to cook wintermelon soup with water chestnut but can't find both items in ntuc last evening, so use old cucumber instead.

recipe for wintermelon soup

ingredients
wintermelon
chicken stock
water chestnut (optional)
carrot (optional)
chicken/ fish/ pork (up to you on the choice of meat)
tang hoon (optional)

1. cut the wintermelon into pieces. use a spoon and scrap away the seeds. cut carrot into small pieces as well. soak tang hoon in water.
2. Boil chicken stock. add wintermelon and carrot into the pot and use small fire.
3. when carrot n wintermelon looks 'soft' aka cooked, add your chicken/ fish/ pork to cook.
4. Add salt to season.
5. Add tang hoon and boil for a while more. when tang hoon is cooked, soup is ready!

cool - looks simple enough. guess i will do it tonight. might as well cook these days since i have alot of rice left cos so many people ate like chickens at my house, 2 grains of rice only after ah lao cooked one big pot

sch and levynn, what are your email adds ah?

ya la ya la chilli crab recipe i will scan and post la. too many things to type out.

Good morning.....

Wahhh.. Ant.. ur dinner looks good leh.... western & chinese ah.. kekeke.. wahh.. ur roasted chicken got potato chips one ah.. keke... cute... recipe!!!

Pink go check out ur email ...

good morning babes
ant, maybe u should make roasted chicken legs 4 us 4 our next gathering p

thx 4 the detailed breakdown, treasurer. ya, PM us ur bank acc details 2 do the transfer

hey lina and levynn, i emailed to you both liao.

tell you girls ah. i really think if not enough sleep and not enough rest can really drag one's time frame of being sick leh

Ant..
ya lor.. true true.. kekeke.. but it looks good too man!! so wat is ur recipe for ur drumstick? kekeke.. looks good man!

recipe for roast chicken

1. wash the chicken leg, season it with some oil and herbs such as rosmary, thyme, basil etc.. me the lazy type, bought the all purpose seasoning herbs.
2. then i add some yakitori sauce. or can just add salt lah.
3. den preheat oven for 10 mins, 170 degrees. den chuck the chicken in oven for 55mins for roasting.
4. about 20 mins later, add some butter/ oil on the chicken to prevent it from being too dry.

as for the gravy, i used masterfoods red wine n garlic marinate mixed with milk. i find tat using tat marinate to marinate chicken, don't have much taste. but used as gravy, is nice leh. heat up your pan, add the marinate with some milk and let it boil. den it is done!

i bgt so many types of herbs, think those pre-mix with paprika is nicer coz i liked it abit spicy. so i liked the portugese chicken n roast chicken herbs by masterfood. but the all purpose herbs tat i bgt got no paprika, good for kids. yessss.. tat's wat i'm gg to prepare for dinner wif in laws n gang, for their grandkids.

sounds nice, think i will try it out on saturday! i bought the italian herbs. the all seasoning herbs come with salt already leh.

ant - if don ate gravy can or not? the chicken still shiok shiok right?

wow sounds nice...but got no oven at home...anyone knows where I can get affordable oven...good for baking cakes and also roasting? Thanks!!!

ant - no paprika nvm, i am planning to use my ah bu's super hot balachan ..fusion ah, ang moh roast chicken, thai rice plus shiok shiok balachan!

Wahhh.. ya lor.. sounds nice.. but if no oven use microwave eh sai bor?

pls leh.. give a proper listing of ur herbs leh.. tonite i go cold storage to see ... kekee... coz me very blurr one.. dun wait buy wrongly man! wahaahah.. gam xia gam xia..

aha. another chance for me to promote cornell oven. keke. aqua - i bought my oven at carrefour, i think it's just over $100 plus. cos with standing fan it was about $120 in total. good deal. look out at best denki, harvey norman, carrefour. when they got promo, it's very shiok. can bake cakes, pies and rice kind, can roast chicken... like normal oven, just smaller and cheaper

skylar - i recommend the following herbs, most common for ang moh jia: basil and thyme. italian is a mixture of basil, thyme and something else, don't remember

Thanks Pink! $100 plus really quite good buy considering can bake cakes, pies and roast chicken...tempting!...will tell hubby...kekeke later he will complain I only buy but dun use! wuahahhaah

aqua - simi model? swimsuit illustrated model ah? keke. er... my bionic eyes cannot see from office to my kitchen - tonight then i check ok?

lina - wah you good. i almost forgot about orh tiap hoon! scarley it's normal pek hoon.

you know what, ladies? i think another characteristic is knowing what kind of fruits are juah, and liang. i'm the first to admit on that - was just thinking earlier yay got mango at home! but shucks cannot eat cos i feel hot hot like that

sch, my all purpose seasoning got no salt lah, that's y must add if not bland bland.. my all purpose seasoning was free some organic shop. but i post the pic tat u can find in ntuc lah.

all purpose seasoning
392000.jpg

then there is the roast chicken seasoning.
392001.jpg

or the portugese chicken
392002.jpg

or cajun chicken
392003.jpg

paprika powder
392004.jpg

skylar, i duno microwave oven can or not leh.. you check your oven manual lor.. coz got some oven is 2-1, microwave cum conventional..

aqua, tell your hubby oven very convenient k.. can use it to bake, grill, roast.. heheh.. i like to use oven coz the oil will not splatter on the floor.. my mum uses tefal brand.. mine is those inbuilt oven so can't recommend mine to u.

sch, if u dun use gravy n replace with belachan, oso can lah..

pink, u boil luo han guo to drink lor.. tat one super liang... but hor, if u drink too much liang, when ur relative visit u, may gana terrible cramps k.. or u can eat starfruit with salt, oso quite good...

okok... i will go see ya.. maybe tonite go buy the herbs.. so Ant.. which one is better ah.. kekee...

Aqua..
u wanna buy oven ah..

Lina..
kekeke.. paiseh.. i forgot.. keke.. okok..tonite

skylar, tink portugese chicken better for u, coz alittle bit more spicy lor lor.. but i think u shld buy paprika powder as well.. u chilli padi, can add more of paprika powder to make it more spicy.

whahah.. we must wait for aqua to buy oven first!! scarli she hear nxt gathering at her place, she dun wana buy oven liao..

Ant..
ya lor hor.. but me also no oven leh.. how to do?? then i cannot do liao lor.. sob.. sob..... how how..

Pink..
I bake rasin cake gif u eat ok! Steady!

Hello
392028.gif

Wow...Sunday's food looks good leh! Guess you gals must have enjoyed alot man....hiaz....
392029.gif

Ant - your roast chicken really look very pro leh...too bad i dun have any oven...

ant -ya i bought tt brand tt, got the italian herb and the black corn pepper (cracked) to cook beef ;)

the paprika powder how to use ah? just add to meal for marinate or use like chilli powder?

Aqua - onz ah, next gathering we go ur house!!

sky - today lunch i tot of ur orh tiap hoon then ask my frens abt it but no one understand wat dialect it is..chim leh..search on google also boh

So can I say that the "all purpose" seasoning can subsitute to those normal salts?

Btw, if you gals really like the eclairs...can buy this at certain supermkt...it taste juz as good too! here's the pic......
392037.jpg

Sch..
its hokkien lah.. whahaa.. how to goggle it? sibeh cute leh u all.. kkekee.. or anyone of u can sms me tonite with the code word orh tiap hoon so that i can remember to ask my ah bu.. whahaha...

Pink..
sob.. sob.. why dun u like my rasin cake??

Pink - you sure still wanna try my tomato veg? See the rest of the dishes..my veggie is like nothing liao leh....pai sey man!

KA..
looks good leh.. okok.. will go check that out the next time.. kekeke.. yes.. we are still waiting for ur veggie!! kekeke..

Sch..
ang moh-ish.. whahaha..

eh! why skylar only offer raisin cake to pink???

sky, u try with your microwave oven lor.. maybe it works leh???

ello ka.. how are you today? feeling better? fever subside already?? heehee.. thanks for the compliments.. you gers really make my day with the compliments on the chicken leg..

n OF COURSE we want to try your tomato veg lor!

sch, use paprika as seasoning lah.. it is like using thyme, basil n stuff lor.. eg if u use some all in 1 herbs but got no paprika or u feel u want it more spicy, den add lor.. i oso have black pepper at home but for chicken n pasta. i dun take beef so no beef allowed at my home! ahah..

okie lah, nxt gathering, i make chicken legs for all of u to eat k... scarli pic look nice but u all find it not nice.. den i jia lat siahzz..