CHINESE SOUP RECIPES

fat

Ant - our official time to meet is 7.30 anyway...so you still can meet us after work...we will wait for you wan lah...dun worry

ckw1011

7.45 pm, KA. other than skylar, the rest didn't indicate if they can b there early. 4 myself, i think i'll probably be there ard 7.20 pm earliest. it's alrite lah i think, we juz wait ard the joachim restaurant area, & contact one another via mobile phone. btw, it's at convention centre side L1 hor, & like i say b4, whoever is there early, Q. now we hv 7 pax, if sch & ant join us, it'll b 9.

pinkbunny

this is the latest list i have for swee charbor gathering:

Pink
Lina
Skylar
KA
Levynn
Lipstar

how come got 7 ah, lina? cecilia si bo?

KA - i finish work at 6.45.... if i can reach by 7.30pm can steal laughter liao.

pinkbunny

tonight going for steamboat dinner with papa and mummy!
382900.gif

I done at 630 so by 645 shd be there liao.. kekeke.. who wanna meet me? whahaha.... unless my boss ask limpeh to stay lah..

wahh lunch at 1130?? think my b'f haben digest yet man!

Pink..
kns lor.. he dare!! i will ask him wanna see assam fish head bor? whahha.....

so now the venue is at Suntec or Plaza Sin?

schnauzie

wah thread goin so fast ah,
old airport is still closed. not so fast open.

next fri is 7th ah? i cannot leh, i go BANGKOK ..me obasan, go there eat, shop, mazzage...ooooh

pinkbunny

lina - oh ya ya ya! tea tree oil. eh you sibeh funny, go and dig up the old post hehe

sch - wah ma-sa-gee i also want. buy many many things ok? if you stay near FIRST HOTEL (sorry i don't rmemeber what road) there is a very very shiok wan tan mee stall around that area

skylar - see la you, now i feel like eating assam fish....

btw girls - anyone peranakan here?

Wahh... good leh... Sch..
whahaa... i like it when i see pixs here for all food.. whahaha....

Assam Fish
382932.gif

Ingredients:

6 tbsps margarine
1 kg ikan kurau (or equivalent fish) blocks
150ml thick tamarind juice
Salt to taste
1 stock cube (fish) - crumbled
25gm prawn paste
30 dried chillies - soaked
2 stalks serai (lemon grass, citronella) - crushed
1 bulb bunga kantan - slit
20 shallots
3 cloves big garlic
2 fresh turmeric leaves - tied in knot
½ thumb size fresh turmeric
2 big onions - cut in rings
Method:
Clean fish, season with salt and tamarind juice. Keep covered in refrigerator for ½ hour.
Grind dried chillies prawn paste and fresh turmeric into paste. Add shallots and garlic and grind coarsely.
Heat margarine in a claypot, fry the ground ingredients till fragrant and add in serai.
Drain tamarind juice from fish into the spices and stir. Add fish stock, onion rings and bunga kantan, bring to a boil.
Lower heat and add in turmeric leaves and fish steaks. Allow fish to poach gently until just about done.

pinkbunny

steady leh you skylar! you, i lub!!!

but questions:
- how to buy fresh tumeric?
- what is bunga kantan??? potato flower?
- what is tumeric leaves?
- what is poach ha?

pinkbunny

THIS ONE I CAN ANSWER! you buy tamarind, and then you put a bit on strainer, then add water then strain through. more tamarind, less water = thicker lor. it's also called kunyit

btw i've seen this dish done with batang fish before also. mmm mmm sedap!

Sch..
i got it from website one lor.. kekeke...

Pink!!

-tumeric can buy from mkt mah.. called "Ng Kiu"
- bunga kantan = a lovely fragrance from this flower is imparted to the asam fish curry, asam laksa, kerabu, rojak.
(btw u nonya rite? shd know mah.. those pink color thingy lor)
- can use turmeric powder also lah.. forget the leaves.
- poach is maciam pan fried lor.. but with assam soup in this case lah..

Sch..
-tamarind juice can just cut limes & squeeze urself lor.. easy mah...

pinkbunny

thanks lor, i'm watered down version of nonya lor. bunga kantan literally means potato flower leh. maybe if i see it i will know la. what pink colour thingie...

oh tumeric powder i have!!! eh, why tamarind got lime one ah? isn't it like one block one block kind? like belachan kind, one block one block kind?

ng kiu.... ng kiu = yellow ball? hahahah

My ah lao & mine all time favourite...

Ayam/Babi Buah Keluak
382945.jpg

Ingredients List:
a) 1 whole chicken (about 2-1/2Kg)
b) half Kg of pork ribs (optional)
c) 15 to 20 buah keluak
d) half Kg medium prawns
e) 1 stalk lemon grass (serai)
f) 6 slices langkwas
g) 3 slices yellow-ginger (kunyit)
h) 6 buah keras
i) 12 red onions
j) 12 dried chillies
k) 1 inch sliced piece of belachan - roasted
l) 4 Tbsp assam
m) salt and sugar to taste

Preparation:
- First, wash the buah keluak and soak overnight in a bowl of water.
- Cut the chicken and pork ribs into medium sized pieces.
- Shell and mince the prawns and put aside.
- Crack the buah keluak "nuts" and after making a small opening in each nut, scoop out the contents into a bowl (keep the empty nut shells for later use). Mix the minced prawns together with the buah keluak contents, pinch of salt and sugar, and pound together in a mortar.
- When done, stuff this mixture back into the previously emptied buah keluak shells.
- Crush the lemon grass.
- Pound together in a mortar or food processor, all the items f) to l) which make up the "rempah".
- After the "rempah" is ready, heat a wok or frying pan and fry the rempah with the lemon grass.
- Add the pork ribs (optional) and then followed by the chicken, then cover with water.
- Bring to the boil, and season to taste, then add the stuffed buah keluak.
- Add the assam and simmer until chicken and pork are cooked and tender.

Pink...
no lor.. me can neber be the MAMA.. u r our MAMA!! whaha.a.. we love buah keluak..
we always order this dish when we go S'goon garden there to eat at the nonya resturant.. yummy!!!!!!!!!!

yongee86

okie.. i'm back.. just now gana drag into meeting with boss..

fri hor, better count me out.. most prob meeting end super late like 10pm n sometimes, we gota bring our counterparts for dinner.. my job regional lah, and next week, all the countries under our care are coming to do reporting and biz discussions.

382950.jpg

this is the snack i was eating when boss interupted my snacking time!

pinkbunny

walau ant - you non stop snacking since the time you log on sia! keke.

eh skylar - where you find all these peranakan recipes? i want!

yongee86

PB, i hungry since 3pm leh.. now then snack very good already hor..

okie, i also contribute recipe k.. here's what i found for Nonya chap chai...

Main Ingredients
•50g lily bands (kim chiam)
•50g dried bean curd skin (tau kee)
•20g black fungus (bok jee)
•30g glass vermicelli (tang hoon)
•50g Chinese mushroom (hio koh)

Other Ingredients
•200g bamboo shoots
•220g cabbage
•120g small prawns (without shells)
•60g ground soya bean paste (tau cheo)
•50g ground garlic
•900ml water
•3 tbsp oil
•5g salt
•1/2 tbsp thick black soya sauce

METHOD
1.Soak all main ingredients.
2.Cut ingredients in slices.
3.Heat wok with oil.
4.Sautee garlic first, then add soya bean paste.
5.When garlic is fragrant, add prawns.
6.Add water, black thick soya sauce and salt.
7.Add in all the ingredients, stir well and simmer for 15 minutes.

schnauzie

bunga kantan - go veggie stall or spice stall to buy? huang zi huey?
tamarind - is it in a packet, look black black damp damp one? er think i confused with assam. buy from where? i very shi bai..scared i go market the hawker chase me away haha..think if i ask them uncle i wan lily band, tamarind or cod fish.. he will ????? me

yongee86

PB, i only know how to search the net and post recipes, but don't know how to cook lor! like lily buds and stuff, duno where to buy lor.. i dun even know where to buy shrimp paste (cant find in ntuc)

actually, with the same ingredients, can cook into soup too.. coz my aunt cook as soup and i simply lurve it!

n someone ask about fried beehoon with canned pig trotters rite? my method is very simple one. fried some garlic, shallots of onion den add beehoon with some water to fry. when beehoon about to be done, then you add the pig trotters in. remb to remove the top layer of oil when u just opened the can. fry til pig trotters is even distributed, then add some beaten egg so that have bits of egg mixed with beehoon. there you have it.

when my dad cook, he sometimes replace pig trotters with assorted mushrooms (got button mushrooms, chinese mushrooms, etc) with cabbage. then he will cook assam prawns separately. then can eat beehoon with the prawns. yum yum..

pinkbunny

hey ant - good stuff, your beehoon! so simple! i want to try soon :D

lilybud i also don't know sia. alot of things i see people cook then i recognise, but the names i don't know. everytime i go market is like playing charades, got to describe things, and sometimes ask the shop owners for advice.

prawn paste is VERY smelly one. the same thing used to cook ha cheong gai. it comes in plastic bottles, smaller than peanut butter kind, and outside got picture of prawn one. it's very dark brown or grey. neighbourhood provision shops should have.

sch - if you ask the stallowner for his advice (like uncle, which fish cook assam good ah?) then i think they will be more willing to help. i also used to take photos with my phone then point to show them. diam oei cha bor :D

Wahhh ... Antonia...
u keep showing ur nuts & snacks... now very hungry liao.. just drink my hot milo... ekeke....

whahh.. ur workstation very neat ah.. keekek.. but alot of titbits lying ard lor.. whahaha...

Pink,
i also dun remember liao.. wait i go find ya!!

schnauzie

counting down to 6pm...so shacked..needa work, munch and keep track of the discussion here
hahahahahah

needa rush for my chiropractic session soon

pinkbunny

sch - you go to chiropractor? i go for physiotherapy! what happened to you? we discuss this offline la, or else we bore the rest of the girls

pinkbunny

SAMBAL UDANG (sambal prawns)
4 tablespoons oil
20 dried chillies, soaked and ground

3 onions, ground
8 cloves garlic, ground
3-cm piece belachan, ground

20g asam, mixed with 1/2 cup water, discard pulp and seets
salt and sugar to taste

6 large prawns, trimmed (i.e. remove beard and sharp part) and kept whole

step 1: heat oil in pot and fry ground chilli till crispy
step 2: add in A and stir. add in asam water
step 3: when gravy thickens, add prawns and cook for 5 mins. add salt and sugar
step 4: cover and let steam further cook prawns.

you can also add hard boiled eggs or ikan bilis if you want

fat

Pink - hmmm...i got abit of peranakan blood lah...my grandma is...actually all these Nonya food...my mum can do very well..too bad since young I seldom stay with her and till now didnt get to learn from her...

Next time I go back & have dinner, i ask her to cook than take pics for you to see ok? But actually dun have to lah hor, since Sky oredi post a few pics liao...the Ayam Buah Kalak looks yummy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Ant - not bad leh...your workstation so neat still...kekeke

yongee86

my workstation neat meh? it is so pathetic small... if i take pic of the whole office, you will shocked by the arrangement and mess.. machiam in factory.. that's jap firm 'personality'...

one tip on frying beehoon, if frying alot, dun use the frying spade. use 2 pair of chopsticks to 'flip' the beehoon.. taste better and easier to cook... this trick i learnt from my dad...

ci mi is chiropractor?