Chijmes

ppanther

From the menus I've looked at Chijmes, it appears that tea reception menus starts like around SGD50, whilst lunch buffet can cost up to around SGD80.

Not sure about food quality but am taking ngjoan's word for it. Hope that works out.

My wedding planner has done wedding at Chijmes before and she did say food is not too bad. However not sure if the guests will enjoy the indoor/outdoor dining. Headache!

cactus_79

Hi, if you are kee nto find a quaint nice place for wedding, and are keen on Chijmes, you may want to consider Straits Room, Fullerton. The net cost for wedding dinner on WEekends (2006 rates) is about $1k. It's just 20 bucks more expensive per etable of table than Chijmes (which equates to an additional 2 bucks per head), but the food is catered from Jade, a Tung Lok restarant.. and you have the name - FUllerton.

ngjoan

haha... PPanther...
but the food i eat is the banquet style one wor...
same as buffet de mah?
i know the chef(for banquet) frm starworth is rather young when he intro himself to us... keke...
hope same goes for ur buffet...

lufsia

CActus, I've also considered the Straits Room before. it's gorgeous! But it can only hold up to 12 tables. So this is really perfect for someone who has fewer tables in mind. I need at least 16 or 18 tables, so that's out for me.

cactus_79

Hi Lufsia,

Sorry to disgress... I know you are quite keen on Chijmes, but would like to suggest Cresent Ballroom at Four Seasons and Tudor Ballroom at Goodwood Park.. I think both are rather nice. Cresent Ballroom has a private reception area, with a grand piano in it although the Ballroom itself is quite normal. I think it's 18 tables max.. need to check with them. Tudor Ballroom's min cap is 18 tables, I think. GOodwood Park is very lovely.
Both places would have less parking problems than Chjimes.

ppanther

thanks for everybody's contribution. Except my mum wants me married in a church, and since my own church is too small to accommodate our 300+ guests, we had to pick Chijmes for the church wedding/ceremony.

Looks like I'm in quite a fix eh?

For dinner, my darling and I are looking at either ACM (get own caterer if possible!) or Raffles Hotel, for that romantic effect. You see, the dinner is just for family and close friends, so definitely a smaller group of around 150-180pax only.

I too love Goodwood Park for its ambience. That's another backup plan I guess.

Hmmm I might go check out Straits Room and Crescent Ballroom. These my wedding planner should do for me, after all that's why we roped her in to help in the first place!

ppanther

hey Roses, out of curiosity, you've tried the Buffet at a Chijmes wedding before right? Can you give your inputs/ feedback on the food and service? thanks.

cactus_79

Hi PPanther, Straits Room max cap is 120 pax so may not be suitable. Cresent Ballroom is between 120 to 180 pax, and Tudor Ballroom is min 180 pax. Good luck with your search!!

prettibride

I am holding my wedding in Chjimes in Dec also...will be going for my food tasting next week. Hope it is good. Just like to ask, any of the brides here using projectors? Who are you renting it from and who is helping you with the setup? I intend to use 1 or 2 projectors for playing of video clips but is having headache now on who to setup for me.

jac_chan

Hi Tingting,

When is your AD , mine is also in Dec'06. I will be having my food tasting on 13 Sept06. I will be using projectors provided by my friend and he will be setting up for me too.

ppanther

Hi Cactus, thanks heaps for the headsup.

Chijmes just informed me that hall rental is looking like SGD8000+. CAN YOU IMAGINE?! I'm in dire need for an alternative location, otherwise pay heaps for their packages... Sigh.

cactus_79

SGD8k for the hall alone? Or for a certain number of guests inclusive of meals and decor?

$8k is daylight robbery if it's for the hall alone! Previously, they quoted me a chinese sit down (8 course) dinner for 10 pax at about $768++. Minimum 20 tables, if not they will impose a $400 surcharge for rental of the hall.

I decided not to take up Chjimes cos my guest list was only 120 and I realise they will arrange the 20 tables in 4 rows of 5.. and the first and last row are likely to be blocked by the pillars... the menu didn't look attractive too.. (fish not steamed garoupa, etc).

cactus_79

PPanther,if you are looking at a group of between 150 to 180, I would recommend Four Season's Crescent Ballroom. It's not going to be amongst the cheapest, but Four Seasons' is a hotel and is at the fringe of Orchard Road. so it's accessible. Parking is not going to be a problem also. The restaruant, Jiang Nan Chun, is well known too.

If you can manage to hit 180 confirmed guests, do consider Goodwood Park's tudor ballroom.

Or else, you may want to consider the smaller function rooms in other hotels. Some function rooms have removable partition walls, ie. Pan pacific.

prettibride

Hi Jacqueline,

My food tasting is just one day after u...14th Sep. If not we might be able to meet. My AD is on 24th Dec..xmas eve, we chose this date cos we rom on xmas eve last year..so we only need to remember 1 anniversary date. Does your friend so this full time? I need someone to help me with the setup also as Chjimes is very particular about it..loose cables need to be taped down to the floor and outside vendors need to pay $500 deposit to Chjimes in case of any damages..now my only worry is the projectors. Are you having 1 or 2 projectors? Can you ask your friend for me if he is willing to help and what is the charges like? Appreciate it..thanks!

jac_chan

Hi Ting Ting,

Wow, u r one day after me for food tasting. I can tell u how is the food like after my food tasting liao hahaha. My AD is on 9 Dec, so also can tell u the pros and cons after my wedding there...

Ok I will ask my friend see whether he has the projectors for you cos his company is providing those audio systems to those functions. Mine will be having 2 projectors cos I will have 20 tables there so one in front and one in the middle.

How many table u have? Have u taken your wedding photos at Chijmes already?

ppanther

hey Cactus, yeah unfortunately that rate was the latest one that my wedding planner quoted! My heart sank when she told us - we had planned our dream wedding but alas, such news... the lunch packages are ex and rather unexciting so...

It's 8K for just the hall and a very basic set-up - might not even include the flowers! Can you beat that?!

But thanks we might consider Four Seasons otherwise look to Raffles Hotel, Swissotel for better options!

cactus_79

You may wish to consider The Legends at Fort Canning. There is a ballroom on the 2nd level. It can be partitioned into 3 sections, if the ballroom is too big for your use. I had considered The Legends together with Chijmes previously. The chinese food is from the chinese restaurant on level 1 - can't recall the name now, but the food is good. The pricing is comparable with Chjimes - about $700+/table when I inquired late last year. But eventually didn't go with The Legends cos parking not easy.

prettibride

Hehe...good good..thanks in advance! What songs are you using for the march-in?

I am having 25 tables..wanted to have 2 screens initially so that guests won't be blocked by the pillars..but had to cut down to 1 if I can't find anybody to help with the setup...stupid Chjimes is charging $800 for 2 projectors plus screen and a videographer...I turned them down flat.

My BS is in JB..so din get a chance to take photoshoots there, but I went there during my ROM and probably will take some more on my AD.

Heard some couples went up to the balcony to take the photos..probably will check if I can go up there during my AD to take fotos...I love that place and its atmosphere and guess we'll both have a fantastic wedding there...

jac_chan

I also find that the Chijmes offered the projectors are too ex. As i have my own videographer, so i also turned down their projectors package.

I did went up to the balcony to take my wedding photos and it turned out to be very classic look. But the problem is when you go up, you need to be extra careful as the staircases are very narrow and difficult to walk especially when your gown is long.

I choose "Masterpiece" as my march-in song. How abt u?

I found that the perks that the chijmes give are to little and the carpark coupons are sure not enough. Those who dun have the coupon will have to spend $8 to park their cars there, or else need to park raffles city there, so troublesome.

prettibride

Wow cool~ I'll also want to go up to the balcony to take pics on my AD. But funny, the last time I went there, they say not allowed to go up there. The one you went to is the open air one right?

I chose "Prefect Moment" for my march-in. This was the song we heard when we decided to use Chijmes. Simply fell in love with the atmosphere. Ya, the perks is pathetic but what I do is I added in a slip with my invite on the map and advised my guests not to drive if possible..but 15% of confirmed guests shld b ok.

By the way, have you managed to check with your friend on the projectors for me?

jac_chan

Me still asking my friend and he said he will asked his company for quotes first and then let me know. Meanwhile, I think u can try to call ferri Ang @ 97905511, he posted his advert for projectors rental @ $80/nett per day in weddingonline forum.

Mine is not the open air balcony, I went up to the 2nd floor inside the hall and took photos with the stint glasses there.

prettibride

I did made a booking with someone who is renting for $80 a day..but doesn't include setup..so now my headache is setup. Perhaps can ask your friend to contact me at 93370714 once he has the pricing. Thanks!

jac_chan

Ok i also waiting for him to give me the quotes, once I got it I let u know can?

Btw, wat flowers theme are u using for your wedding?

prettibride

Thanks Jacqueline...I have not met the florist yet..oh just remembered, tonight your food tasting right? remember to drop comments here..tmr will be my turn, already informed my friends to be super fussy to every dish le. Hehe. I will be meeting the florist sometime later when I am free ba..but thinking of just using pink & white roses..hope they have.

jac_chan

Just went for my food tasting yesterday, do take note that the food are abit too salty, but overall are good and in quite big portion. My parents and relatives are quite impress. The services there are also good. The chef even came out to ask for our comments. Hope that they will do the same during my wedding also.

Anyway, I am definitely going to change the squid dish to prawns, heehee not very good of having "squid" in wedding dinner.

prettibride

Haha..i had the same comments as you also...mainly the sharks fin, the chicken especially too salty...the portion is fantastic...all my guests went home with full stomache. But they need to improve on the presentation of some dishes though. I had the prawns..its too spicy for me cos I dun take spicy food.

But I love the dessert, mango pudding..its delicious. I agree with you, the service is great, we were so pleased that we tipped the waiter before we left..hope that the same service standard can be given on the AD. I love the table layout also..real classy..with the flowers arrangement on that day will surely be very romantic. Hehe...

Now my biggest worry is still the projectors..after seeing the place again yesterday, there is no way guests can see the video montage if there is only 1 screen. Btw, I met the florist yesterday as well..not much choices, I just go for roses and the Eustomia (dunno if correct spelling). How abt u? Whats your color theme for that day?

blossom_ay

Hi PPanther,
I am shocked that the rental of hall is $8K.
Is it inclusive meals for certain # of guests?

Same as info from Cactus, quotation that I got when I asked them in early 2006 is $768++ for min 20 tables (no extra rental charge). If <20 tables, rental of hall is $4K.
$768++ incl flowers deco.

BTW, have you managed to find the alternative venue?
Good luck for your search.

jac_chan

Which dinner package u choose? Is it the Royal menu or the grand menu? Mine dun have prawns and mango pudding, anyway I think i am definitely changing to these two dishes.

U mean your food tasting they did put the flowers arrangement on the table? Mine did not have this leh.

I still have not meet the florist yet and have not plan wat is the colour theme but most probably will go for something creamy colours..

I still waiting for my friend reply on the projectors, I agreed with you that putting one screen may not be enough. However, the manager there suggested to us that we can put 2 screens at the front of each side, so those sitting behind of the pillars can stand up can move to the center to see just for a while, cos he said not worthy to put so many screen just for that 5 to 10 mins montage.

prettibride

I can't remember which menu..but its the more expensive one. What is your original dessert? Their mango pudding is real yummy..in the shape of a fish as well.

jac_chan

Mine is the $798 menu. My original dessert is Teochew Yam Paste, not very nice, too sweet. I am going to change the dessert to mango pudding also.

ppanther

Hi Blossom, yes, unfortunately it is true, if you wish only to use the hall, the rental stays at 8K, if and only if you select lunch packages from them, then you don't have to pay for hall rental. I jsut hope the food is good.

As for dinner tables, they didn't mention about having to pay for rental if less than 20 tables.

As it is, my hubby to be and I have to cut down number of pax to 300 guests, as the hall can only take up to those numbers for the church ceremony. The other locations like the Trinity Theological College at Bukit Timah is too far away from the City, so...

prettibride

I just emailed Chjimes on my comments for the food tasting..Jac, has your friend come back to you on the quotation yet? Mind if you pass me his contacts so that I can check with him directly?

jac_chan

Ting ting,

My friend just came back to me saying that the projector and screen and setup charged at $350. His company is actually doing as a consultant for those media items.

Me had already emailed chijmes for my comments, however, actually i wanted to change the soya chicken in my cold dish to suckling pig, but do u know how much more they charged me? $60+++ per table.... "Money Sucker"

prettibride

$350 for 1 set? That's kinda ex. Mind passing me his contacT?

Your menu is the $798 one right? Mine also..but my cold dish is Lobster salad..how come yours is different?

But just for the info of those brides to be or brides that've already booked Chjimes, their chef is a cantonese chef and majority of his dishes are too salty especially for old folks...so remember to ask them to cut down on salt content by a lot!

The chjimes co-ordinator replied to my requests...but not sure if they're very busy these few months or wat..the reply was pretty slow and attitude was not too good..eg, I asked for pink color bows on the chairs..instead of giving me alternatives as to wat other colors is available, he simply replied "No, not available." Quite pissed with them....I am already so busy with other preparations but yet have to keep chasing them for things.

prettibride

$350 for 1 set? That's kinda ex. Mind passing me his contacT?

Your menu is the $798 one right? Mine also..but my cold dish is Lobster salad..how come yours is different? Jus a advice on the suckling pig...with the high salt level content...be careful that the suckling pig doesn't turn out to be like those preserved ham we buy during CNY. Hehe..just kidding.

But just for the info of those brides to be or brides that've already booked Chjimes, their chef is a cantonese chef and majority of his dishes are too salty especially for old folks...so remember to ask them to cut down on salt content by a lot!

The chjimes co-ordinator replied to my requests...but not sure if they're very busy these few months or wat..the reply was pretty slow and attitude was not too good..eg, I asked for pink color bows on the chairs..instead of giving me alternatives as to wat other colors is available, he simply replied "No, not available." Quite pissed with them....I am already so busy with other preparations but yet have to keep chasing them for things.

prettibride

Gd news..i just called up the projector guy and he mentioned he is able to project out to 2 projectors..so now just have to meet him and see how. Hope it works.

jac_chan

Ting Ting,

When u booked your wedding dinner? mine is $798 package and I booked it during end of last yr. Your cold dish are just lobster salad in it or have some other kind of food in your cold dish?

If so, in this case, I should ask chijmes to change to lobster salad for me since the package price cost the same.

As for the projector, i also think that it is too ex, me and my hubby still thinking whether to engage him or not. Anyway, i got his contact from my hubby first then i email it to you can?

jac_chan

I just called up chijmes and checked, they said that if i want lobster salad, i need to top up for the difference. She said $798 package all along dun have lobster salad unless u top up.

prettibride

Mine is the Royal Menu at $798+++. Ya, first dish is Royal Combination Platter which is Lobster Salad with fruits lo. Quite nice cos they give one whole lobster. I made my booking end of last year also..after my ROM. But I think shortly after they had a change in management, so menu and price also change. If you don't mind, can share with me your menu.

jac_chan

Mine also a royal menu leh but dunno why is different. I checked with my sales coodinator and she told me that different sales coordinator give different perks to the individual couple. So unfair. That time when I booked my package is still under the old management, so maybe that is one of the reason also. Btw what is your package like? i think we can compare and see wat are the different.

ohjoyful

I'm researching for venues too.Just had a look at the chijmes hall website. Is there a possibility that we can rent the hall but we get our own caterers, the furniture and florists? Does anyone done that b4?

jac_chan

Hi ohjoyful,

I dun think is worthy just to rent the hall cos I heard that just to rent the hall cost abt $8k. The whole package inclusive everything just $748+++.

prettibride

Hi Jac,

Dec is approaching...how's your preps? All the best for your upcoming wedding...I am still struggling with the nitty gritty stuff..really hope everything goes well.

My face complexion is showing all the stress already..realli gotto spend more time pampering it. Hehe. Btw, my projector guy said he can connect to 2 laptops through one projector..so I guess my projector issue is sort of resolved (hopefully). Just hope everything goes well..btw, what is the wedding favor u choose?

jac_chan

Tingting,

Me still planning for the guest list and sitting arrangement, So headache with that. I still have not choose my flower arrangement yet and dunno when I can choose also, really have no time for that cos I need to work until 10+ everyday, super stress....

I decided to rent the projector from chijmes cos mu hubby said is cheaper then what his friend provide, anyway, I decided to use only 1 projector cos not worthy to spend $1K to rent for 2 projectors just for that 5 mins montage.

I have chosen the western and easter bears (in pairs) for my wedding favour, by right we can only choose one type (either western or eastern bears) but the shop told us that we can mix the types of bears, so we do that, when I told chijmes for my choice, they said that i cannot mix, so i argue with them loh, luckily in the end I win

prettibride

Hehe...congrats on winning. Ya, actually I think Chjimes services suxs..everything also cannot and I have to chase them for everything. Till date they have not given me the booking number for my hotel stay, the guest book and the parking coupons..I'll wait till the wedding reharsal for that..not sure if I need to chase them to confirm the wedding reharsal date also. I wonder if hotels coordinators are more helpful.

Anyway, for flowers, i chose it when i went for food tasting. Not much choice if u're taking the standard package..tink only roses and another flower which looks like carnation. But you can request the colors though..special colors like blue, purple or black costs more.

I also chose the pair of bears handphone straps for my favors..think it looks cute. Hope my guests love it. Oh ya, better to remind them about the salt content in their food b4 your actual day..cos their chef is a cantonese chef. Are you catering any halah or vegetarian food? I am in a dilemma whether to cater individual or a table..my mum is complaining that i cannot separate the vegetarian guest from their frens..guess hv to incur more expenses by catering extra set for them le. Sighx.

jac_chan

Oh I also didn't get the booking no for my hotel, guest book and parking coupons yet. In fact, even the seat plans also have not received from them.... I still got a month time left for me to arrange all these things, think alot of last mins kind of situations will happen.

I do not have any halah ppl but will have 2 or 3 vegetarian. As for the kids, I have told by them that if the kids not sitting on a baby chair, it will consider as 1 person cost. That time I think few mths back I did asked them b4 abt this, they told me that as long as kids below 7 yrs will not count as 1 person. Now they twisted their words......

I strongly agreed that their services are SUCKS!!!!

prettibride

Huh? Kids not sitting on baby consider as 1 person? I guess that only applies for buffet meals right? Since we're catering set dinner, we already factor in the seats for kids. Our parents agreed to pay for the additional seats taken up by kids..so not so bad lo.

jac_chan

this rule is applied to normal sit-down chinses dinner..... They even told me the max. no of adults in a table is 9 and accompany by 2 more kids, which means that 1 table can have max. of 11 person.

Btw, is your package given you the bridal suite or normal room at Westin hotel?

prettibride

So does this mean a normal table can have up to 11 chairs? Or 9 normal chair &amp; 2 baby chair? If really can have 11 chairs will be good le..cos my relatives got many young kids. Initially I didn't want any young kids at my wedding..cos wat if they cry in the middle when I am saying my vows or run around and trip while I am marching in...so I think I'll place those tables with kids in the inner row..so that not easy for them to run out. Then put them at the back of the hall..keke.

I not sure about the room..think its just a normal room..they won't be so nice to give bridal suite de rite? Anyway, I am using the room before my wedding cos we wanna return to our own house on wedding night..more special ma. Wow, only left 29 days to your BIG day...btw, which video &amp; photographer are you using?

vane

Hi ladies, I'm a Chijmes BTB. Booked 22 Dec 2007 for my church wedding n 8-course dinner. For those of you who had your wedding in Chijmes, care to share your experiences so that I know what to take note of. I'm also thinking of not serving alcohol at all. Anyone of you done so for your dinner?