Chijmes

ashlady

hi..can anyone share their wedding experience at Chijmes? I'm considering holding the banquet there...the place is absolutely beautiful but too bad there are pillars that will block several tables.

zenn

How many tables are you gals considering? Can share your package?

Hi Ashlady,
Agreed wif you - only 14 tables will not be blocked. The rest will be behind the pillars.

ashlady

Hi Zenn,
ya man...i wonder if guests would feel discriminated if some are behind pillars & some would be able to have such good views..heh..it's quite a big difference in terms of what they are able to see.

honeyjul

I had my church wedding at CHIJmEes this year May and it was absoulutely very beautiful. The food was by Kriston and the guest enjoyed it.

I heard from my colleague that for the dinner, the food is prepared in advance in the hotel which u chose and by the time it reaches chijmes, it might not be piping hot!
Hence i did not consider Chijmes for my wedding dinner.

ashlady

Hi Zenn,
I'm planning to have about 27-30 tables. i think it'll be rather squeezy for my no. of tables. Are you planning to have your dinner in Chijmes?

Hi HoneyJuL,
Now Chijmes have their in-house caterer for the dinner...the person says they have a in-house kitchen. But I'm not sure where's the kitchen! keke.. :p But I think holding the church wedding there is lovely!

honeyjul

Hi Ashlady,
Yah, indeed its beautiful there. The ambience in Chijmes itself is already very romantic.
The person coordinating my wedding was a malay man, i have forgotten his name. they were very helpful as well. Perhaps u can request to view their kitchen? =p

zenn

Just went down today. The kitchen is near the hall so should not ve problem wif food turning cold.

However one concern is from the side door to the changing room, its not sheltered so if it rains will need umbrella. Abit troublesome lor.

Ashlady, I am helping my sister who is overseas now to source for venue. She likes the place but price abit X ya.

honeyjul

Hi Ericia,

I had my church wedding there this year (May) and the rental costs me ard 2.5k excluding the food. The food and the decor together with the rental is about 6-7k. I can't remember the exact amount but its ard that range.
However, the costs varies depending on your budget too.

I am not too sure about their pricing now. U might have to call and check with them or juz drop them a mail. Pretty efficient lot

Hi zenn,
yah the side door to the changing room is not sheltered. However, there is a door in the chapel that leads to the changin room right in front of the chapel. Nevertheless, the bride cannot enter from there.

childlike

thanks honeyjul. I just found out. the package now diff. they price by per pax. the total amt does come up to that 7-8k.
when are you girls having wedding? which timeslot and which package you girls find is worthwhile?

spadream

I had my dinner at Chijmes may2005 n it's reallie beautiful....minus the small and dirty toilets which are certainly not hotel standard! But, the pics turn out really great

prettibride

I just booked my wedding dinner at Chjimes too. Its for Dec'06. Heard that there's gonna be major changes to the way they handle events in 2006 as they were bought over by suntec management. so expect prices to increase..those that wants to book Chjimes for their dream wedding, better act fast now. Just a advice.

syndicate

Hellos!
I just went down to Chijmes today to look at the banquet setting.. looks beautiful! am thinking of booking it for my dinner in Oct 06
Any comments from chijmes brides? esp now the food is their own in-hse caterer??
Thanks much!

denisek

Hello Ladies

I am new on this tread and like everyone, I am thinking of having my wedding in Chijmes. The place is simply beautiful...

Could anyone kindly email me their wedding package for 2006 please? I tried to email them but didn't get any reply.... [email protected]

Thanks a lot!

fizzy9900

I understand that the stained glass will look dark at night. Is there a way to light them up? Seems like a pity if we are unable to see the beautiful stained glass at night.

daffodil~

Wat i understand is that they will light up the stained glass when they have a function. but i doubt its as nice as it is in the day.

daffodil~

any brides here juz held their wedding at chijmes using their current in-house caterer starworth?

care to share how is the food?

also would appreciate if u can share how much u make, break or lost from holding the wedding in chijmes.

im considering the venue but kind of worried about losing too much. hopefully wun lose more than 10k. thanks so much!

jac_chan

Does anyone had their wedding dinner at Chijmes recently? I will be having my wedding dinner there in Dec 06, just want to know wat are the pros and cons to take note of. Thanks

blossom_ay

I am new on this thread.
I am thinking of having my wedding in Chijmes in Nov 06.
Would anyone kindly to share the experience there (pros & cons) and the photos? How about the foods from Starworth, is it good?
Please email me [email protected]

Thanks a lot.

blossom_ay

Fizzy,
The company mentioned the stained glass can be lighted up. Have to pay about $600 for the lighting of 3 main stained glasses (the ones you see from main entrance)

wang_zi

hi i intend to hv my ROM Solemnisation on the 6/6. Just wonder how much would it cost for the rental? i would like to held at evening time. Do u hv any picture of the decor for it? Mine email: [email protected]

yippiedoo

hi Blossom_ay,

i am new too in here. i am considering chijmes for my wedding and i guess some pros are: fantastic ambience, very romantic, tall ceiling, optimal size for a smaller wedding like 18-20 tables and long and central aisle (if that's impt to you?). I have tried to think of what's not too good. I think the toilets could be a little far, little parkng space, maybe some people might not be comfortable dining in a church setting and i am actually quite skeptical on the food, as Chijmes no longer allow us to get our own caterers.

just some thoughts
hope your planning goes well... cheers, yippiedoo

Anyone interested in getting the Her World Wedding Carnival 2006 on the coming 29 0r 30 April tickets?
Will like to sell off my pair of tickets on hands urgently. Original tickets price is $22 will like to sell off at a reasonable price. Price negotiable.
Interested buyers pls email me at [email protected].

yukikodawasan

I plan to ROM in Oct.. Hope to know more about having a ROM solemnisation at Chijmes.. Anyone, pls share your experience with me.. Mine is for ard 40 pax.

twinklebell

I'm having my AD at the end of next year and are considering Chijmes for my banquet. Anyone has attended wedding in Chijmes recently and willing to provide me with some feedbacks on the food? I really love the ambience but are rather concerned of the quality of the food.

ngjoan

hi twinklebell...
recently, i went for food tasting in chijmes.
it was really really delicious man!
no worries!

twinklebell

Really! Thanks, ngjoan. ^_^ Now, I can save the trouble of sourcing for alternatives. Really like Chijmes but once I mentioned my choice to my friends, all of them feel that it is not worthy, especially in term of its food and the blockings made by the pillars. So do you find those pillars a problem?

ngjoan

in fact, the pillars cause a bit of problem hor.
hmmm... but i think it depends on how the tables r arranged & if there's projector screens for ur guest to have better view of the stage.
i'm not too sure abt tat, maybe u need to check wif the coordinator liao le. sorry.

twinklebell

No prob. I'll be miting the coordinator on the 17th July... will check with her about possible solutions to the pillars issue. I heard that oni 14 tables will not be block. Hopefully the blockage will not be too bad (i.e totally cannot see the stage). Btw, thanks for your reply ^_^
R u a Chijmes BTB as well? Most probly, I'll be having mine on the 1st Dec 2007.

ngjoan

coz the middle section can have 2 rows of tables.
i think can accomodate for all if u r not taking many tables.

hee, i'm not BTB in chijmes lor.
keke... coz tat time we won in a lucky draw food tasting for 10 at chjimes, tat's y we can enjoy the delicious sumptuous food there!
the service & food & ambience real GOOD!

hapict

er... may i know if the place where the banquet is held is actually a church or not? i went to their website n asked many ppl but cant seem to get a definite answer. tho i seem to see cross on walls in the pics in weddin magazine. thanks!

hapict

*sigh* so it's out then, as mom said relatives might be resistant to the idea of our weddin reception held in church. Thanks joan

jac_chan

Just to share my view about having wedding dinner at Chijmes, this place is ambience and grand, good point is we can have our wedding photo shoots at there too as the package is inclusive. However the down point is the inconvenience of the washroom and the blockage by pillars.

daning

hi jac, i am considering chijmes for jan 07 church + lunch banquet..my wedding is a v small event - max 20 tables only...i chose chijmes as i wanted a nice church wedding and long veil/train for walk-in.

Hey all:
I just done my wedding dinner at chijmes, the ambience and food were good but the service are argh... I've got complaints from my guests that their service staffs only distribute the exact no. of pax per table and took the rest away even though there were only 5-6 ppl at the table. plz take note of this!!!