Chijmes

daning

hi jac, looks like we r two lonely souls here. btw, r u doing lunch or dinner? r u topping up for flowers? i am considering topping up for flowers..

jac_chan

ning,

yah loh so few ppl taking chijmes heehee anyway great to know u

Me will be having my wedding dinner this dec. Me thinking of topping up the floral arrangement and change to sunflower plus other types of flowers. That time I check with them I need to top up for another $120+ per stand. Quite ex

daning

ya...the flowers quite ex. I have a purple theme so i even had to top up if the flowers not in the "standard" price list..i am also doing my own wedding card..

yes, it includes use of premises for phototography...have u tried the food? Actually am worried abt the food. So have tasked future MIL to go for food tasting b4 we sign..I was contemplating dinner but chose lunch in the end as i really liked the stained glass effect. But i heard dinner is really romantic at chijmes..u can consider putting more candles..would be nice and romantic

jac_chan

me still not go for food tasting yet tentativelt will bein end Aug. I just went for photoshooting at chijmes last fri. I heard ppl said that the food are ok but the service was bad. quite worried now.

earth

hello gals... i'm contemplating holding my wedding banquet at Chjimes next yr. Hoping to get some feedback from the insiders...Just wondering how the food is? Have you both gone for the tasting yet? I'm not looking at anything spectacularly nice, just has to be palatable heh... and wondering if there are many "extra" and "hidden" cost that will be incurred? Like having to top up for flowers etc. And is it a must to use their in house florist? Can i do up the deco on my own?

Would appreciate if i could find out a lil more from you both... Do like the place, but worried that it may not be up to standard, and that i have to end up paying more that i tot... hopefully i'll be able to join you gals as a Chijmes bride! Thanks in advance!!

jac_chan

Hi earth,

I still have not go for the food tasting yet, but I heard ppl said that the food there are ok. Chijmes is a nice and romantic place to hold wedding. However, I think u may need to take into consideration that u may need to fock out quite alot of money for the banquet as I dun think can "earn back". For the floral arrangement, if you are not going to change to other kinds of flowers rather than they provide, you need not to top up. They have their own in-house floral shop but is quite ex.

daning

Hi earth, have not gone for tasting yet..the inhouse florist they use charges S$800 for the basics. If you want to use your own, can ask them to refund the S$800 so u can source for your own florist. My HTB met the florist and said he is quite reasonable..u might want to check with the coordinator..So far, my coordinator is pretty transparent..so quite ok. can negotiate..only thg is i thk the package offered is very basic and the wedding invite not v nice...

Like Jac, dont think i can recover my money lah, but the place v nice and romantic and wedding is once in a lifetime :p

earth

hi hi... thanks for your reply...

hmm...cannot recover ah, oh no... coz actually rite now i have 2 places in mind, Conrad and Chjimes. Actually i love Conrad, but am still hesitating coz of the price, coming up to $100 ++ per head. But it's very comprehensive, everything included, plus they have very good reviews and many positive testimonies. Chjimes is my second choice, coz i thought it'll be a nice and "different" place, with a reasonable price tag...but now you gals said cannot recover, i'm really having second tots coz my purpose of Chjimes is coz of the cheaper pricing compared to Conrad! =P

Hi gals, i've just done my chijmes wedding dinner on 1st May 06. The atmosphere and the food were great. But the sevice was damn bad.. I've got feedback from my guests that they took the food away within informing and only distribute the exact no. of pax to the guests on the table and the remaining were not left behind although there's only 5-6 guests on those tables.

Bad experience...

daning

hi lai yee, tks for sharing. will make a mental note to tell coordinator abt the service..

earth, i been to conrad wedding twice. its really nicely done up and all. but i guess chijmes offers a different atmosphere. i thk price-wise its abt same, and people knows chijmes not cheap so they will not be too stingy with the ang paos (i hope)..i like the outdoor lawn that chijmes provide for pre-dinner cocktail. but i think if u have many tables, then chijmes may not be suitable as some of them will be blocked by pillar. i only have 20 tables so most of them will be at the center aisle..

earth

hi ning,

just wondering how come prices abt the same? i tot chjimes prices are about $97 per pax whilst conrad is $105 per pax. That would come up to over $2400 for 300 pax. Are there hidden costs involved for Chjimes?

That is the thing about this conrad and chjimes dilemma, coz if i have it at chjimes, i can have lesser tables, probably looking at 20. But conrad requires a min of 25 tables of 12 people!

jac_chan

Hi ning,

Just had my wedding photos taking at Chijmes and it turns out very nice especially the stained glass and the lightings there. I think it is worth it even though the package is expensive bcos it is very special unlike those normal traditional wedding at hotel ballroom....

babypony

i will be holding my wedding at chijmes this 29th sept 06.. after hearing that the service is bad worries me.. guess i gotta inform my co-ordinator.

jac_chan

Hi Freda,

Congrat to you. I think you need not worried so much bcos I think it is an exceptional case just to tell your co-ordinator earlier to avoid that. Btw, is your co-ordinator called Krystal?

daning

hi jac, glad to hear that. my ps is in oct, so i will have to wait a while..

hi earth, it might be better for u to talk to coordinator to check the details. i did not compare the 2 packages thoroughly, just thought that they are in the same category...i will give same ang pao for chijmes and conrad if i were the guest lor..hope u have made up yr choice!

babypony

hi Jacqueline,

my co-ordinator is stanley.. so far he seems okie.. but reluctant to include additional items apart from the package.

jac_chan

Freda,

Mine is Krystal, so far I only can negotiate with her to provide me up to 20 bottles of corkage waiver, the rest she reluctant to give

btw r u going to have your wedding dinner or lunch?

blossom_ay

Hi ngjoan, when will be your AD?
It is good to hear that the food was really delicious. I will only go for the food tasting around Oct.

blossom_ay

Jac & ning, you are no longer two lonely souls here :p

Hi Jac, mine will be in Dec also.
Hi ning, you can check the "2207 Chijmes" thread. A BTB had the food tasting and her comment is positive

Jac, who's your PG? My photo shoots will be in Sept. Thanks.

BTW, my e-mail is [email protected].
Perhaps you would like to drop me e-mail, so that we can chat. Thanks.

hapict

blossam ay
thanks for your PM. so yours in chijmes? it's lovely n FH wanted it there but managed to get him agree on amara. ;)

blossom_ay

Hi hapict, you are welcome.
Yupe, mine will be in chijmes.
Most important is both of you happy with the venue.
Congrats as you have managed to choose the venue

jac_chan

Hi Blossom,

so glad that one more chijmes bride join us. Which day is your AD? mine is on 9 Dec. My PG is Brights Studio. How abt u?

ngjoan

hi blossom...
my AD will be on sept'07...
still long ahhhh... hehe...

food real nice, service not bad when i went for the food tasting. the chef & the coordinator even come out to ask for ur opinion, etc etc...

jac_chan

Ngjoan,

your AD is in Sept'07 so fast can go for your food tasting? Mine schedule until end of Aug then can go. My AD is Dec this yr.

blossom_ay

hi ngjoan, at 1st i also shock ... wah you had your food testing so early ....!!
then i remember, it is bcoz you won a lucky draw.
anyway it is good for you. not like us, choose the venue 1st & wondering whether the food is good :p

blossom_ay

1 week earlier than yours.
My PG is Kelvin from Chris Ling. Do you mind sharing your photos?
How long did you take photo shoots at Chijmes? Did you get access to upstairs/balcony?

jac_chan

Blossom,

My photos still under develop not ready yet so sorry... i took my photos in mid July and that time i spent about 1 hr there to take my photos. I did went upstairs to take photos at the balcony. Even my photographer also shoot from upstairs while me and my hubby walking along the aisle donwstairs. The effect turns out to be very nice. u can try this too.

ngjoan

haha... ya lor...
i'm not Chijmes BTB...
keke... it's lucky draw lor...
they r not very pestering leh...
so i feel pretty ok wif their service...
& hor, their waiter very handsome leh...
keke...

ppanther

Does anybody know if you're allowed to bring in your own caterer for a Chijmes wedding?

U see, we're looking to do our church ceremony at Chijmes and have our caterer, NOT KRISTON (i heard food so-so) do the reception/ hi-tea on the lawn. So far it's probably the only place I know which can take up to 300-400 pax... Sigh.

cactus_79

Not anymore. Used to be able to bring in own caterer but now must use theirs. THe cost is $700 ++ onwards for weekends for sit down chinese dinner. They charge extra if less than 20 tables. This was what I was told when I enquired late last year.

ppanther

hey cactus, yeah i heard the same thing, but hey u can negotiate for buffet styled luncheons/ receptions too. and with a crowd large enuff with a more ex menu, u dun end up having to pay for rental of the lawn/ hall... at least that's what i heard...

do u know of any other locations able to hold up to 300pax comfortably?

jac_chan

Blossom,

Me still not finalise the florist yet, thinking of getting the florist recommended by Chijmes. I just finalise the invitation cards and now need to go down to choose for the wedding favours.

cactus_79

Hi PPanther, I compared Chijmes' catered food menu with those in hotels and realised that there is a premium to pay if we hold weddings at Chjimes, cos the type of food (quality of food) is similar to those in hotels but Chijmes may not be as "prestigious" as if held in a hotel.

lufsia

Hey there,

I am also considering Chijmes as my banquet venue. I've a few concerns though:

1. Difficulty finding parking space for guest. I understand that the parking lots are limited within the Chijmes compound, guests might have to park at Raffles City.

2. Food quality. When you guys said the food tastes good, are you referring to the food catered by Starworth? Has anyone of you engaged your own caterer?

3. Guest perception of the venue. How do people normally percieve a dinner at Chijmes? I'm not too overly worried about not recouping. But I'm just afraid Singaporeans (esp older relatives) generally only find banquets held in 5-star hotels as expensive and classy.

But if I can have my way, it's my first choice. For urban Singapore, this is one of the few locations where we can experience real heritage. I like the charm of old buildings.

cactus_79

Hi pei shan,

1) Yes, parking lots are limited.
2) I don't know who is Chijmes' caterer. Could be Starworth. Name sounds familiar. Chijmes does not allow us to engage our own caterer anymore. It's a change since 2005/early 2006. I've never tasted Chijmes' caterer's food but I saw the menu and the menu was not impressive.
3) I think pple view dinner at chijmes as a country club. Most singaporeans, not only older relatives, find banquets held in top notch hotels as expensive.. which is the truth... unfortunately. Dinners at Fullerton, Shang and Ritz are over $1k nett. Even dinners at Pan Pac this year is over $1k nett already (weekends).

I think chijmes is nice, and it's an old building. But I think Burkill at Sentosa is nice too. Fullerton is very nice too.

ngjoan

yup, the food catered by Starworth when i went for the food tasting.
the menu might not be looks attractive, but i muz really say the food is really fresh & really taste good!
btw, i'm not chijmes BTB, i'm not promoting them, i only comment wat i feel.

as for the parking lots...
if i'm not wrong, there's underground parking, but it's very ex rite?

jac_chan

The parking at Chijmes is really expensive $8 per entry at night. As for me I had already advice my guest not to drive or park at some where else nearby as the compimentary carpark coupon was not enough. However, since Chijmes is located in the centralise area, therefore, parking at Raffles City or Calton hotel will not be too far.

lufsia

Hi Cactus_79,

where is this Burkill place you're referring to at Sentosa? Yeah, basically I have a very European ideal..I love charming old buildings with history. In urbanized singapore, that's very refreshing.

Anyone here who wedded at Chijmes and suffered a major loss in terms of redpacket? Although recouping is not the most important thing to me, it sure is nice not to lose an arm and a leg for the wedding.

There's also a quaint little chapel in the Singapore Arts Museum (SAM), but it's very very small and not half as grand as the Chijmes hall.