Chijmes

flora_bliss

Has anyone ever been to wedding shows for Chijmes?
What sort of promotion or better deals can we expect if we sign up during wedding shows?

I hope someone can advise.

Thanks a lot!

flora_bliss

Hi BB Queen,

I understand from Jenny that the wedding show will be in end Sept. They have not settle on the promotion yet.

My wedding will be in Dec next yr. Not sure whether should I book with Chijmes now or wait till the wedding show?

What do you gals advise?

korice

hi all.. we have a booking with jenny for next jun too.. guess we all like the ambience.. will be going down for a site visit on mon.. will try & get more info..

any idea where the hotel is?

adozen.. am very curious about the external caterer part too.. cos jenny said no.. so was wondering how you went about it.. thanks!

bb_queen

Korice,

I presume you are using Chijmes for a wedding buffet lunch and not sit down dinner/lunch. I have found out how to get external caterer. If you wish to know, pls pm me.

Flora,

I may be giving up on Chijmes if the wedding show is really Sept. Too late to decide on anything. Dec next year?? You have plenty of time to wait. Just one year in advance is sufficient. YOu really plan ahead! :p

oscarr

Hi Oink Oink,
How was ur ROM solemnisation in Chijmes?
I am planning mine either there or Raffles Town CLub. Can you share ur experience with me?

flora_bliss

BB Queen,

I'll be helping 2 frens with their wedding this yr. So at the same time, I'll settle the major wedding stuff together. I wanna concentrate more on the new house next yr.

Not too sure if there's anything attractive during the wedding show. If not much of the difference, then might as well book now.

Which other alternative banquet venue you looking at ?

fervon

Hi all..
I'm interested in getting chijmes as my ad venue.. About the catering thing, i thought chijmes have inhouse kitchen? BB queen, pls enlighten me..

monroe

How much does it cost to book the chijmes venue? Can someone please offer me a rough gauge please? I'm totally new to this wedding game. Just decided my wedding date last night!

vane

Hi, I booked Chijmes for 22 Dec 2007. 8-course Chinese dinner. Paid 3K deposit already. However, due to unforeseen circumstances, I would like to let go of the booking. If you are interested, please send me a private message.

fervon

Hi femme,
I think the night atmosphere is better, and also more cooler? ^^ I've booked my dinner banquet at chijmes which is on 08. Hope everything will turn out great! ^^

piggy_mousey

Hi wish_upon_a_star,

actually i checked with Chijmes before on the 22nd December date and they said the couple had to let go of the banquet and realised its you when i was going through this thread, maybe you can PM me? tks

cheekychick

Hi Xue Li, u booked ur banquet at Chijmes? Congrats to u!! Not sure if i will be holding in future but i like Chijmes very very much

unicorn_pmy

Hi could anyone pls advise how much would a 10 course dinner at chijmes costs including rental of venue and everything? What is the minimum table requirement?

jammy

Hi, has anyone been a CHIJMES lunch bride before? I am thinking of throwing a lunch banquet (the full 8 course type) but is worried that my guests will preceived it to be low cost and in the process lose too much on the event.

Anyone with prior experience? Please share with me.

zephany

Hey JHU, i think as long it's CHIJMES, most pple will think that it's a very nice and NOT-CHEAP place..

don't worry too much lah..

anyway, when it comes to wedding, try not to expect to EARN money out of it.. ;)

Just enjoy.. and be happy about the venue you've chosen!

jammy

Thanks Nagol! I am learning to enjoy the process and preparation. Realise I should make it a happy chore
Haha! Thanks for the advice.

Meanwhile, I have decided on having a cosy CHIJMES dinner and then another oriental style dinner in Peony Jade (cool place too!).

That solves my problem

fervon

Wow.. didn't know that Chijmes thread becomes active le.. keke.. good good...

Cheekychick...Sorry, i just happened to see ur post here today.. haha.. Ya, i've booked with Chijmes lo and happy with my decision. ^^

JHU... Cool.. having 2places for dinner! I shortlisted peony jade & GPPR for my rom that time. But eventually settled for GPPR.. And now i'm looking fwd to my dinner in Chijmes.

pinkie_nah

Any idea how much it will cost to jus do a wedding lunch reception at CHIJMES inclulding venue and etc.. Was thinking of doing a lunch for the Solomisation and for the dinner to be elsewhere .. was wondering of very traditional parents will be against as scare that they will perceive it as "ang mo" and christian place.. any one can share ?

zephany

hi nahinbliss, you talking about international buffet or talkingabt 6 course chinese sit down banquet?

if it's the latter i think it's around $588++ per table (6 course chinese menu) and yes the lawn for solemnisation is inclusive in the package.

Email Jenny from CHIJMES. She's very helpful and nice.

pinkie_nah

hmm thanks for the reply .. i was loking thru.. actualy i wan the solemnisation in the chijmes chapel cos very pretty but still will have a tradition dinner .. so was looking if in term of cost it is explorabale .. also had nt talk to parents yet.. nt sure if they ok wif the western place.. anyway to use the chapel for the solemnisation i must at least have lunch buffet right ?

jyiah

like the ambience there too but looking thru the package it does not come with bridal suite as compare with other hotels....

fervon

Ya, its becos chijmes not hotel, so that's y they can't include bridal suite. Hmm, they did include 1 night stay at nearby hotels.. i not very sure with the new package. U may call them up to check. ^^

fervon

Ya, Nagol... that's rite.. They informed me i get the junior suite in swissotel too when i booked my dinner package then.. ^^

fervon

haha.. but i'm ok not getting to stay in the bridal suite since i'm attracted to the chijmes building in the first place. Cos i know since chijmes isn't a hotel, it can't include many perks like hotel does. But with those perks given by chijmes, i think it's already sufficient la. Somemore they include a night stay in swissotel which i find not bad leh. ^^ I'm sure with the majestic structure, our wedding will turn great! =]

fervon

Hi alluring_dec,
Yes, i've signed up a couple of months ago, but it was way before chijmes revised their package for 2008. So i can't advise u on that as they may have different throw-ins.Their new packages are in the site: http://www.chijmeshall.com.sg

You may go thru the package first and call them for enquires. ^^

Hi Xue Li,

I am aware of the packages already... Just thinking if i can take a look at what Chijmes can offer after negotiation. So thought of asking if you can reveal to me your package details. I understand that they have a package revision recently also. But if you do not feel uncomfortable about revealing it, it's alright. I understand. Thanks anyway!

cheekychick

Hi Xue Li, keke..also juz realised thread is active liao :D I love Chijmes, very nice...nitetime is quite mesmerizing
Pity my hubby doesnt reali like it...i tink he's still abit 'old-fashioned', tink it looks like angmoh place :D Thks for the link, i used to visit the Chijmes website but i can nv find any packages attached

fervon

Hi alluring_dec,
I felt it would be better if u could get from someone who had signed up after they made the package revision. Then only u will have a more accurate details what the package will be after negotation. Likely there will be different negotation and different throw-ins between the previous and recent packages. Hope u understand that. ^^

And hope those who had signed up lately with the revised package, mayb can share with alluring_dec some pointers? Thanks. ^^

Cheeky Chick,
Hello! keke.. Ya, this thread has been non-active for quite awhile.. The banquet menu is in the website..probably u just missed it. ^^

Monroe,
Hello!! Me also chijmes BTB! keke.. when's ur banquet? Mine's in 08.. ^^

unicorn_pmy

Hi everyone, I am new to this forum.

I am also thinking of having my wedding held at Chijmes.

Would appreciate if you can help to advise what is the package you have negotiated with Chijmes as I am emailing them and would like to know where I should start the negotiation point from.

Also heard that there was a wedding show for Chijmes just 1 or 2 weeks ago. Has anyone attended this show? If so, could you please share with me the wedding package details and what are the perks included.
If it is not convenient to list down the details here, could you email me at [email protected]
Really appreciate your advice. Thanks.

dhz

Hi Prettyme,

I will be signing up with Chijmes next week.. Yvonne is my coordinator.. Met up with her once. quite a nice lady to work with I would say. Would be great to hear from someone who have signed up with Yvonne before though! How do you feel about her?

But really, Chijmes dont offer much perks..

Hi dhin,

What does the perks mean? What kind of perks would a hotel normally offer that Chijmes wont? Can please let me know?

And yes, if there is any brides who have signed up with Chijmes already and is willing to share their package details with me and if it is inconvenient to share here, please email me at [email protected]. Much appreciated as i will like to know what Chijmes can really offer. Thks in advance!

dhz

Hi alluring dec..

Things like free carpark coupons, reserved tables (not sure if this is the term they use.. haha)

I think previously Chijmes does not include a bridal suite in their package.. they only offer a deluxe room.. but from what i know, they have revised their package and have included more things... including one night's bridal suite.. not sure which hotel though...

actually if you like the place and the atmosphere.. chijmes package consider quite good lar..

one thing i realize is that chijmes is quite flexible in that you can change some of the items that you think is not necessary into something else..

zephany

Hi, mine is a lunch banquet. 6 courses menu at $588++ (according to the roadshow a couple of weeks ago)

Am thinking of adding 2 more courses to make it 8 courses.

Mine would be solemnisation at 11am followed by cocktail reception then a lunch banquet.

No dinner banquet.

prettyme

Hi dhin,

I had met up with Yvonne. She is a very friendly and nice person. Understand from her that she is also new to the company.

Is yours a dinner banquet? Will you be lighting up the stained glasses for the night?

cheekychick

Hi Prettyme, i sent an email to enquire & it was Yvonne who replied me as well

Ok, cfm external caterings not allowed. She apologised for the wrong info indicated on Tung Lok's brochure. Cos i have this Tung Lok brochure which indicates dat it provides catering to many venues including Chijmes. So i emailed to ask...but i will have only 16-18 tables...so i replied Yvonne to ask if they have any packages suitable for me...cos i understd dat have to pay a hefty amount for the rental of the hall if total tables is < 25.

Hi Dhin, glad to noe dat Chijmes is flexible for the menu...cos quite a few hotels do not allow change of dishes even for dishes of the same value. A few things that may pose a disadvantage would be the restrooms, lack of parking..have to pay for projector if needed too...and wont have dry ice for the march-in i tink. But its not a hotel afterall, so i guess cannt compare with hotels...the place is reali unique &amp; beautiful, dats the biggest attraction to me :p

zephany

For restrooms, i heard it's abt 2 min walk to the restrooms. I think it's not a big problem lah..

For parking, i will advise my visitors to park at Raffles City or SMU.

For projector, my bf is borrowing from his company i think :p so we only need to borrow the screen whch cost $100/per screen.

jade84_13

Pretty me, when are you having your dinner at Chijmes? I am also thinking of signing with them..care to share your package?

dhz

Hi Prettyme,

Yes im thinking of lighting up the stained glass.. looks more grand i think... but quite ex lar.. abt 1k from what i know...

cheeky_chick,

they'll waive off the rental if you have more than 20 tables, not 25.. so u must as well invite a few more frens sicne you already have abt 18.. more worth it i think..

prettyme

Starworth changed their package details. You will need more than 25 tables instead of 20 now if you do not want to pay the rental of the hall.