Chevrons @ Boon Lay Way

wg0801

been quite some time since i last logged in. Been busy with my reno stuff.

hi iggy,

mind to share your pics? my email add: [email protected]
still sourcing for ideas for the ballroom deco. haven't really got the time to go down to discuss with Winnie re the floral stand and the menu.

When do u start discussion with her over the menu and the AD stuffs?

woof_woof

hi iggy,

yah lor i still not so confident so dun really dare to dive leh ... and emm still need more dives to be better .. tats why sometimes i feel SSI is better in their own way

hehe i am going diving or rather my last dive before i set off ... hehe

iggy17

Hi sushi, wg,
\have emailed u gals...

we started neg on menu during and right after food tasting which was approx 2-3 mths before AD. As for the floral decor, we dicussed progressively, even up till a week before, i was still asking for addition...heehee...cos' i saw some ceiling decor at the ballroom entrancfe that my pkg do not hv, so i requested from Peng tse at a cost. Actual day schedule was discussed with Pauline, a senior captain, when we brought the CDs for testing at the ballroom during our rehearsals. she is the one who was with us thru out the whole event...she's really good!!

hi woof,
so when are u gg for yr last dive? i am dying for one but can't really squeeze out enough time now...

wg0801

hi iggy,

seen your pics.. very well taken. where do u go for the outdoor photoshoot on AD itself?

Thanks again for sharing ur pics.

suishi

hi iggy,

thank for sharing yr pics.

Seem that u got quite a nos of table but still able to change into another gown at the end of the banquet, how did u manage to do that???

suishi

hi wg,

My co-ordinator is winnie too & mi also havn't go down to discuss on the wedding stuff. Will winnie give us a call on the wedding matters or we have to call her ourself??

When is your AD?

iggy17

hi wg,
we went to marina south after praying at the guanyin temple at si ma street (bugis) initially wanted to go lim chu kang but it started raining so no choice got to detour...u r welcome, do rem to share yours when the time comes hor

hi sushi,
we were given a room at the side of the ballroom. so i brought all the gowns that i need to change there. it was really a rush to change into the kua. with my hubby and jiemeis' help, i managed it in less than 5mins, just in time to see the guests off phew!!! i told the captain to delay the last dish abit lor...as we were trying to cover all 55 tables of guests, toasting...we din take photos the traditional way, just "cheers, snap and go" still, we only ended around 10.45-11pm...we started late at 9pm so everything's abit rush towards e end...

iggy17

hi woof,
rem to tell me how's yr dive at hantu..i wonder if the visz is good...hmm...

sushi,
u can set yrself a timeline on things to settle progressively...the critical stuffs are only happening after the food-tasting, then decor...
Winnie only reminded or meet us for the foodtasting, invites printing, testing of music cds and rehearsals if required...the rest are all we arranged with her one to follow up on stuffs that are not firmed up in the first few meetups...

wg0801

hi suishi,

same here..mine coordinator is Winnie. My AD is in Jan next year. Haven't arrange to meet up with Winnie regarding the dinner etc.

I only managed to book the chalet for my AD. Was told that the dressing room was small and if it happen to have another wedding dinner going on, we need to share the dressing room.

I think we gotta call Winnie ourselves.

suishi

hi WG,

Mine is on 21 Jan, how abt yr?

ya, the dressing room is very small so still thinking of the need to book chalet. Iggy was given a changing room beside the ballroom so can ask winnie for that too, this will save mi for booking a chalet.

Still wondering when is the best time for us to submit the form for the printing of cards?

iggy17

hi sushi, wg,

We informed Winnie of the invite printing after we confirmed the no of tables shortly after we hv the food-tasting. usually they will give 70% of the total no of tables. Winnie shld be able to explain more in details. The changing room beside the ballroom is bigger than the one at the restaurant, so if u aren't able to book the chalet, u cacn request Winnie for it.

There is no definite timeline, as long as u feel comfortable giving the no. Since both your AD is in Jan, most likely yr foodtasting will be in Nov latest, of cos' they will request that u do it earlier...

anyone getting the decor from peng tse or just taking the one in the pkg by GT? Mine was FOC in he pkg which looked pretty decent but i did add some decor at the ceiling of the entrance...fresh flowers are nice but expensive and we can't really recycle them

wg0801

hi sushi & iggy,

mine is on 7 Jan. Agree with iggy that the other changing room was bigger. at that time, Winnie didn't tell me abt that room, it was the then manager(resigned) who told me that they can let me use that room if nobody is using it or that hall not fully packed. If I'm not wrong, only have a mirror.

I will try to ask for the pink floral stand but not sure whether Winnie will agree or not. Can't remember whether GT do decorate the ceiling. What abt the reception area?

in fact I had my ROM lunch celebration held at the restaurant so might not be going for the food tasting.

pinkyu

I just come back from BKK. I bought my favours there too. 400pcs abt SGD145+-. You can go n buy ur favours there too.. but must bargain alot from them lo.. I bought at Chatuchak but cant tell u which shop that area too big liao mi n my hubby anyhow walk den pass by a shop wic sell all this wedding favours alot. But the sale lady at the shop there cant listen to english she oni know how to say "Can see no sell!" "need order." If let say u wana buy from there hor.. they will tell u that need 1 month for ordering u tell them can take either today or tomorrow. I order in the morning den at nite they deliver to the hotel for me... I spend alot there too.

They have nite market call "Suan-Lam" if i'm not wrong u can go n see there also got alots of things to see n buy..

suishi

hi iggy & WG,

Thanks for the info. How long does the printing take?

I will engage Peng Tse for some additional deco & add the nos of flower stand to 8 fresh flower stand to avoid too emptyness(40 tables)

Hi pinkyu,

Do you mind sharing the pics of the favours you brought from BKK?

iggy17

hi sushi,
the printing is pretty fast abt a week.actually this is one of the easiest thing to tackle as compared to AD schedule and table arrangement...those even more headache!! heehee...

if i rem fresh flowers cost abt 400-800bucks dep on the whether seasonal...

oh yes, me oso got some stuffs bought from bangkok like he flower baskets to put petals, tealight candles for each table...quite cheap cos' abt 200bucks for 70 tealights, 12baskets. This was a favor by my jiemei who happen to go BKK before my wedding

celtricia

Hi ladies..

Any idea if chevron has a website i can visit? or can any of u give me the contacts for chevron? Nid to check on the ballroom price on behalf of my fren coz she's interested in buffet style..

Thanks a lot in advance..

sky25

hi, i like to know how long in advance did u book d venue? coz they say they cant cfm w me yet.. i'm looking at oct 2006

pinky_girl

Hi Suishi,

I'm thinking of Nov next yr. But need to check the tongshu. Hv to wait till the 7 mth is over then can chk. BTW, iszi that we can't make booking for nxt yr end banquet?

suishi

hi Ms_Blur,

Tat right, nothing can be done in 7mth. Just take this as a break cos more to come.

PPl usually book 1 yr in advance for hotel, it might be too early liao since yr AD is in NOv. Give them a call to check, when is the early date to start booking.

marilyntay

Hi Ms Blur, I just went to BG cos my sil wants to book the place. Her AD is on end-sept. If you are thinking of using the restaurant, you can already book the place. If you are thinking of using the ballroom, then it you will have to call them a year before to check.

tim

I had my wedding banquet at the Balloom 2 yrs back. Did not receive much adverse remarks abt the food, ambience or service then. My hubby and I always count ourselves lucky as we didn't need to sweat much over the food tasting, printing of wedding cards, wastage of tables and even the actual dinner went on smoothly without us even realising it. 2 of my friends who attended my wedding then even went back to host theirs there. I became their guest then. Those of u with any headache or worries, try to talk to Kenny, the Banquet Mgr. Heard fr his staff that he had more than 10 years of overlooking banquets. He was the one who took care of most of my fears and worries then and offer many helpful advice.

pinky_girl

Hi Suishi,

Thanks for your info. I am using the ballroom for my banquet. So that mean I can only book around end Oct.
So which BS have you booked?

suishi

Hi Ms_Blur,

Mi too having the ballroom, i will engage Peng Tse for additional deco to the ballroom. Have u seen the ballroom?

I'm with Bridal Concept. Quite excited waiting for my PS in Sept. Have u decide on the BS?

pinky_girl

Hi Suishi,

Yes, I've seen the ballroom. i think they just renovate it that why it look very new.

And i'm still sourcing for my BS.

suishi

Hi WG,

I just found out winnie is no longer with brillant garden . Now not sure who will be incharge of my wedding

cima_yv

Dear Ladies,

Need some advise, i just went to Brillant garden to pay my S$1k deposit last nite with Katherine (Manageress) for my Wedding dinner at Ballroom in Oct 06. But the contract signed with her is only to confirm date n guarantee no. of tables (didn't state / write any thing on the Weddding package, free beer / stout / corkage or whatsoever that is on the wedding pamplet). Please advise.

Cos she said ok to me for the following stuff that is not in the pamplet.
- Free seat covers,
- Waive corkage for Red wine / Hard liquor
- unused tables to be paid n consumed within a mth
- 2 red tables
- Free a bottle of champamgn
- Tier of glasss 3 or 4 for toasting
- Wedding cards : 70%

Kinda worried that what she say ok n confirm to me for the above will not stand at the time of wedding next yr.

To those ladies that already sign contract with them, is it also like tat ?? (only confirm date n guarantee no. of tables)

cima_yv

And by the way, after signing this contract, when do we need to go to discuss the other stuff?? I am lost already??? Banquet in Oct 06

suishi

Those stuffs u mention above is included in the packages liao. As for when to dicuss other stuff, mi too very blur. still waiting for my co-ordinator to call me but in the end i give a call.

Me a bit worry now cos the co-ordinator i signed with had left the resturant so not sure the Kenny the banquet manager who handling my wedding will agree to those stuff winnie agreeded to give me. "keep my finger cross"

suishi

Hi yvonne,

You have to call them 3 month before your AD to discuss on the stuff.

I have arrange to meet Kenny(banquet manager) in mid of Nov to discuss on the invitation & other stuff.

cima_yv

Dear Suisui,

Thanks . so do u mean the contract u signed with them is also only to confirm date n guarantee no. of tables (didn't state / write any thing on the Weddding package, free beer / stout / corkage or whatsoever that is on the wedding pamplet).

And what they promised to u (like my case is verbal)

suishi

Hi yvonne,

Ya, tat the main content of the contract we signed.

Same apply 2 me. all verbally no black & white. i request for a free pre-dinner for bride & groom & some additional item