Chevrons @ Boon Lay Way

wg0801

Hi pinkyu & Suishi,

My AD is January. I got a mixture of ivory and red colour invitation cards. The printing of the cards doesn't take long. From confirmation to printing less than 2 weeks.

I might be adding some decor on top of what GT provides. They will be giving me the full backdrop. Have you checked out how much will it cost for the usage of real flower etc?

Btw, when is your wedding?

Same here...I am in the midst of preparing the guest list and the food menu. AS for the red wine, we are also sourcing around.

suishi

Hi WG,

My AD is also January. Me too asking for 2 colour invitation cards. Now, waiting for my cards to be ready.

Wat u mean full backdrop? I did check with Peng Tse for the cost for using real flower, $500 for 8 real flowers stand, 2 VIP centrepeice & 1 reception flower, is the price reasonable?

I might save the cost & use the artifical flower by GT.

Will you be going for food tasting?

pinkyu

Hi WG,

My AD is May. Now i'm looking for wedding songs for 1st n 2nd march-in plus 1st dish..
haiz... -.-"

Will you take pic for the ballroom? IF any can send it to me? keke
Did you go to their ballroom to check their system or blah blah blah before your wedding.. that time winnie told me no problem just cfm wif her the date n time 1week or 3days before my AD. Now I duno still can anot...

suishi

Hi pinkyu,

wow...u have start searching for yr song now.

I do have pic on the ballroom take half a year ago, will send u tonight. Please provide yr email address?

Thinking of testing their system during the my AD.

joyousonline

hi astrogirl,
the price per tables has increased..
now is $428 nett, $498 nett, $528 nett, $588 nett

Brilliant(Min 20 tables)
MPH(Min 25 tables)
Ballroom (35 tables price at $528 and $588 nett ONLY)

joyousonline

hey did any of you gals did your wedding in the MPH?? coz the date that i want, the ballroom is taken up liao..only left the restaurant and MPH lo..sigh...

so should i book the 2005 price or 2006 pricing??

suishi

joyousonline,

Which date r u looking at?Did you view their MPH?

which year pricing to take... will depend what causes the different. If the dishes is the same or only a slight diff, might as well take the 2005 price lor. save $$$$

joyousonline

hi suishi,
me looking at 24th june 2006 lo....the MPH is airconditioned..but then it looks like a school hall where you can our president's n wife photo..actually decor is not bad but look a school hall.

yeah i need to see if the dishes are the same???

pinky_girl

Hi Joyousline,

May I know what do you mean by 2005 or 2006 pricing. Do you mean that if our AD is next year but we confirm this year we still can choose 2005 pricing iszi. And may i know the pricng for $528 & $588 ballroom is it for 2006 pricing.

Sorry to ask you so many questions.

joyousonline

hi ms blur,
yeah the prices i posted are for 2006 pricing..think 2005 hv their own pricing..need to check with brilliant ar...coz think if u book now, maybe still can use 2005 pricing...

hi astrogirl,
yeah true..looks weird..sigh..can anyone advise?? i m really in a dilemma..so sad..MIL only wanna jurong area..i wanna town..now she is unhappy..i m still searching for places..i hope to b in town..but but but..sigh

suishi

joyousonline,

ya...very weird using the MPH.

You can consider, resturant under Tun lok @ upper jurong road, Arena Country club

or

Spring Garden Resturant @ Safara Mt Faber, their ballroom is nice too. (From the mag)

pinky_girl

Hi joyousonline,

Thanks for your info.

I'm in the same dilemma as you. I would like to hold my banquet in town but MIL also only wanna Jurong area....

Sighs...

joyousonline

hi ms blur,
seems like we are in the same boat..sigh...dunno wat to do ar..we ask her outram/chinatown..she says far..win liao lo...sg so small only leh..

bluey_pipi

l just have my wedding dinner held last sun in BG Restaurant. l m very disappointed in their food and services.

1)My slideshow VCD - Its seems like the there is a jumping of disc n the image cannot be
view properly. It keep hanging, we tried again n the same thing repeat.No choice we have to give up n proceed for the first march in.

l have make sure the VCD was ok b4 l bring to the restaurant n few months back when l bought the VCD to the restaurant to try, everything was fine. When l took it back that nite, l try using my hse CD player n PC, no problem at all..

l can say its really not my disc problem, but they keep insisting it is my disc problem..

Can u imagine my disappointment....

2)The dry ice too low, many guests say they cannot see any dry ice effect.

3)Service was bad, nobody clear the dishes n the waiter reaction is very slow.

4)The package comes with free flow of beer n stout. Nobody serve for at least 1hour , until my sis go n check with captain, then the captain response was "oh issit, l go n informed them."
My guest dun even know there is upposed to have free flow of beer/stout cos the waiter/waiteress dun even iniaited to even ask my guest if they want. l think they really do not have any briefing or coordination.

5)The shark fins was very starchy. Taste Terrible.

This is the experience l got and l really felt total disappointment n sad.
At the end of the dinner, l complained to the manager,no discount was given. They compensate by asking me to go back n eat with no charge.

l find it no more point, this experience l got really left me a very bad n "unforgettable"
impression with them.

suishi

Hi Bluey Pipi,

I feel sorry for your encounter. Thank for sharing the info, we will take notice of the above point.

Who is your co-ordinator? Are you having your banquet in the ballroom or resturant?

wg0801

Hi Suishi,

BG will be giving me the pink floral stand, not the orange/yellow colour one. Initially, Winnie will be giving me the orange/yellow stand which I think is not suitable for the ballroom. I haven't liaise with Peng Tse yet regarding the ballroom decor.

I had my ROM lunch at BG, so won't be going for the food tasting. What about u?

Hi Pinkyu,
I didn't take any pics of the ballroom. Didn't think of that. We can test out the system before the AD. Maybe, on the AD itself, before the dinner, say in the late afternoon, ask friends to play the CD/VCD again, just to make sure that it's working fine.

Well, I am also sourcing for songs. Do anyone knows what songs/music does BG play? Can we ask them?

Does anyone out there has any recommendation for red wine? Can share?

sky25

hi joyousonline,

yr MIL lives nearby? mayb both of u can give in a step.. Since she wans jurong area, y not arena country club? or raffles marina? but both places not v convenient for yr guest unless they drive. try to talk to her c wat she say lor..

suishi

HI WG,

I'm asking for a purple backdrop to match my WG is in pink colour.

Not going for food tasting.

I'm leaving the red wine to my in-law so one task off my list

Song provided by BG is very limited they got only 12 song.

sky25

hi joy,

but how big is singapore?? as long as it's at west side shd b ok mah.. act i almost in d same situation as u but not w PIL but w hb relatives.. PIL wan smwhere cheap n nice n they said tt they ok w rest.. so they suggest alot of places to us.. like dragon gate n even 1 rest along jln bt merah.. i was quite pissed off by their suggestion. luckily hb reject their offer of having at dragon gate.. not tt there not gd but i juz don like there.. then i saw chevrons so i suggest chevrons to them quite surpriseingly they agree coz of the food also it's nearer to my hse.. then they mention to them we might hold in jurong then his aunt say "huh, muz go to jurong so far (coz they stay near redhill) was quite pissed off.. but in d end we din sign w them coz of the changing room problem..

might b quite selfish to say this but it's yr own wedding u hav to decide where u wan n wat u wan.. mayb ask her which is the furthest she can compromise then decide..

suishi

hi Sky,

Have you been to the restaurant @ Safra Club @ Mount Faber, their ballroom nice too?

I dislike their changing room too .....a bit of smell cos near to kitchen & very small.

Did you take a look at the violet room? A simple little room with only chair & mirror near to the ballroom.

I have book a chalet with the chevron during my banquet which will solve my changing problem.

sky25

Hi sushi,

ya, hav been to Safra @ mt faber thou transport abit troublesome. in fact i book my banquet there.. but nv see the actual deco coz whenever they hav dinner i cant make it.. but seen the pix quite nice.. but the menu is slightly more ex than chevrons. My PIL quite happy there oso coz walking dist fr their hm.. hehe...

I din look at the violet room coz my main purpose is d ballroom.. when i visit d place, there are 4 couples holding their dinner there so din look at their changing room, like v rude.. only look at the ballroom n MPH. but kenny say if no1 using d violet room tt day, i can use d changing room there. if not, i hav to use d rest 1.. i find it quite odd using d rest like pple will look at u when u walk past i a bit pai seh.. hehe..

_memories

Hi everybody

I will be having my wedding in June06 @ chevron too.

Can i join in the chat?

_memories

Hi Suishi,

everything had more or less been done.now still searching ard for the photographer and videographer.

hopefully i can get it settle soon so that it will be another load off.

i din managed to book the ballroom on my AD itself. so no choice got to have my dinner the day after.still waiting for chevron to confirm with me whether they have it on the day i want.

How abt u? when will u will having your wedding?

ceraine

hi ms blur,

i went to Chevron this week and was told the Ballroom is booked for 9/12/05 for their own function. and also, booking can only commence on 9/12/05, 1 mth in advance.
u might wana call and check again.

Joyous,
really? then i gotta check out on the menu and price liao. thought its the same, as mentioned by Ann,the supervisor. the most premium menu as $528.
Guess i better talk to Kenneth instead. most of you ladies liase with him right??

oh, we are able to choose the backdrop color?
anyway, will be checking out the 3 rooms this weekend.

suishi

pinkyu,

i will forward you tomorrow cos mine is a fax copy need to scan.

You can ask the person who answer the call to fax to you too.

_memories

Hi Sushi,

I haven't check with kenny on the new pricing for 2006. mind emailing me the new menu? my email is [email protected]

hope the new dishes in the menu are as good as the old ones too.

so when will u be going for your food tasting?

joyous
u mean we can choose the backdrop colours?

i know they did some renovation to the ballroom this year but not sure whats the difference.

pinky_girl

Hi Ceraine,

My AD is on 9 Dec 06. But anyway thanks for informing. I will call chevron again to check the availability of the ballroom.

suishi

memories,

no food tasting cos my FIL is very confident on Gim Tim group, just hoping the food will taste nice that night lor.

When your AD?

apuppy

Can I know what perks I can ask for or exchange cause most likely taking cheveron and going down this weekend to take a look~ For example i don need the hotel stay can change to other things? And do they accept next day payment? Do they have vegetarian food?

_memories

Hi Sushi

Thanks. i received it. and i call kenny to ask whether is it compulsory to take the 2006 menu and he mention that i am allowed to choose between 2005 and 2006 menu.

when i sign the package, my menu state that i have a free complimentary food tasting for 10. now dun know whether still available or not..

my AD on 11.6.06(sun)but my dinner on 12.6.06. cos the ballroom is already taken up on 11.6.06..its better too.i can have more rest.

Hi Apuppy

From my understanding, the payment had to be settled after the dinner.. i asked this qns the other time when i sign up too. so the manager at that time was suggesting we increase the credit card limit with the bank..
they do have vegetarian but must tell them b4 hand. and if i din rem wrongly its by per pax. got to check with them as i booked them in 2004. cannot rem the details already.

suishi

Hi memories,
free complimentary food tasting?? u having more than 50 tables?

me too...AD on 16/1/06 but dinner on 21/1/06. Dont have to be so rush for my AD can relax a bit

_memories

Hi Sushi,

me not having 50 tables. only having ard 20-22.but when i booked the package in 2004, the package includes a complimentary table for 10. but dun know whether its still valid now or not..

apuppy

mind sharing what perks I can try fight for if i am going to take the ballroom at 35 tables? Today went down and saw the ballroom was very nice...what i wanted that kind... All the dates that i want all full so no choice i shd be deciding on a Friday.Talk to Katherine just now but everything also cannot..she say if don want any perks won deduct any money or change other things..Sigh...Anyone manage to bargain any perks?

And by the way,can engage people to decorate the place.? Can give me more details?

Lastly how u guys solve the transport problem? I understand got shuttle bus but any experience can comment is it easy for them to catch the shuttle?

_memories

Hi Apuppy

I din managed to get any perks either. From what i understand from Winnie, the former banquet manager, they price they gave is already reasonable and since they are already an old name in the industry they dun intend to mark up the price thus whatever they can give us they give us..including the free beer etc..

if i am not wrong, u can engage ppl to decorate the place. just tell the manager in charge will do.

as for transport, the free shuttle bus is only available on weekends as in sat and sun. on other days will have to book yourself. u can get their driver by asking the restaurant to give u their contact. it might be cheaper. or u can book your own shuttle bus.

actually its within walking distance from the mrt too.from far they can see akira building. its just beside it.or they can take 105 from JE interchange or outside clementi mrt/orchard..etc

some of my frds will be walking there and as for the rest who dun know how to get there. i will be booking a shuttle bus too..

hope my explanation helps

suishi

Hi Memories & Apuppy,

They do provide free shuttle bus on fri too...saw that on my way to collect the cards.

Apuppy,
They refused to exchange perks or deduct money for those unwanted perks.

U can engage Peng Tse for ballroom deco,the standard deco provided by GT is done by him. I dont have the contact now, ask katherine or Kenny for the namecard.

Frankly speaking, i prefer kenny than katherine cos he more "open" to some ideas or exchange. See u can change your co-ordinator. But i can't gurantee how good he is cos my AD is Jan, hoping what he promise able to go thru.

wg0801

Hi Suishi,

Most likely I will be posting the cards in the middle of Dec. Hmm..still have a lot of stuff not done yet.

Apuppy,
they do provide vegetarian and muslim food. Can be either by per pax or per table. U can get the menu from GT.

They dun allow us to change the hotel room to other perks.

Agree with Suishi that Kenny is more 'open' to discussion etc. I am not sure abt Katherine...didn't liaise with her before.