Chevrons @ Boon Lay Way

cima_yv

Hi Pinkyu,

Me not so soon lah, thinking of going in Sept. Always hear ppl say they buy this or that in thailand for their wedding. but i oso don't know where..

pinkyu

You are going to thailand on Sept.. erm.. mi gg on july... after i come back i try to give u more info on the places that can buy alot of things de... cos now i also duno wer is the place... oni my colleagues know the place well.

iggy17

You shld go chatuchak mkt, MBK, etc...let me see if i can find the list of shopping places...

Do look out for stuffs that u can use as wedding favors. cos' u get buy in bulk and get huge discounts : )
eg. incense & holders, tealight holders, candles, angbao boxes etc.

me also ask my fren to buy ratten baskets for putting flower petals for throwing during our march-in...let me know if anyone of u interested in getting from me...I have abt 12, will share pics if u r keen

iggy17

hi purple_star,
u can just call Brilliant Garden Rst underGim Tim Group and ask for Winnie. SHe's the banquet supervisor who coordinate with us on the package and the details.

pinky_girl

By the way, does anyone know whether GT is able to serve halal foods for 3 pax? Cos I hv a few muslin friends and the no. is not able to cover 1 whole table. Can anyone advise me on this.

pinkyu

Hi Ms Blur,

GT they do serve halah food for per pax.
You can also call Winnie (Banquet Supervisor) @ 67959339 or email : [email protected] to ask for the menu.. if i'm not wrong their halah food per pax is >$50

Hi Iggy,

Can u send me the pic?

cima_yv

Hi Iggy,

Thanks for the advise. Just wondering if you manage to find the list of shopping places in THailand where we can get wedding stuff.

Hi Pinkyu,
you confirmed your trip to THailand already? when u leaving? remember to tell me k.

iggy17

GT oso serves vegetarian per pax too...

hi pinkyu,
u mean PS photos ar? think i emailed u oredi lei? nvr receive ar, pls let me know, thks

Things to bargain for:
-cost of food tasting if tables less than 40
-at later stage: change of dish with less $ top-up
-at least 4 tiers of champagne glasses
-the captain and the staffs are able to handle most of the requests eg. things to be handle before,during and after the banquet, dun be afriad to ask

-usage of projector is std of $100, me can't bargain it away...but quite worth it cos' big and clear

The captain is very efficient and managed to make us feel well taken care of, arranged fried rice, noodles, drinks, etc before we start the banquet. They even advise my hubby to eat some butter, in fact they gave him a slice so as to be able to handle the wine/liquor drinking better...all in all, quite satisfied with their std of service.

we oso got comments that their service is quite good and food portion is enough, not too much or too little. But just 1 tiny complaint was the serving of red wine, in fact they controlled the flow as per our intructions so well that we have abt 40% left heehee, so can't really blame them...

pinkyu

Hi Iggy,

I mean the photo taken on your AD at chevrons de...
I dun think i receive the PS photo also.. keke...
Oh.. the projector u can bargain for FOC? Winnie gif me FOC for this cos at 1st i request for free food tasting den she dun wan so change to projector FOC lo.

My trip will be on 22 Jul - 24 Jul.

iggy17

hi pinkyu,
u din give me yr email add huh

good for u den. my foodtasting was free cos' mine is 55tables. too bad cos' neg with another mgr previously, hard nut to crack :p

i haven't received my AD photos yet lei, another 1.5 weeks more...

iggy17

hi ms blur,

i'd love to but hv not gotten it yet :p will be getting it next year,hopefully. will share by then...

How's yr preps? Cfm BS, venue oredi? When's yr AD?

pinky_girl

Ok...

Sigh, Everything hv not been confirm yet cos waiting for the tong shu to be out before confirming the AD date..

But I've confirm to hv my banquet at chevron, for BS still searching...any BS to recommend?

iggy17

hi Ms Blur,
Dun sigh lei ;) me oso wait till neck long long last year before I can book the venue, anyway, things still go on. u can source other things like videographer, photographer, florist, etc first...

it actually deps on yr budget, personal preference whether you like the style of the particular BS (their designers) and their service & the package deal. For me i check out several BS in the forum; former brides from the respective BS will give comments and share their experience. Also attended wedding shows by Style wedding Mag to see the various BS presenting their gowns. From there I narrow down a few and visit them at the shop to check out the designs, talk to the designer, test out their service level. Last but not least, take a walk along tanjong pagar, with yr girlfrens, pls, not hubby at the first round. Else u sure kenna hold up. Cos' some BS are known to be quite sticky.

Try to think of hwat kind of wedding u want if poss, perhaps if u can think of usually how people compliment u...cute? sweet? sexy? what's yr personal style...i usually get comments that i look good in with certain looks...so i work in that direction to serach for BS.

For eg. Ted Wu specialise in emboidary, The Wedding present & emmanuel b in luxious fabrics, J&C Bridal is sexy designs, Stylemart is Indie look and super sexy as well. THere are many more, u got to take time to read and explore the forum especially.

woof_woof

okie .. haha but you got to wait till i up load ahain .. hehe too many liao ... 700 over leh then they selected 300 over for us ... you want the dinner one izit ??? i got to go back and search for it again
hehe after the wedding all dump one side
so how was your ??? did you managed to get the petal and things done ???
hehe

iggy17

Hi woof,
I hv gotten my AD pics. Only 1 word: GOOD!

We received many good comments about my photographer, S*m's professionalism like timing control, knowledge of the Dos & Don'ts of the traditions, ability to create a relaxing atmosphere for the relatives. Most importantly, he had managed to capture the spirit and mood of the moments. This is really essential as that gave me and my hubby refreshing flashbacks to moments of the special day of our lives

* = a

Oh yes, we did not capture the front view of the aisle in photos but can only see in the video. Yes, we did the petals + other decor generously donated by a galfren from forum which my helpers used to do up the reception. My jiemei oso helped to make 2 AB box which I am using to keep my wedding stuffs now.

yr email add.please You must be wondering how come i can upload so fast right? it's my photographer who had given me all the pics in soft copies compressed specially for uploading;saved me time to convert
i have 500pcs but i onli upload the chosen ones else too many lah...think can @@ till eyes goggy heehee...

waiting for yours huh...

iggy17

hi yvonne, pinkyu, ms_blur,
check yr mails...

Hi jc,
Chervons is the Officers' Club at Jurong East. The Chinese restaurant, Brilliant Gardens Rest.is managed by Gim Tim Group who handles all banquets, previously it was by the club, but just changed.

woof_woof

hi iggy,

so sorry havent got chance to upload my pics.. been rather busy .. and packing up my stuff so haha i duno where is my cd ..
hehe

haha got the pleasure to viewing yours first ?

hehe

iggy17

hey pinkyu,
just saw yr post, hmmm....first time got people say i look like lin xin ru. only got comments that i look like Xu RuYun, and when younger like Cai XingJuan (cos' of my teeth) but extracted liao so no more cai xingjuan heehee.,...

woof_woof

Hi iggy,

wow you really put in a lot of effort for the deco leh ... hehe

like your evening gown and wedding gown .. really pretty

hee you look pretty and great
hehe i also find tat you resemble a star but haha normally i only see their face but never remember their names ... Very nice pics
how much was your photographer ???

for mine ah ... i got to search and upload again lah because now we uploaded our diving trip for our friends so probably after that or if not i will sign up for one webshots acct to upload
been so busy packing and kissing goodbye to spore for 2 years next mth ... sob sob

iggy17

hi woof,
thanks for yr compliments...indeed i try to make the decor as personalised as possible. But w/o help from my bridal team, it wld not have been so smooth.

personally, i like my EG better...

hmmm...another star ar...in that case muz go enter those look-alike contest oredi heehee

it cost $680 (+ $50 for 2 separate days)

u r migrating? to where?

u r into diving? me too! but too bad u not around in sin oredi
me always lack kakis. so where do u normally dive and with which operator? Me was wif friendly waters, big bubble centre for few trips in msia...am looking forward to gg to Manado for the wall dives...drooling~

pinkyu

Hi Iggy,

U look very pretty that day... especially your EG :D

But can i ask u.. how's the food n service from GT?? Any1 complain to you about all these things? I duno leh... i heard of bad n good comments before. Sign liao no choice le.
U rent chevrons chalets for ur AD isit? For your ang bao box u bought it or DIY?

iggy17

hi purplestar, jasmine,
u've got mail

hi pinkyu,
thx for yr compliments...i like my ED very much too. Comments from my guests are:good portion of food, food was reasonably good, service from staffs were ok except the wine pouring part tat we specifically asked them to control so some guests not happi that they did not top-up automatically. We told them only to topup when requested. Though now when i think back, i shld hv instructed them to ask guests if they wanna topup...

the banquet coordinator and captain were fabulous too. Very detailed and sensitive to our needs. Winne,the supervisor, was initially abit difficult to work along. Subsequently,she became quite accomodating to us, esp to my hubby who deal with her most of the time.

So my overall comments for Chervons is good. Oh yes, the parking is the major No NO, I started at 9pm!! cos' 1/3 of my guests were late due to no lots or unable to locate other carparks around JE. So u got to remind yr guests to either take cab, take bus (shuttle bus provided) or park at the building beside the Chervons.

That's the only - point...but overall we had a great time...everything's nearly perfect

iggy17

oh yes, hubby's godsis rented a chalet as a wedding gift for us. Quite cheap cos' she's an officer.

as for my AB box,it's DIY, buy expensive and not personlised lei. Then I must compliment the contributors...a forum fren helped to get the box and wrap up, while my jiemei did the decor. Very nice hor
heehee...thick-skinned hor...

dun worry lah, talk nicely and bargain slowly towards the foostasting & AD...always rem they are not obliged to give freebies but always rem to ask/negotiate for it ;)

woof_woof

Hi Iggy,

yah me just pass my OWD leh .. hehe
wow my instructor just went to dive in Manado will be back this week ... hehe

me ah with SSI .. wow you must be an advance diver liao lah ..
yah i like your EG .. so sexy .. hee hee .. you got a great figure to carry it lah .. hehehe

yah forget to mention also ... your guest book is rather unique .. you printed it our yourself ???

iggy17

Thanks for yr compliment! make me blush lei...

Ms_Blur,
A fren from forum helped me to design and print, as a favor so not ex too
My BS is Camellia Haute Couture, yours?

Purple star,
my AD photographer is S*M WONG (* = A). Ya very pleased with his skills and services, very professional too. u can visit his website if interested. http://s*mwong.fotopic.net/

hi woof,
I see, I think SSI standard very high one, as compared to PADI. Me got my advance last July. Haveb't been diving think almost all give back teacher liaoz!! heehee...i onli dive once a year...oh yes the guest "book" it's more like A4 cards, printed by fren lor...initially still headache over no guest book so fren suggested using PS pics to design guest registers! oh yes that's the word for it...

so now, i keep all these in my AB box with all the decor, candles, corsage,etc for remembrance lor...