Chevrons @ Boon Lay Way

iggy17

hi woof,
i actually ask my fren to buy some for me, i hv total of 12 baskets now. how many are u letting go? and how much? can we communicate thru email? me overseas now, so not poss to come in so often. will pm u my co email address

wg0801

hi iggy

GT dun have other type of favors except the brownie cake. Hmm..think we really have to check in case...

I havent' really go into detailed discussion with Winnie yet, just verbally discuss abt the package available, deco and those very basic things. I guess that I need to check with her regarding the deco again. she told me that GT has only one(yellow theme).

iggy17

hi wg
yep, u r rite,me oso got the cake...u will know what u need as the date gets nearer. me din get n touch with her till food tasting stage either

they have 2 themes if i am not wrong, 1 yellow and 1 pink...u can check with winnie

pinky_girl

Hi Woof Woof,

I'm new to this thread. I will be holding my banquet at chevron in 2006. But I'm now totally lost as I've no ideas on the ballroon deco and etc..Juz to chk, do you mind sharing some ideas with me on the ballroom deco.

iggy17

I wld suggest that u drop by chervon to see the restaurant and the ballroom, at e same time pick up the package from the restaurant. There is slight change of the new pkg from mine (last year) with the addition of hotel stay and $10 addition for each table...example: the ranges are from 388, 488, 588, now is 399/398, 499, 599, etc...and of cos some changes in the dishes but basically i feel the dish changes are not very big difference...

iggy17

hi woof, sorry, i will hv to give yr baskets a miss since i oredi hv 12 and wldn/'t need another 8 more...after discussio with my Lead Jiemei...thanks for the offer..

woof_woof

hi iggy,

its alrite ....

Hi little eyes and Jocelyn,

i suggest you two go down and take a look at the ballroom and the menu i think the banquet superviour or wat is called Winnie... although we do have some conflict with her but emm generally she is alrite ...

when i sign up with them its the old package so mine is the not the newest one ... As for ballroom deco i am also ignorant haha its all thanks to Lynn which gave us the idea

iggy17

ya, Lynn has got great ideas...nowadays, things just strucked me and creative juices kept flowing...getting the jiemeis to help out with the decor...

if anyone is interested, can drop by on 22 May

pinky_girl

Hi Woof Woof,

Thanks for your advice. Will be going down this weekend to check it out. Could you pls share with us on the ballroom deco.

wg0801

hi iggy,

hmm.. i think i will check with her early regarding the floral stand. if can have the pink one, can save on that. how's ur preparation going on?

iggy17

hi wg,
u shld check with winnie...right now writing out the invites and trying to finish up the decorative stuffs for dinner venue like angbao box,corsages for jiemeis, AD plans for bridal party, meeting up the bros & sis to firm the details, getting ready for GDL next week. gg for fitting and fathersuits too...

cima_yv

Care if i join in. me shortlisted Chevron Brillant garden.
- how many ballrooms they have ? got pillars?

iggy17

hii yvonne,
welcome!

they have a ballroom that can be sub-divided into 2 or 3...can't rem...

me taking the whole ballroom cos' got 60 tables heehee...when's yr AD?

cima_yv

Hi Iggy,

My AD not confirmed yet (should be either May or Sept 06). parents got conflict on the date chosen. Sigh...
Now looking around for venue lor so can plan early.

iggy17

hi yvonne,

i see, got to take it slow since got conflicts...go check out the venues personally, if u can see the some actual weddings in progress, it will be good...my dinner is on 22 May, feel free to drop by..

cima_yv

Hi Iggy

Thanks... Great.. will come by on your AD to have a look. u must be feeling excited now as AD is around the corner.

iggy17

hi yvonne,

ya...trying to settle the seating arrangements and the ballroom decor. actually quite fun
think i am going to miss it once it's over...heehee

pinkyu

I have confirm my wedding banquet @ Chevrons liao but still havn't pay deposit cos my AD will be on the 20 May next year so winnie say that only after 20 May this year then can book. Abit worry leh.. ha|z.. |o|x

I heard from my sister tat the food is nice. But how about the service? I duno. I dun like their "guest book" leh... it's just a pcs of paper.. look so ugly.. =X

I will be going to bangkok this july maybe can go there and look for beta, nicer guest book instead of using their "guest book". I heard from my colleagues that bangkok sell alot of weddings things too so I'm going over there for shopping since my company this year going to bangkok.. "Heng ar! Can save more money so that I can go there and buy more things back!" =)

lynn_

Hi gers,

I have 2 bottles of Remy Martin VSOP for sale. Boxes are in brand new condition, as such they are really suitable to be used in Guo-da-li or even in your wedding dinner banquet!

I just bought the 2 bottles a few days ago from the supermarket (bought for a friend but she already bought them herself ) so had to sell them off...

Selling each at $70... Original price was $90+ per bottle, condition really pristine. Great loss for me...

Interested parties can email me at [email protected] or sms 97903961 for fast deal!

pinkyu

Hey Lynn,

I have see ur pic liao. Can I ask you the door gift u bought urself? How much u get it and where u buy from? Ur money box look cute and the two bear too?

lynn_

hi pinkyu

yup, i bought the door gifts myself. I bought over 500 of them! Hee, i got a friend to buy from BKK for me... And I paid my fren $2 each set leh, not cheap but quite nice lah i tot. Plus i have not seen them as wedding favours before so i dun mind paying a bit more...

oh the money box i DIYed. Th little wedding bears on the money box was bot from KALMs, abt $10+ for the pair... Bot it last minute to do up the money box

By the way are u keen on the 2 bottles of Remy Martin. Really need to sell them away cos we dun drink at home... Kena played out by my fren so I'm stuck with these 2 bottles, just bot them a couple of days ago from Cold Storage supermarket...

pinkyu

Hi Lynn,

Oic.. then I think if July me going to bangkok then I can go and shop for all these cute cute things liao :D

Sorry Lynn, I don't need this too.. as we don't drink this at home too.. my mum have bought alot of hard liqours during my sister wedding last year but still balance alot so will use for my wedding.

iggy17

hi lynn,

Nice to hear from u again! hope u hv enjoyed yr honeymoon...Just an update: me having my dinner next Sun...
AD is next thurs...

lynn_

hi iggy
Wow so soon
You must be feeling all excited :0 remember to get more sleep and be a pretty pretty bride!

Oh, do let me know if yu would be keen on getting my 2 Remy Martins too... Letting go at $68 per bottle
Hee, in case u dun have enough hard liquor for your banquet :p

woof_woof

Hi Lynn,

welcome back hehe

wow Iggy you must be very excited rite .. hehe get more rest and drink more water but remember to let thme out before you sleep ...

hehe Lynn your baskets are still stuck with me ..

iggy17

hi Lynn,
Thanks. Will try to sleep early, nowadays always sleep at 1am :p Oh I oredi have quite a lot of hard liquor, so thanks for yr offer.

Hi Woof,
More anxious than excited now leh...praying hard everything will be smooth...

woof_woof

haha no worries lah iggy ...
it will be smooth sailing one
hehe but sure got a bit of hicups here and there lah but think wun be very major ... so dun worry too much must be happy if not suddenly you too anxious cant sleep then wun be pretty liao lor

but the lead jiemei and lead bro is very impt
haha

iggy17

hi woof,
Ya, what u said is true, the people that we entrust the whole ceremony to are very impt...cannot worry too much lor else, if something go wrong, i sure go bonkers one heehee...

pinkyu

Hi Lynn,

Forget to ask you. Did anyone complain to you abt their food or service very bad? I receive different comments leh...

cima_yv

Hi Pinkyu,

By the way, saw uc comments that can only pay deposit n book 1 yr in advance from AD. BY the way how much to pay as deposit??

pinkyu

I paid 1k for deposit. Cos min pay 1k 1st mah... then after the AD wedding jus pay the balance lo. :D

cima_yv

I've spoken to Winnie over the phone n gave her my contact, AD date 07/10/06, and est. no of tables. As mentioned by Pinkyu, she say only one yr in advance then can book. i have not met up with her yet.

Should i go meet her to view a fully furnished ballroom then later go back in Oct (1 yr before my AD date) to pay deposit?

n when pay deposit that time, what to ask / request and bargain for?

And by the way, do u need to cfm which dinner price package we want when we pay deposit, and regarding deocorations, what are they sponsoring ?

And BTW, how early before AD, do we need to go n talk to them abt the set-up and decoration required?

Please advise me how the flow / sequence goes. Sorry, me got a lot of Qns

iggy17

Hi yvonne,

To be more sure, i suggest you go and check out some weddings held there, however bear in mind diff couples may spend (or may not) diff amt on the decor...before u pay deposit. I see that u hv quite some time.

as for stuffs to bargain:
-tiers of champagne glasses
-projector usage though quite unlikely cos' belong to chervons
-nett table price if there are any change of dishes. Mine was $468 --> $480

we only discuss abt decor when we had food-tasting 2 mth before AD but u can start progressively 3-4mths before if u plan to hv yr own decor..

The staff are quite competent esp the captain, Pauline who assisted us during the dinner. We were very well-taken care of, they are quite thotful of our needs. Basically they are quite accomodating when we need their assistance for the decor setup, or help to distribute table decors....

I will share my pics once am back from HM in June

pinkyu

I haven't chose the package yet.. cos winnie say that they may have change their wedding menu nx year so me decide to chose it after Jan'06. You can also chose that. But how many tbles will you be taking? If too little tbles they will arrange their resturants instead the ballroom for your wedding.

Oh yah,
I did bargain for a free food tasting but fail :X
cos i only have 40 tbles. Winnie say must have a least 50 tbles for free food tasting.. but for the food tasting she will offer us 50% off so we take it as a Parent-meet-Parent session
and she also arrange a cocktail bar for me too.
but I forget about the tiers of champagne glasses leh... maybe will talk to her again for this.

iggy17

Hi pinkyu, yvonne,

You can oso reserve the pkg this year and hv the option of changing when the new one comes up...for my case, last year's pkg no hotel provided whereas this year's come with extra change of $10 per table. whereby, me & hubby worked out to be total of $600 extra tat we dun see the value in cos' a hotel room dun cost that much. somemore to have a chalet at the venue is much more convenient than a room somewhere else...of cos' unless the couple wanna utilised it for aniversary lah....

correct, we have 58 tables so got free food tasting...can bargain for free bus transport too...we got it becos' the parking is hell, we are only given 10 complimentary parking coupons.

Our dinner started at 9pm cos' the guests cld not get a parking space and had to park their cars somewhere else...this is a BIG BIG con (as in pros & cons)

cima_yv

Hi Pinkyu and Iggy,
Thanks a lot for the advise... got a better idea now.

Btw Pinkyu, mi got ard 28 to 30 tables only, spoke to Winnie about it, she say ballroom min need 35 tables to open, so for my case if i really want the ballroom, i will need to top up a additional lump sum figure of around 400+ for her to open up the ballroom for me to use (as in to pay for additional space lor). me n hubby think a bit X but as i really wish to hold it in the ballroom as it looks better and nicer, so hubby say ok.

pinkyu

Hi Iggy,

I have called Winnie up for the complimentary parking coupons. She can oni gif mi 5 oni.. den she say for weekends there's a free transport from MRT to chervons. So I tink it's still ok bah..

So you will be paying extra $400+ for the ballroom? Did you go n see the ballroom? I went and see with my hubby.. He like the place very much so we chose it lor.. So have u cfm ur AD? How about BS? Confirm any liao?

iggy17

hi pinkyu,
it will be good if u remind yr guests to try not to drive or park somewhere else. me kenna alot of complaints due to the lack of parking lots. the guard actually stop the cars from entering when there were still lots. cos' some were reserved for the club members..haiz...maybe when nearer u can chekc if there is another wedding on the same day...

cima_yv

Hi Pinkyu,
yah, most probably will be paying the 400+ for the ballroom. That day me n hubby went 2 see e undecorated ballroom, both of us like it n prefer it than at the restaurant. By the way on their wedding package menu there's this MPH for 25 tables or more. What is MPH?? is it a function room ?? anyone seen it

I'll most probably be choosing Chevron if no major objections from parents n in-laws.
Btw my AD will be on 07 Oct 2006 (Sat). i confirm BS liao, its Focus bridal at IMM.

pinkyu

MPH=multi-purpose hall. I have see the picture but i duno like the place cos like using school hall.. keke...

cima_yv

Hi Pinkyu,
Thanks for the advise.

Mi also tot of going Thailand. but any idea which part of THailand can i go to source for the wedding stuff?

pinkyu

I also duno wat to buy at thailand leh... my colleagues tell me that there are alots of things we can buy... When are u going? Mi going on july?