Chevrons @ Boon Lay Way

joanne

I am looking for a venue for my wedding. Now looking into Chevrons @ Boon Lay Way. How is the food there? Heard that it is nice. Look into the Ballroom but scare that it might be a bit too cramp.

knowing

Hi Joanne

I am holding my weddin there on Feb next yr
The ballroom is spacious, can accomodate 60tables,
i cannot ensure u the food is nice or nt
cos haven't went for food tasting

angelia

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">joanne,</FONT>

a fren of mine juz went food tasting yesterday.. i'll check with her &amp; let u noe?!

cool

Hello gals,

I am also having my wedding at Chevrons next March 2003 - just 1 month after yours, Knowing. Did you take the package from Chevrons or from Gim Tim? Any feedback on this place so far?

Cool

manz

Haloo...Im back... =o)
Hehhee...we also be holding ours in Chervon.... GimTim Group.... thats the only restuarant in Chervon...=o)
We also next March....2nd or 3rd week... have not detailed yet.... going to do that this weekend... =o)
Food... 6.5/10...not so good.... but location is good.... cos near our home.... isnt it, Knowing... =o)

eunicetan

i went for a wedding dinner there recently. here's wat i thot:

good
1. high ceiling
2. new n white walls
3. food's pretty good (lobster salad, abalone with veggie, corn paste with hashima were nice but the prawns were a bit too little)
4. nice environment (kinda like country club)
5. cheap wedding packages
6. quite nice centrepieces (flowers n candle) on every table n rose petals were scattered around.

bad
1. poor coordination between the coordinators (cos the couple walked in for the 1st march in without music for the first 10 seconds)
2. emcee provided by the restaurant not articulate (gave wrong info, saying the couple is going to cut the cake when it's supposed to be pouring champagne)
3. lights were turned on brightly to signify the end of the wedding dinner (kinda like after a movie)
4. service wasnt tat great n was quite sloppy at times.
5. very limited parking lots
6. location out of the way
7. signage is terrible. juz a A4 size paper with couple's names printed on it n venue stated n pinned on a bulletin board

overall, i werent impressed with it but i would say tat it does provide nice dishes n gives value for money.

knowing

Hi eunicetan
Thanks for giving us such informative feedbk, i will feedbk to my coordinator, make sure they improve on tt...
I think they are a v new restaurant at Chevrons so they still need alot of improvemts on their coordination etc
I didn't know they have candle &amp; petals for all table, tht sounds great to me

Hi Cool
hee nw i know y i can't bk the ballrm on 1st mar hee hee
mine is fm Ghim Tim, hw abt yrs?

Hi Manz
Which date u looking at, the ballrm v "hot" leh...

angelia

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">eunicetan,</FONT>
the centrepieces, are they provided by the restaurant or the couple took up some other decorative pkgs?

eunicetan

halo angelia,

err... not really sure but i tink it's provided by the hotel cos the staff kept the centrepieces at one corner after the 1st dish started but the bride oso said tat we could bring home the centrepieces if we wan.

cool

Knowing - My wedding is somewhere around 3rd week of March 2003. I booked directly with The Chevrons, which also provide wedding packages and their official caterer is Gim Tim. The packages include usage of the function rooms, etc and also 1 chalet (subject to availabilty). Chevrons provides shuttle buses from Jurong East to club every Friday, Sat and Sunday.

We really like the place 'cos facilities are still new at this moment and value for money.

Cool

knowing

Hi Cool
May I know any difference bet u booked w Ghim Tim direct or thru Chevrons?
I dun have chalet provided but will ask my hubby;s bro to book one for me during my wedding
or u can email me at [email protected]
to compare our pkgs....

cool

Hi knowing,

Chevrons package price is slightly higher than Gim Tim prices as it includes function room and complimentary chalet. From what I understand, booking from Gim Tim means that the dinner will be at the restaurant itself. And if you choose to use the function rooms for the actual banquet, you need to pay S$300 per function room (there are 3 function rooms there). Because Gim Tim will need to pay Chevrons for usage of the rooms.

So it all depends where you like to have the dinner at the restaurant itself or at the function rooms. If you like the function rooms, do take into consideration the package from Chevrons. I did my sums and it seemed to be better using the package from Chevrons. But this depends on the number of tables that you need, as well as the package range (average food or better package like lobster salad, etc). You can ask Chevrons to fax you their packages. Think they only came up with these packages in July this year.

Then perhaps you can compare the prices and see which one is better.

Have you already confirmed your booking?

manz

Halo Cool,
If Im not wrong, then u must have been the couple that booked the 22nd March... =o)

Knowing,
Seems like the package is quite a bargain... think I will pop down tomorrow to get some info... =o)

meow

If i'm not wrong, the wedding dinner that eunicetan has attended last week. Or last saturday to be exact. I was there to look around with the Assist manager. Those rose petals, centre pieces and also those flowers along the aisle are additional things the couple have which were not included in their package. If i'm not wrong i heard they spent about additional of $1k or so. As for the emcee, i think the couple settle it themself rather than taking those provided by the restaurant.

Additional info:
Shuttle service arrives at eg,1410, 1430, 1450 then 1510, 1530 and so on. Every 20mins there'll be one. Each shuttle service can hold 21-23 person(sorry forgot how many).

If i'm not wrong, if we book from Gim Tim, we dun have to pay additional charges for the ballroom provided if we have 30 tables or more. If less than 30, then i'll be held at their restaurant itself. And since their ballroom is divided into 3 segments, and if the space they provide u is 2/3 of the ballroom and u think u want to open up the last one, then u need to pay additional cost. That's all i found out. I intend to hold my dinner there as well. Only disadvantage is their carpark coupons. they only issue 5pc.

Cool,
how much did u pay for your dinner booked with Chevron? Are u a member of Chevrons?

knowing

Halo all
I called up Chevrons &amp; Ghim Tim to find out the differences in pkg
Meow is rite, the couple actually forked out extra cash to decorate the ballrm tt's what i found out fm Ghim Tim's manager &amp; tt couple actually took out the pkg fm Ghim Tim

Bt I heard fm Chevrons they dun provide free flow of beer, stout like Ghim Tim bt they provide favors for guests.
then i called G.T, I was told they are working out a new menu, she said actually their food is same cos G.T is the official caterer...
n G.T is working out new invitation cards &amp; thinkin of giving favors too
I will be meeting them soon to discuss abt the above.

Mine is at a ballrm, actually i only need 2 ballrms bt i paid $300 to open up another ballrm, i find it still worthwhile, I do want my banquet to be spacious

eunicetan

hi, i thot the emcee belonged to the hotel/restaurant staff becos she wore uniform n looked 'auntie' n kept thanking the restaurant n kept asking us to clap for the couple. sorry if i misled u guys

meow

Knowing,
Actually i'm a member. Sorry no special discount for me too. Not to say the chalets as well. But i'm thinking of booking them for my dinner. Any idea if above how many tables then they open the whole ballroom? And how many tables can they accomodate?

I do know that they are currently liasing with external party to improve their stage decorations. And i also know there's only one design for their invitation cards as well. They are also working in this as well. But not sure about the menu. Any idea will the price differ?

meow

To all,
have anyone ever consider Qian Xi restaurant at Farrer Park near serangoon? Its newly renovated too and their hall decoration is quite nice. They have free flow of beer as well. Its at the civil servant club(if i'm not wrong, the clubhouse is for teachers). Any comments on their food and service?

manz

We attend a wedding at "Qian Xi", in Civil Servant club, off Serangoon rd... 2 months ago.... the place is newly renovated... nice ambient... but a bit cramp.... table quite small also.... felt liek being sandwiched in a table of 10..... Food is OK....7/10.... Hope that help... =o)

meow

Manz,
Thanks very much for the info. It really helps me alot. But any ideas how many tables were there? Was it that they have too many tables that's why is 'sandwich' or its really the table is small? Sorry for asking this again, how's the service they provide to the guest? Prompt?

Knowing,
Well is it inconvinient for u to travel all the way down to JE? thanks for the effort of going down to find out more details. So did u get the details for both or only one of them? If anyone needs the package details, i have details for Brilliant Garden Restaurant but not from Chevrons.

manz

Think there are abt 50 table then.... but the place is quite small... entree is really bad.... the bacground seems like a store room.... imagine the happy couple with a store room as back drop....Yucccks!!!!!!

Nolah... Knowing's work place is just walking distance from Chervon, very convenient lah...Hahaha

meow

Manz,
Thanks again for the feedbacks. I've been to their website and seen their floor plan. Actually what u see was somehow true. Its actually their kitchen rather than store room. The reason is the changing room is located at a corner of the kitchen. Maybe you were right about the awkward feeling of a couple walking from the 'kitchen'. Guess my guest will think it that way too. Well we were ask to go down to take a look as they have another couple having their dinner their. Maybe will focus on their walkin.

How do u know knowing works nearby? Both of u colleagues?

Any others comments for dragon gate? Hear the comments not that bad. But ask one of my colleague and he say he's been to that place many times till 'xian3'.

manz

Dragon Gate is good!!!! Nice food... spacious &amp; good ambient... We are going there again this coming Friday.... Quite true lor...this is my 3~4 trip there.... quite popular, cos good &amp; reasonable price.... =o)

Colleagues...nay... We are Future Neighbour.... isnt it, Knowing... =o)

knowing

I jus went to find out more abt my Ghim Tim pkg...
v glad they have came out w new wedding cards nt the traditional red red color w a XI word one
&amp; I am v v surprised they are giving favors for the guests instead of the traditional cakes or choco...

I saw the samples they showed me, a pair of chopticks &amp; a keychain w a star (I was told they are still discussing for a few more items)
&amp; the manager told me I am the first couple at Ghim Tim to give out favors...
Actually i was thinking of giving favors for my wedding cos mine on Valentine's Day..nw i can save up the trouble N cost liao

As for decor, i went today there's a couple having wedding they actually engaged someone to decorate the ballrm w balloons, effects nt bad too...So i think they only provide basic backdrop decor the rest u have to engage specialist to decor or jus have the basic decor if u dun mind

I have saw Chevron's n G.T's pkgs, nt much difference since the food are provided by G.T.
&amp; I will still choose G.T becos of the free flow of beer, stout

knowing

Hi Meow
Me n Manz are neighbr to be....n so coincidence
he also thinkin of holding his banquet at Chevrons.

bamboozle

Hi Knowing,

I have also booked my wedding banquet @ Chevrons for June 2003.

As for the favours you mentioned, does it mean that from now on they will offer that no matter when the booking was made?

Are you thinking of decorating the place too? Wonder how much would be the costs involved..

knowing

Hi Bamboozle
U bk fm Chevrons or G.T?
Yes fm 2002 onwards, they will start giving the favors...( i mean G.T)

Yup, I have intention to decorate the ballrm but my budget will be nt more than $800,it depends hw u want to decorate if flowers w candles may be more x if only balloons may be cheaper
i have asked G.T manager to pass me one contact on the balloon decorator, but will also find out others too

meow

Knowing,
I also went down to take a look at their dinner. But didn't look up for their assistant manager that's Pamela. Who attended to u?

Yeah i guess u were the first to see their favours. Does that means wedding dinners held after valentine's day got 'special favours'?

Saw their balloons. Pretty nice. Any idea about those flowers at the main entrance near the recep? Did they mention any changes for their signage? Also have u seen their guest registry card for signatures? Any comments?

knowing

Hi Meow
Yup, I looked for Pamela to bring me inside the ballrm n see
Yup what i know those taking the new pkgs for 2002 menu will have the special favours
Those flowers at the main entrance shld be G.T one cos I was told the couple only engaged balloon specialist to did the balloon theme
I didn;t go near to see the registry card, but i think the foyer for cocktail abit plain, what do u think?

meow

Morning Knowing
i do agree its a bit plain. But at least they have seats there. Maybe if the couple shift the flowers at the main entrance further away, it will look nicer. That's in my opinion. Can't compare them to hotels.

Did u manage to park at chevron it self or took their shuttle service? The carpark was full so i park at IMM and walk over. Maybe can also try out if on that day how far my guest needs to walk. Jus to share what i see last night. In fact its really a very short distant from TT international buld. And the sercurity guard was directing the drivers to the carpark to the basement. It jus take me about 5mins to walk to chevron west gate.

So that means if i book them, they give me favours too? that's great.

Knowing, another info to share with u and others. If u intend to book a chalet with them, the earliest u can book will be six months before. I think u better ask ur BIL to book one before all six rooms are fully booked. Since urs is a very hot date. it cost $100/day for wkend (members)and $60/day for wkday (members). They have also 3days 2 night for $190 (members). More info, go to their website.

meow

Manz,
Since you are gong down to dragon gate this coming friday, can look out for the good and bad points? Now i'm trying to decide between Chevrons and dragon gate. Really need those feedbacks to make my final decision. Thanks a million

knowing

Hi Meow

The walkin distance fm Chevrons to IMM is nt near, I dun think any of yr guests wan to park there n walk to Chevrons. If yr day happens to have 3 couples then the carpark will be v packed...bt if only u shld be alright

I went to the Chalet for 3 times &amp; stayed there once...I have been asking my hubby to ask his NS bro to go n bk but he keeps delaying

Yup if u bk the new pkg, yr guests will have souvenirs instead of box of fruit cake or choco

bamboozle

Hi knowing,

Have you been scouting for your venue decorations?

Our budget is also S$800 and below. What colour theme do you think would be most suitable? Somehow, I am afraid that balloons deco will give the place a too "birthday party look".

Any views to share?

meow

Knowing,
i think ur BIL has his reasons. maybe his too busy else its always fully booked. Jus asked him to try again or ask if any of your other friends can help u. Even if i were to book from their intranet for changi chalets its not easy to get too.

meow

Knowing,
Since you've booked your dinner quite some time ago. May i know the diff? Which package did u choose? What their lowest range? Can sent to this address. [email protected] Thanks

knowing

Hi Bamboozle

I haven't started lookin for the decor specialist
cos busy w renov stuff
bt i think Pamela has a few contacts, u can ask fm her some of them
actually i was thinkin balloon theme is abit kiddy, bt tt day tht wedding the balloon on the aisle looks ok nt tooo kiddy seems colorful to me

i may nt be going for flower theme cos mine is on V-Day u can expect hw x the flowers will be
so maybe going for some gold theme n candle or somthing like tt

Hi Meow
will send u an email either tonite or tomorrow
I chose the menu 2 (last yr menu n this yr almost the same except 2003 has another new menu)

meow

knowing,
thanks. Now i'm pretty upset. After asking my PIL which to decide either dragon gate or Chevrons, my FIL choose dragon gate.
I dislikes the four pillars and the look of having the entrance at the carpark. Also what if my guest goes to the wrong ballroom? And also after hearing some comments from others about the food, my stress level jus shoot up.

knowing

Hi Meow
hmmm...u have to either give in to them or tell them y u dun wan DG...
For me, I actually survey those banquet venues w my hubby only &amp; made a deposit then tell my pil...
nt sure if tt's rite??

meow

Oic. So did they have any comments when u tell them? My FH n i decide to bring them down to Chevrons to try their food as well as show them where its situated. Hopefully by then, he will change his mind. SInce most of his relatives stays in the west.

knowing

Hi Meow
My pil have no objection bt my mil told us nt to choose the cheapest menu cos nt so nice if we try to cut cost on the food
as for food wise I am uncertain if their food is nice bt jus coincidentally my mil had her CNY lunch with her company there &amp; she feedbk the food is good

Maybe u can tell yr pil abt the shuttle service for their guests etc
jus heard fm my gf tt they serve buffet lunch &amp; is nice, bt have to make reservations one

meow

Knowing,
Have u tried their food tasting yet? How does it taste? Any differ/comments frm her since your MIL has gone with u for the food tasting?

meow

So when u go for their food tasting? I jus went to their buffet dinner last night. Food - no comments. Maybe i dun have much preference on food. But the service is slow. Can let me know once you've gone for ur food tasting?

knowing

Hi Meow
no problem
let u know after my food tasting
bt have u booked the ballrm for the date u want
the ballrm is v "hot" one unless u are lookin at the restaurant or event hall downstairs

meow

I've seen the event hall. So ugly looking to hold a dinner there. See what my IL says. Keep in touch

meow

Knowing, do u intend to change any of the dishes? Any idea how much it cost roughly? Thinking of comparing the Chevrons and GT package.

knowing

Hi Meow
I am nt sure which dish to change or jus remain?
Any recommendations?
Did I tell u Pamela gave me the contact for the ballroom decorator but i haven't called them yet

So u decided to drop Dragon Gate fm yr list?