Chevrons @ Boon Lay Way

lynn_

yup the wedding cake look very fake, b=very bad, dun even have a slot for the knive to "cut" into the caker, cos fanny told me tat the one tat suppossedly can one is spoilt. cos i also asked winnie before if the cake topper can remove cos i've got PM figurines to put as cake topper, but on my AD fanny told me this one cannot remove...

the champagne tower nonsense lah, never see hotel ones so low... first time i see such a teeny weeny tower at GT lor... think even other restuarants are the normal height ones... anyway just get them to add an extra tier looks very nice liao
u talked to winnie also hu? why the response the same one? :p

the food ah, most comments are nice
service (wine pouring) a bit slow, but then i guess can't blame them (in fact must praise the for controlling the wine) cos in the end we used up all the red wine! luckily didn't run out of wine half-way...

woof woof, u let me know asap regarding the gel candles and petal baskets okie?

iggy17

hi lynn,

do u know where can we get the bubbles in bottles? i onli know those we bought from mama shops when we were young
the pink bottles...

check yr email....

woof_woof

Hi Lynn,

haha i confirming taking the gel candles (hehe all 50 of them) as for the petals baskets i want too but if the other ger is not having then i will take .. think she pm you first rite .. if not i will take from you too ....

Hee hee

woof_woof

Hi Lynn,

hee hee reply you already .....

yah lor i see most hotel one very high up leh ...

wow cannot remove one ah
i was still thinking of removing one layer and really put a real cake down leh

find it so fake then how to cut ????

lynn_

hi woof woof,

can i sell u 48 candles (cos they are packed in 3s), and i can keep some for myself :p

hee woof, the baskets the other gers are asking for discounts, so if u willing to buy for the original stated price then of cos i sell u lah

u sms me or email me okie?

woof_woof

Hi Lynn,

forget to ask you something i wanted to ask you for a very long time...

Does Brillant Garden provide the guestbook ??

and where you got your guest book ??

btw my husband commented that your ballroom looks really nice and he say you must have spent a lot of time and effort in doing it ...

hehe when you started the deco ah ??? and the rose petals along the aisle how you make it so straight ???

lynn_

hee woof woof, GT has only a big piee of paper for your guests to sign, no guest book. my guestbook also ask fren to buy from bangkok one lor...

thanks, i only did the petals ah, the flowers stands is peng tse's... big difference from GT's own

the petals by the aisle my gerfrens' do one, i only gave them the petals and they were the ones who made it so straight. actually not very straight lah, but from far looks nice lor

the doecor i asked my gerfriens to start puttng the rose petals by the aisle, into baskets and onto the tables at close to 6pm... i tied the flowers for the nadles at abt 4 plus lor... DIYed one also

iggy17

hi chervon brides,
is it true that food tasting cannot be on weekends? am gg for it end mar but heard from mum that most restaurants practice that...

woof_woof

Iggy,

yah the food tasting cant be on a weekend ... most of them will be held on a weekday .......

Lynn,

did you have any rehearsal before the AD ?? my FH told me that his friend say there are some problems for his friend's wedding ..

iggy17

Hi Woof woof,
thanks for the info.

Can anyone share yr experience in dealing with Winnie? It seemed that she's rather notorious??!!

lynn_

iggy,

yup, cannot be weekends... think it's a rather normal practice? iggy, i had soem problems with my food tasting, they dun have one of the dishes in my menu and anyhow subsitute with another dish and simply told us that when we reached! so mad at them cos so irresponsible not to inform us beforehand, and as if we want to go food tasting for the sake of eating, dun care wat we're eating! damn horrible... yep, and winnie's my co-ordinator tat time...

how to deal with her ah? sorry cannot offer any advice cos we didn't manage to deal very pleasantly with her leh... dunno if she felt it or we were amgry and she didn't know or care lor... maybe u can ask for katherine? hubby spoke with her a couple of time when winne was off duty and he said she's nicer to deal with...

lynn_

woof woof ah, wat kind of problems?

we didn't have rehersal, but we brought our songs CD and video CDs to test before our AD..

on AD at abt 4 or 5pm (i tot was VERY late cos the chevrons people having some sort of meeting tat ended late), hubby went to check with the chevrons guy (chevrons people operating the video and music systems) and told him abt the sequence, like which CD to play first and then first and second march in songs CD etc...

be sure to label the CDs correctly okie? helps save confusion...

And hor, they have 2 screens for the projector (front and left side of the hall) think they normall put down the front only, so if u wan have to specifically tell him to put down both okie? we did cos we have many tables, and those at the sides may be blocked so cannot see the screen in the front of the stage...

lynn_

woof woof, remenber to pass them your table decor in the afternoon for them to set up on every table for you. dun have to do it yourself okie

iggy17

hi lynn,

agree that katherine is easier to talk to...so far, only hubby & his colleague delt with winne before. they say she's very rude,hubby very pissed off and complained to katherine...

so wondering if i am going to be dealing with her all the time, if i can take it or not...

will make sure we check with them on the dishes before the foodtasting. if they last min change without informing us, will lecture them for the poor service...:D

woof_woof

Hi Iggy and Lynn,

well i agree that winnie is rude but can we like change now ?? haizz my AD is like only 2 weeks later and if i change now wun it be a bit too troublesome for katherine to take over ??? and how do i request for a change if i want to ?

The other day i called her up and ask her to email me the soft copy of the menu and until today its like 3 days already still havent email ...

Haizzz ...BTW how much is the rental of the projector ah ?

iggy17

hi woof,

ya, its 100 bucks. tried to bargain but they said it's club's facilities and they dun absorb

i think u try not to change now, in case, katherine no time to handle, pass u back to winnie. wat if she bear grudges, how? if can liaise with kat right from start will be good.

guess got to make the best out of it, dun fret now, try to stay happy okie?

But we oso being directed to winnie by katherine.
btw, just cfm my food tasting, its next Sat. Luckliy, they got table for us cos' in-laws cannot make it on weekdays due to work. think i gonna wash my hands off the foodtasting/tables arrangement thingy as much as i can...of cos' decor and march-in stuff are exceptionals....

woof_woof

yah i know alread heeh went down to test the system and lucky we went down and test if not that day sure jialat because we burn the songs into 3 CDS and the player cant read and the songs cant be played at all .. so we got to go home and re-do it and see how to burn it ... but strangely when i went to my friends hse to test it she can play it both on her pc and her cd player so i really have no idea hw come Chevrons one cant play ...

Emm only got to know you will be handled by Winnie and on that actual day itself she wun be around .. and anth captain will liase with you ... Although she will write down all your request but humm so tiring to repeat what we want all over again ....

BTW Lynn, how did you record your songs ah ?

wg0801

I'm new to this thread. Mind if I join in? I will be holding my banquet at Chevron in Jan 2006.

I have just reserved the date and further details, haven't discussed. But did verbally ask Katherine about the invitation cards, changing of menu dishes and the changing room. What other things do we need to check with them?

According to her, we can have a mixture of the red and ivory cards. She also mention that we can use the changing room at the function room if it's available.

Heard from my FH that Katherine has left already when he called up to amend the error in our agreement.(early March)

woof_woof

Hi WG,

of course we dun mind you join in... hehe

Emm at this moment think you can only cmf or discuss these few qn with her but as you go along and nearer to your date or wat probably you can discuss the details further or what you want and how you want the lights or music .. the montage or what lor .... I took all standard colours ... but one fellow bride Lynn she took a combination of both ivory and red .. yes you can change in the changing room in the function room but its a bit crampy .... and if there is anth wedding you will have to share ... like my case i also got to share but lucky i booked a chalet so i will go down to my chalet to change although its a bit troublesome to walk but i think its better and safer ...

Also ... dun leave too much cash in the chalet either put it in the safe or leave it in safe hands was told by the BG pple that one bride's left her wallet in the chalet and she lost ard 1k and its done by close pple lor .....

I am not very sure who is katherine as i was being served by Winnie ... she is alrite but sometimes she can be a bit rude lor .. but not to worry on your AD haha you will nto be served by them .. A captain will serve you instead

wg0801

A bit lost as to where to head from after choosing the banquet venue. i haven't gone down to take a look at their ballroom banquet deco yet, only managed to look at the size of the ballroom.

It would be better to book a chalet if that's the case. When can we make a booking for the chalet?

They didn't tell us when we need to confirm the details with them. Is it okie to discuss say 3 months before the AD?

gwee_liap

Does BG provide any MC on the AD?

Woof Woof
You mentioned that their CD player can't play the songs that you have burn, how come?
Tot normally cd player can play ,so what did u do? Or something wrong with the song format.

l also going to burn quite a few songs to CD-R & VCD to play on the AD.

Hope u can advise me.

woof_woof

Hi WG,

i booked the chalet like 6 mths in advance ... and if its a peak period think 6mths advance is safer ...becos i think they only have 6 units.

I go according to the countdown in those bridal magazine ...hehe ... emmm if you dun mind you can come down and view my ballroom deco next sun ... 3rd April ...

Gwee Liap,

i think they do provide ... but my sister who attended a wedding there say its not very good ...

Yah theirs is a dvd, mp3 player ... and when i went home to try i can play anywhere ... my cd player, my com, my friend cd player and com all can play but duno why theirs cant play ... really have no idea.... then we got to re-do and go down and test the system again ...

wg0801

Hi woof,

Thanks. I will try to book the chalet in July.
I will drop by on ur AD. Hope it's convenient for u.

So u will be having ur own MC? Also thinking of finding our own MC in case...

How's ur preparation?

woof_woof

Hi Iggy and WG

Of course i dun mind ... heehee but mine wun be that fantastic lah ... hehehe ... just let me know what time you all are coming lor ... hehehe ...

Same as Lynn, i rented 8 stands from Peng Tse ... so i will do away with the Arch ... haha emmmm then a bit change on the reception table and finding deco for it .... hehe ...

Preparation ah ... wow the Banquet list is the biggest headache ... some of my friends can dun reply my sms, my calls and my emails lor ... and some of my invitations got lost in the mail ... haizz until my friend havent receive until now ... terrible rite ....

So now i am struggling to fill up most of my tables to at least min 7 pple lor ... some of my tables have got only like 5 lah 6 lah 7 ppple ... combine also hard cos its like one group one group ... haizzz

iggy17

hi woof,
most prob will be just before yr 1st march-in around 7plus lor...so that can go look see look see...heehee

wah, sounds really like a big headache...dun get too stressed ar...

iggy17

just had my food tasting tonight. here's my feedback ($480 meuu)

Find tht the food so-so only, except for the fish which is fresh. The chicken is the frozen type so dun taste as fresh. The yam paste very little "bai guo". the sea cucumber/spinach/abalone quite ok. we change the HK mee to Ee-fu mee...cold dish was acceptable & shark's fin ok...had to change the duck dish to scallop/asparagus (but need to top-up), still under negotiation....

woof_woof

emm okie sure no prob ... hehe just tell me who you are and i will know but we will be there ard 3 plus .. at the chalet

so if you wan to come earlier to just view the ballroom also can

iggy17

hi woof,
how's things? did u change any items from the menu? if i am not wrong u din want shark's fin right? so in the end, wat was chosen?

woof_woof

hi Iggy,

i didnt change any of the items and i think i took the 398 package because i think i like the food listed there instead of the 418 and 488 one i think ... weird rite ... because the pipa duck is nice and the i think chestnut chicken is not bad also ... and the veg also not too bad ... but too bad dun have scallop have to add money ... we quite budget lah .. got ard 40 tables if one table add 10 bucks will be additional 400 bucks
wow ... humm duno can breakeven or not ah so scared if not if got to top up a lot then i will faint ... hehe ....

no lah iggy its not me .. hehe i stick to the shark fins .. but initially wanted to change to other shark's fin but too ex liao one table add anth 40 ... then i change some of the dishes in the cold dish then bargain so no need to top up
hehe i didnt ask for the yam paste but red bean paste minus the coconut milk haha
so they wun dare to minus off any ingredient mah ...and i warn winnie if on the day of my banquet any of my guest complain or the standard is not wat i have on my food tasting day i will complain and spread words abt GIM TIM .. then she super stunn ...

hehehe action fierce mah if nto she will keep bullying me .....

lynn_

hihi ladies

wow woof woof, so soon your turn liaoz hor? how's your prep liao? need any help or advise?

oh ya, i also had like 6 empty tables at the end of the day. You can choose to pay 50% of the table price and forfeit the tables, or pay full price and come back to makan the food (within 3 months).. hmmm, we paid for 3 tables and forfeited 3 tables. until now only went back to makan 1 table, still 2 more to go

hmmm, think if u ahve like 6-7 persons for the tables, the captain would suggest combine tables (tat's move people around) to get nearly full tables lor.. so i guess if u wannaforfeit tables then won't lugi so much... tat day m,y captain was fannie, she's very nice

iggy17

hi woof,
managed to neg to a better rate for change of duck to scallop+bamboo shoots...hmm..forgot to bargain on the cold dish but guess the combo is still ok.

heehee, forgot who did or say what oredi.

me oso very worried but hubby seemed to be quite oblivious to the fact that there might be some guests who won't turn up. We got almost 60 tables!!

so far, winnie was all right except during bargaining, as usual, refuse to give in so we play tactic lor...give her time to go back and ask chef if dish change was ok, so on....

will be meeting her to cfm some details and the decor on Sun, at the same time can view yr decor

Hi lynn,
thanks for sharing, will tell hubby so that he's more aware. else still dreaming...winnie did advise us not to take exact tables, to - 5% from total pax lor...

wg0801

Hi woof woof,

most likely I will drop by ard 6 or 6 plus to look at ur ballrm deco. are u still doing the final touch-up or.. dun feel stressed. Just be a happy bride on this coming Sunday.

hi, iggy

When is ur AD? well, i haven't really got a chance to talk to Winnie regarding the dinner etc..

Hi, Lynn
have seen ur pics that u posted on the net. very nice deco and u also pretty.

iggy17

hi wg,

my AD is 19 & 22 May. how abt yrs? me oso gg on sun which means we may meet lor!?

me now busy with work, projects and overseas travelling...gg to collapse soon....

how's yr preps gg on?

see u then

iggy17

Congratulations Woof Woof!!

hey girls,
i saw a couple of couples this evening...me toking to winnie and saw a couple in pink and another couple, quite small size...who are you gals huh? me in black sleeveless top, my hubby beri tall so i think u gals may rem

Settled a couple of things with winnie today: GT rents another set of floral decor from peng tse so no need to fork out extra $ yeah!!!

wg0801

hi woof,
congratulations! How's ur dinner?

Hi iggy,
what time were u there? I was there around 5pm. have seen the deco..
Hmm..dun really like the floral stand that GT provide. Would prefer the one that Peng Tse provide.
What do u mean by GT rents another set of floral decor from Peng TSe?

iggy17

hi WG,

i was there ard 5pm, stayed till 5.45pm, i was in the restaurant, near the entrance toking to winnie.

if u noticed that there were 2 different sets of decor, one is yellow theme belonged to GT, the other is the pink color with tealights (GT rents from peng tse). Winnie says she's giving me the pink color one which suits me cos' i want tealights...i din see what other decor peng tse have but due to tight budget, think i am not gg to explore other options lor.

what's the one that peng tse have, care to describe a bit?? and how much, u noe? thanks

woof_woof

i am back .. hi iggy i was near the ballroom not at the restaurant

hehe because there are think 2 wedding there one is at the restaurant and the other one at the ballroom which is mine

humm was too busy so i dun think i noticed you

cpchew

Hi Woof
Congratulations!
I'm late in joining this string of discussions. Don't mind, please get in contact with me at [email protected] because I would appreciate your help in sharing some ideas as I see that you had your ROM before the banquet & you had some decorations of your own. Thanks.

iggy17

hi woof woof,
Din know u had a poolside rom ceremony!! that must be really romantic
kao_love.gif

Happened to see yr montage, both of u quite young hor...the decor was nice esp with the petals along the aisle...

btw, in case u din see my earlier post. how's the march-in effect with the rose petals?? and are u intending to let go of the baskets? i am really keen to use the the baskets with the petals as well. email me at [email protected]

woof_woof

hi Iggy,

ohh you saw the montage ?? you mean the pics or the video humm how come i duno ah hehehe ...
ohh abt the basket i heard from lynn anth ger is interested in it so i will ask lynn first ....

haha but i dun have much left because some of them were being taken back by the kids so haizzz left with only a few ....

iggy17

hi woof,
i saw some pics flashed at the stage, so thot that's montage??

u let me know if it's avail lor, thks

wg0801

hi iggy,
i think the one that was been set up in the ballroom was what Peng Tse provided. the floral stand is taller than the GT provided(yellow theme one). I didn't seen the other one that GT has.

Hi woof,
the video montage was played on the stage at that time...think might be doing the final testing. like the way ur montage was done. very creative and well projected.

did u ask for extra layer for the champagne pouring? like ur deco..simple and nice..

iggy17

hi wg,

Yes, it shld be cos' i actually asked winnie for 2 taller stds instead of the flower arch. And peng tse was there that day too, so we confirmed immediately. Only concern now is the cake, it look quite fake, so it felt a bit silly to be just posing and not really cutting the cake haha....

ps. just to check what favors are u getting from GT? I understand the pkg give cakes, not sure hv chocolates or not??

Lucky for me, unlucky for GT, i spotted ants around the boxes of cakes!!! so I brought up to winnie that day on the spot and she explained that sometimes the pkg not sealed tight so got ants. of cos immediately she rectify the problem. So my advice is that we shld get someone to spot check all tables for the favors that GT provided. Else if found out by guests, sure very malu one!!!