Chevrons @ Boon Lay Way

lynn_

i see... at least u not so bad lah, they never give us black face (like we not paying them... definitely no AB for them liao...)

maybe she not happy cos we initially say dun wan to have food tasting (tat time only 35 tables, so need to pay we say dun wan lor) but then we increased to 50 tables and so have a free table for tasting, and can't eat anytime after AD or anything so we rightly would go mah...

they dun have AB box, and guest scrool is actually abig piece of paper only... i getting my own...

woof_woof

Hi Lynn,

i went over to chevron last week to take a look
wow they have got 3 wedding on that day ... and she can still ask me if i wan to let go of my ballroom as anth couple also wants the ballroom ... i was like hey tats a very stupid qn ... if i want to let go i would have long ago not until now where i am going to prints my invitations lor

and btw i saw the deco done by Peng Tse ... the artificial flowers is not that bad and they have the small candle on top of the stand with the artifical flowers .. and its really tall for the stand not like the one provided .... so i am considering artifical flowers too ... and as for the balloon concept haizzz they say have to do it on tat day if you wan your balloons to float nicely because normally helium gas can only last for a day so if i DIY and do one day in advance maybe the balloons would be like half floating ... although he does balloons deco too but very ex lor ... like the arch itself if S$200 ... for 150 balloons leh ... wow ....

but still need to go over to his hse to look at the design he have then will make the decision ....

iggy17

hi lynn,
how's yr preps coming along? my contact, that guy Daniel left! gotto start the neg anew...hope it wld be a blessing in disguise

hi woof, did winnie ask u to let go? so funny ask such a qn. dun think they shld be asking unless u did not firm yr reservation initially??

woof_woof

Hi iggy,

yah i was thinking its really a very funny qn to ask ... and on that day there is anth couple having their wedding .. then my FH also very funny and a bit stingy ... we were thinking of chartering a bus from jurong east mrt to chevron as a certain time and he say wat if the other couple guest make use of our bus to get here ??? haha then i was like no choice lor ... if not sekali board the wrong bus
haha .....

I already confirm my reservations already and i went to see her abt my invitations cards leh ... then she ask me that qn .. i mean if you ask me if you wan to upgrade your packages or you have any dishes to change still not so weird rite ...

lynn_

winnie weird huh? still ask if wanna give up? you have paid deposit liao rite?

daniel left liao huh? so i think the main person now is winnie liao lor... if u all had read my previous postings, i dun really like her attitude lor...

peng tse is charging us $180 for 8 artificaial floral stands... has a candle in the middle rite? but it's fake lah, put tealight there one. the colour is pink or peach huh? he say peach, but i see the photos more like pink leh...

we also having a bus, but not from jurong cos weekends chevrons got free shuttle bus from jurong mrt liao, but it's the mini bus... but think the bus going back might have a lot of free-loaders guests from the wedding in the restaurant next door... sekali the guests from the wedding next all jam the bus we provide and our guests can't get on?

woof_woof

Hi Lynn,

yah i have paid the deposit already and now finalising my invitations cards already

yah i called up peng tse also and to do up the whole ballroom with fake flowers costs 200 wow then the stand only costs 180 a bit not worth it leh

yah its peach in colour
i saw the deco the other day i would say its so much nicer than the restaurant ones ..... and i will be changing in my chalet instead of the changing room as there will be anth couple also so i may as well use my chalet instead of fighting haizzz ....

yah tats why my hubby was saying if we chartered a bus from Jurong pple might get on the wrong bus or even take our bus if the original chartered bus is full ... but i am tinking of anth pick up place lah

lynn_

hi woof woof, i'll also be changing in the chalet too. there's another couple in the restaurants and i also dun wanna share the room even lor... and somemore the room so small (u saw it?) dun look like got space for jie-meis to help me change. and also if hubby wan to change how? then the gowns just hang there with the other couple's? so weird leh...

yup we chartereding bus from AMK cos PIL's frens and relatives around the area.

peng tse charging us $180 for 8 fake flower stands lah... cos we dun wan the floral arch, so just 8 flower stands. i dunno how much he's going t charge if u just wan the stands, but i no energy to do up the floral stannds myself lah. and dun wan to bother my jie-meis abt this too. so just settled on the fake flowers. $180 cheap liao lor, but actally still more expensive tha if i DIY fresh flower stands leh. cos i went and found far east floral wholesale centre flowers so cheap!

i DIY-ing my rose petals. very easy. i did for my fren's rom too

woof_woof

Hi Lynn,

How you diy the rose petals ???

i am thinking if i want pple to throw rose petals leh and also if i wan to duno who is willng to throw at me .....

how must is far east floral charging

i am getting more stressed up leh .. seems so many things havent confirm
haizzz

lynn_

woof,

diy the petals is so much easiert than i imagined
took less than 10 minutes for the 20 roses i did for my fren's rom yesterday
tip: the more 'open' the roses the easier it is, and the 'open' roses are at special clearance prices too yipppeee!

okie, i got from far east floral (thomson) their wholesale centre at more than 20 rose at $8 a bundle (not opened ones) and kept them in water and flower food for 2 days before they open very very pretty then do lor. but saw their already opened roses are like $5.50 for the bundle, so i'll go buy and straight away can prepare the petals, dun have to wait for them to open and somemore cheaper too :p

if u need help with the petals can ask me again okei? there's someone in this forum doing petals 40 roses for $30... but i say huh, if u wanna let her do might as well let me do and i charge u less than her :p joking only lah okie?

woof no need to stress
i next sunday leh, and also many things haven't confirm

woof_woof

Hi Lynn,

okie will keep in mind and consult the teacher how to do it
but who are you asking to scatter the rose petals for you ?????

lynn_

hee, i asking my jie-meis to scatter the rose petals on the aisle and also recept table and cake and champagne tables lor...

and also asking guests to toss the petals at us when we do our march-in
we're putting mostly friends and colleagues along the aisle so they should be more sporting lah

iggy17

Lynn,
Think Winnie cannot make it leh, hubby was contacting her for his CNY dinner, she refused to waive off the corkage charges. But luckily when we went to pay the deposit, she's not around and we met the new manageress, katherine. She's very easy-going and obliging. When we asked her abt the corkage, she said nvr mind lah..then I oso checked on my wedding package whether to chg menu or not. they had included the hotel lodging at Copthorne Orchid or somethng else, can't rem. but per table is $10 more. hubby & I worked it out, like not very worth it so nvr upgrade. so most likely taking the chalet as there is another wedding at the restaurant on the same day. just to check, how much is the member's rate huh? think somewhere got mentioned but too lazy to go through all the threads now :p

hmmm..if the 8 fake flowers std(wif tealights)costs abt $180, it's worth considering leh. Just got the floor plan from Katherine last fri,due to my no of tables, think i may need more than 8 stds.

iggy17

hi woof,
they got new invitation cards design right? the rose printed ones. me likeboth designs so was trying to cham xiong with Katherine to take 2 designs, then she said ok! do u hv any problems with winnie too?

lynn_

hee iggy, so u found winnie very difficult to neg also hor?

the chalet i think is $190 for 2 nights for members i think. think hotel no point leh, chalet better cos can put barang and also change and makeup there mah... get hotel room so wat? their changing room sooooo tiny, can't imagine must share somemore!

katherine last time we saw her liao, but tat time think she's not manager yet? cos she showed us the ballroom the first time but we were asked to discuss with daniel or winnie. maybe now daniel left so she take over... she seems nicer yes...

woof_woof

iggy i saw the new design but prefer the red colour one ... i find the ivory doesnt stand out ... but whereas the red one stands out more haha i stare at it for like 5 mins before i concluded but my FH one look like the red one already....... humm i havent dealt with katherine before ... all along is winnie dealing with us ....

Lynn,
yah i agree with you that the changing room is so small how to share with others... btw ladies and esp lynn since your wedding is just around the corner... winnie emphasis to me to lock up all belongings, valuables and if possible dun leave it in the chalet ... Just the week before i visit her i would say should be ard beginning jan, a bride lost 1k as some pickpocket either among her friends or someone ... took it amongst the crowd or while nobody is there (winnie also not very sure how it got lost) but she say the bride didnt lock it in the safe and just leave it on the table and all her money in the wallet is gone and left only S$6. Wow felt the pinch imagine 1k just gone like that so she warn me to be very careful .. Lynn think you better dun leave your valuables around k.... and remember to show us your pics ... hehe

lynn_

thanks woof woof... yup better keep it in the chalet safe hor? then should be safe enuff rite? i hope no break-ins and they take the whole safe... the thief too the wallet ah? so weird, i tot normally people would target like the ang baos...

i have a ang bao box lor, think must opne it and take out all the ang baos and put into the chalet safe. must find someone trustworthy to do it lor...

if like hold all the ang baos with me all the time or with my mum or whoever in the handbag more dangerous than putting it in the safe?

woof_woof

hi Lynn,

yah i thought of that problem also .... but i dun think they will stole the whole safe bah .. but the problem who is going to put the ang bao box in the chalet for you ??? definately must find someone trust worthy .. according to winnie tat lady one was stolen by one of her friends leh ... wow really dangerous leh ....

lynn_

huh? so evil, fren's money also steal..

how she know is stolen by friends? maybe i ask my sisters and my mum to put them into the safe lor... dun trust anyone else with the ang baos liao...

ya lor, think jus keep the ang baos all in the chalet safe. any idea how big is the safe? cos besides cash maybe also need to keep jewellery hor...

eh u gers if u all know huh? the bride can mingle with guests at the recept ornot? i heard some peopel say the bride supposs to hide and only come out last leh... i thinking of mingling with my guests then maybe go back to the room to rest before 1st march-in... but then walk to and from the chalet also tiring, but can't expect me to be standing there at the recept until all my guests go in and sit down and then i march-in rite? tat will be so tiring....

woof_woof

emmm actually i was thinking of mingling with my guests ... i think nowadays they will all mingle a while then ard half an hr before then will go and changed bah ...

iggy17

hi lynn,
i know of brides who receive/mingle wif the guest during cocktail reception in their teadress or cheongsum. just half an hr before march in, they go back and changed into wg for march-in. this way, all the outfits can be worn during the dinner lor. besides changing in EG, the brides can oso change to kua to send the guests off...hope this gives u some idea...i think this is entirely up to the couple's schedule during dinner. if got spare time, then can chg into many outfits lor...

lynn_

thanks for the ideas

if half an hour before march-in then change into WG then MUA will not be able to put on the veil for me already rite? cos i thinking of wearing the veil again for the night...

hee, i may have too many dresses to change into... i have WG, EG, Kua and another teadress (actually it;s one of BS's EG, but not so kua zhang so can wear as teadress)

morning WG, then go back mum's place in kua. then eveing i dunno if i should wear my WG or teadress to receive guests at cocktail recept. dinner itself will be WG and EG rite? then send guests off dunno in kua or teadress????

woof_woof

Hi Lynn,

i think the MUA would leave after helping you to put on your make up.. unless you ask her to stay lah ...

humm i think tea dress nice leh ... Kua a bit chinese and heehee personal preference
i would suggest teadress .....

Initially i also want teadress one my my BS only give me 3 sets WG, EG and either Kua or teadress

lynn_

hee woof woof, think 3 sets is very standard... we thick-skinned, got them to give us free kua cos we buay gam-yuan topped up so much... we topped up 3K leh... so we felt we paid 6K plus in total might as well get watever we can from them, even if i have no time to change into so many clothes

lynn_

yup, i thinking if i should wear teadress or WG at the cocktail recept... if wearing teadress at recept then would prob wear kua to send them off liao lor... dun wanna "repeat" my teadress mah :p

WG or teadress at recept would depend on how much i like my WG... still haven't seen the completed work, cos mine is otr and i requested for some modifications... if i like it a lor then would wear for recept, if not then would wear teadress for recept lor...

woof_woof

Hi Lynn,

wow you paid so much ah ??? humm i am going to choose my pics this sun so hopefully wun exceed my budget bah
Getting excited your wedding is this weekend rite ??? if i didnt remeber wrongly
hehehe cant wait to see your pics .... me still looking for my theme
btw i went to bugis cant find it anymore now all selling chinese new year goodies ....

woof_woof

Hi Lynn,

busy preparing for you AD ah ??

tell you gals, i was so pissed off with winnie ...

My bf went to collect our invitations cards and i asked him to bring it over to my place so that i can tie and sort it out ... i was thinking that she gave me the new design i chosen as she told me theses are the new design so we took the red colour new design (description is red in colour ... centre with the word our wedding and with roses em-bosses on the card)

End up when i open the bag she gave me all the old design ...

I was fuming hot .. okie although i like the old design but wat i was given and chosen the new desgin what .. or at least you tell me got old and new design of the invitations which one do you prefer ... wow end up my bf asked if i wanted to have it changed and i say ai yah dun bother to change already lah .. its so far away ....

It so not right of winnie lor .. i think their service is getting worse ....

lynn_

hi gers! i'm back from my AD... fanny the captain was very frendly and helped us a lot on our AD... but we so busy and tired by the end of the day we forgot to give her an AB...

sorrie gers, the candle holder centrepiece (the cone one) was MOSTLY ka-poed by my guests, legft with less thyan 10 only :p so dun think can sell u gers liao...

was very very happy with the fake flowers stands peng tse gave us, the ballroom looked soooo much better with it
and the tossing of petals when we march-in in was GREEEEAAAT FUN! hee, when i get my pics share with u gers lor...

by the way, i have 50 gel candles in shot glass (wanted to use as centrepiece too, but 2 candles too crowded :p) to sell off... and 18 petal baskets too

anyone interested can email or PM me lor okie?

woof_woof

Hi Lynn,

welcome back i think i will request for fanny too
hehe i am INTERESTED ........

petal i am still considering leh .. duno who will throw at me ....

woof_woof

hi Lynn,

if you dun mind can just sell me like 4-5 pieces hehe
was thinking of putting it on my 2 VIP tables and my reception table ....
hehe

m__e

Hi ladies..

I'm new here. Also sign up with Brillant Garden for this July 05 wedding.. Cant really remember who serve me, got to ask my bf.

Lynn, Congrats on yr marriage... Can share with me yr pics when ready...

lynn_

hi gers! i'll be collecting my AD album tonight.. will be uploading some pics for ya all to see see...

very happy a lot of my frens commented the ballroom looks great! but i didn't use any decor from them lor...

the flower stands (8 of them) i got from peng tse (looks sooooooo much better than theirs and reasonable price too
peng tse very nice and patient guy and also not snobbish at all even though we asked a lot but eventually settled for 8 fake stands ONLY and so cheap at $180 only leh... highly recommended!)

i got my own table centrpiece on every tabel (they dun provide anything at all) and wedding favours (i had my jie-meis help to gove them out as door gift when my guests sign at the reception

and all flower petals u see (stage, cake and champagne table, reception table and aisle and for tossing at all) all i DIY
very very simple to do and inexpenive but looks romantic lor...

lynn_

oh just wanna share with u gers...

i had 55 tables (open 49 only lor) and consumed 7 bottles of hard liquor and almost 5 cartons of red wine... a lot of my guests liked my wine very much so they drank a LOT!

heehee, maybe a hint to save money is to get cheaper red wine so ur guests won't request for so many glasses like mine... a bit heart pain hor, costs like $26 per bottle leh, and i didn't even drink a drop of it tat nite

lynn_

one more thing... dunno wat menu u gers have... but i had quite a few $60 AB as they think restaurant very cheap and chevrons at "boon lay way" so must be ultra ultra cheap! and tat's from my colleagues, not old aunties and uuncles!

everyone had praises for the duck (crispy duck with some herbal sauce really yummy!) and chicken (had to top up, not in any of the banquet menus, it's the flatten crispy chicken, not in their wedding menu have to request). mixed reviews for the sharks fins though...

one thing to note (we have many tables and started quite late 845pm i think) so the waiters were clearing the plates before the guests finished and withou asking somemore! luckily one of our fren (in chrage of liquor tat night) called the captain and told her off for the waiters' service... after tat we were told it was ok... luckily it didn't go on for the whole night if not all my guests will so so pissed!

hahaha, some guests complained tat the refilling of wine glasses is SLOW.... hahahha, we only have 5 cratons and already finished all, if they were any faster think 10 cartons also not enuff... these people ah, buay zhi-dong and keep asking for top-ups of their wine...

woof_woof

Lynn,

wow your banquet is so nice .. didnt know you are so pretty heehee .... the rose petals you put on the table yourself ah ???

its really nice and sweet ...
like your flower stand also

lynn_

hee woof woof, i not pretty... very fat and fat and flabby arms, just tat the shots i selected are the prettier ones...

the rose petals everywhere (aisle, reception and champagne table and stage) all DIY one lor, they dun provide any...

thanks i like the flower stands too, i opted for stands instead of the arch and 6 stands cos i feel the arch a bit dated liao... and think it turned out nice

iggy17

hi lynn,

Yr ballroom decor is really nice, soo...oooo romantic...!! think i will opt for flower stds only too, agree that the arch is outdated. but dun think i have the time to DIY so much like u did...so are u gg for honeymoon? where to?

just had my PS last friday, a really fun experience, can't wait for AD to come but quite worried over the amount of work waiting to be done beforehand...cos' will be travelling quite ofter the next few months...gotto squeeze time...hope to enlist help from my jiemeis after CNY....

woof_woof

Hi Lynn & Iggy...

Iggy when is your AD ??
Mine is in April ...

Lynn,
how much time allowance did you gave peng tse ?? until now i havent saw him or what leh ... and i havent thought of what i wanted to do leh .... oh no ......

lynn_

hi woof woof,

we only met him once and he showed us photos of his setup, think tat was a month before our AD... And then we called him and discuss over the phone wat we wanted. and then confirm with him a week before AD tat's it...

but i was thinking if confirm with him one week dunno a bit risky or not cos we wanted the fake flower stands and if they were already booked before then die... but luckily they were not taken on pur AD date...

think his fake flowers stands really worth the money (8 for $180) and looked really nice too, not too fake like GT's. but of cos if ur budget allows, go for fresh flowers lor, can't beat tat. think i posted peng tse's prices for fresh flowers earlier, but i can't remember them liaoz. his prices are very reasonable

iggy17

hi lynn,

long time nvr come in here oredi, how's marriage life? gone for honeymoon yet? from yr comments, think it's quite safe to get the fake flowers from peng tse
just to chk w u, were u the one who used bubbles instead of dry ice? am thinking of getting some bubbles for the kids to blow during march in...also the announcement chart u did, did u put up another one at the lift area? the one from GT very obiang...me thought of making 2 charts if neccessary, 1 at reception and 1 at the lift area. cos there is another couple on the same day as me at the resturant.

by the way, what was the check in timing like for the chalet? FH godsis booked 1 for us but check in at 3pm(dinner nite) and checkout next day at 12noon yet we are charged 2 days!!!!
i thot the usuals is checkin 1/2 pm and checkout 12noon next day = 1 day

hi woof woof,
my AD is 19 may but dinner is 22 may.

lynn_

hey, how u know i used bubbles? :p

i used the bubbles on stage only lor, for the cake cutting and the champagne pouring
really loved it
wanted to have people blow for me along the aisle for second march-in but no time to do. for fist march-in was rose petals tossing by my guest and it was so fun and pretty! think my guests had a lot of fun participating in my march-in too

yup, the annoucement notice GT has really horrible leh, they have english or chines ones, and i saw for mine tat day was chinese one (so obiang!), luckily i have my own :p) for he main one at the lobby, i didn't do cos it's a simple one in english (think chevrons done tat one, not GT) and not obiang leh...

yup i think the check-in time is correct, but u sure u staying one night only and they charge u for 2 nights??? for me i paid approx 200 bucks and it's for 2 nights' stay...

lynn_

hi gers,

some stuff to sell from my wedding dinner...

http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/194/253529.html?1109470953

loved the gel candles but cos i used the tealight holders instead so didn't use them... so many leftover duno when can finish burning, so thinking of selling lor. u gers can put one on each table, thnk candle lights really made the place much prettier.

i used the tealights right, and winnie asked me can remove after first dish is served, but i told her to just shift it to the side of the lazy susan and leave it until the end of the dinner...

iggy17

hi lynn,

i thot i saw someone mentioning abt the bubbles lor just ask if it's u
ya, planning to use bubbles with dry ice...rose petals just throw on floor, reeption tables, etc....wat u think?

i got to cfm with the godsis whether it's 1/2 nites then, thanks for the info!

lynn_

hi iggy,

rose petals throw on the floor is very nice. if u planning for rose petals, then i suggest puting it at the recept table too, and definitely cannot forget the champagne table. looks nuch nicer with the rose petals, and definitey must ask for extra tier of the champagne glasses ok? we did and it looked a lot bettr than the low stack they normally would provide lor...

i had a concern with the bubbles is tat the small little fun bottles dunno if it's food-safe or not. and i can't be bothered to pour those food-safe ones into the little bottles so i just got my guests to toss rose petals. very fun also

for your info, i use 200 roses (tat's 20 bunches i got from far east flora) for all my petal needs (aisle, tossing, recept table, champagne and cake table too)... very easy to diy

iggy17

hi lynn,

thanks for the reminder, will ask for extra tier during my food tasting

think shldn't be a problem for the bubbles...diy roses oso shld be easy since i am having 2 separate days...

woof_woof

Hi Lynn,

Saw their deco think in Dec when i went over to choose my wedding invitations design .. haha i think peng tse design is nicer and really not so fake lor ...
and i saw the champagne fountain too ... haha totally agree with you its very ver short .. and ahaha she commented that all the hotel and restaurant also the same height blah blah blah then say my hand wun ache because i dun have to strech so high lah .. but i objected saying i wanted an extra tier ...

and the wedding cake looks fake too ...but no choice ...

Btw lynn how was your food the other day ?? Good ???