Chevrons @ Boon Lay Way

lynn_

hi iggy,

i'm not busy yet, tat's wat's scary :p

heh, we dun wan sharksfins but if wan to change to others like lobster need to top up, winne dun let us change free lor... very neow hor, considering tat they save on the cost of we dun have sharksfin... wat to do? no choice lor...

the floorplan dun indicate dimensions at all, and winnie say no one measured before also... aiya, very terrible...

guest list not even confirmed ... die liao lah...

lynn_

Hi,check with u ladies..

how many spare tables do u have ?

Cos i have 45 tables and they say only spare 2.most other restaurants have much more...

iggy17

hey lynn,
i think that's the common thing i heard from the brides. hee! dun worry, just write down whatever that needs to be completed, then slowly work on it lor.

did winnie give u suggestions on the equivalent to shark's fins? else if the top-up is not too far off, maybe just pay and get it over and done with lor...me & FH try not to push too hard if they seemed unwilling. we try to bargain on other stuffs like getting freebies lor.

hmm..quite expected lor, cos' they are not hotels. maybe if yr florist has done decor for chervons, they might know the estimates?
maybe u can use back the existing decor and put add-ons lor...i am planning to do that so tht i wont spend so much as 800 bucks for 1 nite!

joric

Hihi, is this tread about brillant garden at chevron? does the rest provide room for the bride to change the EG??

iggy17

hi jojo,
yep, they do, but not a very big one though. jsut a qn:are there more than 1 changing room? if both rest. & ballroom hv banquets, where will both brides go to change? anyone knows? i am not sure if i seen a changeing room in the ballroom

lynn_

there's only 1 changing room tat's in the rest... ballroom o changing room, but before i signed up they say they may let us use the violet room (next to ballroom) for changing if nobody else booking it... dunno whether true or not, cos some of the stuff they promised they didn't deliver...

i saw the changing room in the rest, but definitely very small and not nice at all.. maybe only enuff for the bride's use. Have to consider the groom maybe also need to change and the jie-meis and the mothers too need a place to rest and makeup before the dinner starts. So i booked the chalet lor... i think tat's better, also need the space to put all the stuff for the wedding...

iggy, whos's your co-ordinator? mine is winnie, but she like not very accomodating at all... dun wan sharks fins cannot even add sea cucumber for the vege dish, and dun wan the fruitcake cannot free any other thing or deduct money. So we decide to get our own wedding favours and also the fruitcakes too cos they are FREE anyway... aiyah, a bit frustrated lor, they not compromising at all...

i think the worst part is the spare tables thingy... last time before we sign we asked daniel and he said if we have more tables then we'll get more spare tables. tat time we only confirm 35 tables and he say give us 2 or 3 spae tables. but winnie insist only 2 spare, we now wan to add to 45 tables also only 2 spare!

lynn_

Okie gals,

I have earlier said tat i have bought some tealight holders to decor the tables fo the ballroom... And i intend to sell them off after my AD...

So posting here to see if anyone's intertested...

They're really cheap too... Let me know if anyone interested...

The pics should be quite representative of the real look cos GT is now using dark grey lazy susan on all tables for their banquet... So if no decor a bit plain lor... I can give all everything u see in the pics, provided they're still in good condition after my AD lor...

With some creativity and time, it can look even better

234795.jpg

234796.jpg

lynn_

I have some romantic gel candles in shotglass which can also be used to decorate the table...

Also a cheap alternative... But i can't be using both... Bought on impulse...

234799.jpg

woof_woof

hi Lynn,

How much are you selling ???

Will it be a bit too many if i put on everytable ???

haha aircon plus candle ... a lot of carbon dioxide leh .

lynn_

Hi woof woof,

I intend to put one on every table lor, either the glass cone tealight holder or the gel candle in shot glass...

think a lot of people are having romantic candles for their banquet leh, at least those hotels one have lor... they worse ah, have candles along the aisle and a few tealights at each table... i only have one tealight at each table...

some of my frens also held in resraurants and didn't do anything to the decor... which i tot was a bit plain.

anyway, i'm not using the fake flowers from GT lor... and to cut my budget i'm also not getting florist to do the aisle decor or flora arche... nothing along the acrhe, just the red carpet,a nd guest throw rose petals at me while i walk in... second march-in i have prepared bubble machines for bubbly effect
the only thing i'm keeping from them will be the dry ice effect lor...

oh anyway, i intend to sell most of the stuff away after my AD lor, maybe the petal baskets and the bubble machine...

i just post my petal baskets here first for a peep

235008.jpg

selling both after my AD lor, real cheap lah... if u interested just make me a reasonable offer lor... also wan to pass these stuff off to another brides instead of sitting inside my storeroom...

iggy17

hi lynn,
the previous transactions was with Daniel but spoke to winnie once. we havn't got down to the details, so i guess not much face-to-face neg yet.

if i rem correctly,yes, they do not give more than 2 spare tables. think got to check out with them lor.

i think u r very creative leh, no need to spend too much $ yet have personal touch to yr dinner. yr candle holders are nice but i am looking for really simple ones...most prob not gonna put any decor on the guest tables except maybe come flowers...

lynn_

thanks iggy,

yup confirm they dun give than 2 spare tables no matter how many table u have... no choice lor...

i also wanted to put flowers at the guests tables but flowers are far more expensive than these stuff tat i bought, so i more cheapo a bit lor, scrap the flower ideas... maybe u could check out how much florists charge for really very simple table decor, prices are sky high man, considering you have to multiply by the no. of tables...

i also tot of diy simple flora arrangement for each guest table, and my gfs also volunteered, but no way i can get the cost down to below $5 per table, considering the price of the flowers plus the basket etc...

just to share with you my experiences cos i went through all these while sourcing for decor... unless u dun mind having the guest tables bare, and using the fake orangy floral decor provided bt GT... i was truly very very disappointed by their fake floral decor, their other GT retsuaurants have much better-looking ones leh... i know cos i went ALL the GT restaurants in my search for the venu

iggy17

hi lynn,
agree that the flowers really costs a bomb. me still trying to figure out how to do up the place.

thanks to Jolene, she had provided some good advice...got to think over it before can decide on anything now.

hi jo, thanks...in fact, i am planning to have photo montage during 1st march-in and express hightlights before the 2nd march-in...

lynn_

hi iggy,

who's jolene? can u share some ideas on how to do up the place? i still dunno wat to do with the flowers thingy, whether to have real one or get prettier fake ones or watever...

my AD in a month's time, so starting to panic liao...

i also having rom video highlights to entertain guests before dinner starts, and PS montage before 1st or 2nd march-in... IF possible then of cos i also wish to have the AD daytime highlights (video or photos) too... so ideally i'll have the video to entertain guests before dinner starts, and PS and AD day highlights to show before 1st and 2nd march-in, one each...

lynn_

Hi jany,

are u holding your AD at Chevrons too?

price is negotiable lah, cos no pont for me to keep so many baskets after my AD... right now i'm looking at maybe $2 each lor, just to cover the material cost... hope u can understand.

but anyway prices for all the above posted stuff are negotiable lah.

lynn_

hihi... this thread so quiet

my AD 30 Jan and we going food tasting 4th Jan... hahaha, winnie alomst flipped!

I think i have most of the information of the banquet liao.. if any of u gers need the just ask me lor. winnie already gave me the program schedule and the emcee script (we getting our friend to do it).

i have the floor plan for 35 and 50 tables (just increased mah) so if u gers need i can email u all too...

need to ask if anyone saw their fake wedding cake before? i only saw the one with the organey flowers on it one. but winnie say they have others, and i peeped and saw 2 white ones, one is blue and the other pink ribbon. but it's dismantled so cannot visualise how it'll look... cos i tot the orangy one really very ugly, if tat's the one i might buy a real cake...

zuo_er

hi.. i just came back from a wedding dinner...
well..the service was sucks... sorry to say that.. but the staffs were so eager to clear off the dishes even before we finish..

we had to tell them not to clear 1st or tell them that we had not finished eating.. they serve the food pretty slow.. so no excuse to clear so fast... and somemore my friend only got about less than 20 tables lor..

nvm.. a wk before the banquet... one of the manager called him to ask him to prepare ang pow for the staff as a token of appreciation!!!! where got such things one rite?? kao...

then even when i asked for a glass of ice... it took me at least 1/2 hr.. and i had to ask 3 times from 3 diff person...

really cant make it..

iggy17

hi lynn,
Jolene is a lady from my BS whom i known from my BS thread...i think she's a May bride as well. She's been really really nice, helped to survey chervons ballroom and offered some tips to have decorate the place without spending a bomb...so far she offered to check out some florists' rates for ballroom decor, the ususal rates for the std decor pkg(minus stage decor)is abt 600-800 bucks. This is still over my budget so am thinking of having recept, flower stds, tealights 9with flower petals) either along the aisle or on each table.

Her comments was that the rest.'s fake flowers are still acceptable
we may just need to do away with the arch and place 2 flower stds instead. She est that i need abt 8-10 stds cos' i have close to 60 tables, which means quite a long aisle. i wld be checking with her on some tealight holders.

I know we can get the candles from Ikea, but not sure how much is the candle holder there...u got any idea?

Do u mind passing me the flor plan for 50tables? thanks.

I think i saw the dismantled ones in the bride's room. quite old and dusty, maybe they will clean it up?? Actually me think if gg to cut dummy cake, might as well dun cut lor. feel quite stupid leh...

iggy17

hi zuoer,
sorry to hear abt yr unpleasant experience. this is a good piece of info for the brides holding their dinner there, we will remind the captain of such poor service...thanks.

but asking for angbao seemed abit too far liao eh..

Lynn,
U beta check this out, if they did ask u for AB, got to qn them wat kind of practice is that supposed to be??

lynn_

hi iggy, u can wait for me a few days i go scan. today just went to see a setup for 40 tables, looks quite full already, and i have 50 tables (and still growing) so a bit squeezy for me. i think the aisle quite narrow (tables very close to the aisle)...

th fake flowers i still dun think are acceptable, will meet with peng tse next tues (when we got food tasting) for the prettier fake flowers cos fresh flowers out of budget.. let you know after tat okie? i took some pics from today's setup, will post them maybe tomorrow when i more free

u referring to the tealight or candle holders from ikea? u can refer to the webpage: http://www.ikea.com.sg/products/category_display.asp?c0=7&c1=28&c2=33&id=0&ctype=1

if u wan i'm letting mine go cheaper than most ikea ones

lynn_

iggy, think maybe we should 'automatically' give them some AB (assuming tat we're happy with their service at the end of the banquet) lor...

but asking them for AB really like a bit too much... will let u know if winnie asks us for AB too... a bit too thick-skinned liao...

by the way, you're dealing with winnie or daniel? daniel seems more flexible with perks? winnie didn't give us anything. read tat ex-GT vrides can get like free fake flower decor (from peng tse, i think) and free projector if they book over 50 tables. we tried to ask winnie but she say dun have such things...

afcai

Hi Lynn,
just a qns to ask, we intended to set holding our AD at Chervons on Nov 05 and dunno if
the date is still available. normally, when will ppl book their AD date? one yr in advance??

lynn_

Hi afcai,

we booked ours 6 months in advance and most of the better dates are taken already, esp for weekends...

lynn_

i have uploaded some pics of the chevrons ballroom wedding setup. tat was for 40 tables. i have 50, so more squeezy liao...

some comments: have seen other coloured-ribbon for dummy cakes, but asked winnie she say dun have. dunno, confirm again on tues when we go food tasting. champagne fountain very low, will ask for one more tier, duuno if they'll agree... aisle is too narrow. also, i think it's nicer to have dimmer lights throughout the whole dinner (cos anyway i'll be having tealights at each table), more romantic feel.

anyone interested in the pics can email me for the link. [email protected]

iggy17

hi Lynn,

So far have been dealing with Daniel, not sure if it will chg. But we will contact him for food tasting still unless he delegate to Winnie lor. Now no free projector cos' banquet handled by GT and projector belong to club so not free anymore.

iggy17

hi lynn,
got yr mail, thanks! actually i've been a no of times but always nvr thot of taking photos, so stupid!

iggy17

Lynn,
actually the decor in the photos looked quite all right leh, or maybe my std abit low lah hor. heehee

think i will go into details of discussion with GT during food tasting period...

woof_woof

Hi lynn,

received your pics successfully ..
i find the deco alrite but dun really like the fake flowers they put along the aisle ... and quite true the dummy cake is a bit small and the champane fountain is really not very nice

humm will see what i can discuss with winnie lor

but as for the arch i think i might just stick to it lor ...

btw lynn
you posted 2 pics of the candles which one you are putting on the tables and which one by the aisle ?

when is your AD ah ?

lynn_

Oh ya, we met with peng tse yesterady during food tasting.

i got the details of te flower decor package liao.

Fake flowers package: 6 flower stands, 1 flower arch, stage decor (drap the colour cloth only, choice of colours), fresh flower arrangements for VIP tables and reception table. Single flower (forgot to ask real or fake) at each VIP table chairback plus gold cloth tie-back. $380

Fresh flower package: 8 flower stands, no arch, stage decor (same, drap coloured cloth only), fresh flower arangements for VIP tables and reception table. Single flower at each VIP table chairback plus gold cloth tie-back. $480

quite reasonable lor.. i'm considering...

lynn_

hi woof woof,

the 2 types of candles i might be using both for tables, depending... hehe, haven't made up my mind yet. cos i originally planned to put the red tealight one, but i dun have enuff for all tables as i've increased the number liao...

My AD is 30 Jan
just done food tasting yesterday too...

gers i think can consider peng tse's package (fresh flower package quite alright if u ask around) cos he has higher flower stands. the ones (white pillars) by GT is really a bit too low, maybe i more fussy lor... by the way, i'll be checking out far east flora for fresh flower package or the tall candlebera (wrong spelling). if price ok then i'll take the tall candle stands thing, saw at my fren's wedding and it's so romantic! and dun need to kill so many flowers for just one night...

woof_woof

Hi Lynn,

do you mind if i drop by to see your AD ??? hehe want to see how's it like i havent seen the actual thing except for the photos they took ...

I got the same idea too but duno how much it will cost lor ... dun wish to kill so many flowers too
as for the receptionist i can do the flower basket myself hehe
just buy my fav flowers and i got a basket at home hehehe maybe just DIY a bit ... hopefully it will be nice ...
and as for the arch i duno if i wan to do without it .. but if the candle thing is cheaper i might take your idea hehe ...

btw my hubby also like your candle so hehe how much you wan to sell?? dun ask me to quote lah i am very poor at that ....

lynn_

hi woof woof, i prob going to far east flora this weekend to check out the tall candle stands' price lor... after tat i share the quote with you lor...

actually candles+flowers is most ideal hor, but bo lui so bo bian lor :p so i thinking if the candle stands pretty and cheap then i would use lor... if not then i'd prob get the fake flower from peng tse, but not the package, cos i dun wan the VIP tables and recept tables decor, and also dun need the single flower behind every chairback too...

but i dun like the arch lor, just my personal feelings but i think it's a little outdated liao lah... if possible then get 2 taller flower stands (if possible taller than the aisle stands) for the entrance... will be vey nice lor, hee, but no budget to go for tat...

My AD is 30 Jan... but dunno if it will be representative or not, cos we'll be getting our own favours, doing extra decor (candles stands or peng tse's flowers), decor at all tables etc... not really their standard setup... i hiao mah :p

by the way ladies, if u all have time (since your AD still sometime away rite), then i suggest tat u do your own menu printing, you know the menu they print and put at every table. dunno if u can tell from the pics or not, but theirs very "su" lor... i'm getting winnie to email me the softcopy of my menu (english and chinese cos my PC no chinese typing) and i just copy onto my own layout. and then just print and then can use their menu covers, no need to waste money if u all dun wan.

wat else? ok, the notice at tyhe entrance where it says "wedding dinner of xxx and xxx" tat layout anbd colour everything also very ugly, i think... the simply join 2 A4 paper together, and the last time i saw it was a obiang colour too. i'll be printing my own too...

ok, sound like i'm super fussy liao hor?

when your AD? i can send you the format after i finish mine... see if u like then u can modify name sand dates and use lor

woof_woof

Hi Lynn,

wow i really loves your idea to have such great concept and making it so different from other wedding pics we saw ... but i agree with you i also also find the arch a bit out dated ...

as for your menu how you going to print ???
you going to buy your own special paper from popular izit hehe?? and btw your wedding invitation izit the red or ivory type or you printed your own? i wish i can print my own insert hehe i saw the insert for Marina mandarian hotel is so cute and nice. but too bad chevron dun have lah

actually i wanted to make my ball room look nice but if i wan it to be decorated will cost a lot and one of my friend wedding they used heart shape balloons along the alise and the arch also and the stage also its real sweet but i think its ard 400 bucks lah

i think i might use the balloons along the ailse then after the 2nd march in will give away the balloons to the kids hehe

lynn_

the invitation is a mix of red and ivory one. actually in the beginning we asked for both the red and ivoty one (red for parents, ivory for us) but they say cannot. so we say all ivory lor, but then we called again to say ll red ones cos my parents insist lor. but then there was some confusion and when we went to collect the cards it was ivory instead. so winnie on the spot try to find red ones for us, but she dun have enuff, so we ended up with some ivory ones, just enuff for our cards too! nice mistake

oh ya, i also tot of using balloons but then flowers more romantic lor... but i still like the balloons idea, so i haven't decide yet. how your fren use the heart-shaped balloons along the aisle? tied to chairs or suspened from ceiling or from the floor up? any pics to share? i'm still interested in balloons cos can diy to cut cost...

if DIY balloon decor then might be cheaper. like i went concourse and found 100 balloons is $10, plus you can rent the helium tank to blow them up too, but need many helpers lor.

if u interested i have a contact (recommended by chevrons - we called up the facilities manager)... think her prices are very reasonable, and she did for chevrons many times for the ballroom also. i haven't meet up with her though...

woof_woof

Hi Lynn,

Can you give me the contacts? Emm as for her pic i have to find out for you because i didnt attended her wedding as i cant make it ....

But i heard they like sort of tie it round the aisle ....

My FH went down the other day and told me they changed the design of their invitations already ....

Yah i also thought of DIY the balloon thing but duno how to make the balloon float along the aisle leh ... because its like it will float away rite .....

lynn_

wow, u are lucky then... they have new invitation cards? i tot the ivory ones really very plain lor...

hmmm, i saw a few time rite, they tie a bunch of balloons together maybe like 4, different hieght ones so look nicer. to anchor the balloons, i saw some tie the bunch to a weight to hold them down. A simple and basically free one i saw before was fill a balloon with sand to act as a weight! then if u wan can add some ribbons aroung the base to hide the weight.

if u intertested in balloon decor i have some pics i researched on the net... i have some idea wat i wan, but still haven't got down to finalising if i wan balloons or flowers or candles... so fickle-minded me...

woof_woof

hi Lynn,

can email me the link ? hehe i also duno wat i want leh ... but hehe i still got some time to think lah .. haha i duno if my FH got remember wrongly or not lah ahha but i will go down and take a look and also to cmf a few things with winnie... and also see if she can set up a reception table for me for my ROM on the same day but at the pool side.

lynn_

gers, i requested for another tier to the champagne fountain... should be much better-looking than in the photos... you all can maybe do tat too

wow woof woof, u same day rom and banquet ah? siong sia :p

woof_woof

Hi Lynn,

i intend to ask them to add anth tier too
that one in the pic is like so small ... hehe

yah my ROM will be held just before my banquet so i think not that siong because i am inviting the person down so i dun have to go to the ROM centre if not really siong ah

lynn_

aiya, me not really happy with them leh... dun wan to say too much here also, but they just not very flexible lor...

they say ok to add another tier, but she say our arms may ache during the champagne pouring... huh? i'd rather have aching arms and pretty pics lor...

woof_woof

Aiyoh why like that one ....

how could they say that .. but well i agree with you ... i rather have aching arms lor then to have a short short champagne tier ... so odd and i think most of the wedding i attending all is high high one ...

haizz duno wats going to happen when i go down and negotiate with them... Now they are processing my insert and will let us see the draft soon ...

lynn_

maybe we very troublesome lah, cannot confirm the dishes cos gotta discuss with both sides' parents (after food tasting they requested for some changes to the dishes she seem like a bit unhappy liao leh)... dunno lah, think on the whole not as good service as i would have tot.

did u go for the food tasting already? honestly was a bit disappointed with the food, not tat it was bad or anything (just the soup was really horrid cos we told them no sharks fin but we wanted crab meat and dried scallops, but it came with 98% shredded chicken and 2% crab meat and dried scallops)... it was really such a disappointment! my sis say even the fish maw soup should have more of these than the 'chicken' soup.

another thing is we're having chestnut chicken, but we went and are told tat they dun have it tat day (even though they already know we're coming for the food tasting!) and gave us crispy chicken instead. the whole point of going for the food tasting is not to eat, but to taste the food tat will be served to all our guests rite?! i felt it was very bad service on their part.

enuff ranting liao lah, dun wan to scare u gers off... maybe you all will have better luck than me... now if they dare to ask for AB from us see how we suan them...

on the whole i think the YCK grassroots club GT has tastier food... but they didn't have such a big ballroom lor, only the MPH and it didn't look as nice...

woof_woof

Hi Lynn,

i am very KS lah i went for the food tasting last year ... haha but for my case they have all the food served lah .. and we request a few change of dishes also and i even told her not to add coconut milk to my red bean dessert and say the very traditional red bean soup never put coconut milk one .. its not ice-cream ... haha
then she okie .. keep quiet .....

lucky i went for my food tasting early ah .. my BF just came back from US (he was there on course) then got to settle so many things then now in Feb (on V day) he is setting off to brunei for a mth .. see lah where got time ...if i do my food tasting this year i will have even more things to do .. stress ah

btw they dun provide you with the ang bao box and the guest book rite?