Chevrons @ Boon Lay Way

eliz_21

Sorry for not posting anything for sometime now... Reason being that my wed is still sometime away... sept2005...

Mmmm... seems like this thread is not as flowy as b4. I think that's bcos most of u have already had ur weddings...

Looks like I may not have my wed at Chevrons. FH really don't like it, as he's a RSAF personnel, too common for him & fellow colleagues to be there... (The "huh! Chevron again kind of remarks") Actually I do agree wif him, but my initial thought of Chevron is that their price is reasonable & the ambience is fine for me... heehee... we got quite a tight budget.... He suggested to have a high tea recept thingy @ a hotel instead... I strongly agree wif him now as High tea is more affordable & it helps us to cut down on stress, time, & costs... esp when we do away wif church ceremony & banquet dinner... still can have the best of both worlds... solomnisation & thereafter food @ tea recept.... Any suggestions & comments from u ladies??? Quite disappointed that I can't really find tea recept related topics in tis forum....

Though we r pretty sure of our decision now, we r having difficulty convincing my FH's parents esp. his dad, who insists of having a tranditional wed dinner banquet... quite stressful now... sob sob... anyone can help???

huggiez

meowie, can share wif me wat they have at the chev chalet? like how many beds n toilets and some of the facilities available? how many mths in advance can we book?

meowie

Connie, are you a member of Chevrons? If yes, you can book 6months before, else i think its 2-3months. This you may need to confirm with them.

The chalet is double storey. The second storey is the room itself with a queen size bed and a toilet and i dun think can shower there but at the ground level its possible. Also at the second level there a wardrobe with a few hangers and safe in there. As for the ground floor, there's one foldable sofa bed, a sofa of 3+2 seater and coffe table. There's also a dinning table in there with i think 4 chairs. Then they do provide forks and spoons i think 4 set. A chopping board and knife and some thongs. Outside, you'll be issue to your own BBQ pit to use, and the washing basin located jus outside the backdoor is for you to use too. But they dun have washing liquid for dirty plates.

Facility wise there's the swimming pool with some floats for the kids. The gym, the karaoke room and a pub. For more facilty you can go to there website www.chevrons.org.sg

lynn_

I just booked my wedding banquet at Chevrons for next year... Can any kind gals out there advise me on the questions I need to ask and clarify with them?

They seem to have only 1 design with artificial flowers for their wedding arch... Hmmm, not so nice, but can't decide if should spend on using fresh blooms. Any comments on their florist, the manager only said it would cost hundreds to do it up in fresh flowers.

Any hidden details that i would need to clarify? Or extras they can provide?

Thanks in advance...

maywmf

Hi Lynn,

I've also booked my wedding banquet at Chevrons.

I also found the artificial flowers quite "stiff" so will make arrangements with a florist (Brilliant Garden) provide.

Not much hidden costs. Mostly nett price. Quite reasonable pricing too. :)

virgo_jenn

Hi Lynn & May,

I have booked mine with Crown Palace next yr also under Gim Tim they also using artificial flowers not nice intend to spend on fresh flowers for venue decor if their florist provide better quote then will use theirs if not i have gt info from June Florist stage & aisle decor cost around $600 plus.

lynn_

This thread is so quite nowadays... Anybody has any updates on banquet activities... Mine is in Jan 05, anyone also in Jan 05? Dunno when to initiate stuff like menu and venu decorations discussions with Chevrons... Can anyone advice on this?

Btw, anyone has quote for flora decoration? I have yet to see the affliated florist's works... Anyone has any advice on this?

Thanks in advance...

huggiez

Lynn, i was planning to book mine soon. my date will be in nov 2005. may i know how many tables have you booked and the package details?

lynn_

Hi Connie,

We have tentatively booked for 35 tables, tat's the minimum for free usage of the ballroom right? Nothing else is confirmed yet, most prob going to make some changes to the menu b4 the food tasting...

You mean wat package details? Pretty std leh, nothing much to note, u let me know wat u want to know then i go check ya?

iggy17

hi virgo_jenn,
I am also intending to book crown palace for my dinner on May 05. How many tables you hv huh? Me got 55 tables! so now headache over the narrow aisleway, haven't count in the floral decor yet.
Can you share your thots on how to do up the place? U mean they hv their own florists? I asked them, they say dun hv lei??Me prefer ballroom style but got budget constraints lah...yr quote from June Florist got include table decor (VIP, receiption, rostrum) or not?

lynn_

Hi ladies, havent been checking this forum lately cos busy with PS... Finally done tat liao

hi belle, mine is at Chevrons on 30th Jan, it's a Sunday... have u confirmed your menu and no of tables and stuff? me yet to get started on anything... are we supposed to contact them or they'll contact us to get the preparations started?

Hi iggy, i've been to crown palace, the one at yishun rite? that one so big, u shouldn't have any problems putting in 55 tables rite? i heard they sya can put up to 80 tables leh... 55 tables can also squeeze into the chevrons ballroom rite? do u wan to conside tat? but dunno if they'll allow transfer of deposit though...

woof_woof

i have booked my banquet at Chevrons too .. mine is next year Apr 3 for ard 38 tables ....

i am also looking at their fresh flowers deco instead of the artificial flowers which really look fake and stiff.. does anyone have any idea how much they charge ???

Any comments abt the food ?

iggy17

Hi woof,
me too!
my dinner is 22 May 05 abt 55tables and still increasing
me taking the ballroom. How abt u? Did u get the florists contact from Daniel (the mgr)? Think the guy is Peng Tse (florist). Me havn't decide on what theme yet, still doing my research....food wise, i heard quite good comments lor...

woof_woof

Hi iggy,

ohhh u didnt manage to get the florist from Daniel because all along i am dealing with Winnie ... do you have the contact number of the florist ? any idea wat is the budget like ?

Ohh you are looking for a theme for the wedding ah ? i also duno wat theme to have or wat design just dun like their artificial flowers .

mind to tell me which package you took ?

iggy17

hi woof,
who's winnie? from the rest. or florist? Me onli got namecard of florist, it showed peng tse..i haven't call him yet, haven't really decided to go ahead with the flowers or not; but tentatively my budget is around 600-700. Not really themed lah, just wanna to have some atmosphere...we took the 488 package, u leh?

woof_woof

hi iggy,

ohh i think mine is the 398 package but we changed a few dishes so forget how much already. haha a bit budget lah so got to keep it cheap and good ....

ohh i didnt get the name card of any florist ...

haha i duno how much izit but some of the florist charge ard 800 .. so i hope it wun be too ex for theirs if not i will opt for something cheaper .

Ohh winnie is one of the staff i think she is the captain or wat from the restaurant

belle_thai

I've oso booked my banquet wif chevrons, on 05/01/2005. Also found their flowers very dull, so I might be changing it as well, but dunno how to go abt it.... I'm havin abt 45-50tables, at the ballroom. BTW is anyone here booking e chalet on ur AD?

woof_woof

Hi labelle,

i am intending to book their chalet for my wedding too.

might be booking 2 chalets for my brothers and sister.

lynn_

Glad to see more Chevrons couples posting nowadays. My AD is 30 Jan, already booked their chalet, mainly just tp put barang and change leh... Cos saw their changing roon quite small...

Me also thinking of getting fresh flowers, but have to see how much lor... Also dunno if we can engage outside florist to do it instead of getting the GimTim's affliated one... Anyone has their quote? Anyone bring own table decor/settings cos i dun GT is providing any rite?

Does anyone know if we can get the mini fruitcakes changed to chocoloates and how much? I very blur cos haven't started any activities on the dinner palnning yet, still haven't confirm menu too...

You think the 75% wedding cards they are providing is enough? How long beforehand should we start on the planning and negotiations? My AD is 30 Jan, so labelle's earlier than me, wonder if you've started already?

belle_thai

Hi Lynn,

I've only confirmed the menu, but the booking of chalet, flower deco etc etc have not been confirmed yet... Not too sure how to go abt it, cos I'm a very blur person... Ha Ha... Recently oso getting busy wif the renovation stuff, so no time to settle the banquet things, dats y I'm oso here for opinions on the flower deco, booking of chalet etc etc.. (",)

lynn_

Oops, then we are a bunch of blur and clueless brides leh... Just wrapping up the reno works *phew* but now bery broke, so a lot of the additional stuff we might not be able to go ahead with it...

Did GT call u up yet? To finalise details etc, me dunno wan to call them or they'll call us? Does anyone have the ballroom area and tables layout? I dun remember them giving us any leh, think i need it to get an idea of how to do up the place and to get quotations for it too...

Oops isbelle only 2 more months to banquet u still not started? I very gan geong i think, so going to start in a couple of weeks to call them up and go down again to see the place. Isebelle u also took the ballroom rite? Any plans to provide your own table decor? Anyone knows if they have the cocktail sort of stuff where they start to serve drinks at the recept area?

iggy17

hi lynn,
during booking with GT, we did mention to them abt having a predinner cocktails, surprisingly, they agreed to provide FOC ! As for the chg from fruitcakes to chocolates, actually i did not noticed this leh. so is it std fruitcakes? then hv choice to chg to chocolate ar??

Just a qn: may i know if you gals need to pay for the projector or not huh? Daniel quoted me 100bucks leh.

Also, how much did u gals pay for the chalet huh? Do they have std or bridal type??

Sorry huh, for asking so many qns! Me, another sotong bride-to-be heehee....

hi woof,
so did u manage to talk to any florists or GT's one? me still taking my time cos' still not sure got budget to do the decor or not? If u got cheap lobangs, rem to share okie? thanks

lynn_

gosh, so we all sotong chevrons brides! hee, we never tot of a pre-dinner cocktail before signup, so never brought it up to them yet... hopefully they'll give us foc too, maybe i just tell them they give my fren (iggy you lah) foc so they should give me too...

iggy, when's your AD? Mine is 30Jan so i booked the chalet liao lor, they only have a few chalets so toto better book early. I got my bro-in-law to book cos he's member, so i think it's like 190 for 2 nites stay.. They dun have bridal ones lor, just normal ones, but i think better than their changing rooms... Think i made a mistake liao, should book the day before AD so can bring all the barang etc there to store, but i booked on the day of AD and the day after, see can change or not lor...

never ask abt projector too, see i everything also dunno one... florist i also haven't spoken to them yet, but i have lobang for florist cos it's my MIL's fren. But gotta get the floor plan and layout and get some quotations to compare... If u all wan the florist's contact i can give you... but me first check if she's really much cheaper than the GT one or not... I like her arrangements cos she did my PS bouqet for me, especially like her men's little flower (if u all know wat i mean) so cute and unique, might take hers instead of my BS cos so normal looking, and exchange for more stuff with them :p

anyone has the floor plan (size of ballroom) and the layout of the tables? Can forward to me?

woof_woof

i am also a sotong bride... haha i didnt ask abt the cocktail before dinner also .. but projector i remember she quoted me 100 per projector lor
then as for the deco i also duno wat to do leh ....

chalet i also havnent book .... stress plus plus

lynn_

Okie, let's have a list of all the blur Chevrons brides...

Iabelle - 5 Jan 05
Lynn - 30 Jan 05
Woof Woof - 3 Apr 05
Iggy - 22 May 05

Did i miss put anyone or got the dates wrong?

So you ladies when you gonna start the prep and details neg? Me gonna start next week most prob... So i was attended to by winnie when i went the first time but when we signed it was daniel cos winnie was off tat day... So my co-ordinator who huh?

You all going to bring your own centrepieces? I bot a cheap (but looks ok) tealight holder for each table and thinking of having rose petals over the tables.

When we signed we were informed tat they will have lazy susan turntable for ALL tables, anyone can confirm? Anyone has the floor plan pls??? Me lagi more stress leh, 3 months more and 0% started...

iggy17

hi lynn,
u got it right, my dinner is on 22May (but AD is on 19May lah). the cocktail shld be pretty simple one with softdrinks and nuts. They dun encourage to serve wine (yr own/buy from them) or beer(buy frm them).So they set up a few tables and hv 1/2 servers, i think. Better check out the details when u asked

Ya, saw the rates $190 for 2 nites, can get my fren to help book if we want, will consider first.Maybe after dinner go cheong oredi so no need to book after all

the projector is good and big, one in the center at the stage and one at the side. Minus point is that this belongs to the club and they need manpower to operate, GT refused to absorb, unless can get frens to bargain with club??

think u can get the floorplan from GT.

What are u gg to do with the tealight holders after the wedding huh? I thot of putting tealights with flowers on each table and along the aisle, thot the florist can package this with the floral decor. Can pass me your MIL's contact ? thanks

Invitation cards, 75% is the normal, it shld be enough dun worry.if over by some, think can bargain with them for FOC lor.

Me only collecting information, haven't really start, think still quite early hor...hmmm...May 05...think can start in Dec/Jan

lynn_

okie, me going to get the floorplan from them first and get my MIL's fren to quote... should be quite reasonable cos her shop is at neighbourhood kind, but surprisingly design i like a lot :p

we took some fotos of my and FH's flowers cos very unique (my BS's guy's flowers is very normal orchid *yucks*) so likely going to ask her to do the same design for my AD
me go find out more then share with ya all, in case the price no good etc...

we never tot of getting florist to do the decor at first so just bot the tealight holders ourselves lor, but saw their fake flowers really can't make it so might have to do fresh flowers after all lor... dunno wat to do with them after dinner, maybe sell them off at this forum :p

iggy17

so u bot 30 over tealight holders ar? maybe i can buy over from u?? if the florist dun provide or too ex. what do u think? is it those from ikea? or the cup/shotglass types?

will u be DIY-ing yr own ang bao box?

belle_thai

I've collected my invitation cards today. 310 pcs in total. Wanted to book the chalet, but they said its fully booked.... Haiz, now oso dunno wat to to, cos my MIL say we can't go back to our house to sleep on the actual nite... Oso dunno wat logic is dat...

Lynn, u mean the tealight holders gotta purchase our own? Not included in the floral deco meh?? After u check out the quote orady keep me inform too k?

I think I'm now a very lost, sotong bride here, really dunno wat to prepare for the banquet nite...

belle_thai

Oh yes, I've got my floor plan too, but i think its arranged according to the no. of tables u have. So lynn, maybe u wanna call them up to prepare for u, think they can oso fax it to u.

lynn_

hmmm... me will be DIY-ing ang bao box most prob... havent decide on a theme and colour theme yet...

me like both bright and cheery and also romantic and sweet too... how?

oh ya, nowadays brides always wear WG to mingle with guests before the dinner starts? anyone seen brides wearing teadress or something else? me thinking have a fun and cheery (balloons and bright colours) reception and something soft and romantic (candles and flowers) in the ballroom... wat ya think huh?

i bot over 30 tealight holders ya... havent snap any pics yet cos thinking of doing them up a bit, depending on how hardworking i am... not from ikea ones though, and not the cup kind... dunno how to describe... maybe when i'm done i show ya all okie?

show ya all the guy's flowers i was talking abt....
219340.jpg

woof_woof

wow this corsage is really unique ...
can also give me her quotation afeter you found out from her ?

i also didnt have their floor plans ...

but mine still got a couple of months more lah

btw which design for the wedding cards did you ladies choose ...
quite limited to only 2 designs leh

iggy17

hi lynn,
i noe of brides who wore CS (not sure abt teadress)during cocktail session then chg into WG before march-in. This means yr MUA must be early, so that u can get ready by 6.30/7pm,mingle around till 7.45/8pm, then go chg for march-in at 8.30/8.45...

yr idea of 2 diff concepts at recep area and ballroom is interesting.me oso prefer romantic feel for the ballroom, which means must put some candle lights and flowers lor...

the corsage looks quite unique. ya, show us the photo of yr tealight holder when u finished. thks.

hey labelle,that's really a weird rule, unless this is stated by the feng shui master(??).that means u got to book a hotel rm oredi hor...maybe can try to convince yr MIL that this is additional costs, so maybe she wld like to sponser heehee....then u cna choose a nice, nice for a romantic nite ;)

lynn_

Hi labelle, wow u collected your invites already??? gosh i 30Jan still haven confirm the no of tables! how many tables you having? We having anything from 35 to 40, depending on the name list which is not prepared yet...

can email me the floor plan? me just wanna agar-agar the aisle length etc so can get quotations for the flowers decor... cos we going to have to hurry both sides parents to confirm tables before going down to speak to them...

they only have 2 kinds of cards rite? Wonder if we can get more than 70 or 75% they said they are going to invite... Most likely going to chooose the cream one, but so plain... dunno if top up can get nicer cards?

belle_thai

Hi lynn, now the floorplan is wif my MIL.... MAybe u wanna call GT n get them to fax to u? Ya, the corsage looks nice.. I only confirm 45-50 tables, but my MIL might increase to abt 60...

belle_thai

Hengz, finally able to book the chalet on my AD, thanks to the boss of the caterer (GT), as my MIL knows him... (",) One thing i must say abt their service is dat, they r really efficient & really friendly, especially Katherine. I went down to chevrons to pay for the chalet, so I pop by the ballroom, which they have a wedding banquet dat nite. As I walked round the ballroom wif my HB, Katherine patiently walk wif us, and was very attentive to our needs. I managed to changed all the high ball glasses to wine glass for all the tables, though Katherine advised dat it'll be slightly smaller. But i think its ok lah, at most the waitresses will need to refill the drinks more often, but i tot it will look nicer... On the whole I'm very satisfied wif their service so far, n I hope all chevrons brides will... (",)

gwee_liap

Hi all chevrons brides to be:

l am planning to hold my dinner @ chervons in third quarter of 05 as well...dun how to start with..guess l am another blur bride to be..

But after reading up some of your comments, advice and opinions, have a bit of idea lah..
Is the rest flowers really cannot make it huh?? l got them to email me the wedding menu the price seems rather reasonable n wthin budget as well?

Has anyone tested the food?? Rem to share with me okie...

lynn_

Almost confirm my menu liao, making some changes as i do not want sharks' fins in my menu... but winnie did not give any discount or exchange other better dishes for me... aiya, wat to do...

i say confirm 35 tables (cos if wan to add tables later they sure very willing rite?) but winnie say floorlan only give me during food tasting... HUH????

anyway, she say food tasting end of the month latest lor... just got my fax of the invites template. cannot believe the silly errors there...

iggy17

hi pink,
i oso got thi qn b4, nope, they onli hv std rooms but quite big lah...u gng to book/oredi booked chervons? when's yr AD??

lynn_

anyone not having food tasting? me thinking of not going, cos 200+ bucks... and we ate there before, the standard quite good, we quite confident one lor...

woof_woof

hi lynn,

i have been to the food tasting .. emmm for me its in the package so i dun hv to pay anything
but its more advisable for you to go
for us initially we are fine with the food but after the tasting we are full of comments
and changed a couple of dishes ....

btw gals, did you gals managed to get the quotation for the florist or wat ?

haha i havent call up gim time to get my floor plan
jialat although mine is like 4 mths away ... hehe

lynn_

hmmm... u topped up for the dishes u changed?

they said only give me the floor plan when i collect the invites leh, and mine is in Jan! So haven't had the chance to ask for quotations yet..

me a little disappointed leh, cos we asked a few places before regarding the change of the sharks' fins soup. Many other restaurants offered (without me asking for it) to change 1 or 2 other dishes to a higher package one cos we didn't want the sharks' fins...

when we asked GT they also say can neg, but now they say cannot... a bit kena bluffed lor, cos the cost for them is much lower without sharks' fins yet they won't upgrade 1 other dish for us... wat to dos? sign is sign already lor...

oh u didn't like the food? we eat at GT, but not this branch... so far tried the food at YCK and yishun both yummy leh... my sis had her AD at OC and also catered by GT... No prob leh...

lynn_

okie... me called the florist Peng Tse for quotation liao...

He told us artificial flowers $200 to $400...

For fresh flowers (a bit confused..) for the 6 stands along the aisle only is $400, if wanna add the arch and stage decor would be $600 to $800...

That's wat i gathered... The prices are for the common flowers ie roses.. If wan lilies etc than gotta add at least 20%... Woa, too expensive liao...

GT only has the orange flowers, me think not nice... But unwilling to pay $800 for fresh flowers for a day only... Wat u ladies think?

Me thinking completely doing away with the flowers... Maybe put pretty candle stands on the little white pillar stands meant for the flowers...

woof_woof

hi Lynn,

Wow the price for the fresh is really steep

haha i havent seen how the place will look like on the actual day ...
but maybe i just wan the arch to be made of fresh flowers

and haizzz the aisle i also duno wat i intend to do .........

Do you all intend to get a small gift for your guest ? i know GT only provide caskes.

lynn_

Me intend to do some favours shopping in bangkok sometime this month... Hopefully can get something... Yup they only have the wedding cakes, and rebates watsoever if u dun wan them too...

Was thinking of getting some choclates maybe to put in the mini cake boxes if i can't get cheap favours in bangkok... The boxes look quite ok though, asked winnie she say can just get the boxes lor, or she can help to place our own favours at each seat too...

Just collect my invites today, and asked her not to do the "stuff the napkin into the cup" setting... Me think the folded napkin nicer looking, even if it's just a simple fan shape... Gotta tell her then she'll note down. Or else they'll do whichever way they wan... She told me one...

Ok, 30 Jan (My AD) there's another dinner going on at the restaurant itself, tat's just besides the ballroom... Me thinking of tying banner, ribbons and signage (dunno how to describe correctly) on the railings outside the ballroom... Dunno where to get cheap and nice fabric?

lynn_

Anyone knows the length of the asile? And the ballroom size?

I called them but winne said she never measured before, roughly should be 50m in length, but breadth dunno..

I need to guage how many rose petals i need to decor the aisle (along the sides of the aisle and loosly thrown all over the centre), and also need to roughly guage the number of balloons i need...

iggy17

hi lynn,
u must be really busy with the restuarant's stuff now. i thot the floor plan go indicate dimensions lei? No hv ar? i think the breadth dep on how many tables u hv right?

agree with u that it do not seemed to be worth it to spend 800 bucks on the decor for 1 night, to be specific....think me gng to see other florist for quotes but me no floor plan yet...think will get a general quote...

i thot GT is quite flexible in changing the dishes one? when we sign the package, we mentioned we do not want duck so wanna chg to other. they suggested scallops, but got to top up $6-$10...as for sharkfins, other than abalone, think lobster can do right?