Cheongsam

cyc

atiyah, all the best for your last paper!

btw, what happened to ur previous CS? where did you make or buy it? must tell everyone in forum to note the shop.. how can do lousy job and spoil ur CS?! how much did you pay for it? my CS is $459. what's ur budget for new CS?

OH! 18 Oct your hubby's bday? heh.. nice! apparently its quite a popular day to get married. i wonder why.. haha..

who is Judy Khoo? yup, let us know ur review after ur visit.

bitchy wife.. that's a lot to invest on IPL! but as what atiyah said, its worth it!
endure..

cheriz

Hey Bitchy wife and cyc,

Hehe, to bitchy wife 1st, actually im a bride w prob skin too.. mostly battle scars and marks with pimples from 10 years ago. Last Dec I did subcision to detach the scar tissue 1st. My Doc recmded a follow up with fraxel laser, but i really hv no money ($6000 for 4 sessions) and guts to do it coz the nurse revealed that it is a painful laser! So now im just gg for facial... but still using the doc's product. She's Joyce Lim btw. I think her products are really good. But Im one who needs procedures so... sighz, for now Im relying on make-up! So you go girl! You got sufficient time to look good. I wish I had started earlier.

Cyc, the seamstress operates from home. She's rcmded my bridal/make-up artists. I guess Im unlucky coz the period i went to her was the time a lot of pple complained that her workmanship dropped. Maybe she's gg thru a tough time, Im not sure. She's a really nice lady tho, but well. Anyway, no fuss was kicked but my hubby and i agreed that the cs is not presentable enuff. Can you imagine two uneven lines at the torso area? And my material is thai silk, so the part she had to lengthen got obvious needle marks. So in the end decided to get another cs lor. Hoping to get one less than $300.

Judy Khoo is a seamstress in chinatown, recmded in the thread here (archived alrdy I think), so I want to see how she is. Yupz, will update you all.

Phew this is long. Enjoy the wkend yeah ladies ;)

cherryapple

All the best looking for ur CS. Mine CS was done by my BS. We have talked ab what design I wa and wa colo I wa also. My CS I wa a Shocking Pink which is like the Shanghai Pink. My design also say that shocking pink lace is hard to find but she managed to find it. I havent go see my 1st fitting which will be end of this month. I am also worry ab the outcome of my CS. Dont kw wil be nice or not. Btw, i got the design from a bridal mag. Which is similar to Dang bridal Shop.

cheriz

Hi Bitchy wife and cyc,

I found a tailor liao! Wilson Ng from Max couture @ Tanjong Katong SC. Was going along Arab street to browse at fabric, but i actually ended up falling in love with the beautiful textile and bought something fr royal fabric, got a recmdation from the salesperson and ended up giving my cs to this tailor! I like that he very driven to make me look pretty for my big day, and his suggestions on the style of cs and beading to match. Seeing many customers in the lil shop gives me confidence too. So excited for my fitting on 24 May!! Will post a pic here if I can.

Cyc and bitchy wife, let's exchange photos of our cheongsums shall we? ;)

cherryapple

Hi Atiyah,

lad that u finally found ur CS.. so happy for u. I will have my 1st fitting end of this month... I will try to take a pic of it and show to u..

cyc

congrats atiyah!

atiyah and bitchy wife, do u have multiply accounts? i posted pic of my CS there.. if you have we can add each other..

totoro_gal

would like to seek your opinion on where to get affordable CS custom-made. I dont like my MTM EG (shanghaitang inspired EG) from my BS, and cant find any OTR gowns from them. My wedding is in 2.5 mths time....now very kancheong cos cant find a suitable EG, and photoshoot is end Apr

Was trying to source for CS for tall & big-bone gals like me...thought of going zion creation, mama & misse. Some gals also mentioned a seamstress called Kim....dont know who is good, and wonder whether big bone gals can wear CS (modified to be less figure-huggng ?)

totoro_gal

cheriz

Hey Bitchy wife and Cyc, thanks!

We're all on our way to getting our cs :D Im excited for your fitting too! Cyc, so hv you altered yours alrdy or will they do it closer to date?

Oh dear I got no multiply acct.. maybe will go sign up one when i hv my pic then i'll inform you. Cyc, wat's yr multiply acc? Then can go view view first ;)

cheriz

Hey totoro gal,
I think every female will look good in a cheong sum. have you checked out zion? You can also chck out the tailor i went to - Max Couture @ Katong Shopping Centre.. Oops! I realised tt i mentioned Tanjong Katong above.. wrg wrg, shld be Katong. Hehe. Wilson Ng. 64408180. You can call to get a quote 1st. I went last saturday, so cheong sum wun be ready till mid - late May. But saw the gowns in his shop, looks promising.
Gd luck to you!

totoro_gal

Hi Atiya

I went to Mama & Misse @Intl Plaza during lunchtime, and tried on a few CS, managed to find one my size. I got the shop's namecard, KIV first.

Just now I also called the seamstress Kim, going over to her house to discuss with her this week. Kim got lots of customers, but seems her workmanship is gd and pricing is affordable.

I will also be checking out zioncreations, saw some of their gowns on website, very nice leh...

totoro_gal

Chanced upon this site called Hanna Fashion, their CS looks very pretty from the website, anybody has visited them ??
www.hanafashion.biz

Cyc, you are from Oriental thread ? and i remember BitchyWife is fr GS thread

cheriz

Hi Totoro girl,
dun worry, her name's not Kim.
I hope it's just a one-off thing with my seamstress coz I've entrusted her (along with my cs @ the beginning of the year) with my sister's dresses too. Have fun shopping for THE cheongsum yeah?

totoro_gal

need to ask u gals a favour...where do you get your designs for ur CS? I have browsed through some mags and websites and roughly have some idea, but just wondering...what kind of CS design are suitable for gals who are big-boned, what kinda design will hide the hips and tummy?

cheriz

Hey Totoro girl,

Im copying a look from StyleWedding. It's a past year issue, a peach cheongsam Jessica Liu was seen wearing. I dun really know what's gd for hiding hips and tummy tho... Oh but someone once suggested wearing a corset underneath. But do let yr seamstress/tailor know if you are gg to do so.

cyc

hey girls.. paiseh, been busy the past week. ok, my multiply nick is yuik. can add me..

totoro gal, r u having ur AD in Oriental too? yah.. u have great memory!

cherryapple

I got my design from a past yr mag also... I rem the CS is from Dang Bridal... It a bare back CS.. but I wa it in shocking pink...

totoro_gal

aiyah...i only have 2 bridal magazines so far, only started buying them in Feb, Hope i can draw out sth decent for the seamstress to see, going to her place tomorow night :p

hey, sidetrack abit, anybody knows of good seamstress to tailor-make working clothes. Tired of buying over-priced and poor quality workingwear that dont fit me. Sianz

cyc

totoro gal, once u apply multiply u add me.. identify urself k? we can share pix..

when is ur AD? mine is in Oct 08.

sandi

Its been a long time since i log in.
last time i used this one.she custom made for my sisters' & mum.

MAY CULTURE
CHINATOWN POINT
#03-40

the seamstress will try to meet your request

angelite

I have a brand new white brocade cheongsum with red chinese buttons to let go cheap (only $48). PM me
Good for petite sizes.

cheriz

hey bitchy wife! phwee weet!! That's a sexy back there! And it's a very nice shade of fuschia pink!! Envious, you got nice figure for cheong sam.. im v skinny.. sighz.

Im collecting mine next saturday, cant wait to put it up to show you then. Hehe :D

cherryapple

Me very skinny also... when we skinny take pic... we dont look skinny... but in real life i am skinny... like alien with a tummy...

cyc

bitchy wife.. that's a gorgeous CS! really show off ur figure..

what else are u adding on?

hmm.. i went to collect a CS last week. and they altered wrong size! can't believe them.. gg to collect another next week.. can't wait to put them on!!

cheriz

Hi Bitchy wife!

I suppose skinny got many types, haha. Yr skinny is the photogenic type. Mine, some shots still can tell... esp my arms and collar and chest bones.

Hi cyc!

My guess is bitchy wife is adding on beadings for her cs? :D Hehe.. i am adding some to mine too!
Happy you're getting yr cs next week too ;) But i still dunnoe how to see your mulitply leh :p

cyc

aatiyah.. what's your nick on multiply? have you added me?

bitchy wife. i think lime green better.. more outstanding and unique.

~sblbee~

saw dat there's a CS thread here....im a great of CS n i've got abt 7-8 pcs at home, bought 5 pcs of CS frm mama & misse for my wedding....

cherryapple

Wow... meiling, that all for a wedding.. how u change so many?

Ya I think lime green will look more contrasting and give a more shanghai feel..

cheriz

Hi cyc,

I dun hv my multiply acct yet.. soon soon... hehe but i managed to view yrs and bitchy wife's liao!

Bitchy wife,

your cheongsam's gg to turn out really striking. Excited for you!

Hello Meiling, that's really a lot of cs!

cheriz

Hi SotongLet,

I think Max Couture's workmanship is good. Im not experienced in this to tell if it's very very fine, but the sewing is immaculate! I got to know of this plc when I bought my materials fr Royal Fabrics.

Workmanship of my cheongsam (mermaid cut with slight train @ the back plus beading) is charged at $320. He mentioned it's a special price due to referral.

When i collect my cs on saturday I'll take a pic and post here, so you can see from there too.
Hope this info is helpful!

~sblbee~

bitchy wife n aatiyah,
im not gona wear all....gona wear 2 on my AD n use at least 1 for my PS....hehehe, only 1 long one wif train n 4 short ones :p

bitchy wife,
ur CS looks great too, nice colour, hope to see ur CS after u add d beadings

aatiyah,
it's really cheap to b paying $320 for such a nice pc od CS...cant wait to see d end pdt, my long CS is alrdy $390 w/o adding d extra embellishment :p

cheriz

Hello Ladies!

SotongLet, the lady who served @ Royal Fabrics me was really nice to chat with (Her name is Christine I think.. oops forgot liao), so i asked her if she has any recmdation. She gave me this Max Couture and another one from Chinatwn, Iris & Edel Fashion Design. So went dwn to recce Max 1st, liked Wilson's svc and works and so he was it! I didnt check out the other one coz desperate for time liao. Do go b4 4:30pm. Coz I think he closes at 5pm on Saturdays. Sundays closed.

Meiling, really? I dunnoe the prices much, only hope to keep w/i budget. So when i burst my budget I felt a bit bad for a while. Must go tell my hubby it isnt so bad now ;)

BitchyWife, thanks! Its just tmr liao! Hope all goes well and I will be able to post something up on Sunday.

Have a gd wkend ya!

cherryapple

I also thou of having another pc of CS for the last part - sending of guest. But nt too sure is it necessary cos I seldom wear CS.

I gt one CS at home, it a short one... u think i wear for my friend wedding this sun is ok ma? cos his wedding is at rest. not hotel.

~sblbee~

aatiyah,
dun feel bad cos my short CS r alrdy abt d same price as ur long CS :p go n tell ur hubby so he'll feel dat u have made a wise choice, i cant go n tell my fh abt it cos he'll kill me :p but still im happy wif d designs n cut so no complaints :p

cyc,
hey hey, glad to see a familiar face here
im still waiting eagerly to see my completed long CS :p

bitchy wife,
heheheh.....yah i used dat long CS for sending off guests but i really doubt dat i'll have a chance to wear dat pc again :p guz it'll b a waste of $ :p guz it's ok to wear for wedding dinners...cos i even see ppl wearing other ethic costumes e.g kebaya, saree etc....will b cool

cherryapple

I thou of wearing a CS which I wore for my CNY this yr... hehe...and ppl looking.. making me feel uneasy. I even wear tha CS to work... one day I shall take a pic of it and show u all.. it a very oh-biang design... fushia with burberry lookalike prints...if u kw what I mean...

~sblbee~

bitchy wife,
no lah....i even wear CS during one of my sch's function n CNY...bo chup abt wat ppl say :p i get wat u mean regarding d prints but trust me, not all CS will look bad though it may seem obiang at 1st sight :p

dodolet

aatiyah, Your CS darn nice man. I love the beadings he sewn on the CS, esp the chest and the edgings.

I am going to check on other tailors before i decide on max culture. But I do give high marks for their work done, and Wilson is a detailed person. ^^

cheriz

Hey all,

wow this thread is so active!

SotongLet, great to see you! Thank you for your compliments ya! Haha sorry i like zipped in and out of the shop, was late for make-up appt alrdy! Wilson is nice rite? he made me feel like Im Zoe Tay taken care of by David Gan! haha, almost lah.

I initially thot after the wedding i'll just chop off the bottom and make it a short cs to wear for CNY or wat.. but now i cant bear to!
Anyway here's a picture to explain why. ps: only hv back shot becoz the front shot i hv doesnt do Wilson justice. Haha, when i can I'll take one front shot to put up soon!