Chatters

xiaoli,
1 of my diploma friends changed job 2 times every year. His pay is 7K now after 3 years! Companies still hire him despite of his 'colorful' resume. :P

Dun worry, 1.5 year won't look bad. Nowadays people dun stay long at companies esp when many jobs are contract-based.

Greenie, thanks for your advice
I feel much better now

xiaoli, true lah. tat's y indirectly i'm saying as gd as not getting...hahahahaha

erhhh green, ur CV so colourful wo...*oops* =)

Greenie, although the lack of growth excuse sounds so cliche, but i think it's a very true reason. Me here lack of growth & nothing much to learn. Aarghh.. I dont have a mentor that i can look up to in this present co. I think for my age, having a mentor is very impt. Hehe, like gong fu show like that :P

actually it really depend on luck also..in my prev co, i have quite a few great seniors....when i left, i wrote thank you farewell notes to all of them...

wooohh who gg for interview ah? Xiaoli ah?

"lack of growth opportunity" good reasoning man.. eh.. so wat else is needed ah.. if I wanna demand my pay high high for me to go Europe too.. kekeke

hahahahah heart, got ur msg...hehehehehehehe

jus to share...when providing 'lack of advancement' as RFL, usually the interviewer will look at ur employment duration. say if u r working less than 3 yrs on avg in a co., what kind of advancement will u expect your co. to provide compared to those who have been working in the co. for more than 5 yrs with role & responsibilities remain unchanged despite your performance may be better? plus, ur boss will also act as an important role in proposing advancement for you if there's any opportunity.

2ndly, it depends on individual co. promotional structure & direction as well. certain co. are extremely 'ngeow' in providing career advancement to staff; resulting in getting eternal resources instead of considering internal promotion.

3rdly, certain interviewers may reject candidates who are ambitious. these are the ppl who feel insecure when they are afraid that this candidate may be a threat to him/her & will take over his/her position. well, there are certain interviewers who know that their co. are not able to provide advancement & therefore may reject ur application knowing that growth is one of the factors u r making a switch.

I just need one. Here ppl do their own stuff. There's this lady in my dept who is in her late 30s (single, no bf) who is quite senior and when i first joined, i was like this active newbie who is very keen to learn. Since she's friendly, i tot i could start taking her as my "mentor" and learn from her. In the end, another colleague told me that she actually told her to be careful of me cos i asked alot of questions and she tot i want to do her work. Crazy or what?? How can a 22 year-old overtake a 30-over woman?? In terms of experience, i already lose flat out leh. Wah lau, ppl nowadays...

xiaoli, 4 ur case, i wld rather define as "looking for wider exposure & higher responsibilities" than lack of advancement.

anyway, wat i shared earlier is juz general...no right or wrong ans. ;-P

xiaoli, that's the reason lah. bcoz they already in their late 30's the more insecure they will feel. see, whether you like it or not, s'pore job mkt is like that. for general positions (not HM level), we have clients telling us 35 YO is too "old"... they want early - mid 20s' ppl. C? they may have know the job mkt which is against their age so they are extremely paranoid with juniors of younger age who are proactive & highly intiative, thinking that they will be replaced by the juniors. it's juz a common case...

'this lady in my dept who is in her late 30s (single, no bf)'

not refering to all..but gals at tis kinda stage u must be bit careful...u know wat i mean..hmmm

hahahahhaha...dun say that lah xiaoli. not advice but juz sharing of our daily encounter tat's all. i'm glad i can be of help to u...

Gallie,
I'm very honest and blunt during interviews. If I dunno certain things, I'll admit bluntly to interviewer. Luckily I still managed to pass through all interviews hehe.

i know what siao means. indeed, some employers are skeptical abt employing single ladies starting from late 30's...hahahhahaha

Siao,
Not all single women in 30s and 40s are like that lah. I have a very motherly and nice colleague who is single and in 40s now.

Then single men in 30s and 40s are chi ko bai, no right haha ;)

green arh, honesty is gd but depends seriously...& i can say u r lucky lor. hehehehehehe....

we have to 'package' candidates for interviews frequently to minimise mistakes which may jeopardise their hiring opportunities. hahahhahahaha....

Siao, i know what you mean. Of course we are not stereotyping anyone, but just an observation.

Gallie, ya thats what i noticed. I know cant blame them for behaving that way but sometimes it just gets to your nerve. I've learned my lesson and will be more careful next time.

me not refering to all lar...some are even better than married one...just tat most pple falling inside tat cat usually behave in the kinda ways, u know wat i mean...

well guys maybe lesser..but doesnt mean dun have!!...

Gallie, then i am considered lucky also. For my this current job, i couldnt answer almost every questions that my boss asked during the interview. After it ended, i was so sure i'm not gonna get this job. But they called and told me i'm hired. Was quite surprised. Haha.. But i think it's also bcos i didnt ask for alot of $$$ cos i got no related experience so they chose me instead lor.

Greenie, the married guys in my company (inclusive my boss) who are all in their 30s to 50 yrs old are cheeko pek.

Using "lack of advancement" sounds like you are blaming your company for making you decide to leave the job. However, "looking for wider exposure" reflects better on yourself to seek a greener pasture.

I dunno if you all came to a thread that i wrote abt this married colleague who pestered me and even sent "anonymous" love letters to me, cc-ing my boss. Thats how 'scandalous' this co is.

i think limited office 'flirt' is fine..cos it might be a way of getting things done n be more frenly....but certaintly not till the stage like xiaoli's married collegue did

take this with a big pinch of salt..i personally find it true somehow ..LOL

my mum used to tell me when a woman hits 30+ n still single (as in nv got attached b4)..she will behave abit bian tai LOL

Skylar, ya we have to be very careful here cos after my that experience, i know that HR will not help the ppl with lower positions. Complaint to HR and showed them evidence but they chose to close two eyes. The irritating married colleague still pestered me even after my complaints. It just shows how 'helpful' HR has been to me. Luckily, he has asked for a tranfer to another country and has left Singapore for good.

Gallie, get these mugs at Starbucks! They look similar except for the vast difference in size. Next time when your BIL visits, pour coffee for him in the small mug and the big mug for your hubby, to show that he is not so welcome. Haha!

aiyo xiaoli, u consider 'heng' liao. one of candidates got a job to me & guessed wat. her boss (30's married) always asked her to stay back for OT & drive her home. One day he drove her to west coast park & started to do direty talking to her & put his hands on her lap, rubbing her shoulders & 'complaining' abt he not sexually active wif his wife etc...luckily nothing happened to her or else i sure guilty like mad! anyway the mgr was sacked immediately the next day when i called my client the very night after my candidate called me...

Gallie,
It was nice of u to stand up for your candidate! Some ppl dun dare to do this sort of complaint for fear of spoiling the r/s

That desperate man should just go find Pro lor.