Changi Village Hotel for solemnisation?

THanks kokobrok!

Our wedding dinner is on the 17 Nov - really hope that the weather will hold, cos' we're having an outdoor buffet bbq by CVH poolside! :P Yep, I'm having my wedding dinner there, not my solemnisation.
We wanted a relaxed, outdoor setting as this dinner is solely for friends.

Hitsubi, are our honey favours provided by CVH? I've seen those jars - very cute.
Actualy, I don't think it matters that the jars are not placed in bags - most favours don't come bagged either yah?

Hi Quack
Cross fingers for you come 17 Nov =)

The favours are included in my lunch buffet package, but it's supplied by Bliss Collection. I think the cute jars tt u saw are the same that I saw the last time when I went for their wedding show when Bliss was there. It was really cute that's why I quite like it. But when I went down to see the honey at Bliss yesterday, the jar was plain, and it was just with a plain tag with the names of the couple, tied with ribbon that was all. I thot the tag and ribbon could be nicer. And Ann was earlier saying that the honey jar she saw was with the CVH tag, which I think will the the same tag as the one I saw. So if it's that then it wont be as cute & pretty lor.

Hmm.. that's true, most favours dun come in bags. I must be thinking of the box that contains the favours, and keep thinking that the boxes are bags. Haha. Nvrm, no harm asking how they will be presenting it.

Hi hitsubi.

I am sending out email invitations to my friends. Save $$. Haha!! My hubby will be sending invite via sms.

The last time I ask Roy (CVH ex coordinator), he say it will be given to us on the day itself. So not sure whether will you be able to get them before your solemnisation day or not. I am thinking of getting the round keychain as wedding favors. Top up another $0.20 per piece. Don't think they will give you box or bag to hold the favor. I was thinking of buying those organza bags from Concourse to hold the wedding favors.

Me arranging to meet up with Irene on 24th Aug cause i think my hubby going to be outstation again in Sep for another 2 weeks. So better faster settle things. We also going to get my wedding bands this week. Maybe this evening ba.

Hi kokobrok.
Unlike hitsubi and Quack, I had to hold a wedding dinner. So my AD is on 27th Dec 2008. Will be holding at Novotel Clarke Quay.

Hi Quack.
Outdoor BBQ buffet... hmmm.. sounds very delicious.
kao_drool.gif

Hopefully the weather hold for you. I also hope the weather will be nice for me and hitsubi too. That's the headache of having outdoor venue.

Hi Eveyone,

Fingers crossed for all of us!! ;P

Ann, doesn't CVH provide invites? I'm a bit blur about the normal package as as supposedly, mine is a bit out of the norm. :P We have only 6-8 tables; dinner will be by the poolside; plus ours will be a BBQ spread.

Hitsubi, if CVH really doesn't provide the nicer tags, maybe can D.I.Y? Print using home printer, cut to size and stick on using double-sided tape. Or better yet, print onto sticker labels and stick!

I'm now busy sourcing for favours too as favours are not included in my package.

By the way, have you gals heard any feedback about CVH's food? Honestly, we were sold on the ambience, so we didn't really do any homework on the quality of CVH's food! :P Now really hope that it won't disappoint man!

This wedding dinner (at CVH) will actually be our 2nd dinner. We wanted something solely for friends, without all the relatives and ppl we don't know, so we opted to split our wedding dinners.
I was a very "slack" BTB until very recently; Now, as the date draws near, I find myself more and more kan-cheong and excited!! ;P Hahaha.

Hi Quack.
For solemnisation package, they don't give invites. Only wedding dinner packages.

By the way, how come yours don't have wedding favor? Can't negotiate for them to provide?

I heard that the food is so so only. Nothing fantastic. Think kokobrok did mention that the dessert is good. I am also attracted to them for the ambience.

You mean you have one big wedding dinner and a small one afterthat? So where did you hold your big wedding dinner?

Hi Ann,

We don't have wedding favours as we actually sort of converted the solemnisation package into a dinner package. :P $80+++/pax for 6-8 tables, with the menu planned by us. (The food had better be good man!! :P)

Our first dinner will be at the Four Seasons, on the same day as our church wedding. CVH dinner to follow one week after that.

What are the favours available huh? Maybe I'll go try my luck. :P

Hi Quack.
Their wedding favors nothing much one. So so only. See liao also upset. But if you want, I can send the list to you.

$80+++ per pax... then you better get them to give you more things... that's so ex loh. Maybe invites & wedding favors too.. how much would it cost them anyway? Most likely less than $3 per person?

Hi Ann
Hee, that is a good idea, initially I wanted to do that too, but in the end settled for cards.

Oic, get the favours on the very day ah. Today I called Irene, then she told me she didn't know the top-up amount for the honey. And she very nice, she told me that she just received a very new coaster from Bliss last week which is very nice, and maybe next wk or so will get more new favours from them. And she said it's better to go down to CVh to see the favours there then confirm there & then. And at times the amout to top-up might be lesser too. Organza pouches sounds nice. =)

Good! you're meeting Irene earlier than me =)
I am meeting her on 1 Sep. Hehe.

Hehe, and you're finally going to get ur wedding bands! =)

Thx Ann & Quack, on the weather! Hugz! We all pray for each other!

Hi Quack,
Yup yup, if not nice DIY will be better. Hehe. But if get favours on the day itself then a bit the difficult to do.

What sort of favours are u looking at?

Oh, cool, u're holding one just for friends. =)
And u get to plan the menu!

Same as Ann, heard tt the food so so only.
Ditto the dessert for CVH!! I like!

I agree that u can bargain for more stuff, agree that it's ex.

Quack,
Yup i've had my event dinner there last month. The food was a big spread and looks nice. The appetizers i heard were not bad, the supposed to be warm food was rather cold and so-so, and finally the dessert was the star. But as yours is a BBQ spread event, already sound delicious :9
We'll cross our fingers for you that day for good weather!

Ann!
Your AD is actually quite near to mine! i'm holding it on 23rd Dec 2008! We can cheer on for each other ;) I heard Novotel is good! You have decided in your WG boutique?

Hi hitsubi.
Yup.. got to meet up Irene earlier cause my hubby flying to Phillipines to work for 2 weeks in Sep.. so by the time he return, it would be too near to the date liao. So decide to meet up with Irene earlier.

So we get to see the wedding favors over at their side too? She didn't mention this to us in her email. She send me a list of things to discuss on the day when we meet her. Quite comprehensive list but some things have to be amended.

Yup.. gotten my wedding bands today.. love it. Hehe... Wanted to show my mum but then she say cannot show anyone my weddings bands. She say can only reveal it on the wedding day itself. So funny rule.

Hi kokobrok.
Yours is 2 days before Xmas and mine is 2 days after Xmas. So coincidental. Yah... Novotel is good.. food good... ballroom good... bridal suite lagi best (think hitsubi hear me for the umpteen times on my praises on the bridal suite liao). Haha!! My BS is Mr & Miss Wedding Club. But not getting them to do my wedding gown. Will be getting Divine Couture to do my WG for me. Mr & Miss Wedding Club quite unethical in some ways with their WG.

How abt you? Decided on the BS liao?

Hi Mary
Nice pics!! Thx for sharing! It's cool that your photographer even went up to take kinda like a bird's eye view of the venue!

The food looks so colourful & yummy in the photos! Oh, can I ask, for your march-in to the ROM table, did u walk in from the walk way in the picture you posted... err... meaning walk in from the side near the Italian restaurant towards the pool whr the ROM table is at? If yes, may I know how long it takes for the walk? =)

Hi Ann,
Oh, it's good also la, I wanted to meet up in Aug, but I preferred a Sat, and she's already fully booked. So settled for 1 Sep. But a bit hectic for ur hubby hor, like quite rush.

Yes yes! Irene said that they will actually call up couples who are holding their event in Oct to meet her in late Aug or early Sep, then at the same time can look at the favours. They ask Bliss to give them one of everything which they cater for couples to take a look. The other time when I requested to take a look from Serena she kept telling me to go down to Bliss to see, so I didnt know that I can do it at CVH too. Sigh, like made me go merry go round like that.

Oh, she sent you a list ah? Hmm... maybe you can bring the favours up to her if you would like to take a look again. =) The list she sent on her own initiative? Or you requested for it?

Good!! =) Glad that you love ur wedding bands. Eh reli? Cannot show? I came back then I showed my mom & dad redi. I guess they are not pandang that's why it's ok for me to show. Haha. We dun stick very much to the rules so it's good in a way as well. Btw, the engraving of ur own handwritings nice?? Hee! When you can finally show the bands, if u do take a photo of it, show me! ^o^

Haha, it's alright, if the bridal suite is good, it IS good and deserves to be raved about! =p
Aiya, i read abt the yummy food for novetel until I also wanna drool liao. Haha!

Hmm, so how did you end up decided to take a package with Mr & Miss Wedding Club?

Hi Mary.
Woah.. the deco is nice... view also damn nice sia. The food even nicer looking loh ....
kao_drool.gif

Hi hitsubi.
Irene didn't contact me lei. It's was we who contacted her to meet up.

The list was sent to me after I have arranged to meet up with her. Quite comprehensive list though. It's her own initiative.

The engraving of my own handwritings cannot say nice cause my handwriting is not nice to start with. haha!! But really look like my handwriting. My hubby's handwriting might be abit small to read on my wedding ring cause my rings are slimmer. Will show you if you turn up at my solemnisation. Haha!!! So no need to take photo.

Hai... the BS... because my hubby like the PG loh... so we just signed up without reading the thread and now... Hai.... Dun say lah.. So upset... Now I only hope Divine Couture would do up a nice princess gown for me.
kao_babydust.gif

Hi hitsubi,

Yes, we followed our 2 little angels. The walk was only 2 mins? You gotta walk very slow, take your time. My solemnizer reminded us that cos its once in a life time. haha....

Irene is really nice to help out that day on a Saturday evening. =) And she added additional floral decor for us FREE.

Wah... Mary... your wedding sound so fairytale like. I like I like... Irene so good to add in additional floral decor for you FOC... so did you top up anything for your deco?

Hi Ann,

Thank you thank you. Not really fairytale lah, just that we had 2 young kids walking in front of us only lah. kekekeke...

Yup, Irene is very professional and steady. She knows her stuff well. As for the decor, we did not pay anything at all. All courtesy of Irene. =)

Wah... I wonder Irene would be generous enough to do additional decor for us or not so that we need not top up another $380. Haha!!!

Now that you mention 2 young kids, I have yet to call up my seamstress to ask whether my 2 flower girls' dresses are ready for collection or not. Maybe I will call her up next month. I hope and pray that one of my flower girls dun grow horizontally cause the measurement was done for them in July.

Hi Ann,

You mean Irene is charging you $380 for additional decor? Hmmm, perhaps that amount is really paid for real nice decor. For my case, I feel that its sufficient already. =)

Irene did asked me if I want more elaborated one but i personally dun feel a need cos i like it simple. To my surprise, Irene added somemore flower "balls" on the trees which were not in the package. Its a pleasent surprise. =)

And, dun worry lah, children dun grow horizonally in a short time as they are very active mah. kekekeke.

Oh ya, mine is a buffet package so I do not have invites too. I D-I-Y-ed them. As for the favours, we traded-in for a bigger room.

Hope it helps. =)

Hi Mary.
No lah... the $380 was charged by the florist cause we wanted to add in additional decor for the solemnisation.

Oh... children grow very fast.. horizontally or vertcally... my 2 flowers girls... one grow vertically very fast and one grow horizontally very fast... me still not worried on the vertical one but horizontal one... abit worried though my seamstress say will try to make it abit bigger.

You traded all the favors?? So what type of room were you given? Ours is the premier room or something like that.

Ann
i have stopped sourcing for bridal shop ever since my ROM over. haha guess lazy liao. Always tink got ample time but seeing you already signed up with BS, makes me abit nervous! Dun worry abt the BS, i have 2 frds who got Mr & miss, and it turns out well.

Hi kokobrok.
Dun need to get nervous... me just being lazy.. so since signing ROM package with them then thought might as well do everything with them... Slowly take your time to source for a BS loh...

Hopefully everything turns up well for the BS.

Hi Ann,

What are the extra things which you wanna add? Actually, the basic package i.e. As-it-is, is already veli good liao neh. Can share? =)

Talk about kids, ya, true hor, they indeed grow fast. Maybe you can tailor a bit more clothes so that once she outsize, the dress can have allowance? Just a suggestion.

As for my favors, yup, we traded in by upsizing our room to Junior if not wrong. :P

But our booking was done July 2006 and could be outdated lah. hehe.

Hi Kokobrok, I went to Mr and Miss before to see their package, I personally dun like their service. Their package seems good cos they promise lots of things FREE which other bridal shops mite not give in the first place. But I personally find them too eager. Just a thought. Take your time to find the one which you are comfortable with cos ultimately, both your hubby and you will be liasing with them for a period of time. You wouldnt want the experience to be negative rite?

p.s. Dun be tempted by the freebies. I learnt my lesson. =)

Hi Mary.
Frankly.. I dun remember much liao.. Haha!!! I think I had additional flower stands or something like that. Then additional flowers attached to the aisle seats. Then some deco on the reception table and the cocktail table... can't remember the rest already.

Yah... that's what's the seamstress is doing.. she say she will make the dresses in such a way that even 5 yrs from now, they could still fit in. Which I dun even know real or not. Haha!!!

Mary,

Thanks for sharing your gorgeous pixs! The set-up looks really really pretty - now my mind is set at ease leow. ;P

Ann, yah... come to think of it, I'll try harder for favours or maybe to top up the decor or something!! :P

Hitsubi, I was thinking that if we DIY the favours, can always ask for samples first, get the DIY part done (labels etc.), then on that day, get someone to take charge of assembly. But of course if you have many guests, it'll be a bit more difficult. :P We only have 60-70+ ppl, so still can manage. *I hope!*

BTW, do you gals have a wet weather plan? Now my greatest fear is *touch wood* rain!! *touch wood again* :P

Mary, kokobrok... any one of you had tried the tandoori lamb before? It's the live station dish. Wanna know whether it's good.

Hi Ann
I see… But it was good that she came up with the comprehensive list herself. Hmm… that means I will ask a list of her if she doesn’t give me one. Haha.

Aiya, as long as look like ur handwriting is nice redi. Means job well done! Oh, hubby’s handwriting a bit small on ur ring leh. Ok ok!!! If I turn up show me! ^o^

Aiyo, ok ok, dun say redi. Sayang. Hope that you’ll be happy with the gown Divine Couture will be doing for you.

Hi Mary
Oh, took 2mins ah? Hmm… okok. Haha, must walk v slowly? Hee =p My hubby is a fast walker! Must tell him walk slow slow.

Lucky you to get freebies. =)

Cool, you did without the favours and got a bigger room. Nice!

Hi Quack
Oh, samples, that is one idea. HEhee.
I am trying to see the helpers lor… see how la… now my guest list like ballooned again, just over a 100. >_<

Yes I do hv a wet weather plan. Coz my lunch buffet will not be by the poolside, if it rains, it will be brought down to the Ovals lor. Hope I wont rain la. Reli must touch wood. The weather nowadays is crazy.

Ann,
Dun worry, rmr to share with us ur pics of ur WG from Divine Couture k..also share with us good anot..cuz that's one of the BS i'm considering.
I did not managed to try the 'live station' but it looks pretty good.

Mary,
Okie i will bear in mind not to be blinded by the freebies.Ya some are pretty pushy and will try to persuade me (being the more ez going) instead of my hubby. Lucky my hubby mentioned we shud be comfortable with the photographer, so we'll be streamlining that area. At least he gives some comment, otherwise i'll say i'm marrying myself lor.

Hi hitsubi.
Irene say she dun have new favors coming in lei.. how come what she told u and what she told me is different lei? She say on have keychains for solemnisation package lei. Yours not considered as solemnisation package meh?

kokobrok, any ways to find out whether the lamb is nice or not? Dunno wanna keep that station or not cause i scared my guests dun eat lamb... you know... sometime got that lamb smell... eee... i can't take it one.

Hi Kokobrok,

You are most welcome. Most imptly, its both of your wedding. Be happy during the process. =)

Hi Ann,

We did not take the lamb. Instead we changed it to beef for the live station. Hubby commented not bad.

Morning Mary.
You mean can change to beef? So the chef stand there to roast the beef for you? Any additional top up?

Hi Ann,

Yup, you can changed some dishes in the menu list. Irene is opened to that.

I cant really remember if there was a chef standing there to serve the beef cos i was too busy tat day and moreover, bride and groom were served. We need not go over there to get the food by ourselves, i.e. we were His and Her Majesty. haha..

There is no top up for that. Unless you want abalone, sharkfins and blah blah blah lah. Otherwise, changing dishes with similar value should be fine. =)

To add,

I am an aquaterian so i do not eat meat except for fish and seafood. Cannot comment much on the meat part.

But, i loved their cod-fish and prawn (very very fresh! majiam just catch from Changi boardwalk ie.nearby). Their desserts are cute and yummy too! I love their mango pudding cake, chocolate cake, strawberry jelly and their kueh kueh too!

Thumb up for their dinner buffet!

It is for sure that there are lots of leftover as CVH is not stingy in serving the food to guests.

The couple can request the manager-in-charge (Irene will let you know who is she/he) to serve you some dishes to your suite for supper too. Out of goodwill of cos.

But there are certain things which they will not allow you to ta-bao for your guests such as appetisers and main dishes. Only desserts allowed. The manager told me that mostly were seafood so there is a tendancy that the food will go bad if treated unproperly.

Anw, by letting us to ta-bao for our guests are good enuff as all my guests were happy with the food and most willing to grab the desserts back. kekekeke! :P

Hi Mary.
Then maybe I will ask Irene on what else we can change cause I dun really like the smell of lamb... and normally when you are unable to cook it properly, then lamb smell will be very strong.

Haha... I am doing a standing reception style so dun think I will be served by anyone. Like that easier to mingle with my guests.

Hopefully the food is enough... but like that rather waste of food right? Maybe dun report so many pple then will not waste food. Hehe!!!

Hi Ann,

Yup, i dun think it should be a problem. Irene is very understanding. Just tell her that you wanna switched the lamb to something else. See what are the option which she can offer. But one thing is, we changed the menu around 1 month after we signed the contract with her i.e. July'06. What i am trying to say is, you gotta give her time to arrange. =)

Standing reception was one of my options too. gee! =) But we gave up the option as we invited our relatives who were too old to stand too long. Bo bian.. kekekeke.. And, wearing high heels and stand for 3 hrs, aint my option too. hahahaha!

Yup, i gotta agree that its a waste of food. There are many food leftover (esp starters and main dished) Just too much liao. Hubby and I were jokingly suggested that the reason was too farfetch and most likely the stuff ta-bao home and eat lah. Tats why cannot let us ta-bao. ahhaa! joking joking..

There is one thing which i dun understand is the headcount on that day. For my case, there were 30 headcount. By during my wedding, there were some visitors whom i dunno who, came to 8th to see the scenic view. Took photographs too. In tat case, its very confusing isnt it? I reckon you can ask more people to go then. hehehehe!!

Haha... Mary... I also not very good with heels. Was complaining to hitsubi about my choosy feet earlier on. But I wanted a standing reception so can mingle around.. moreover there's still chairs left at the solemnisation area so still have plenty of seats. Haha!!

I think I will ask more friends to come... Haha!!! Or just report lesser people. Hehe!!!

Thanks, Mary.
Must come in here to chit chat more although your solemnisation over... kokobrok too.

I was telling hitsubi... maybe after both of our solemnisation, the thread might be stagnant liao. Haha!!!

Hi Ann,

I shall try. kekeke..

Its always like this, unless there is "new blood", otherwise, the thread will just die off.

Just kpo, your BS is divine couture? muz be very expensive hor? =)

Also, its 7th lunar month, i dun think people got mood to source around bah. keke.

Hi Mary.
No lah... my bridal shop is not Divine Couture. My bridal shop is Mr &amp; Miss Wedding Club but have the intention to get Divine Couture to make my wedding gown for me. I'm going to meet up with them next Friday.

If the price is right and everything is ok, I will ask them to make my wedding gown for me. I love Divine Couture wedding gowns. Then maybe ask my BS to change the wedding gown to additional photographs.