Changi Village Hotel for solemnisation?

Hi Hitsubi.

Came back from the florist liao... In the end got to top up another $380 for what I wanted. Think rather ok lah since the decor 's wat I wanted.

My hubby say "Spend $380 for my wife to be happy for 1 day only like not very worth it" Then I told him we should cancel the wedding then. Pissed!!

Hi Ann

Great! Oh, I think $380 is still alright. If other florist maybe will have to fork out more already.
Do you have a main flower?

Oh no, hug hug. Dun angry dun angry. Aii, ur hubby, his mouth shoot off too fast. But I guess in the end he's still willing to do it for you, so um, say cheese!

So sweet of you to make a wrist corsage for each of ur female guests! U really took the time & effort.
Hee, thx!! ^o^ Huahuahuahua, eh, what time will you be there? I wonder if I will still be in my gown then or at the hotel. Hmm... I have to 'hui niang jia' after everything *frowns* See if can play around with time. =p

Haha, if you dun nd to lift up ur gown, then I guess wearing err... perhaps not slippers (to make him feel better), but those slip-on nicer sandals is ok. =)

For me, I love heels =p Have to admit that some hurts, esp if walk for whole day, but I super vain, and I have a penchant for heels. Hehe.
But I am not wearing too high heels for my wedding coz HTB shorter than me.

Hitsubi,

Thanks for the hugs. My hubby faster compensate by offering to get divine couture to tailor made a wedding gown for me if i want to for my customary wedding next year. So it sorts of calm me down now. Haha!!! I loved Divine Couture gowns. Went to their bridal show on sunday. Beautifully done and divine... so in love..

I have 2 flowers... one is ivory rose and the other is i dunno what's it called. Hehe!! Me not good with flower name.

It's really a special day for me... so i really put in alot of effort, sweat and $$$ to make it work. Haha!!

How come you go back to your parents' house so early one?? Aren't you all staying overnight at the hotel??

I think I will need to lift up the gown and my shoes might show... so to be on the safe side, better wear heels thought it's a torture.

You mean your hubby is shorter than you or you both the same height but because of the heels, he became shorter??

Hi Ann

No worries =)
Not bad ah, ur hubby is fast to react! So hv u decided on how you want ur MTM gown to look like? Divine Couture gowns are not cheap. Hehe.

Oh, I hv calla lilies for my buffet table centre pieces, and dunno what he will mix with, cant remember. And my table centre pieces are yam roses with some other flowers. I also equally bad. Juz cant recall which flowers I ok-ed him to use. =p

Good on you! Make huge effort.

Staying over night leh. Initially they said can go back next day to visit, but now come & tell me must go back on the 1st day itself. Aii, I also blur redi. Frowns.

Hmm... nvrm, just for a while only wear the heels. Sacrifice to look good. =p

Nope, my hubby is shorter than me, not same height. So all the more I in heels he lagi shorter.

Hi hitsubi.

Divine couture's WG cost from $2.5k onwards and EG cost from $1k onwards. So seems like still quite ok. But not sure need it or not. See how loh.

Seems like you have used alot of flowers. I find using alot of flowers too complicated for me liao. So just 2 main flowers will do.

Then you go back to your parents' house and then back to hotel again ah? Pretty rush right??

Then ask your hubby to wear heels and u wear flat lo.. then u 2 will be same height. not differing by alot right?

Hi Ann

O reli? Hmm... then quite alright leh the price, I thot wld be more ex.

Ok la, my flowers those are just to like complement the main flower, so they are not the big big type. =)

Yalor!! I hv to go back my parents plc, then back to hotel. It is rush yes, and tiring! Sob.

My heels is less than 2inches high, so difficult to find. I was telling myself if I cant find then I will MTM. Yes, gonna buy those shoes with higher heels for him from the shop at either OUB centre or Intl Plaza. I think if he puts on that shoe then sld be fine la. Um.

We collected our wedding bands ytd. Finally done. Hee =)

Hope that I will get to see you that day.

You going to MTM your shoes... I was thinking of doing one too... which can be used for solemnisation this yr and AD next yr.. where u going to MTM your shoes?

Oh.. where did u buy your wedding bands from? Mine is also ready for collection quite sometime back but hubby say don't collect so early cause scared we might lose it. So till now have not collected them yet. Hehe!! I bought mine from The Carat Club.

We even got the ring engraved with our own handwriting...actaully i wanted to write " Married to a pig" but he got upset so i just signed my name... haha!!

Yup! =)

Oh no, I found shoes the other time already, so dun hv to MTM anymore. Previously was looking at Leapin Lizard, Maniq (which i dunno whr it's located), and Loe and sth, cant remember the name.

My bands are from Soo Kee. Oh, they can keep at the shop for you for so long ah? Wah! The Carat Club! Are they very ex?

So funny! But it's so cool!! They cld let you do your own handwriting then engrave it in for you? That's so cool!!! I never know it can be done that way! I think those normal shops like Soo Kee, Lee Hwa etc dun offer such service. It's always the usual machine engraving.

Hi hitsubi.

Me also thinking of MTM my shoes. As you know that I am never comfortable in heels... and i know that during solemnisation and customary next yr, sure need to stand and walk alot one. So still debating whether it's worth to customise my shoes or not. You are so lucky to have found a pair of shoes you like. I was thinking of either Leapin Lizard or Loe & Behold too. Have to go see see when I have time.

I told the shop that my hubby and I are busy so can only go down closer to the date. Actually we are just lazy to head town. Hehe!! They are not really ex when you dun get diamonds. Their diamonds... even more small small one also come with cert so they are quite ex with diamond. Mine ring with 1 small diamond cost $500 and my hubby one cost $550 without diamond. Mine are white gold but both our rings are of different design yet similar in a way. Confused? Haha.. me not gd with description.

Yup.. they can engrave the words in our own handwriting.. not sure the effect good or not. Think will have to go down and see see soon. Maybe early next month so in case need to change anything still can afford time to change.

Hi Ann

Hmm... if the price is ok, then perhaps you can MTM one pair? Can go check out the 2 shops and also at the same time start scouting around for shoes. I am not ok enough to wear those diamonte flats/slippers, coz i still find them too casual. That's why at least must hv some heel for me. Yup, I was lucky. I thot I needed to MTM when I couldnt find any the other time.

Haha! Not bad, they good enuf to keep the bands for you =) Oh~ that's quite a good deal for ur bands! I think I get what you're trying to say on the design on the rings. Hehe.

Yes yes, better go see the effect of the engraving. Must QC them! =) So exciting!

Haha.... hitsubi... u seem so excited... I'm having mixed feeling now... looking forward and yet dun wan it to come so fast... haha!!!!

Like very fast hoh? In 2 months time, we will both be MRS. Although it took me close to a yr to prepare for this solemnisation but still seems like there's so many thing to do... so worried that i may forget certain impt things which i hoped not.

So how's your preparation?

Hee, ya, excited for you ma =)
Ooo... how come mixed feelings? Is it like gancheong that's why? Hee =p

Yes ah!! Very fast leh. Aiyo... like getting more jittery if go & think of it and start counting, like o dear no time already kinda feeling. Same here, I had less than a yr to prepare, but also like u, also worried that I may 4get impt things...

Mine ah, ok la. I need to settle:
- the printing of my cards, then can send out & rsvp
- get the shoes for hubby (hee)
- confirm & settle the program plus what the duties of the helpers on that day [think this one impt leh to settle it. Sigh =( ]
- go down to CVH and speak to them on the menu & some changes I nd them to help me incorp into the lunch buffet. Hmm... i think at the same time check the timing needed for us to march in...
- prepare the songs/music
- nd to do down to Bliss to confirm the wedding favours
- photo album to settle & get it down coz the layout is finally approved by us (haha)
- my angbao box =p must stick the flowers & tie the ribbon
- get/make a guestbook

I think that should be all la... dunno whether missing anything else or not... or hvnt done but I thot I hv prepared already...

Hi, I just had my solemnization yesterday. Everything went well and the service staff on duty were very good! Many thanks to the operations manager, Jackal for helping out. You've done an exceptionally great job. And thanks to Irene, our coordinatior. most of all thank God for the good weather! =)

Hi Belinda
Good to hear tt u had a great solemnization ytd! Thx for sharing ur experience with us too! =)

Did u had urs at the top flr poolside?

Hi hitsubi.

Seeing your list now reminds me that I also have not done those things on your list... ah!! still so much thing to do.

Me hoping that it will be over soon so that i can take a rest but then dun wan it to come so fast cos not prepared to be MRS yet. Hehe!!!

Seems like so nice to hear pple come back to give positive feedback on the hotel. Like a boost for our confidence like that. Haha!!

Yo Ann!
Ooooo, then better note all those things down on ur list too.
Oh, I am quite alrite, I think redi to be Mrs already. haha. So faster come dun hv to worry abt it anymore also good. Hee!
Yes yes!! A boost to our confidence, then the hotel will hv to upkeep that coz we'll hv tt expectation there already. =p

Hi hitsubi.
I will note it down but I bet I will forget again sometime down the road... seems like very limited memory space recently.

My hubby say give me 3 months to get use to it and after 3 months, he will call me MRS everyday. I told him I will try to respond. Haha!!

Hi Belinda.
Thanks for coming back to share your experience with us. Mine also at the top floor poolside. Mind to share your pictures with us too? My email is [email protected].

We finally make a trip down to CVH during the weekend to view the setup and pay the deposit. I think the setup we viewed should be belinda's. Beautiful wor

Hope mine's will be equally nice!

Hi Hui.
Welcome to the "club". Haha!!

I thought you were going to view kokobrok's setup? How come it became Belinda's setup? Or have I remembered wrongly. Memory very bad one.

Hi Ann

Yalor, talking abt limited memory space, my memory is getting from bad to worse... sigh...

Hee, ur hubby quite funny! =p Hopefully u will respond leh, if not he heart pain pain. Haha!

Oh, I wanna ask leh, for Bliss right, how come I call them so many times they nvr answer their phone one? When you went down to order and confirm your favours that time, did you experience this as well? I would like to make a trip down leh, then I wanna make sure got ppl there.

Hi Belinda,
Oh, if ok would like to see photos too. =) Thx!
4got to ask if ur ROM is in the afternoon or evening.

Hi Hui
Wow! Beautiful set-up ah? Cool! Sounds exciting!
Hee, i realise i everything also excited.

Hi hitsubi.
I had not confirm my wedding favor with them. Actually the last time round, Irene told me to confirm with her and not the person at the shop lei. Rather confusing too. I was thinking of meeting up with Irene mid Sep to settle all these issues.

Why don't you email Irene and check with her? She will sure to help you one.

Hi Ann,
haha i totally understand the jitters before the wedding! Like very excited about the event coming and also wishing the event doesnt come so soon haha contradicting rite!

Hey You and hitsubi still have 2 month to prepare..Jia You! Everything will be smooth sailing for the both of you. And with trustworthy frds to help you out with the setting, everything'll be a breeze and thats what happened to me.

My friends helped me with the tealight candles placing along the march in area, and the music coordination according to what i want, and i got what i want. At least thats one thing that made me very happy

Good luck with the preparations ya! If you need any help, will try to help if i can ya ;)

Hi kokobrok.
Thanks for the encouragement and offer to help. Yah.. with just 2 months away, me and hitsubi are feeling your jitters liao. Can't imagine what will it be like the day before the actual event. Haha!!

So when you holding your customary wedding?

Hi gals, I have now goteen my photos from my photographer yet. Will try to send a few for u all to see once i get it.. =))

Hi Ann,
Hehe your memory good! We actually planned to view kokobrok's setup but really tired after work so end up din go..

Hi hitsubi,
ya! the pool itself very nice le after the set up all the more nicer!

Hi hui.
Don't scare me like that. Luckily u tell me my memory is still good. I thought i so young, memory start failing liao. Hehe!!

Oh.. by the way... last time round when i visited the Roy (florist) to discuss on the set up.. he showed me another couple's setup... he told me that this couple top up abt $1.3k for the set up.. wah lao... damn willing to spend $$ for solemnisation lei.

Hi Ann,

hehe now you can relax le cos your memory still good good!

Wah! $1.3k for rom setup! Must be do until very nice lor... The florist is the one at Defu lane right? Irene told us that they may change florist next year, dun noe if they change the new one good or not....

Ann,
i'm holding my customary next year dec..so still long way to choose Bridal Shop. Was considering going to Divine Couture to take a look. Heard many of their gowns are sexy low back and nice

Hui,
you intend / holding ur solemnization at the creek pool too? well, lucky you din come see my setup, cuz its pretty simple but just added some of my own stuff. I did not even top up anything from the florist side. From my personal experience, i tot i wud be very particular abt the settings and such, but i din hv the time to notice the floral setting that day when there are many things to look into. For me, as long as there're the flowers at the particular strategic areas and and sashes along the pillars and march in area, i'm good le.
In the end, end up paying more for the corkage for champagne, wine and even beer! haha But ultimately everyone having a good time is most important

Nope, my photos are not ready yet.. still editing at the photographer side. Waiting anxiously.. hehe..

Ann: Yup, I'm holding my customary next year June. Have signed up with Sattine Couture already. Might be choosing my WG anytime now. =)

Hi kokobrok,
Creek pool means the pool at level 8? If yes, then ya we will be holding our ROM at the Level 8 pool.
my bf also say setup is secondary as long as the food is nice and everybody enjoy themselves. HOw much does cvh charge for champange? I am thinking of serving champagne to our guests since its an evening affair...

Hi Ann
Oh, Irene told u to confirm favours with her ah? Okies, i will call/mail Irene to ask then. Thx!

Hi kokobrok,
Thx for the encouragement! Yes yes, jitteriiiieeess. =p

Hi Hui
Wahh... sounds cool!! All the more I wanna see Belinda's photos!! Hmm... sorry, am not sure abt the champagne bit, not able to advise.

Hi Belinda
Thx in adv for sending the photos! Waiting for photos always very anxious. I had that feeling too. Hv fun choosing ur WG with Sattine!

In response to decor in general:
Oh gosh! Topped up 1.3k for the decor? Mine I hvnt confirmed the additional cost with Roy yet but I don't think will be so ex, coz quite minimal for mine, I basically top up is for the lunch buffet there only, centrepieces for tables and buffet line...

Hitsubi & Hui - Actually the decor wasn't something which I will say fantastic. $1.3k is really alot loh... i think the bulk of it is because alot of fresh flowers were used.

Kokobrok - I also fall in love with Divine Couture gowns. Even though I have one wedding gown and one evening gown from my BS but I am thinking of getting Divine Couture to do one wedding gown for me. Totally in love with it. Haha!! Me also holding my customary next yr Dec. On 27th Dec 08 to be exact.
How come you need to pay corkage for the champagne?? I got Serena to waive it for me before she left. So Irene got no choice but to waive it for me too.

Hi Belinda.
Have fun choosing your wedding gown. I dunno how I can survive next yr choosing my wedding and evening gown. When I was choosing my ROM gown, I already cannot take it after 4 gowns. My friends kept asking me to change and change. Hai... tiring.

Hui,
i brot my own champagne. So was charged for the corkage only. Creek Pool is the one located at level 2
Thou i would say the pool at level 8 is nicer, but level 2 pool is more exclusive cuz the whole area is closed for the event.

Ann,
Serena waivedd off 1 bottle of champagne for me. But as we opened 3 champagnes for the toasting, the hotel pple charged me corkage for all 3 champagnes. When we checked with them, they simply told us it was hard for them to keep track of the bottles we opened
So my hubby said forget it, dun wanna argue over the extra corkage.

kokobrok - Your hubby was right to let the matter go...No point arguing over such small matter and spoil your mood. But my hubby will sure argue one if he's being charged for it. He would feel that it's rather unfair to us. And it's not a good reason that they can't keep track so we have to pay.

Hi Ann
Yup its quite a lot of $.
Ann, am sure u'll be ok choosing ur gowns. Tiring, but think of it as once in a lifetime, must pretty pretty & nice nice. =) Jia you!

Kokobrok - *nods* Agree with Ann tt they didnt give a good enough reason for charging corkage... sigh.. It was good that things didnt turn ugly. =)

Must share share how all of your gowns look like when it's time. =)

Hi girls!

Can anyone give any feedback on the sound system used by the poolside at CVH? Any problems or not? Also, did anyone of you use a projector to show your videos? Did things go smoothly?

We are having our dinner by the poolside at CVH, now with the date drawing nearer, getting kan-cheong leow!

Hi Quack
congrats on your upcoming Big Day!

i can only tell you the sound system is alrite. My frd helped to 'DJ' the songs that day, so it was relatively user friendly to use. The sound came out good too.

When is your dinner? on the 8th floor?

I saw a very bad comment on the BS which I have signed up with.

A gal apparently saw her MTM gown on another gal even before her wedding is over. The BS first told her that that was another gown and the gown is only the same in front but the back is different. Then now the BS told her that that gal saw her gown as they had displayed her gown in the shop and wanted them to make one of the same design. Then told her that the gal is a malaysian so not to worry as she will not see the same design in S'pore. Find that their explanation quite crappy and contradiciting.

Quite worried now. Thinking of doing my WG at Divine Couture liao. Hai...

O dear, poor Ann...
My BS (close frens of one best frens) tells me that's what happens a lot to some BSes out there... they tend to let other brides wear the gowns even tho it has been reserved...

Ann, u paid deposit already is it?

Hi Quack
When's ur big day? =)

Hi hitsubi.
We had paid the full amt liao. That's why we can only hold on to it and hope nothing happen. My hubby was suggesting that I do my WG with Divine Couture and then only reveal the gown on wedding day. But I say it would defeat the purpose as I would like to have the gown for PS too. He also frighten that my BS would copy the gown design and do it for other brides. Not too sure anyway to prevent them from doing so or not.

Hi Ann

O no... i am crossing my fingers for you that all will go well. It's true, I think every bride will want to wear their WG for the PS. Frowns... it's hard to prevent them from copying and stuff... If they do, at least they should keep some parts of the WG different and not copy an exact one... then at least it's still alrite...

Hi hitsubi.

Hopefully so loh... but which bride would not want their WG to be one & only.. thus dun even wan them to copy abit.. very bad hoh? Haha!!!

But I still got till next yr then I need to come and headache on such thing. So slowly ba.

You not going out today?

Hi hi Ann

True true. Aiyo u way u put it very cute, dun even want them to copy a bit. Heheh =p Ok la, it's just being a bride bride, not to say very bad.

Yup u still got time, and that is good. At least it's sth.

Oh going out. I went to Print Direct to print my cards just now, then came back to my hubby's place. Will collect my cards next Sat, today can't go back there already. Hv to go out again in a bit for a house warming, then rush down to Bliss. Haha. Bliss closes at 9pm, so I think got time. I told them that I will be going down to view the wedding favours today.

Hi hitsubi.

How many cards did you print? Expensive?

Let me know what wedding favor you chosen in the end. Or did u still stick to your honey bee... hehe... Any new favors?

Elo Ann

Not many, I only printed 50 cards. I got the initial quote of $1.80/pc when I went down to check out the price a couple of weeks ago. Yesterday when I printed, she gave me a discount, so it's $1.50/pc now. However, it doesnt come with envelopes. I thought the price was alright la.
My card is very simple, and it's front & back printed, akin to postcard, size is 16cm by 8.5cm.

The lady already prepared the wedding favours that they cater to CVH for us to see coz I called them on Fri and managed to get them. The fixed favours not many variety, they didnt have the cute coasters in the fixed ones leh. But the honey was in there, hmm, didnt look as pwetty and cute as when we last saw it at the wedding show. Must be they dolled up the honey jar for the wedding show with the cutsey bees. But anyway, we settled for the honey la, HTB also didnt want the rest. Then we very terrible, nvr look at the rest of the non-fixed items, so dun reli know whether they are new favours or not. Haha. Those non-fixed ones is definitely must top-up one. For the honey right, i asked the lady again, whether need to top up (which they told us need to the other time, u also said they quoted u the same price for top up yes?), she said dunno must check with Irene. So ok lor, I will try to give Irene a call tmr to let her know, and also ask when I must confirm the number of favours I wanna take. You are right abt the tag, it's quite ugly, so if can 'doll' up the bottle myself it will be better. But I wonder whether we'll be able to get all the favours b4 our big day for us to 'doll' them up... must ask Irene. I also wanna ask Irene whether CVH will provide like a small tiny bag for the honey, if not ppl must stash the honey into their bags or pockets. =p

Hi hitsubi and ann,
you gals are having your ROM in October rite? i see your preparation are coming up well. So when are your AD? Have you gals decided on the venue?

Hi kokobrok

Yup, ROM in October. I am not holding a customary wedding dinner, so my AD is actually the day of my solemnization. =)