Cats Lovers??

I agree - they do grow very fast. Snowy is now twice the size when we adopted her.

lollipop, I still change the litter every 2, 3 days - I put just enough to cover the tray.

Already emailed Cody and forwarded to all my friends.....

Ohh no. I live in HDB u know. My mum actually hates them. ;P There is this cute little cat who always come to our place. My mum suspected tt it belongs to our neighbour living upstairs.One day, my mum was so fed-up with the cat always coming into our place tt she went to confront the owner about her cat. But I think the owner deny it's her cat. So I agree tt it is better to keep the cat indoors than let it run around. Neighbours (like my mum. hehe) might not like it.

Maybe I'll try crystal beads soon. Sounds good tt I don't hve to change her litter so often. I really hate the powder tt comes out everytime I pour the sandy granulated ones into her tray.

I'll email Cody after this.

halo all,

guess i wont be poppin in often liao cos ive given orange to spca yesterday n hoped ive made the rite decision. i cried when i left him there
but i guess it's juz too much to make everyone compromise for orange.

if i wanted to keep him, i'd hav to ask mil not to display all her breakable stuff in the living room n to close the kitchen door everytime. n i tink my mil has been very kind to me so far cos orange has oredi broken one of her fave statues n oso one marble ashtray. she oso put up with orange when he ate up the vegetables tat she juz cooked n she had to throw them away n recook. she didnt complain oso when orange bit her.

my hubby was oso very angry when orange peed on him, on the bed n quilt. it was inevitable cos we keep orange in the bedroom with us at nite n we placed the litter tray in the bathroom cos hubby complained tat it's unhygenic to put it in the bedroom
i wonder how orange is gettin along now

juz hope very hard tat he would get a new home soon

Oh no eunice!! I am sad that you had given up Orange but I guess you have no choice too.... Let's hope that Orange will find another family who can give him love..... So sad, can't see Orange photos anymore....

Goodness! The other time I went SPCA, the person who handed Sally to me, tell me never to bring Sally back cos there is little chance for her to survive. Within a month (at the maximuM - for those that still have chance to find homes) if they can't find an owner, they'll put the cat down.

When I went to pick up Sally, there were many cats there. One month later when I went there again, all cats were gone!

halo curly n hwey,

me dunno wat to do. part of me dread all the troubles tat he caused but part of me misses his antics n presence
im tinkin of poppin by spca tomorrow to take a look at him.

im hopin tat his looks would help him get a good family
i told hubby abt my worries tat orange would be put down but he assured me tat if those cats in the cage could be there, then all the more orange would not be put down cos orange is so much cuter.

hwey, r those cats in the big cage permanently there?? or do they remove the cats after 1 mth??

hwey,

i juz went to spca website n saw tat there is a cat for adoption n it has been with the spca for 4 yrs!

The website is not updated. A lot of cats at the website are no longer in SPCA. As for those in the big cage, I didn't ask. Cos the people there told me they consistently put them down cos of lack of space. So I guess it doesn't matter where the cat is. I guess, the moment they determine the cat isn't going to be adopted, it goes.

Does Orange knows that it is being given up?

Hi Eunice,

I guess everyone of us are sad, but could understand why you had to give him up for adoption. Frankly speaking, I dun really trust SPCA.

Is there anyone whom you know, can offer to look after Orange? At least you know he is in safe hands and that you could still visit him whenever you are free. Alternatively, you can take up Hwey's suggestion.

Good luck.

Eunice

Can you hold on to Orange or get a foster? My husband's colleague said he might be able to keep Orange after his flat's reno is done

halo hwey,

im really touched by ur concern for orange n the trouble u took to get in touch with me
for those who dunno, hwey took the trouble to call chin leng to get me n chin leng got hilarion to get my number n hilarion called me askin me to call chin leng abt something urgent

i was at spca when hilarion n chin leng called me. yep, i was there to redeem orange back n now he's sleeping on my desk
the lady at the spca office likes orange too but it's juz too bad tat she oredi has 2 possessive dogs. hwey, im gonna give it another try again n see if i could keep orange. if not, then i would hav to ask u to approach ur hubby's colleague to see if he could keep orange

once again, hwey, thanks! im really touched by ur concern *hugz*

oh yeah, btw, im tryin to get orange paper-trained by puttin newspaper in his litter tray instead of clay. i'll need to get him some food as well as i gave all his food to the spca on the day i brought him there. he was shivering like mad when i picked him up today.

Hi eunice, glad that you've got Orange back!! I'm sure Orange must be very happy.

Hwey, glad to know that there are people like you around.

halo hwey,

may i know when ur hubby's colleague's flat reno will be completed?

me still dun dare to tell mil tat orange is back

We are checking how long is he going to take.

At first my hubby and I were discussing if we can keep Orange. But that would leave us with 2 cats and 2 dogs. Moreover Sally just attacked my neighbour's cats last week. Sigh!

I've also asked some of my friends, instead of just banking on my hubby's colleague. His girlfriend is pregnant now so donno how she will take to it.

My friends said though they can't keep (one has chinchilla, another has a bird), they can ask around.

Eunice

So is your MIL willing to let you keep? My colleague's sister's friend is willing to keep Orange. She saw its pic at this website. So asking when you wanna let go.

You can get my contact from Chin Leng

halo hwey,

really appreciate all ur efforts

last nite was a trial to our patience cos really dunno where to put orange for the nite
i was really tempted to juz leave orange in the coffeeshop nearby. hubby didnt wan him in the room cos dun wan orange to pee on the bed. hubby oso dun wan to let him out of the house cos fear of not being able to find him or he might come back with disease. we cannot leave him in the living room cos he might break something or go to kitchen n get something
so finally we put him in the balcony n we closed the doors to the balcony.

sighz...

errr... he cant find ur number at the moment n will sms me later.

i'll be extremely grateful if orange is able to get a better owner.

btw, mil was abit grumbling liao

Hi Eunice,

I've just SMS the number to you. Let me know if you didn't receive.

Whoa, so many postings!

Eunice, glad you have Orange back. It's better to leave him in the hands of ppl you know.

Hwey, you have been very very kind. I'm glad you have helped Eunice to the extent of sourcing ard for potential owners.

*hugs to Hwey and Eunice, and Orange*

='o'=*

Hi Eunice.

Havent been reading for the past few days.
Just wanna tell you i'm really glad that Orange is back with you. I love that cat of yours the moment I see him from the pictures here.

I hope things will work out for Orange.

halo all,

thanks to hwey's help tat i manage to find a new owner for orange. i believe he will hav a better life than wat he has rite now, being coop up in the room n leashed up.

i will be meetin the new owner tomorrow evenin n will be giving her orange then. at least this way, my heart is at more at ease than leavin him at spca.

Hi Eunice,
Perhaps you can tell the new owner of ure wish to still see Orange when it's convenient for her. Leaving Orange in the hands of someone you know is better than thrusting him to some strangers. I have bad experience with the SPCA, I still dun trust them.

How's Junior taking it? Is he ok?

halo lollipop,

thanks will take note of tat but im not sure if the new owner would like tat cos sort of intruding on their privacy.

as for junior, tink he'll feel better cos he'll hav all the attention to himself

Hi Eunice,
No problem. Hmm, perhaps you could check with the new owner whether she minds you dropping by to see him? Does she stay near you?

halo lollipop,

tink i wont ask lah cos i wont like it either if it's me cos it's like not really giving up orange leh. wat i'll do is to tell her tat in case orange doesnt fit their lifestyle, then to return orange back to me

halo gals,

the new owner called me at 4.40am n told me tat orange wasnt sleeping n kept calling n tat he didnt eat either
she asked if there was anything to help n if orange missed his home. i told her tat i dunno n tat im sorry cos i didnt know wat to do n how to help.

do u gals hav any ideas?? i really felt bad cos her bf couldnt sleep due to orange's constant crying

Hmm....I don't know if Orange behaves the same way as Sally. When Sally first came, she was very quiet and didn't eat anything for the first 3 days. Even for the rest of the week, she hardly ate and drink. SPCA told me it is normal cos of new environment. So, she hardly went to the loo as well. She also cried at night for two nights.

But after a week or two when they get use to new owners, they are fine.

Maybe just tell her to touch and stroke Orange more, play and talk to her so that it knows she is his new owner.

could you advise me if it's normal that kitties (abt 8 months old) display little or no appetite after their neutering operation? It's been 3 days since they came back from the clinic and they not been eating v much. We had to feed them milk/water from a milk bottle (to prevent dehydration). Their movements are quite normal tho..moving around but quite agressive towards each other cos of the neck "cone" they wear around their necks to prevent them fr licking their stitches.
We have been gently stroking them/talking to them to to relieve post-op trauma but there's nothing we could do to make them eat...pls help...

halo audi,

it's really strange tat ur kittens should behav this way cos orange was alrite n back to his usual self within a day. i brought orange for neuterin when he was 6 mths old n he didnt hav the neck cone either. maybe u could call up the vet for advice?

eunice,I think hugging, cuddling and kissing Orange will help to comfort and reassure him. Hope he'll settle now soon.

audi, we sent Snowball for her surgery about 2 weeks ago and when we brought her home, she immediately ate something though it wasn't much. She didn't wear the neck cone. Yah, maybe should call the vet for advise. Me always calling them over little thing......

halo curly,

will tell that to the new owner too. the thing abt orange is tat he's pretty domineering. he only allows u to cuddle him when he feels like it. other times, he would juz squirm out of ur grasp. i oso noticed tat he's nore willin to be cuddled if he's lying on top which means u would hav to lie down n let him sit on chest or belly

You know what? Snowball is very similar to Orange. She also doesn't enjoy being cuddle but she loves head and neck massage. Maybe the massaging can do the trick? Snowy is very different though - she loves to be cuddled and always climbing onto us to make herself comfortable. Sometimes, I just have to put her away.....

Hi all, just to give my 5cents worth. I think why orange behaved like this is because he is not used to the new environment. (Very common problem amongst pets when they are being re-homed and i had similar problems last time with dogs and cats) He is probably looking for his usual spots, food, etc.. and owner of course... Perhaps letting him loose and let him wonder around in his new home will settle him down quickly. Staying close to him for the first few days helps too.

Butter behaves the same way too!
SHe don't like it when we hug her. She will
wriggle out from our arms. When we get close to her, she will run away. She has her own timing to allow us to show love to her. And she loves massages ard the neck. hehe Sometimes i baby-talk with her.
I think Orange will take some time to get use to the new environment. But it is so heart broken to know that he misses you Eunice.

Hi Eunice,

Orange is not coping well with the new environment. There's nothing in the new hse which he is familiar of. There are none of his markings too.

Give Orange some time to adapt to the new environment. And, if Orange is intimidated, ask the owner not to go to Orange but rather let him go to her instead. Orange prob feels insecure, and chose not to eat or sleep.

A word of encouragement from the owner should help. No doubt she shld spend quality time with Orange, she must also give him space.

Audi,
Right after Nanook was neutered, he was groggy and quiet, refusing to eat too. A while later he was climbing up the window grilles. He began eating and drinking the day after.

Perhaps you could check with ure vet. Tell him/her ure observations and ure concerns. If possible, bring them down for another round of check-up?

halo all,

thanks so much for all the concern shown for orange. im glad to say tat the new owner told me tat he's now eating n slowly gettin used to his new environment. apparently he still cries at night but not as bad as the first nite.

me still wan to hav a cat very much but dunno how to find one tat's more docile n doesnt break things. sighz....

Hi, glad to know that orange is doing slowly getting used to the new place. Hope he will get better. Wanting to have a cat or a pet for that matter is one thing, if you are still living with your MIL, then you should think twice so that you do not have to go through the same "ordeal" again and your next cat will not have to face the same thing as Orange. Don't mean to make you feel bad, but what if Orange knows the things that are happening and he thought that he has finally made it to see that you are wedded. (thought just came to me when i saw the pic of him when he was young. Make me so sad.)

Yes, I agree with Petlover. If you are still living with ure MIL in future, and are not getting a hse of ure own, I think it is better not to have a cat as well. At least not now. Although not all cats are active, there's no guarantee the next one you pick up is going to be docile later on.

At least you got to know Orange first, and you were given a chance to nurture him, shower him with love.

Hey guys,

Know what happened today?
I was selling some of my stuff to this Aussie.
He brought along his kids. Butter was hissing at them like how she hisses at the vacuum cleaner!
Gosh, does it mean she is afraid of children?
Butter especially dislike the younger 2 yr old girl. THe elder boy was alright with Butter after i teach him how to feed Butter n she got more familar with him.
So scary man. Immediately think of how she will react to my little cousins when i bring her back to SIN.

Eunice, glad that Orange is settling down. I also agree that you don't get another cat. We don't really know a cat's character until we spend some time with it. It's like Snowy, she's so different from Snowball; she doesn't scratch on anything except the scratching post and she loves to nibble while Snowball loves to bite.

Tigger, I think it's quite common that cats hiss at strangers. 2 days ago, a vacuum cleaner salesgirl was at my door and Snowball hissed at her but Snowy was not bothered.

Tigger,

Nanook hissed at everybody during his last visit at the vet's. Agression and fear best explains this behaviour.

Nanook hissed at my gramps, her maid and my aunty before. After constant encouragement from me, and patting, he was ok, but he was very wary. I can't explain why they behave in this manner towards certain ppl, but best is to leave them alone. Just let the cat feel confident enough to approach them rather than you "force" them to get along with strangers.

Just a thought