Cats Lovers??

Hi Lolli

Went to chk Butter's food package and realized Iams and Eukanuba are indeed associated. hehe. I'm such a dodo when it comes to pet food. But maybe over here, they have Euknuba for kittens and cats as well.

scanned thru the postings too hurriedly and missed some vital info.

Here goes

5166.jpg

I don't know exactly how old she is but I suspect it's close to 7 or 8. Her patch makes one of her eyes look much bigger than it is.
And her name is also kelly.

yah. She is quite sweet even though she scratches me sometimes when she is in a foul mood. So we humans will just have to watch out for our own good.
She has been running away from me every morning because I am the one who administers antibiotics on her. At least she is not scratching me yet and I should be thankful for that.
What is your cat like?

Hi kelly,
My beibei is also as old as kelly (or even older).

Recently I'm very worried about her as she vomitted water quite often. She has lost amost all the teeth from her lower jaw. When I watched her eating, I think she tries very hard to chew. I don't know what to do too. I can only chop the food into smaller pieces for her. I think she is getting thinner too... so worry about her. Do you think I should bring her to the vet?
Sometimes I just don't want to send beibei to the vet as I heard that if the cat need to stay with the vet overnight for observation/ operation, your cat will not come back healthily as the pet worries too much that you are abandoning her. I have heard from my friend that he has put his dog in a pet hostel for one month and the dog comes back with skin diseases.

Sigh.. so worry that one day beibei will leave me as she is getting old. I still want her to see me get married and go to my new flat! My new falt will have a bay window and I always tell my FH that it's for beibei as she does not need to jump up to the table to watch scenery outside the window anymore.

oh dear... I think you should send her to the vet as soon as you can. Doesn't sound like something that would heal on its own. It may be old age but it may be something curable. so don't wait. I was quite worried about kelly too when i had to leave her behind at the vet overnight. But i know if I don't do anything about her toothache, her condition would certainly get worse. Try to go to somewhere that is reputable and love animals. The last place I went to is Animal Rescue Centre at Greenslade Road. They were pretty nice to kelly and I feel secure leaving her there. had bad experience at james tan though....

Hi kelly, I like your kelly's black patch! She has nice colours too. Snowball has a small black patch on her nose which my colleague said it looks like a patch of dirt.... But I think she looks super cute.

Yah Neko, I think you should send beibei to the vet.

Are those pet hostels/boarding places that bad? Can't imagine leaving our pets there and then return to us in bad shape.... I'm quite lucky as I don't have to send Snowball away when I go for holidays now. My younger brother (whose in NS) is willing to help out for as long as 2 weeks. But not too sure when he starts working...... Can't ask my parents as we have a dog.....

halo neko,

maybe u can try sprinkle a bit of water onto beibei's dry food. tat's wat the vet suggested when orange was 2mths old. it mskes the food softer for chewing.

i've read n heard gd comments abt Dr Ling tat the Namly Animal Clinic Namly Animal Clinic (add is 74 Namly Place Tel. 469 4744)

thanks for your compliments about kelly. I absolutely adore that kitty! She was in good mood today and allowed me to take more photographs of her before she tried to chew the camera.

Hi neko,

I forgot to mention earlier. why don't you send bei bei in for a check up first to find out what's wrong. If a procedure is required, you can still decide whether to leave her there overnite or bring her back the next morning. That way, you won't have to abandon her.

Am on leave today so I can only send a quick posting.

Kelly,
What's my cat like huh? Erm... bozo most of the times. He sleeps with me, he occupies the top portion of the bed when I am not around, and when I am back, he'd jump off from the bed and greet me with head rubs and then fall on my feet. When I try to move away, he'd grab my ankles and start kicking. Sometimes he'd appear out of nowhere and swipe his paw on my calf before running away. Though he's 4 years plus, he doesn't behave like a mature cat at all, still very hyper, very mischievous. Once my family caught him sleeping inside my pillowcase, all curled up like a prawn. He likes to hide behind my day curtains and watch the cars go by, ppl talking..he is still very curious.

Hi Neko,
For the sake of Beibei, send her to the vet. I dunno whether cats can grow back their teeth, but at least you can ask the vet for a diagnosis, why she'e been vomitting out water, and find out what other ways to make her eat. I think Science Diet has the type of dry food for weight gain. Perhaps you could find out if there is such food around and whether Beibei could take it.

I hope Beibei recovers soon.

Curly,
Sent Nanook to a boarding place (Kathy Cat Services) when we went for a three day cruise. Ususally they will have the cats deflea-d and they will be put in catteries. They provide litter tray and sand and a place for them to sleep in, food and water and a toy. Nanook must have thought we were going to abandon him because he kept meowing. He then crawled around, observing other cats, still scared. My heart broke to leave him there. However, when we went to fetch him, he was ok. A little quiet, meowed alot. When we reached home, he felt weird, like something's amiss. But he was ok. The photo of him on the TV cabinet (above) was actually taken on the day we picked him from the boarding hse.

I think you can trust them. Afterall, they are professionals. Kathy Cat Services was recommended to me (oh, the place was air-conditioned) but now they are no longer in Joo Chiat. Not sure if they have moved or whether they are closed down. Pet Lovers offers boarding services.

Hi Lolli,

Your cat has got a mischievious character doesn't he? I can't sleep with my cat cos, believe it or not, I am allergic to cat fur. So I have to wash my hands religiously after playing with kelly. She is quite happy hanging around on her own. Only wants attention in the morning and in the evening. She likes to watch tv with the rest of us. If any of us reads the newspaper on the floor, she will always sit on it such that we cannot turn the pages.

Hi Neko,

do let us know the latest on beibei yah? Hope she is feeling better now.

Hey Neko,
FH's cousin, who has two cats, is also allergic to cat fur!

Nanook hates it when we are reading the newspapers. He'd either sit right on the middle of the page where you are reading, or he'd go underneath the papers, and drag it all around the flr.

Bozos, they want our attention.

Thanks for your concern for beibei. I think she is getting better now. I still haven't bring her to the vet (My family said that I'm over sensitive). By the way, for this week, she is okay. May be because my parents were not at home for last week and she refuesd to eat (missing them). My mum said that her eating pattern is back to normal now. She also didn't vomit water anymore. I'll observe for another week to see if I need to bring her to the vet.I usually brings her to the Animal Hospital.
I'll keep you all update on beibei again.
Thanks again!

By the way, she is getting naughty these few nights as she jumped onto my bed almost every night while I was sleeping.

That's good! Kelly has also been putting on more weight since her procedure. I am glad we tried to solve the problem before it deteriorated too much.

Thanks lollipop for the info. At the moment my brother helps us to look after Snowball when we are away but we might need the boarding service in the future....

Neko, glad that beibei is getting better. Maybe was because she missed your parents. When I was away for 4 days last week, my brother said Snowball didn't eat much and was very quiet and looked sad.... She was probably missing us.

God I missed her so much when we were away! I cried so much on the way to the airport.... I even brought her pictures with me. Don't know how I'm gonna survive during my 2-week holiday in July.

Yesterday when we were buying food for Snowball, one of the salesgirls told us that Whiskas biscuits is not very good. She said we should look at the first thing mentioned in the ingredients as that's the main ingredient. And true enough, Whiskas is made mostly of wholemeal grains/cereals (and contain preservatives) while others like Iams and Max Kittens is chicken. Haven't check if they contain preservatives though.....

Hi Curly,
When we went for cruise, and it was only for three days, I cried the moment we left Nanook at the boarding hse. We are just so emotional huh :P

Neko, glad Beibei is alright now. Gals, you know, cats have feelings. My grandmother used to have a fat white cat in China
and when the family moved to Singapore, they couldn't bring the cat along. Sad. My grandmother's neighbour then told her via letter that her cat was always outside the door, waiting for my grandmother to come back. It refused to eat, it kept meowing, and one day it just died. I think it is very very sad.... cats, they really can understand how we feel at times.

Go back and hug your cats.

Lollipop and Curly,

Yes I agree that cats have feeling! They really do (people just love to phrase that dogs have feeling! Sigh... they forgot about cats!). Bei bei is getting very 'sticky' now... suddenly feels like sleeping with me at night!
Bei bei used to eat Whiskas can food. She enjoyed it at first but now she has changed her diet to Friskies Fancy Feast can food. I think cats like this brand more as my FH's brother loves to feed stray cats and discovered that after feeding them with Friskies Fancy Feast (the small can one), the cats dislike the Whiskas ones. Same to Bei Bei too, becoming a bit choosy! In fact my Bei Bei loves to eat prawn and chicken rather than fish (I thot cat likes fish?!).

When I was away from trips, I always miss bei bei too. I have also brought along her photo with me! Her photo is now at my office too

Hi Neko,
I have an A4 sized photo of Nanook in my cubicle aswell! The one with him sitting on top of the TV cabinet. Somehow, when things at work go wrong, all I have to do is look at him, and my moods will be lifted
Patting a cat is therapeutic too!

I used to feed Nanook with Friskies canned food and dry food, until I found out about the kidney stones thingy. He's been fed with Science Diet too. He's not picky with brands, I figure, but he must be fed religiously with fish.

My computer wallpaper is a pic of Snowball (used to be hubby & myself). Just like to look at her at the time....

Here's pics of Snowball....
5278.jpg

Snowball grew up already!!! So fast!!
I used to have that catnip tiger tail, but Nanook doesn't use it at all, ended up in the trash.

:P

Snowball is really cute!

Lollipop,
What about the kidney stomes? I have never come across any news for this

Hi Neko,
I heard from a fellow catowner that Friskies dry food causes kidney stones. Upon hearing tt, I stopped using Friskies. Then again, there are still Friskies dry food being sold everywhere, if the abv is true, they would have recalled the products. Anyways, better safe than sorry lor.

Wish I have more photos of Nanook to update you guys with. Soon, I promise.

Yah lor lollipop, she has really grown!! Missed her baby time.....

Neko, she even cuter in "person" but I guess all cats are......

Snowball has become very fussy when it comes to her litter tray. Last night she refused to use it as it was a little dirty (just some pee stain). So I cleaned it and put in some new sand, she happily jumped in and took her piss!!

hey curly,

snowball much bigger now but she still has tat kittenish look

her eyes r lovely!!

btw, do u hav any problems with snowball? i mean like jumping onto cabinets, mess up the rubbish bin etc? my orange does tat n it's irritating

Hello eunice, yes she much much bigger now! But soon her kittenish look will fade...... Don't know why every time I take pics, her eyes always reflect light leh....

I suppose Snowball and Orange have the same problems.... Not just cabinets! Yesterday morning (around 5 plus), I heard something dropped, so I woke up to check, only to find her looking at a lizard on the ceiling. And guess what?? She jumped up onto the kitchen hood and refused to come down. I had to bring her to sleep with me....

I no longer use the rubbish bin - she always jumps in and plays with whatever she could find...

haiz....then how har? wonder if there's any way to catproof certain parts of the house. any scent which would repel them?

sometimes he really drives me nuts, like jumping onto our shelves in the middle of the night n causing our things to fall. grrrrr....

worse yet, he broke one of my mil's fave decorations. she has this collection of "fu lu shou" which is quite big, about a foot tall. orange broke one of them n i was so worried tat mil would ask me to get rid of him. but she didnt tell me or hubby abt the breakage, only told my sis-in-law. she's been really nice abt orange but im afraid tat sooner or later, orange is gonna break her patience limits how????

Nanook likes to play with his sand too. Sometimes he'd like to sit beside the tray and watch me clear his waste, then refill the tray with more sand, and when I turn my back, in his goes. Sometimes not just to pee or poo, but to play with sand.

Sigh...

Eunice, the repellent you are talking about? Is it to repel cats? They do sell this product in retail outlets, but some, when sprayed, leaves an oily stain. Feliway is rather effective, I heard, but it is rather costly too. About $30+
ut if you do want to buy a repellent, test it on a surface first, then make Orange go there. Orange will most likely sniff at it, and will prob make a face, then run away.

halo lollipop,

may i know where can i get this feliway? im quite interested in it. hav u tried it before?

Hi Curly,

My beibei is also very particular about her litter tray. She is always very happy when we change the new sand for her. Sometimes she just even sit on the new sand without doing anything! So funny! Maybe she just feel too contended with the new sand!

Bebibei likes to play with lizard too! We always say that the lizard is her 'friend'!

Eunice,
I didn't use Feliway. I used another brand which is cheaper :P it worked initially but...

Try calling the retail outlets and see if they do carry this brand, eg Pet Lovers.

Sorry, not able to be of much help.

Hi everyone! I had just adopted another kitten 2 days ago. Her name is Snowy, she's only 5 weeks' old. She's white with big blue eyes. She's got this very pitiful look which makes her irresistible. However, I feel that I can't give her the same love I've been giving Snowball.... Felt like giving her up for adoption (again)! But hubby said it's very unfair to her; should give it a chance. I've been looking after her myself as hubby is overseas. She needs so much attention! She's always meowing.... Very unlike Snowball when we first got her.

Hi Curly,
It's a little unfair to Snowy... perhaps being so young it needs more attention... give it time and it will be able to adapt soon enough. How's Snowball taking it? Was she agressive? I think female cats are more likely to welcome another addition, as compared to tomcats. Tomcats are territorial!

Hi lollipop, I know it unfair to Snowy. I was upset too....

We haven't introduced Snowy to Snowball yet as advised by the vet. She's been dewormed and due for the first vaccination in 3 weeks. Snowball knows what's happening and she seems sad as more attention was focused on Snowy. Last evening while I let Snowy had her meal, I brought Snowball to look at her and she just turned and ran away! After that I let them see each other through the glass panel door. Snowball hasn't shown any agressiveness which I think is a good sign. We'll probably introduce them over the weekend.

It's natural that Snowball feels you are channelling ure attention to Snowy. I mean, she has always been alone and both ure hubby and you have showered her with endless attention and love, so she might feel a little "left-out" you know what I mean? Prob over the weekend, see how things are. Mebbe they will become good friends! Mebbe Snowball really needs a companion... after this weekend, then you shall decide whether or not to give up Snowy for adoption.

best of luck.

hi gals....

I dun think Curly shld worry too much... from what I've seen... seems like bigger cats are more sympathetic & accepting towards kittens! I know how cats would hiss at each other if you bring a new cat into the house... but if it's a kitten the hostility shld go away fast... I remember hearing from the person I gave Mimi's son to. The little kitten was so sick when they received him, and there were already 2 other cats around. The big cats actually took care & sayang the poor sick kitten! Treat it like their own son!

Actually it's quite funny how cats hiss at each other once u bring in new cat into territory.... haha... i hear noises coming out from my cat that i have never heard before!! Strange growling noises too....ha.

I am glad Mimi is not so "active" then... she doesn't go into dustbins at all and mess up. She did go into our wardrobe to sleep for a period of time... can find her among the towels! haha...

She would go into shoeboxes and plastic bags... and one problem would be scratching on armrest of leather sofa...gasp! The other day she poo poo outside the tray!! Dunno why she can't "aim" meh? eeks, gotta pick up her poo poo. Maybe coz changed new sand not used to it! sigh.... for a moment I thot she going senile....oh dear.

Hi lollipop & Apple, thanks for your concern and advices!!

I'm not too sure if Snowy is overall ok.... She's been passing soft poo and this morning, when I went to see her, she had already done quite a lot and 2 or the poo poo outside her litter tray. I saw some blood trace and it's really worrying. My brother whose staying with me kindly brought the stool sample to the vet and I was told (by the clinc assistant after examination by the vet) that no worm or egg were found. Anyway I told her that I'll still be bringing Snowy to see the vet tonight.

Snowy is actually very adorable but she's a super attention seeker. When she hears me opening the gate, she'll start meowing. And she meows non-stop when someone's with her.

I just hope everything's alright with her......

Hi Curly,
In the early stages, the kitten's waste is usually soft... nothing worrying. Since the nurse already mentioned there is no worm or egg, it's good news. Bring her to the vet tonight and get a second opinion.

When we introduced a stray female to Nanook before, she smacked him on his face! Poor Nanook. He was so shocked and didn't know what was happening. :P

lollipop, I'll be bringing Snowy to the vet once I get home. So thankful that the vet is only 5 minutes walk from my place. This has never happened to Snowball though. Even if her poo is soft, it's still in shape. Snowy's was like messed up and sticky....

Nanook is so poor thing!

Hey Curly,
What did the vet say about Snowy's condition?

A new picture of Nanook, sleeping as usual
But he just loves resting his head on my LOTR book!

5543.jpg

I took along Snowy's stool sample (again!) with me when I brought her to see the vet. Again nothing was found. The vet suspected that it might be some virus infection. She was given a jab, antibiotics and anti-diarrhea medication.

She's been fine this morning. Just hope that the virus will go away soon....

halo curly,

do u hav a pic of snowy yet? would sure like to see her

i bought 3 boxes of durian puffs n fed orange n junior with some. they certainly love it

u gals should try the durian puffs at Puteri Mas at 475 Joo Chiat Rd. they hav terrific durian puffs at 20pcs for $8.50. me even thot of using them for "guo da li" instead of normal cakes

Hi Curly,
Yes, mebbe it is some form of virus. Dun worry, cats are strong, they have a good immunity system, I was told before.

Hi Eunice,
Glad to hear from you again. Did you buy the pockets for Orange? How's the situation at home now? Is Orange behaving?

I have heard of Puteri Mas, but I dun recall eating their durian puffs. Their pastries are delicious! Oh, have you tried Emicakes? Their durian cake is superb! Chunks of fresh durian in btw the layers of sponge cake...hmmmm... but it is quite exp
Around 50

halo lollipop,

no me havent buy the pockets yet cos orange havent finish the current IAMS one. me afraid tat he wouldnt not finish it if i buy the pockets one n mixed with it

orange still naughty as ever n mil complained abt him to sis-in-law juz this morning
me now resort to locking him in our room whenever we go out.

where to get this durian emicakes? maybe get it for my hubby's birthday

btw, issit normal for orange to remain this size? i mean he doesnt seem to be growing anymore leh

in fact he likes sleepin alot these days. his fave sleepin place is in our wardrobe. he would open the door n slip in to sleep. he sleeps in the day n would be hyperactive in the middle of the nite. me n hubby try to wake him up whenever he's dozin n use the laser pointer to play with him but he would still be awake in the wee morning